Hot Tea (39 reviews)

Yogi Egyptian Licorice

Yogi Egyptian Licorice

I will never forget the first time I had this tea. I was in a band and we were recording our first record. The studio was at the dude's house and he had a roommate. In between us recording parts, we would hang out around his house. His roommate had a tea in the fridge that he just made which was hot brewing a pot of tea and then pouring it over ice and throwing it into the fridge. He offered me a glass and since I have been one to turn down new drinks. I took one sip and I was in love. From that point on, which was 2005, I have had this in stock at my house. I don't like to not have it because I like to have it when I want it. I buy it myself so I don't consider it being spoiled.

How do describe this. First of all, it's a cleaner licorice than you would expect. If you are thinking this is like drinking a tea that had a handful of black licorice Twizzlers, you could not be more incorrect. It's a light licorice with a little bit of cinnamon and a secret cooling flavor that is awesome. This tea is great at any temperature. I made a hot cup of tea earlier, drank some, went to lunch, and then came back and drank cold tea. Just as good. Over ice? Just as good. Hot as the sun? Just as good. Also, you can make multiple cups with one bag. This tea cannot lose.

I don't drink coffee. I feel like I could make it in England because I drink a lot of tea. I would also drink a Brit's amount of tea if this were the tea that I had to drink. Can I do that? Dear "the public." Can you send me to England to see if I can keep up with the amount of tea the UK drinks while only drinking this Egyptian Licorice tea? I hope the answer is "yes." Love, Mike Literman.

Website
http://www.yogiproducts.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 2nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Yogi Egyptian Licorice, Herbal Tea Supplement, 16-Count Tea Bags (Pack of 6)

Good Earth Herbal & Black Tea Sweet & Spicy

Good Earth Herbal & Black Tea Sweet & Spicy

When I was a kid I used to go to my grandma's house where my uncle has tons of antiques, collectibles and vending equipment. Inside one of them he had Atomic Fireballs. I would take a handful of quarters or nickels and buy three or so of them and put them in a tall glass of water and just let them marinate and make spicy cinnamon water. Taking one sip of this took me back like twenty some-odd years to those days.

Unlike the concocted drink of my youth, this tea is unsweetened but whatever cinnamon and other spices they used cut right through the garbage and somehow create a naturally sweet and spicy drink. The cinnamon has a serious and delicious burn and there is quite a lot of orange taste in it thanks to the one-two punch of both orange peel and orange oil. There are a lot of other great flavors in there but you cannot distinguish them as much as the cinnamon and orange. A complete bonus to this is that one bag easily makes two cups of tea. I drank one pretty quickly and made another one to take on a walk with my dog. I knew the first one was strong enough that I could at least try to make a second and I was right.

I do enjoy that the same flavors today bring me as much happiness as they did when I was eight. Look, I never said I wasn't immature. No one is going to argue against that. I think that if eight year old me knew that I was drinking something as spicy as this, we would high-five and the world would implode on itself because you're not supposed to interact with the past, especially yourself. Everyone knows that.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 24th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Sweet & Spicy Herbal & Black Tea, 18 Tea bags (Pack of 3)

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Energia

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Energia

Early morning. You've got a taste for something but it's 8:30 and you're not a child anymore. Sure, you love video games and cartoons so mentally, you might be a bit youthful, but on the outside you look legitimate. Also, you don't want to be awakened by the stampede of a hundred elephants by drinking something like a five hour energy drink or even a regular energy drink. You don't want something too light like plain old water. You want some flavor. You want some pep. You want some pizazz. This drink satisfies those needs and desires. It's really bold, spicy, and perfect for a morning wake-up call.

Yerba Mate is going to energize you naturally and it's not too bitter for beginners. There is cinnamon, cardamom, clove, and anise in there for the spice lovers. All together, they play together to create a nice, spicy tea that I could and will drink again and again. I was a bit skeptical of chai because I think I had it before but it might have been some milk and tea mixture that I was not crazy about. Now I feel like a dumb dummy because I've been missing out on a new morning staple.

Website
http://www.oregonchai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 2nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oregon Chai Herbal Chai, Energia (3x20 BAG)

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Dreamscape

Oregon Chai Herbal Chai Dreamscape

There is a video game that you should know about called "Trials HD." I have easily invested hundreds of hours playing it. It's a simple motorcycle game where you accelerate, brake, and lean your way to the end as quickly as possible. There is a level in it called "Dreamscape" that is all over the place. Ramping up and down through someone's crazy imagination with floating planks, scaffolding, and twisted wood. You can see what I'm talking about here.

This drink is the liquid equivalent of that track. I've made a few mugs of this before and liked it, but preferred "the original" variety. After drinking it today, I might change. It's so spicy. It's almost woody and peppery. If you like light drinks, you couldn't drive your car away from this drink fast enough. It's a lingering drink, too. So spicy. It caught me off guard because I didn't know that it was going to be so bold. If you're in the market for a change and need to pull a total 180, this is the place to go. Oooh. So spicy.

Website
http://www.oregonchai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Relaxation
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 10th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oregon Chai Herbal Chai, Dreamscape (3x20 BAG)

Third St. Chai Black Tea Latte Honey Vanilla

Third St. Chai Black Tea Latte Honey Vanilla

Times like this are when my science skills get to shine. What sits in front of me is a delicious honey vanilla chai tea concentrate. There is a whole lot of concentrate in this bottle. The ingredients say that it’s enough for eight servings, but I just made a glass, and it barely made a dent in the bottle.

To prove I am a scientist I got out some measuring cups so that I could follow the directions exactly. When it comes to reviewing concentrates like this it’s pretty crucial to get it just right, or the favor could be completely off. Yeah, something as simple as that is still science, deal with it. The directions say to mix it with milk or milk substitute. Since I am not proud of my mutant gene that allows me to drink other creature’s milk (oh man Professor X would be so disappointed in me) I went with unsweetened almond milk. I also chose to make it the cold way instead of hot, as it’s summer and who wants to drink hot tea at 3PM in the blazing hot sun?

So I followed the directions and made myself a nice chilled glass of honey vanilla chai tea, and it is gosh darn delicious. It definitely tastes more vanilla than most chai teas I’ve had before. You also can taste the honey, which I didn’t really expect. If this is what was served to me after I just shelled over nearly $5 at a local coffee shop, I wouldn’t be upset or feel cheated. In fact if I didn’t know any better I really wouldn’t know that it was made from a concentrate. Some of the spices didn’t really mix in all that well, and I would get sip that were chock full of clove and cinnamon, but I blame that on my mix of choice. I feel like they may have mixed in better with cow milk. I actually decided to drink a second glass, and I upped the almond milk ratio a little bit, and it turned out more my speed. That’s the joy of concentrates, you can make them as weak or as strong as you’d like. Man, I really can’t wait to try this hot once the sun goes down.

Website
http://www.thirdstreetchai.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 24th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Third Street Chai, Honey Vanilla Chai, 32-Ounce Plastic Bottles (Pack of 6)

Twinnings Earl Gray

Twinnings Earl Gray

Growing up, my best friend's parents were from England, right off the boat. Liverpool, if you must know. I would spend many nights and most weekends over there whether it be playing video games, listening to music, making fake radio shows on cassette tapes, or other kid stuff.

Being British, they stereotypically love tea. They drank it all the time. They also loved 70's prog-rock, which I wish now I could tell fourteen year old me to pay attention to. They bought me loose tea, which to this day, I prefer to bagged tea, and would keep it "local" and get me Earl Gray. I went a decade without drinking it after I went to college but now we have a Keurig and it came with this tea. I like this stuff. Yes, I add a smidge of sugar to it, but it's still keeping in the British way. This tea has a pretty nice lemon taste, which I don’t really remember in my old cups of tea. It's good though and I have made multiple cups of it since we got the box of it. I might be the only one.

Growing up I never talked about the queen but we talked primarily of the Queen as in Freddie Mercury. Phil Collins, Genesis, Yes, Jimi Hendrix, and the like. They listened to their music loud, too. I miss that house. Maybe I'll pay a visit next time I visit my parent's. My son loves the mom because she always gives him ice cream. How could you not?

Website
http://www.twiningsusa.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Keurig
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 16th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Twinings Earl Grey Tea, K-Cup Portion Pack for Keurig K-Cup Brewers, 24-Count

Texas Yaupon Tea Original

Texas Yaupon Tea Original

Not often but sometimes companies contact us to review their drinks. Typically they have drinks that we just haven't seen and we welcome them with open arms. This one, though, just barely made it. We don't usually review hot tea. We have reviewed a few but for the most part, it's not really controlled and everyone brews their tea differently so it's a lot harder than just opening a bottle and drinking it. That being said, I was convinced to review this tea so I did it.

You've got green tea and you like it. It's nicely bitter with a nice, classic tea taste. It's been around for a trillian years. It's loved by most. Along comes good 'ol Texas and changes the game with their own bitter tea. Now we don't need to go overseas to get our beloved bitter leaves. This is right in between a green and a yerba mate in the taste. It's a strong tea but not something that was just found in the desert and turned into something. This feels almost native and recently "discovered" by the white man and sold back to the country. I don't think that's the case but it has such an earthy taste that it would take a push from someone to drink it instead of the previously mentioned teas.

I would say that I want to see more tea, iced, hot, sweet, et cetera made from this because I really like the taste. It's not for everyone because it is strong but to those that want a real tea and not a weak Earl Gray or something can have something now. I'm glad that I was convinced to drink this because it is just as good as advertised.

I should also be the big man and use my powers to let you know that this tea is made by a small company out of Texas and really believes in it. If you are a hot tea person, give this a try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Website
http://www.texasyaupontea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Republic of Tea Cuppa Chocolate Tea Chocolate Peppermint

Republic of Tea Cuppa Chocolate Tea Chocolate Peppermint

I know what you're thinking. No, not because I'm psychic. People that say they are psychic are shysters and crooks. I just know that you are thinking, "Oh, chocolate tea. That sounds grozz." Well, friend. Live a little because this tube of tea bags was a wise investment on my part.

There is a red tea base that you can kind of taste first. It's a very good tea in itself but then, oh, here it comes, Chocolageddon with a sprig of mint. It is a very refreshing drink because it's as "thin" as a tea but almost tastes like a mint hot chocolate. I did ten ounces and decided to roll the dice and snag a couple more O.Z.'s out of the same bag and it was a solid 80% return on investment.

It's almost unfortunate because they have so many other good flavors that it's going to cost me a pretty penny to, much like Ash to his Pokemon, collect them all. I've got thirty one bags left of this treat so it might take me a little bit to get to the rest of the family.

Website
http://www.republicoftea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 19th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Republic of Tea: PEPPERMINT CHOCOLATE (36 unbleached Tea Bags)

Bodum Japan Sencha

Bodum Japan Sencha

There is time to play games and there is time to be serious. Now is not the time to talk about butts, cats in glasses, sandwiches with both meats and cheese in them, or corgi stuff. Now is the time to talk about things like third quarter investment strategies, medicine directions, model instructions, mathematical equations, and the complex relationship between Turkey and Sudan.

Green tea, and I mean real green tea, not canned green tea that should only be displayed in quotes, is a complex beast. It's an adult drink. A true drink for adults. It is a bitter beast that can only be tamed by an open mind and a clean palate. Once you embrace it, you really can get into it. This tea is splendid and I don't use that term lightly or at all, really. It is bitter but does something to your taste buds where it makes them crave more. Every sip is just bitter enough that you aren't offended and has a great taste at all times. It's bold and is complex and takes time to take it all in.

Look, if you're looking for just another tea to drink and chug, this is not for you. If you had a hard day and just want to go home, put on some music, sit in the dark and sip some tea, this is for you. Wait, what? You don't like to sit in the dark and listen to music and drink tea? Hmm, now I bet you're looking at me like I'm the crazy one. You are the crazy one. In the dark you can really take things in without the pesky, intrusive light bothering you.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 14th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zhena's Gypsy Tea Herbal Red Tea Chocolate Chai

Zhena's Gypsy Tea Herbal Red Tea Chocolate Chai

It must be difficult for a gypsy to run a company. I mean, they're vagabonds. They're always moving around. It must be quite expensive to constantly pay that one dollar to the United States Postal Service to have your address changed. Also, to have to pack and unpack an entire tea company cannot be easy. Did Zhena establish the company, put her seal of approval and then grab her things and hit the road like she's supposed to? She put the company in capable and stable hands of people who didn't have to move so that she could continue her life as a gypsy. I think that in the world of gypsies, no one likes a nonconformist gypsy that doesn't move or steal. That's what they do, right? That and strange, confusing street games.

Alley games and layered clothing aside, Zehna did a pretty nice job with this. Not a super strong chocolate taste but do you really want something strong? The chai is a nice flavor, though. There are a lot of flavors in there I wish I could taste more like the licorice but you can taste the clove, nutmeg, and maybe cinnamon. It's all kind of mulling around in my mouth but they're all bold flavors and hard to distinguish once they're all in there. I'll give them dark chocolate but it's not the most potent chocolate tea I've ever had. I think that my search for a strong chocolate chai might be a wild goose chase. I wonder if a gypsy could catch a wild goose. I think that I gypsy would make a false promise of a wild goose for some sort of monetary gain. "I'll give you a wild goose from the back of this wagon for four dollars. Let me have the money and I'll just make change in the...back...of...this...wagon..." and then you duck to dodge the wagon spitting out small rocks and dirt because they just sped off with your money. That's how they get you; with that promise of one dollar change. Smart racket. Wish I had thought of it.

Website
http://www.zhenas.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 23rd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Zhena's Gypsy Tea Chocolate Chai Tea ( 22 BAG)
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |