Hot Tea (39 reviews)

Celestial Seasonings Holiday Tea Nutcracker Sweet

Celestial Seasonings Holiday Tea Nutcracker Sweet

If you drink enough tea like me, you really get a feel for quality. For instance, a tea that comes in a tin that you can see the fruits (if applicable) or leaves or any sort of additives, that's a good tea. It's proof that what they say is in there is in there. You can see it. That's a chunk of chocolate. That's a dried strawberry. That's a strand of dried green tea leaves. That's tea.

This tea is not terrible but it is most certainly of a lower quality than a lot of the hot tea I have been drinking as of late. What's good about it? Well it tastes pretty good is what's good. It's a black tea that actually does have some natural tea taste with some cinnamon and I think some vanilla for good measure. It is certainly a "black tea with cinnamon" versus Good Earth's Sweet & Spicy, which is like a fantastic Fireball. It's not bad. It's certainly not a summer tea because something about the taste just reminds me of winter. In this state of what winter has done to my psyche, I want winter to be as far away from me as possible.

Personal sentiments aside, it really isn't bad at all. Whoever I "borrowed" this from at my office, thank you. I will repay you with one bag the seemingly endless tea bags upon my desk of your choice.

Website
http://www.celestialseasonings.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 18th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Celestial Seasonings Nutcracker Sweet, Christmas Black Tea, 20 Count Tea Bag

Mighty Leaf Green Tea Tropical

Mighty Leaf Green Tea Tropical

You know what, Joe? I have been taking care of your Bronco for years now and I think that it's time to get a new car. You've had a good run with her, man. It's good almost 200,000 miles on it and she's been pretty good to you. Sure, we've replaced everything but in the twenty plus years you've owned it, you have come out on top. This last inspection needs all new struts, the undercarriage is pretty well rusted, and there are holes that would cost a lot to patch up in order to pass inspection. What will it cost? Well, about seven grand and that's because I like you. Any other guy would cost about ten thousand. You want to sit and think about it? Alright, hey, I'll make you a cup of tea.

Here you go, Joe. It's this new stuff my wife bought for the shop. It's green tea tropical. Sure, not something you would typically find in a garage but sometimes you have to have the finer things in life. Yeah, I have had it. It smells great and tastes like a nice bitter green tea with notes of fruit. I think they said that there was guava and pineapple in the mix, which you can smell more than you can taste. The green tea is a really nice, authentic taste. I found the tea calming and thought that it's what you might want in this troubling time.

Joe, this is a tough decision to make and whatever you want to do, I'll do it. We are booking up fast though so you kind of have to make a decision soon. You want to scrap it? Alright? That's fine. You know what? You might make some money on the deal. Some of it can be salvages so instead of leaving seven thousand dollars lighter, I can actually give you five hundred dollars for the price of the car. If I get any more for the trade, I'll send it over. Let me know what you get. I can't wait to work on it for the next twenty years. You're a great guy, Joe. Sorry for your loss. Don't forget to take your Yosemite Sam mud flaps.

Website
http://www.mightyleaf.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 25th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mighty Leaf Tea Green Tea Tropical, 15 Count Whole Leaf Pouches 1.32 Ounce

Stash Organic Green Tea MerryMint

Stash Organic Green Tea MerryMint

The holidays are (finally) over and now we're left with the broken reindeer yard figures and "slightly used" inflatable snowmen. We're also left with the skids of Christmas tea. They certainly do churn those cats out and having a "basically mother-in-law" that works at the general merchandise section of a grocery store, now I am the proud owner of all sorts of...things.

This thing is a fine mint tea. It has loads of mint and different varieties of mint; spearmint and peppermint. Not just one and maybe more. The green tea...eh...it's not really bitey but the mint is so present that it makes up for it. I do enjoy a good, quality green tea but the mint seems to be filling up my desire for the cheek pinching power of green tea.

Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 20th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Green Tea Blends-MerryMint Organic Green Stash Tea 18 Bag

Tazo Sweet Cinnamon Spice

Tazo Sweet Cinnamon Spice

I might have broken the law. If I drink something that's listed to be a hot tea and I drink it iced, it's kind of up to me. If I buy a hamburger and bring it home and put peanut butter and jelly on top and gummy bears on the bottom, I can do that. If I buy a bag of chips and put M&M's in there, I can do that.

This intrigued me because it had oh so many things to enjoy; sarsaparilla, anise, cinnamon and much more. It was good. It was cool and pretty refreshing. It was a bit "rooty" due to, and I'm going to assume, the chicory root. I mention that more as a feature, not a complaint. If I complained about it, it would be something to the likes of, "Ugh, this drink tasted like someone carved it out of a tree." or something way too much since we clearly suck at writing reviews. It's not an overwhelming drink. I know people are pretty black or white on anise but this contains less than you would think, regardless of the gigantic star anise on the box. More like a cinnamon red tea.

This was good, though. I've got nineteen bags left that I don't anticipate gathering dust like some of the other ones I've got up there. It's just different enough that maybe for every five bags of black tea I make, I'll swap in this or the chai black. You've got to keep things fresh, you know? Like when you wear the same socks for four days in a row. Change them out. They're stretched out and need to get back to where they belong. Yeah. It's just like that.

Website
http://www.tazo.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 18th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tazo Sweet Cinnamon Spice Herbal Tea 20 Bags

Tea Drift Calming Rose

Tea Drift Calming Rose

Some people have things for older ladies. I hate to say it but I'll say it because we're all adults here but the acronym is MILF. Kids, if you're reading this, please don't look that up. Keep doing your homework. Some people, a smaller percentage, go for older ladies. That acronym is GILF. Kids, once again, do no look that up. Continue doing your homework.

This tea would be the "secret sauce" to get the older ladies in the mood to put in the real work. A little rooibos, vanilla, safflower and rose in this guy and those ladies will be talking about the Victorian era and all sorts of old crap. This smells like an older lady but it tastes pretty good. I'm not saying that older ladies don't taste good but I don't often touch my tongue to them. Sorry older ladies. Maybe one day. Kids, if you're still reading this, your daddy is going to be sore at you for not finishing your homework.

This tastes fine. I was worried. I have had rose drinks before, mostly from India but this one, in all its domestic nature, is weaker than that. We're new to it. Please forgive us, India. Please forgive us daddies for not letting your children get their homework done because of their curious nature. We warned them otherwise. They don't listen. They're kids. Maybe you should make them some of this tea to calm them down and make them more suitable to bring to your parent's house.

Website
http://www.teadrift.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 8th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tea Drift Metabolism Booster Lemon Mint

Tea Drift Metabolism Booster Lemon Mint

This is an entry-level tea for everyone. There is a light green tea, light melon, light lemon and light peppermint. It's subtle everything which makes for a pretty good tea. If some of these flavors were too intense, it would make it too definitive or too much of one particular type but since everything is one the same, low level, you're left with an even, well put together drink.

Sometimes I ice my tea. In this case, this is what I did. It makes for a great iced tea. I think that iced green tea allows the bitterness of green tea to shine through a little bit and that's what green tea should taste like. I think that if I drank it hot, the lemon might have shined through but I would have missed the melon a bit. I think I made the right decision and I think I found a tea that, if I had more of, would be a "go to" in these warm, end-of summer, days.

Website
http://www.teadrift.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 21st, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Benner Tea Co. Chai

Benner Tea Co. Chai

Chai. I got into it too late. It's good and I love a nice spicy, hot tea. This isn't half bad, either. Should I think less of it because it is an Aldi brand? No. It's probably something else branded to look like an Aldi brand, actually.

This had a good, strong anise taste to it mixed with whatever other magic was in here. I promptly drank it and, presumably ruined it, adding a packet of sugar. It was the morning and daddy needed a little pick-me-up.

To whomever I stole this from that works in my office, thanks. I'll pay you back in whatever the equivalent of one bag of tea is. Pretty sure that's a wet T-shirt car wash.

Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 18th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Energia

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Energia

Early morning. You've got a taste for something but it's 8:30 and you're not a child anymore. Sure, you love video games and cartoons so mentally, you might be a bit youthful, but on the outside you look legitimate. Also, you don't want to be awakened by the stampede of a hundred elephants by drinking something like a five hour energy drink or even a regular energy drink. You don't want something too light like plain old water. You want some flavor. You want some pep. You want some pizazz. This drink satisfies those needs and desires. It's really bold, spicy, and perfect for a morning wake-up call.

Yerba Mate is going to energize you naturally and it's not too bitter for beginners. There is cinnamon, cardamom, clove, and anise in there for the spice lovers. All together, they play together to create a nice, spicy tea that I could and will drink again and again. I was a bit skeptical of chai because I think I had it before but it might have been some milk and tea mixture that I was not crazy about. Now I feel like a dumb dummy because I've been missing out on a new morning staple.

Website
http://www.oregonchai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 2nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oregon Chai Herbal Chai, Energia (3x20 BAG)

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Dreamscape

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Dreamscape

There is a video game that you should know about called "Trials HD." I have easily invested hundreds of hours playing it. It's a simple motorcycle game where you accelerate, brake, and lean your way to the end as quickly as possible. There is a level in it called "Dreamscape" that is all over the place. Ramping up and down through someone's crazy imagination with floating planks, scaffolding, and twisted wood. You can see what I'm talking about here.

This drink is the liquid equivalent of that track. I've made a few mugs of this before and liked it, but preferred "the original" variety. After drinking it today, I might change. It's so spicy. It's almost woody and peppery. If you like light drinks, you couldn't drive your car away from this drink fast enough. It's a lingering drink, too. So spicy. It caught me off guard because I didn't know that it was going to be so bold. If you're in the market for a change and need to pull a total 180, this is the place to go. Oooh. So spicy.

Website
http://www.oregonchai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Relaxation
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 10th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oregon Chai Herbal Chai, Dreamscape (3x20 BAG)

Third St. Chai Black Tea Latte Honey Vanilla

Third St. Chai Black Tea Latte Honey Vanilla

Times like this are when my science skills get to shine. What sits in front of me is a delicious honey vanilla chai tea concentrate. There is a whole lot of concentrate in this bottle. The ingredients say that it’s enough for eight servings, but I just made a glass, and it barely made a dent in the bottle.

To prove I am a scientist I got out some measuring cups so that I could follow the directions exactly. When it comes to reviewing concentrates like this it’s pretty crucial to get it just right, or the favor could be completely off. Yeah, something as simple as that is still science, deal with it. The directions say to mix it with milk or milk substitute. Since I am not proud of my mutant gene that allows me to drink other creature’s milk (oh man Professor X would be so disappointed in me) I went with unsweetened almond milk. I also chose to make it the cold way instead of hot, as it’s summer and who wants to drink hot tea at 3PM in the blazing hot sun?

So I followed the directions and made myself a nice chilled glass of honey vanilla chai tea, and it is gosh darn delicious. It definitely tastes more vanilla than most chai teas I’ve had before. You also can taste the honey, which I didn’t really expect. If this is what was served to me after I just shelled over nearly $5 at a local coffee shop, I wouldn’t be upset or feel cheated. In fact if I didn’t know any better I really wouldn’t know that it was made from a concentrate. Some of the spices didn’t really mix in all that well, and I would get sip that were chock full of clove and cinnamon, but I blame that on my mix of choice. I feel like they may have mixed in better with cow milk. I actually decided to drink a second glass, and I upped the almond milk ratio a little bit, and it turned out more my speed. That’s the joy of concentrates, you can make them as weak or as strong as you’d like. Man, I really can’t wait to try this hot once the sun goes down.

Website
http://www.thirdstreetchai.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 24th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Third Street Chai, Honey Vanilla Chai, 32-Ounce Plastic Bottles (Pack of 6)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |