Hot Tea (39 reviews)

Twinnings Earl Gray

Twinnings Earl Gray

Growing up, my best friend's parents were from England, right off the boat. Liverpool, if you must know. I would spend many nights and most weekends over there whether it be playing video games, listening to music, making fake radio shows on cassette tapes, or other kid stuff.

Being British, they stereotypically love tea. They drank it all the time. They also loved 70's prog-rock, which I wish now I could tell fourteen year old me to pay attention to. They bought me loose tea, which to this day, I prefer to bagged tea, and would keep it "local" and get me Earl Gray. I went a decade without drinking it after I went to college but now we have a Keurig and it came with this tea. I like this stuff. Yes, I add a smidge of sugar to it, but it's still keeping in the British way. This tea has a pretty nice lemon taste, which I don’t really remember in my old cups of tea. It's good though and I have made multiple cups of it since we got the box of it. I might be the only one.

Growing up I never talked about the queen but we talked primarily of the Queen as in Freddie Mercury. Phil Collins, Genesis, Yes, Jimi Hendrix, and the like. They listened to their music loud, too. I miss that house. Maybe I'll pay a visit next time I visit my parent's. My son loves the mom because she always gives him ice cream. How could you not?

Website
http://www.twiningsusa.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Keurig
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 16th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Twinings Earl Grey Tea, K-Cup Portion Pack for Keurig K-Cup Brewers, 24-Count

Texas Yaupon Tea Original

Texas Yaupon Tea Original

Not often but sometimes companies contact us to review their drinks. Typically they have drinks that we just haven't seen and we welcome them with open arms. This one, though, just barely made it. We don't usually review hot tea. We have reviewed a few but for the most part, it's not really controlled and everyone brews their tea differently so it's a lot harder than just opening a bottle and drinking it. That being said, I was convinced to review this tea so I did it.

You've got green tea and you like it. It's nicely bitter with a nice, classic tea taste. It's been around for a trillian years. It's loved by most. Along comes good 'ol Texas and changes the game with their own bitter tea. Now we don't need to go overseas to get our beloved bitter leaves. This is right in between a green and a yerba mate in the taste. It's a strong tea but not something that was just found in the desert and turned into something. This feels almost native and recently "discovered" by the white man and sold back to the country. I don't think that's the case but it has such an earthy taste that it would take a push from someone to drink it instead of the previously mentioned teas.

I would say that I want to see more tea, iced, hot, sweet, et cetera made from this because I really like the taste. It's not for everyone because it is strong but to those that want a real tea and not a weak Earl Gray or something can have something now. I'm glad that I was convinced to drink this because it is just as good as advertised.

I should also be the big man and use my powers to let you know that this tea is made by a small company out of Texas and really believes in it. If you are a hot tea person, give this a try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Website
http://www.texasyaupontea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Republic of Tea Cuppa Chocolate Tea Chocolate Peppermint

Republic of Tea Cuppa Chocolate Tea Chocolate Peppermint

I know what you're thinking. No, not because I'm psychic. People that say they are psychic are shysters and crooks. I just know that you are thinking, "Oh, chocolate tea. That sounds grozz." Well, friend. Live a little because this tube of tea bags was a wise investment on my part.

There is a red tea base that you can kind of taste first. It's a very good tea in itself but then, oh, here it comes, Chocolageddon with a sprig of mint. It is a very refreshing drink because it's as "thin" as a tea but almost tastes like a mint hot chocolate. I did ten ounces and decided to roll the dice and snag a couple more O.Z.'s out of the same bag and it was a solid 80% return on investment.

It's almost unfortunate because they have so many other good flavors that it's going to cost me a pretty penny to, much like Ash to his Pokemon, collect them all. I've got thirty one bags left of this treat so it might take me a little bit to get to the rest of the family.

Website
http://www.republicoftea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 19th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Republic of Tea: PEPPERMINT CHOCOLATE (36 unbleached Tea Bags)

Bodum Japan Sencha

Bodum Japan Sencha

There is time to play games and there is time to be serious. Now is not the time to talk about butts, cats in glasses, sandwiches with both meats and cheese in them, or corgi stuff. Now is the time to talk about things like third quarter investment strategies, medicine directions, model instructions, mathematical equations, and the complex relationship between Turkey and Sudan.

Green tea, and I mean real green tea, not canned green tea that should only be displayed in quotes, is a complex beast. It's an adult drink. A true drink for adults. It is a bitter beast that can only be tamed by an open mind and a clean palate. Once you embrace it, you really can get into it. This tea is splendid and I don't use that term lightly or at all, really. It is bitter but does something to your taste buds where it makes them crave more. Every sip is just bitter enough that you aren't offended and has a great taste at all times. It's bold and is complex and takes time to take it all in.

