Energy Drink (562 reviews)

Sin Greed Lemon

Sin Greed Lemon

When I picked this up I really thought it was boner juice. It's called "Sin", it's a "vitality" drink, and the can says, "Embrace the night. Drink in sin." That spells sexual debauchery to a level that Greg Dulli would approve. Turns out it's just a diet energy drink. There is nothing debaucherous about diet. It means the opposite. It tastes like a diet Sprite, with a hint of energy chemicals in it.

I can imagine their advertising campaign now. Obviously Adam and Eve are in it, fig leaves and all. There is a giant snake coming down from a tree with a can of the drink wrapped in its coils tempting the first couple. If it were boner juice it would have gone one way, but since it's an energy drink it would be them all spry and full of energy escaping God's wrath and running away from him before he can kick them out of the garden. Sacrilege? Maybe, but I certainly don't mind.

Website
http://www.drinkinsin.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Celsius On-The-Go Sticks Berry

Celsius On-The-Go Sticks Berry

The thing about caffeine is that it makes me go a mile-a-minute and makes my hands go even faster. My typing of this review could break land speed records but the efficiency in which I type would make poor Mavis Beacon throw up. I'm more concerned with slamming down keys with speed rather than spelling things correctly and hitting that blasted "Backspace" key just slows me down. No, I'm not going to leave you with some unintelligible mess because that would be reckless.

Years ago, I used to work at a local grocery store. I didn't hate it, but I hated the focus that management, or as some like to refer to as "the man", had. See, cashiers are the end of the shopping experience. It's my face that would win or break their shopping experience and it was my awesome attitude and demeanor that would win your heart forever. Since "the man" wanted me to be faster and talk less, I was more of a machine than a person. This I didn't like. I could cash and bag just as fast if I could talk but no. Punch in. Punch out. Speed not service. That really bothered me. Had I known about this product, I would have drunk one before every shift and set the place ablaze. I would have rung your entire order of 251 products before you could get them all out of the cart. I would intrude on your personal space and start taking things out of your cart. I would have no regard for your safety and put things like raw chicken in with your baby toys and put laundry detergent in with your apples and not care. It's all about speed, after all, right? Safety comes second to speed. I would sneak off right at the start of a shift, grab a glass, fill it with approximately 12 - 16 ounces of water, stir in this powder and knock a shift out.

I didn't hate the flavor. It wasn't any different than the other Celsius flavors so if you love them, you've got another one that you can fit in any drawer you can throw at it. If you haven't had any Celsius drinks, they're a little bitey but that's the sucralose. Flavor-wise they're on par with most diet drinks, which is good because you can't taste that you're basically drinking straight caffeine. You could taste the berry and if I had one complaint, it would be that it didn't really mix well. It's not old stock and it clumped a little bit, but it didn't really taste any different when I was drinking it.

So if you are in the business where you've got to do repetitious tasks and you don't have to be terribly precise, this could be the product for you. My hands are going to cramp up and my keyboard is going to start smoking any minute.

Website
http://www.celsius.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Celsius Berry, 7-Count Packets (Pack of 2)

Amp Energy

Amp Energy

There are two types of people in the world: those who love Mountain Dew, and those that think it's really disgusting. I am on team "Mountain Spew". I have had this Mountain Dew flavored energy drink before and didn't like it. I bought this for a friend who was going to be screen printing all night, but he ended up not needing it so I decided to drink it.

Now when you mix a drink I already hate with lots of typically gross tasting energy ingredients, it's a recipe for disaster. This taste like someone mixed Mountain Dew in a vat with a piece of carpet and then filtered it through a moldy sponge. Sure it does the job and gives you energy, but at what cost? I feel like my stomach hates me right now.

Website
http://www.ampenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
AMP ENERGY 12 PK / 16 OZ CANS

Steaz Energy Orange

Steaz Energy Orange

I've been trying to avoid high fructose corn syrup lately. Anyone who has tried this knows how hard it can be. It's in everything! Even most ketchup has high fructose corn syrup as one of the main ingredients. I was feeling a little sleepy/exhausted from working all morning so I decided to take a walk to the Lexington Co-op to get some food and a drink. Since I was feeling sleepy, I thought an energy drink would be good. Luckily, the co-op doesn't carry anything with HFCS in it.

Now I've had some hits and misses in the past with "natural" energy drinks. Either they actually know what they're doing and it taste great, or it tastes really bland and almost worse than normal gross energy drinks you find at the gas station. Steaz usually makes good drinks so I opted to give this one a try. I must say, it's quite nice! It's a really good mixture of green tea and orange soda. Unlike most energy drinks, it's not heavy at all. It does leave a little bit of a weird aftertaste, but nowhere near as bad as most cans of battery ac.... I mean, energy drinks.

Website
http://www.steaz.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Steaz Energy Drink Orange, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Steaz Energy Zero Calorie Berry Flavor

Steaz Energy Zero Calorie Berry Flavor

I feel like there should be a Venn diagram for this drink. It has so many things stacked against it that are intertwined into one. It is a natural diet energy drink. All three of these things tread in dangerous territory, but the three mixed together in one can could be monumentally bad. Luckily, Steaz has a good track record so I'm not that worried.

First sip: eh.....
Second sip: It has a strong tea taste with a chalky berry aftertaste.
Third sip and beyond: It definitely doesn't have a battery acid energy drink taste, which is good. I don't know if it's the lack of sugar, or the 0 calorie natural sweeteners in this but this is definitely not sweet enough for my taste. It has a real bitter taste. People who love green tea and yerba mate would probably love this, but not me.

Website
http://www.steaz.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Steaz Zero Calorie Berry Energy Drink 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Rip It Energy Fuel A'tomic Pom

Rip It Energy Fuel A'tomic Pom

The name of this company, Rip It, would be perfect for a professional wrestler to promote it. I can picture Ultimate Warrior or Macho Man Randy Savage (RIP) in the 90's getting pumped about this on a TV commercial between Saturday morning cartoons.

"When I'm in the ring, there's only one drink that gets me going. RIP IT! (They scream as they rip a telephone book in half, then a dictionary, then a picture of their wrestling rival)" It could have been a huge hit.

I don't think I've had a pomegranate flavored energy drink before. It's one of my favorite fruits so I was really excited to find this little can. It has a good pomegranate flavor that is nice and tart. The usual acidic energy drink taste is very minimal, which lets the fruit flavor shine. I'm half way through this little can and already have a jolt of energy. I think that means it's working.

Website
http://www.ripitenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Steaz Energy Berry

Steaz Energy Berry

Energy drink with organic ingredients? Check.
Energy drink that doesn't taste like battery acid? Check.
Berry flavor that tastes like a melted freezie pop? Check.

On second thought, it also reminds me a lot of sweet tarts (easily one of my top 10 favorite candies). Steaz did it again and made a great natural energy drink. It doesn't have an acidic or heavy taste like a lot of energy drinks do. Also if you need vitamin B12, this drink has you covered. In one serving, it contains 833% of your daily-recommended amount of B12. Oh, and this can has 1.5 servings so that's 1,249.5% of your daily B12!! Hopefully too much B12 isn't bad for you.

Website
http://www.steaz.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Steaz Energy Drink, Berry, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Celsius Green Tea Peach Mango

Celsius Green Tea Peach Mango

Jay has been hyping this drink up to me for a while. I don't think it was this flavor, but he swears by it and bought a case for himself. For a guy who tries several new drinks a day to buy a whole case of one flavor means a lot.

Most people wouldn't dream of drinking something that is supposed to give you energy at 1:45 am. Luckily, I'm not most people. I am very much a night owl and usually get my best work done between the hours of 10pm and 4am. I've only had a few sips so far and I'm already feeling much more awake then I was 20 minutes ago as I was lugging my laundry up from the basement. So for functionality, this is awesome!

As far as taste goes, much like Jay's experience with the raspberry acai flavor, this leaves a lot to be desired. It has a strong green tea flavor, which is great for someone who loves green tea (I am not one of those people). The peach mango flavors are much more subtle, and are almost afterthoughts in each sip. And then of course you have the fake sugar (sucralose) which makes it all the more undesirable. It's cool to have a non-carbonated, non-soda like energy drink for a change. Unfortunately, I won't be running to the store and buying a case of this flavor.

Website
http://www.celsius.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Iced Tea, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Celsius - Celsius Green Tea Peach Mango, 4 cans

Skeleteens Love Potion No. 69 Pink

Skeleteens Love Potion No. 69 Pink

Skeleteens were way ahead of their time in the soda timeline. They made weird and unusual sodas while the rest of the world was content with the classics. On top of that they were also way ahead of the game in terms of energy drinks. They played a large role in my beverage consumption as a teenager and they will always have a place in my heart. I'm so glad that Real Soda has taken over the drink line and it has seen the light of day again.

I love this drink, but my question is why does it taste nothing like it's purple counterpart? The purple Love Potion is grape flavored with a burn to it. This is more of a berry flavor with the slightest memory of a burn. It actually has a candied flavor with a kick to it. I don't really know how to explain it. It tastes like it should burn your throat, but it doesn't. It's definitely a unique flavor.

As with most of the Skeleteens' sodas I could do without all of the wacky sayings on the label, but I know that was part of the charm of these drinks when I was 15.

Website
http://www.realsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Energy Drink, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
LOVE POTION NO.69 helps keep your heart on, 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Lost Five-O Energy + Juice

Lost Five-O Energy + Juice

It's a Wednesday night and you just got home from a long day of work. Not only was it a 10-hour day in the office, but you also had 3 meetings that went way too long. Plus, you had your bosses breathing down your neck all day because you didn't file your TPS reports yesterday. After you take off your shoes and drop your bag on the chair you make your way to the kitchen. Just as you open the refrigerator, you remember that you were planning on going grocery shopping today after work but you totally forgot due to your stressful day. As you look at your fridge, all you see is Frank's hot sauce, 4 different kinds of Dijon mustard, and a carton of lemonade.

Just as you are about to give up on the prospect of eating for the night, you notice a leftover box peeking out from behind the lemonade. It's the Pad Thai you had 4 days ago but couldn't finish. Normally, your limit for leftovers is two days. Three max. Memories of the 5-day-old spaghetti you ate in the spring of 2007 still haunt you. You're really hungry though, so you decide to take the risk and eat the Pad Thai. Luckily, it's better than you expected it to be. Obviously it isn't as good as when you first had it three days ago, but you were expecting the worst and it by far exceeded you expectations.

This energy drink is much like that Pad Thai. I bought it at Big Lots, the land where drinks that no one wants anymore go. I've had some really vile energy drinks from there before. I consciously didn't look at the can of this before taking my first sip. To my surprise, it was actually decent. Then I noticed that the second ingredient (after carbonated water) was a medley of juices. In fact, this is 50% juice, which is where the name "Five-O" comes from. They had the people from Monster develop this drink, and it really shows. Monster really knows how to make a delicious energy drink.

Given all that, this is still a mediocre energy drink. It doesn't have a lot of battery acid taste, but there's a little there. I was honestly thinking this was going to be a bottom of the barrel drink, but it exceeded my expectations.

Website
http://www.lostenterprises.com/lost-energy/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Glucose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 26th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |