Hot Tea (39 reviews)

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

"Twisted" might be an understatement. The contortionist that your tongue becomes while drinking this drink is enough to make a circus performer get queasy. It's one of the strangest hot teas I have ever drank and reminds me of when I drank chai for the first time. Is it spicy? Is it sweet? Who knows? Who cares, really since it's so good, sometimes. I like the no-milk chai way more than the milky chai. This is on a different plane all together.

I think the base of this is an herbal tea since it's a black, hibiscus tea. Then all hell breaks loose with ingredients like licorice, lemon, blackberry leaf, vanilla, and rosehip. There are more ingredients than that but it's just a constant jumping from one to another like the guy in Pitfall jumping from rope to rope trying his hardest to not make it into those pesky crocodile's mouths. So pesky. This tea is sweet which some people won't like but I didn't mind because I like Stevia and it's faint enough that it's not overpowering. It's far from a sweet tea and if anything is just being added as a flavor rather than a sweetener. Man, those crocodiles. Much pesky. So wow. Very rope swing.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 15th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Sweetly Twisted Black Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags

Yogi Ginger

Yogi Ginger

Oh my stomach. I can tell that I have not been eating well when it constantly feels like I have a brick in my stomach. I assume, and am probably wrong, that this is what the second trimester of pregnancy feels like. Just like a thing is in your stomach and you feel like you're going to take an award winning poop and all will be fine.

In order to sooth my stomach and my head, a generous coworker brought me a bag of this tea which I made immediately. I sat down and didn't expect what would happen next. Wait...let me try to make that a little more BuzzFeed.

I drank the tea for the first time. What happened next you won't believe.


Better. So I drank it and there it was. Just as promised. Ginger. Spicy, dirty ginger. I enjoyed this entire cup of tea because it was like I let a bottle of ginger beer go flat in the sun and then decided that I didn't want to waste money so I was going to drink it anyhow. It wasn't sweet but there was a bite with every sip regardless of how much I drank.

BuzzFeed, if you want to link to this review, I already wrote your headline and I don't think anything is spelled wrong so you don't need to edit it. I guess I'll just expect my check in the mail then, right? Thanks, guys.

Website
http://www.yogiproducts.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 28th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ginger Tea Organic Yogi Teas 16 Bag

Stash Black and Green Tea Christmas Morning

Stash Black and Green Tea Christmas Morning

I certainly don't remember any historic Christmas mornings where I drank black and green tea. Certainly black tea is wonderful and jasmine green tea is equal if not better and together this is a great drink but it doesn't scream "Christmas" to me. Throw a single, measly dash of nutmeg or cinnamon or something in there. This is a fine tea but a bit of a misnomer. This is just a black and green tea which, like a girl I dated, nondenominational. Sure, this tea doesn't have as awesome boobs as she did but who does? Boobs: like a million. Tea: probably close to a million. As I type that out it's probably a closer race than I initially thought it out to be.

Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 22nd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Stash Christmas Morning Black Tea 18 Teabags

Traditional Medicinals Holiday Chamomile

Traditional Medicinals Holiday Chamomile

Oh chamomile. You're usually so boring. You are made of boring flowers and are used by old people to manage getting through the day. This, though. This is different. I can't place it but it's stronger and perhaps more floral than the typical, boring old chamomile. Also, I have to at least type this because I know you're all thinking it; Chamillionaire. There. I said it. You know what? Now that I mention him, maybe he'd be into this. Even hard rappers need to calm down and enjoy the simple, relaxing times. Sure, I'm working behind a computer as I pathetically do every day of my G.D. life but it can be stressful. You think that Chamillionaire has it easy being a rapper? You, right now, give me sixteen bars. Not so easy. See? Everyone needs time to look out the window and watch boats go by. No phone calls, just a nice flower-based tea. Maybe I'll give Chamillionaire a call. He'd probably like to hang out with me.

Website
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 6th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Good Earth White Tea Mango Me Crazy

Good Earth White Tea Mango Me Crazy

Dear Good Earth, it is summertime. It’s hot out and I have no reason to drink hot tea. I don’t drink many hot beverages, even in the dead of winter, but especially not now. I hope that you are okay with the fact that I brewed a big pot of this tea, with several bags and then put it in the fridge to cool down so I could make my own iced tea. Actually I don’t really care if you’re bummed because it was delicious tea. Truth be told it’s what I’ve been doing with most of your products and I have enjoyed each and every one of them in its cold form.

If white teas were more popular I could see myself getting over it really quick (I’m a green tea man myself), but when I have them every once in a while their subtleties are nice. This has a strong white tea base to it, and then an even stronger fruity overtone. Yes there is mango in there, but it’s the mangosteen that really stands out. Everything is actually in a really nice ratio and the flavors kind of come in waves. I’m sure this would be great hot, but until the snow returns I’ll be drinking it in its opposite form.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 27th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Mango Me Crazy White Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags (Pack of 6)

ViPova Black Tea with Finest CBD Oil

ViPova Black Tea with Finest CBD Oil

You know how for decades stoners have been shouting from the rooftops (more likely their parent’s basements) that marijuana is a magical plant that can fix everything? Well it seems like they might have been (partially) right. Scientists have come out to prove that there are many health benefits that can be derived from the plant and it can actually be used to treat a good deal of diseases and such. It’s due to this that we have medical marijuana. According to the little packet I received with this tea it’s the cannabidiol (CBD) that is the ingredient in the plant that has all of the health benefits and not the tetrahydrcannabinol (THC) aka the part that gets you high. So here is where the line gets drawn between those who actually care about health and those who were just looking for excuses so they could get high legally. I also learned that hemp and marijuana are actually two different varieties of the same herb and that hemp has very low amounts of THC and doesn’t really get you high. I wonder how many stoners know that fact.

ViPova has taken CBD oil and added it to a black tea. Instead of rolling a joint, or packing a bowl you simply boil some water, pour it into your favorite mug and let the tea bag steep and you’re on your way to promoting health and fighting disease. Here at Thirsty Dudes, we are generally more concerned with flavor over functionality, but I have to admit that this is really interesting information that I read today. Sure this tea has a higher price tag than normal teas you’d find in the grocery store, but this is essentially medicine, so it makes sense.

I have drunk other beverages derived from hemp before and they all have had a rope-ish taste to them. Since this not brewed hemp and just CBD oil added to black tea that taste was not there are all. It really just tasted like black tea that had a splash of milk added to it (it contains non-fat dry evaporated milk for some reason). From a tea point of view that is not very impressive, but when you think of how terrible most medicine tastes that fact that it is this good for you and just tastes like tea is pretty fantastic.

Website
http://www.vipova.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 25th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Trader Joe's Black Tea Vanilla & Cinnamon

Trader Joe's Black Tea Vanilla & Cinnamon

What is that, a raccoon? Hyper, those raccoons. Them washing all that cotton candy in the stream. Calm down, raccoon. Man. Stop eating all that sugar and drink some of this tea. It's good, subtle and calming. Like chamomile but less on-the-nose. This dude who works here has been sweet enough to let me drink some of his tea and drink it I did. Sure, he's not breaking the bank buying a box of tea from Trader Joe's but who's bringing money into this? No one. He's generous. Let him be.

That raccoon had the right idea with this. Sure he's tangled up in Christmas lights probably doing something he shouldn't be doing but he's at least chilling with a nice, hot cup of tea. The cinnamon is subtle and the vanilla rounds it out. Think of this like the biggest dandelion. You could lift it without even thinking about it. This is like that, as strong as it is, it's still calm and smooth.

Also, for those of you not "in the know," this is the video I am referring to:


Sad, right?

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 29th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Yogi Egyptian Licorice

Yogi Egyptian Licorice

I will never forget the first time I had this tea. I was in a band and we were recording our first record. The studio was at the dude's house and he had a roommate. In between us recording parts, we would hang out around his house. His roommate had a tea in the fridge that he just made which was hot brewing a pot of tea and then pouring it over ice and throwing it into the fridge. He offered me a glass and since I have been one to turn down new drinks. I took one sip and I was in love. From that point on, which was 2005, I have had this in stock at my house. I don't like to not have it because I like to have it when I want it. I buy it myself so I don't consider it being spoiled.

How do describe this. First of all, it's a cleaner licorice than you would expect. If you are thinking this is like drinking a tea that had a handful of black licorice Twizzlers, you could not be more incorrect. It's a light licorice with a little bit of cinnamon and a secret cooling flavor that is awesome. This tea is great at any temperature. I made a hot cup of tea earlier, drank some, went to lunch, and then came back and drank cold tea. Just as good. Over ice? Just as good. Hot as the sun? Just as good. Also, you can make multiple cups with one bag. This tea cannot lose.

I don't drink coffee. I feel like I could make it in England because I drink a lot of tea. I would also drink a Brit's amount of tea if this were the tea that I had to drink. Can I do that? Dear "the public." Can you send me to England to see if I can keep up with the amount of tea the UK drinks while only drinking this Egyptian Licorice tea? I hope the answer is "yes." Love, Mike Literman.

Website
http://www.yogiproducts.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 2nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Yogi Egyptian Licorice, Herbal Tea Supplement, 16-Count Tea Bags (Pack of 6)

Good Earth Herbal & Black Tea Sweet & Spicy

Good Earth Herbal & Black Tea Sweet & Spicy

When I was a kid I used to go to my grandma's house where my uncle has tons of antiques, collectibles and vending equipment. Inside one of them he had Atomic Fireballs. I would take a handful of quarters or nickels and buy three or so of them and put them in a tall glass of water and just let them marinate and make spicy cinnamon water. Taking one sip of this took me back like twenty some-odd years to those days.

Unlike the concocted drink of my youth, this tea is unsweetened but whatever cinnamon and other spices they used cut right through the garbage and somehow create a naturally sweet and spicy drink. The cinnamon has a serious and delicious burn and there is quite a lot of orange taste in it thanks to the one-two punch of both orange peel and orange oil. There are a lot of other great flavors in there but you cannot distinguish them as much as the cinnamon and orange. A complete bonus to this is that one bag easily makes two cups of tea. I drank one pretty quickly and made another one to take on a walk with my dog. I knew the first one was strong enough that I could at least try to make a second and I was right.

I do enjoy that the same flavors today bring me as much happiness as they did when I was eight. Look, I never said I wasn't immature. No one is going to argue against that. I think that if eight year old me knew that I was drinking something as spicy as this, we would high-five and the world would implode on itself because you're not supposed to interact with the past, especially yourself. Everyone knows that.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 24th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Sweet & Spicy Herbal & Black Tea, 18 Tea bags (Pack of 3)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next >>