Look, if you're looking for just another tea to drink and chug, this is not for you. If you had a hard day and just want to go home, put on some music, sit in the dark and sip some tea, this is for you. Wait, what? You don't like to sit in the dark and listen to music and drink tea? Hmm, now I bet you're looking at me like I'm the crazy one. You are the crazy one. In the dark you can really take things in without the pesky, intrusive light bothering you.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 14th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zhena's Gypsy Tea Herbal Red Tea Chocolate Chai

Zhena's Gypsy Tea Herbal Red Tea Chocolate Chai

It must be difficult for a gypsy to run a company. I mean, they're vagabonds. They're always moving around. It must be quite expensive to constantly pay that one dollar to the United States Postal Service to have your address changed. Also, to have to pack and unpack an entire tea company cannot be easy. Did Zhena establish the company, put her seal of approval and then grab her things and hit the road like she's supposed to? She put the company in capable and stable hands of people who didn't have to move so that she could continue her life as a gypsy. I think that in the world of gypsies, no one likes a nonconformist gypsy that doesn't move or steal. That's what they do, right? That and strange, confusing street games.

Alley games and layered clothing aside, Zehna did a pretty nice job with this. Not a super strong chocolate taste but do you really want something strong? The chai is a nice flavor, though. There are a lot of flavors in there I wish I could taste more like the licorice but you can taste the clove, nutmeg, and maybe cinnamon. It's all kind of mulling around in my mouth but they're all bold flavors and hard to distinguish once they're all in there. I'll give them dark chocolate but it's not the most potent chocolate tea I've ever had. I think that my search for a strong chocolate chai might be a wild goose chase. I wonder if a gypsy could catch a wild goose. I think that I gypsy would make a false promise of a wild goose for some sort of monetary gain. "I'll give you a wild goose from the back of this wagon for four dollars. Let me have the money and I'll just make change in the...back...of...this...wagon..." and then you duck to dodge the wagon spitting out small rocks and dirt because they just sped off with your money. That's how they get you; with that promise of one dollar change. Smart racket. Wish I had thought of it.

Website
http://www.zhenas.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 23rd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Zhena's Gypsy Tea Chocolate Chai Tea ( 22 BAG)

Starbucks Chocolate Chai

Starbucks Chocolate Chai

My quest might be over. Jay and I had a bit of a "date day" today. We ran all sorts of assorted errands like buying a microphone, replacing a headlight, duplicating a key, and so much more. One of our stops, midway through the way, was a trip to Starbucks. He read my previous review about my new quest of finding the ideal chocolate chai and how what I'm looking for just might not exist. Well friends, he changed my opinions on that matter by introducing me to Starbucks chocolate chai.

This chai, was in all regards, superior to any other chocolate chai I have ever had. Not only can you taste a strong chocolate flavor but it also has bite, brother. It's downright spicy with its nutmeg or cinnamon or wizardry or whatever else makes up a chai. Sure it was the temperature of the sun when I was handed to me and I left it in the car while Jay and I ran more errands but when I got back, it couldn't have been more "go time" if it tried. This, without a doubt, is my new drink. Goodbye childish hot cocoa. Goodbye adult hot chocolate mocha. Hello Eastern treat chocolate chai. Eastern right? You have a little debate about that. I'm leaving it there.

Website
http://www.starbucks.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee, Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 25th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tazo Chocolate Chai

Tazo Chocolate Chai

Now, in the comfort of my own home I can enjoy the sweet, spicy taste of chocolate chai. No more lines. No more waiting for people to get their backpacks, feet, and iPods off the table so I can be a patron to the establishment I went to spend money at. No more frustrating ordering of dumbly named drinks. No more, I say, for now all of that has been crammed into a delightful carton of love and spices.

This drink rules. There. I said it. There are really no if, ands, or buts about it. All that you love about chai and all that you love about chocolate has been sucked from the bowels of the earth where chai is made to give it that earthen taste and injected into hermetically sealed cartons. That plastic flip-top really seals in all that spicy earth. Seriously though, it’s a nice, dark chocolate taste with a strong cinnamon river running throughout.

I really thought I was never going to get what I wanted when it came to chocolate chai but thanks to Jay and his knowledge of the world around him, he let me in on this secret and now I am blowing the lid of the joint and letting you, the public know about it. Oh, this spicy, creamy, chocolate goodness. I shall see you again soon, my friend.

Website
http://www.tazo.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar Syrup
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea, Milk
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 31st, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tazo Chocolate Chai Tea Latte Concentrate (32 oz, 1 quart)

Mighty Leaf Organic Earl Gray

Mighty Leaf Organic Earl Gray

Calm down America, there is a lot going on but there always is, isn't there? Fights about fracking, missing airplanes, large airplane mergers, government spying, Russia, The Rapture just broke up, Acura discontinued the ZDX and so much more. Calm down. Have a cup of tea. Did you know that tea isn't just for the British? It's true. Take a listen here.

This is a fantastic, entry-level tea. It's not bitter, kind of floral, and not really offensive in any way. Some might call that "boring" but listen, dude, listen, it is great tea. It smells like drinking tea in a garden, which just oozes laziness and placid times. It hits you in all the right places that you would want a tea to. It's warm, smooth and welcoming.

People. Look, I know things suck. These are trying times but you've got to remember that you can't control everything and you can't fix everything. You know what can fix you, though? A nice cup of tea. Now shut up, turn off your phone for fifteen minutes, and sit in that nice chair you just had to have, turn down the lights, look out the window and drink some tea.

Website
http://www.mightyleaf.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Non-GMO Sweetener Blend
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 14th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mighty Leaf Tea Company - Organic Earl Grey, 15 tea bags

Mighty Leaf Chamomile Citrus

Mighty Leaf Chamomile Citrus

I want a divorce. I just can't take it anymore. We have grown apart and I don't know if we have anything in common anymore. We've had a good run though, right? Seventeen years? Our kids are pretty well grounded and I think they'll take it well. It just kind of seems like we don't like the same things. I like pop and you like rock. I like red wine and you like white. I like going to parties and you like going to concerts. I like oranges and you hate them. Wait...you...you what? You like oranges now? When did this happen? How did this happen? What's this? This is chamomile tea. I know that it says that there is citrus in the title but that doesn't mean that you like actual oranges. Try it? Alright, considering all we've been through I will drink this tea. Wow. Daryl, you are right. This is good tea. It's calming but very citrusy. It is like someone just filled a teapot with chamomile tea and orange zest.

Where did you go? Daryl?! I was talking about how good this tea is. Where are you? In the kitchen? Alright, I was just...Daryl. What are you doing? Are you...are you eating an orange. Daryl, I'm so attracted to you. You can disregard what I said about the divorce earlier. This tea and you sensually eating that orange has saved our marriage. We've got twenty minutes before the kids get home from school. Let's take care of sexy business.

Website
http://www.mightyleaf.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 19th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mighty Leaf Tea Tea Chamomile Citrus, Whole Leaf Pouches, 15 ct

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Daryl, this chocolate is great. Most chocolate is great but we need to step it up. No one wants regular "mom and pop" chocolate forever. We've made our name at this farmer's market by making quality chocolate but we need to step it up. The people have spoken and they are bored. Let's get something that figuratively punches them right in the face. Something different. Something to set us apart. Something like...pickles! No. That's gross plus the vinegar from the pickles will mix with the milk from the chocolate and provide nothing but an instantly spoiled mess. What else? Candy inside chocolate is hackneyed. Cereal? Bleh. No thanks. What else. Oh, I've got an idea, hold on a sec.

Look at these. Chilis from Sharon over there. I gave her a chocolate bar and she gave us a handful of chilis. If we mince these up, boil them down and extract the flavor and heat, we could cook it with the chocolate and have spicy chocolate. Yeah, I know it's been done before but I think that people here at this market would appreciate a little pain with their pleasure. Look at that old lady over there. You know she needs a little kick in the pants. Let's do it. I just want to try it first here in its raw format. Oh, Daryl, this is something else. Try this, dude. Wait...where are you going?

Where did you go? Is this a cup of tea? Thanks man, I appreciate...wait...what is this? This is a liquid version of what we just made. This is a packaged tea? Good Earth made this? It's...it's just like what we made. It's spicy and has a pretty strong chocolate taste with a hint of Stevia which we don't use but is actually pretty good in this tea.

So what do we do? We still pursue it, right? It's still a good idea. We need to change it up. Using this tea as a model, we will make fantastic new chocolate bars. Thanks, Daryl. You're a good partner. Let's try to think of other things we can concoct. Broccoli? Gross. Farm fresh eggs? No. Daryl, do you want this or not?

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 6th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Cocoa Tango Black Tea, 18 Tea Bags
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |