Energy Drink (562 reviews)

Inko's White Tea Energy

Inko's White Tea Energy

After a day of hiking I stopped at a store to get a beverage. I normally wouldn't grab an energy drink under such circumstances, but the fact that it was in the natural section, and it said "Jitter Free" convinced me to take a chance. I was very pleased with my purchase. This beverage had none of the normal chemical flavors that you would normally find in energy drinks. It really just tasted like sweetened white tea with a slight ginger taste to it. I felt like I was just drinking a normal iced tea. I actually forgot it was an energy drink until my lady friend asked if it did anything as an energy drink. I did find myself feeling more alert, but not like a spazz like I normally would after an energy drink.

Website
http://inkostea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Inko's Energy Drink, 15.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Ito En Mate Sencha Shot Yerba Mate Green Tea

Ito En Mate Sencha Shot Yerba Mate Green Tea

This is supposed to be an energy shot. The energy it supplies comes solely from the yerba mate and green tea, which are pretty much the only ingredients in the drink. If you are a fan of strong unsweetened tea and are looking for a little kick of energy, this is the drink for you.

Website
http://www.itoen.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Unsweetened
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea, Shot
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ito En Mate Sencha Shot, Yerba Mate with Green Tea, 6.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 30)

Quinoa Gold Caffeine-Free Energy Mango Passion

Quinoa Gold Caffeine-Free Energy Mango Passion

When I saw this intriguing beverage I was pre-warned that this was "completely gross" by a friend who had already been roped into trying it. I was feeling adventurous (and I thought it couldn't be nearly as bad as he said it was), so I decided to give it a chance. Oh how I wish I hadn't. It was extremely bland. The quinoa "supergrain" gives the nearly flavorless beverage the consistency of a grits milkshake. I'm usually a fan of pulp and other floaty things in drinks, but this was just too much. I couldn't even finish a third of the bottle. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as an everyday drink, but if you're drinking it for the health benefits, I say good luck to you.

Website
http://www.quinoagold.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Chunky, Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Red Bull

Red Bull

I'm sure most of you are familiar with Red Bull. They have run the energy drink market for about ten years. It has always reminded me of how I imagined liquid Smarties (the U.S. version) would taste. I originally hated the way energy drinks tasted, and Red Bull was no exception. Something must have changed with my palate over the years, because now I really enjoy it. I wish it wasn't an energy drink, so that I could just drink it like a soda. Unfortunately I fear my heart would explode if I drank it in the quantities that I would like to. Every once in a while I have been known to get one for the flavor, and not because I needed a little pick me up.

Website
http://www.redbull.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Red Bull Energy Drink, 8.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Monster Dub Edition Grape

Monster Dub Edition Grape

Before I talk about the drink itself, I must mention the can it came in. To my surprise, this can has a RECLOSABLE TOP! It's this piece of plastic that turn half way around to open or shut. I must say, opening this can was really fun and I would love to open these over and over again. I love that they put a reclosable top on this because many times with large energy drinks like this (this is an 18.6 oz) I never finish the can in one sitting and it goes flat in the fridge. I wish more companies started putting reclosable tops on their cans.

As far as the drink itself, I really like it. It has a very fruity grape taste, with only a slight typical energy drink acid aftertaste. It almost tastes like if someone mixed grape soda and Mountain Dew.

According to the can, this Dub Edition energy drink is "more than just another energy drink. It's high performance fuel for the true baller."

Website
http://www.monsterenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 23rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
8 Pack - Monster DUB Edition Energy Drink - 18.6oz.

Sobe Energize Citrus Energy

Sobe Energize Citrus Energy

I just don't think of Sobe as an energy drink. It's probably because it's not in a can. It just seems like a juice drink to me, even though it has ginseng, guarana and taurine. It also doesn't taste like an energy drink at all. It has a nice orange and lemon citrus flavor. There is a weird other taste to it, but it's still not an energy drink flavor. Hopefully I won't crash in a few hours from this.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 27th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Citrus Energy, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Red Bull Simply Cola

Red Bull Simply Cola

I stayed away from this stuff for a while when I first saw it. I'm not a regular drinker of energy drinks. On the rare occasions when I do get them, I rarely stray from a select few. I have to say it's not bad. It tastes like a cola that is fighting with some ingredients from root beer. The cola is victorious in the end, but there are some strange flavors left over. The two tastes, besides cola, that stand out the most are lime and licorice. Neither is terribly overpowering, so it adds a nice subtlety to it.
The really nice thing is that this is all natural. There are no chemicals added for energy. All of the caffeine in this is from coffee beans, so it doesn't make you all crazy.

Website
http://www.redbull.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Red Bull Simply Cola, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Function Alternative Energy Strawberry and Guava

Function Alternative Energy Strawberry and Guava

Woah guava. Holy guava? Which sounds better? Just opening this bottle, you get a rush of guava. Tasting it...different. Initially, I didn't like it. It tasted like...unripened fruit, but I think that it's just actual fruit. This is me giving them the benefit of the doubt. After you kind of "get it", it gets better. It's not an ultra sweet drink. Strong scent, but light flavor. You do get strawberries, no doubt, but don't expect "candy" like strawberry.

I'm not into energy drinks, so the fact that this is and doesn't taste like a handful of Skittles is pretty great. This is a dietary supplement and I also a time-release energy drink. I never really do anything with an exorbitant amount of caffeine so chances are I would not drink something like this on a regular basis. I don't really get those mid-day sleepies that a lot of people get, but I feel that it's one of those "I always drink coffee at the same time so I crash" things. It’s one of the perks to not drinking coffee ever.

All in all, it's not bad. If you are looking for something better than coffee and (probably) better than those 5 Hour Energy shots, give this a whirl. After all physicians created it.

Website
http://www.functiondrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Function Drinks Function Alternative Energy Strawberry Guava, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Function Alternative Energy Acai Grape

Function Alternative Energy Acai Grape

I didn't expect this to be so fruity. I drank an acai drink earlier today, and this didn't really taste like acai, but it was still tasty. It kind of tasted like if some really good fruit punch was mixed with Vitamin Water. There is a weird mixture of ingredients in this. Purple Sweet Potato Extract? Strange. It is an all-natural energy drink, so that's nice. I always appreciate energy drinks that aren't "toxic tasting" and full of weird man made chemicals.

Website
http://www.functiondrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 16th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Function Drinks Function Alternative Energy Acai Grape, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Red Bull Sugarfree

Red Bull Sugarfree

There was a point in my life when I preferred the sugar free Red Bull over the original. When I drank this I cannot for the life of me remember why. It tastes very similar to regular Red Bull, like liquid Smarties. The exception is that it's made with Aspartame. That means it tastes like diet liquid Smarties.
As far as diet drinks go, it's not bad. I suggest it if you're looking for a pick me up, but you're watching your weight. If that's not an issue, just grab an original one out of the cooler at the gas station.

Website
http://www.redbull.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Aspartame
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Red Bull Energy Drink, Sugarfree, 8.4 Ounce Can (Pack of 24)
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |