Hot Tea (39 reviews)

King Condrell's Le Marche Spice Black Tea

King Condrell's Le Marche Spice Black Tea

Alright, King. I mean no disrespect but you've gotten away with literal murder and I haven't said anything. This, though, this is the straw that broke the camel's back. You have been known to provide us, your faithful townspeople with some of the most unique teas at very reasonable prices. Some of them are good and for that, we thank you. This one, I have given it multiple attempts at approval though and it just doesn't deserve to be continually made. Now look, it's not just me that thinks this way but I'm not going to throw anyone under the bus over it. It's just not a good tea. It always tastes good in the beginning but then quickly and unfortunately tastes burnt or something. You can tell that there are some good flavors in there. Spicy? I think that might be pushing it. It is only labeled as "spice black tea" so that's alright. The cinnamon wins when it comes to the spice wars going on in this cup but as a whole the battle is lost because as a whole, it's not a good tea.

King, we are very faithful to you and if I didn't spend all day working in the tea fields, I would let this slide, but I don't want any more of my time wasted on such a non-fantastical tea. You deserve better if you're going to put your name on it. That's my honest opinion and I hope that you value it as such? You don't? Well I guess it's a classic beheading for me. Classic King Condrell. Always decapitating people that voice their opinions. Seems a bit antiquated since it's 1994 but whatever. We chose to live here and we chose to live this way. Sorry guys. I tried. Tell me wife I love her.

Website
http://www.condrells.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 19th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bigelow Cinnamon Stick

Bigelow Cinnamon Stick

False advertising. I call shenanigans on this bag of tea. I might go as far as say that this tea is a liar and I don't use that phrase lightly. This smells like it would make a good tea but don't be fooled. This tea is the push-up bra of tea. You go in for a sip and it's almost bitter. I've had Bigelow stuff before and it's not bad. It's not high quality tea but I don't care. It's fine. I actually have an Earl Gray at home that I really like. This is just lipstick on a pig. It doesn't really taste anything like cinnamon and if I had to stretch it, which I will, it's as if you had a cup of black tea and put a cinnamon stick in it for a couple seconds. I'm sure that's where they get the name "cinnamon stick" from but they should have let that little buddy marinate for a little bit longer because if it did anything, it ruined everything.

Website
http://www.bigelowtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 2nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bigelow Cinnamon Stick Tea, 20-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)

Tea Drift Good Morning Energy

Tea Drift Good Morning Energy

These post-daylight savings time days have got me down. It’s dark too early and I always feel like it is way later than it actually is. As a result I’ve felt worn down for the past few weeks. Tonight was no exception. I didn’t want to go full on energy drink, and I remembered that I had this tea stashed away just waiting to be reviewed so here it is.

Tea Drift was nice enough to send us a variety of their flavors and “Good Morning Energy” sounded just like what I needed at 6PM. It’s black tea, lavender, rose, bergamot and rosemary. Let me tell you they are not messing around with these flavors. As soon as I opened the package the room was filled with the aroma of flowers. I have a strange soft spot for floral beverages, but this was a bit too much for me. It was more flower than tea. I also always thought that flowers were supposed to be relaxing and not give you energy. I mean they also have a flavor called “Calming Rose.” I’m pretty sure the only boost I’ll be getting is from the black tea.

It was actually a chore for me to work through a mug of this, but my ladyfriend loved it and drank hers happily. People like different things, and that kind of makes this website obsolete.

Website
http://www.teadrift.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 27th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Oregon Chai Chai Tea The Original

Oregon Chai Chai Tea The Original

I have had a wonderful time with Oregon Chai tea. It's my morning drink. Some people drink coffee and some people drink pop. The latter are a gaggle of crazies because who drinks pop in the morning. I can only imagine your teeth. Ugh. Sorry, but seriously? Pop in the morning? I feel like people that drink pop in the morning drink pop all day long. I couldn't imagine. My girlfriend's mom might not drink it in the morning, but I've never seen her drink water, only diet Pepsi. Her son works for Coke and I've never seen her drink anything other than diet Pepsi through a straw, which messes up pop even more.

Back to the point. I didn't need a jolt, but I expected a rush of flavor. There is anise in the ingredients and I could smell it through the pack and that excited me. A nice, bold licorice tea is just what I wanted. It's just what I want at all times. It's my life. Don't you forget it! Oregon Chai left me by wayside on this ride because it did not fully deliver. It smelled so strong but tasted like a light chai. There are spices in there, but they aren't brought out as much as the other ones I reviewed. It's the original, though, so you have to start somewhere. The ones that I liked were at an 11 when it came to flavor. This has a little bit of everything but is ratcheted down to about a five. It's still chai, but now that I've fallen in love with the other ones, this might be my last "The Original."

Website
http://www.oregonchai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 24th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oregon Chai The Original Chai Tea Bags, Box of 20 - 3 Boxes (60 total tea bags)

Teavana Herbal Tea Azteca Fire

Teavana Herbal Tea Azteca Fire

Once again, let me read the ingredient list to you: Apple pieces, cocoa kernels, chocolate chips (sugar, cocoa mass, cocoa powder), strawberry pieces, natural & artificial flavoring, chili, marigold petals. How many pounds can I sign you up for? Time for a little back story.

I went to a place called the "Chocolate Bar" where they have very good food, great desserts, and, from what I've been told, good chocolate martinis. There, they had a special Aztec hot chocolate that I felt the need to try and it was a wonderful decision. It was a wonderful mix of thick hot chocolate with actual chocolate in it with that nice, dusty, gritty Latin chocolate, spicy cinnamon and maybe nutmeg and chili heat in it. It was awesome. I loved it. I assumed, quite blindly, that this would be similar. I was wrong.

Yes, many of the ingredients are shared between the two and the extra ingredients; strawberry pieces; sound fantastic. Was it? Not particularly. It just didn't have any oomph. With all the ingredients and even in the name "Aztec Fire" you would assume there was some heat in this thing, right? Look, I don't want to sweat when I'm drinking a cup of tea, but I would like to get something that tastes more like a light scratch in my throat. I bought something spicy so make it spicy. If people don't want spicy things, they won't order them. That's something I never understood. People understand that things are spicy and if they are labeled as such, then they should not be accessible to all. People who enjoy spicy food do not want to taste mild food when they order spicy food. This is not spicy but it is a bit fruity and you do get a bit of chocolate, too. I was afraid that the chocolate was going to melt and ruin my infuser. It did not. That was a pro. Silver lining.

I've got a lot more of this to drink and I'm actually happy that the employee didn't reel me in with her line of "This is the last day we're going to have this. At eight tonight we are discontinuing it." Whether or not this is true, don't threaten me. That's not how to push product.

Website
http://www.republicoftea.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 21st, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Teavana Azteca Fire Herbal Tea, 2oz

Wegmans Chocolate Chai

Wegmans Chocolate Chai

To further my new quest to find a fantastic spicy chocolate drink to compare to an Aztec Hot Chocolate I had, I splurged and got this. Yeah, I'll admit it. I'm on a real loose, hot tea kick but I like my stuff strong. I'm new to the loose tea game so if you are, too, let me tell you something I learned. If you want a stronger tea, don't think that you can just let it steep for like fifteen minutes because then you'll have a tea that tastes like wood and old, wet leaves.

Cinnamon is a spice but I wouldn't say that it's particularly spicy. This is a chai and although I have had some with bite, this one smells better than it tastes. It's got hunks of solid chocolate, vanilla bean, and coconut pieces. You can actually taste all of it, which is pretty incredible. It tastes good and is decently strong. I steep on the longer side because I do like a stronger, thicker tea. It's not a chai like you might expect but it's still something different that you can enjoy any time of the day. It's faint enough on the chocolate side that you don't feel like a fat turd drinking it at ten in the morning. Yeah, I said it. Don't eat chocolate for breakfast. Sure, chocolate in cereal is fine but whomever is eating a bar of Hershey's in the morning should really re-evaluate your life and choice of chocolate. That's some novice stuff there, son. Wake up and get some quality dark in you. What are you, eight and in summer camp making smores?

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
India
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 28th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bodum Fruit Paradise

Bodum Fruit Paradise

In the past I have complained about tea being too weak. I'll drink water when I want to drink water, thank you very much. I don't want a super strong tea because that can be overwhelming and this is teetering on the fence. I steeped it for the specified amount and it came out about as strong as I could handle. Was I in a fruit paradise? I think I was on my last day at the resort where I feel like I have done all I can there. I sang karaoke, ate the local cuisine, hung out in the pool, made a sand castle, and ate copious amounts of fruit and now I'm ready to go home. I'm enjoying my last day but looking forward to boarding the plane and just getting home.

The fruits are all in there trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible but, in doing so, they're kind of getting on your nerves. Sure, I like to come home to a made bed, but sometimes I want to not make the bed and come back how I left it. There are a lot of fruits in here including apple, elderberries, strawberry and apricots. That's a giant amount of fruit, right? It’s a veritable fruit salad. There is also hibiscus and rose hips to make this a true, herbal tea. You can taste that they are all there but indistinguishably.

Look, I don't hate this vacation and I will come back here again. I just wish everyone didn't try so hard to make my stay so "pleasant." I suppose next time I could just steep it less and/or use a larger cup.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 5th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

King Condrell's Sweet Cinnamon Roobios

King Condrell's Sweet Cinnamon Roobios

With every sip I am enticed by the smell, but to drink this is really nothing more than a red tea that has a hint of cinnamon. Just a hint. No burn, just more of an infused cinnamon scent. It's not "sweet" either. I understand when they say "sweet cinnamon" and this smells it a bit but taste wise is just kind of like someone made a cup of tea and put a cinnamon stick in it. Look, this doesn't suck. It's calming, but from the smell I took yesterday and the actual sip I took today, ehhhhhhhhhh I wanted a little more. Just a little more spice, you know? Spice. That sweet cinnamon spice. Call me greedy, but I just want more. I'll drink more tea, believe you me, but I want more flavor.

Website
http://www.condrells.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 22nd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice

Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice

Chuck didn't like Christmas. It was always the time where everyone was very thoughtful and it made him feel like a pile of garbage. Everyone else was happy, buying gifts for each other and he just never wanted to participate in any of the festivities. He never was at a store and thought, "Oh, Karen would love this." He knew it was him and he could probably fix it if he just tried harder but he was in his thirties and if it didn't just happen by now, it never was going to.

This Christmas was no different. He went out on Christmas Eve and just bought everyone gift cards. He knew it's what people could use but not necessarily what they wanted, which also made him feel bad.

He went to his girlfriend's parent's house for Christmas and felt like he was just going through the motions. Everyone was open presents around him, smiling, and just shredding paper like it was suffocating the presents it was encasing. He just sat there and opened his, respectfully and to himself. Socks, ill-fitting sweater, videos in a format he can't use...same thing every year. All of a suddenly he felt a tap on his shoulder. It was his girlfriend's dad with a cup of tea. He was a cynical man himself and just gave Chuck a nod like he understood. He smelled it and it was rich with cinnamon. He took a sip and it was a very strong cup of tea but it was good. It was almost like a spicy, candy cinnamon but it wasn't sweet. There were some other spices in there that made it a pretty bold tea. It defiantly perked him up and allowed him to at least fake a smile as people opened their awful gifts from him.

A couple minutes later when the wrapping paper was all picked up and everyone was catching their breath, Chuck was sitting with a half full cup of tea thinking to himself that he couldn't finish it. It was good but it was just too much for him to choke down the rest of. It was too strong and sure he could have steeped it less but it really wasn't in there that long. He wished everyone happy holidays but was happy to just go home and go to sleep like the Grinch he knew he was and the old man that he knew he was becoming.

Website
http://www.harney.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 26th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice 30ct

Tazo Herbal Tea Cocoa Mint Mate

Tazo Herbal Tea Cocoa Mint Mate

Number one: I don't know the definition of the word "savory." It seems that with food television, everyone is a regular Bobby Flay. Sure, some people are an Alex Guarnaschelli and some are a Yan but everyone is someone now and everyone has to use phrases they shouldn't know unless they serve time in a French kitchen. Calm down. They're just chicken fingers from a bag. Where is your stamp of approval from Guy Fieri that says you have a license to say the word "brunoise" or "papillote." I realize the humor in that statement, so don't give me guff for it.

This tea advertises a "savory-sweet herbal infusion." That seems like a bit much. This is not a heavy tea. I have had heavy tea. This is not it. This is a medium flavored tea with a lot of great ingredients, most that you really have to focus to find, much like a "Where's Waldo" book. To you overseas readers, I am aware that his name is "Wally." I know more than you give me credit for.

Mint? It's in there. Cocoa? Lightly in there. Don't think chocolate and don't think dark. Think about opening cocoa powder and smelling it once the dust settles from you vigorously opening the top. As for the other ingredients, you cats ain't pullin' your weight because I didn't taste any vanilla, licorice, or bitterness from the yerba mate.

It's a fine tea, don't get me wrong, but you just did the tea equivalent of fluffing up your resume. That's going to make your employer mad and make more work for you. People that talk about knowing Microsoft Word on their resume have zero job experience and people who know fifteen programming languages are recent college grads who have spent a day with each and aren't proficient in anything. You're welcome, Monster.com. I've cracked the code.

Website
http://www.tazo.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 25th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tazo Cocoa Mint Mate Tea, 16 ea
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |