Hot Tea (39 reviews)

Starbucks Chocolate Chai

Starbucks Chocolate Chai

My quest might be over. Jay and I had a bit of a "date day" today. We ran all sorts of assorted errands like buying a microphone, replacing a headlight, duplicating a key, and so much more. One of our stops, midway through the way, was a trip to Starbucks. He read my previous review about my new quest of finding the ideal chocolate chai and how what I'm looking for just might not exist. Well friends, he changed my opinions on that matter by introducing me to Starbucks chocolate chai.

This chai, was in all regards, superior to any other chocolate chai I have ever had. Not only can you taste a strong chocolate flavor but it also has bite, brother. It's downright spicy with its nutmeg or cinnamon or wizardry or whatever else makes up a chai. Sure it was the temperature of the sun when I was handed to me and I left it in the car while Jay and I ran more errands but when I got back, it couldn't have been more "go time" if it tried. This, without a doubt, is my new drink. Goodbye childish hot cocoa. Goodbye adult hot chocolate mocha. Hello Eastern treat chocolate chai. Eastern right? You have a little debate about that. I'm leaving it there.

Website
http://www.starbucks.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee, Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 25th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tazo Chocolate Chai

Tazo Chocolate Chai

Now, in the comfort of my own home I can enjoy the sweet, spicy taste of chocolate chai. No more lines. No more waiting for people to get their backpacks, feet, and iPods off the table so I can be a patron to the establishment I went to spend money at. No more frustrating ordering of dumbly named drinks. No more, I say, for now all of that has been crammed into a delightful carton of love and spices.

This drink rules. There. I said it. There are really no if, ands, or buts about it. All that you love about chai and all that you love about chocolate has been sucked from the bowels of the earth where chai is made to give it that earthen taste and injected into hermetically sealed cartons. That plastic flip-top really seals in all that spicy earth. Seriously though, it’s a nice, dark chocolate taste with a strong cinnamon river running throughout.

I really thought I was never going to get what I wanted when it came to chocolate chai but thanks to Jay and his knowledge of the world around him, he let me in on this secret and now I am blowing the lid of the joint and letting you, the public know about it. Oh, this spicy, creamy, chocolate goodness. I shall see you again soon, my friend.

Website
http://www.tazo.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar Syrup
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea, Milk
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 31st, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tazo Chocolate Chai Tea Latte Concentrate (32 oz, 1 quart)

Mighty Leaf Organic Earl Gray

Mighty Leaf Organic Earl Gray

Calm down America, there is a lot going on but there always is, isn't there? Fights about fracking, missing airplanes, large airplane mergers, government spying, Russia, The Rapture just broke up, Acura discontinued the ZDX and so much more. Calm down. Have a cup of tea. Did you know that tea isn't just for the British? It's true. Take a listen here.

This is a fantastic, entry-level tea. It's not bitter, kind of floral, and not really offensive in any way. Some might call that "boring" but listen, dude, listen, it is great tea. It smells like drinking tea in a garden, which just oozes laziness and placid times. It hits you in all the right places that you would want a tea to. It's warm, smooth and welcoming.

People. Look, I know things suck. These are trying times but you've got to remember that you can't control everything and you can't fix everything. You know what can fix you, though? A nice cup of tea. Now shut up, turn off your phone for fifteen minutes, and sit in that nice chair you just had to have, turn down the lights, look out the window and drink some tea.

Website
http://www.mightyleaf.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Non-GMO Sweetener Blend
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 14th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mighty Leaf Tea Company - Organic Earl Grey, 15 tea bags

Mighty Leaf Chamomile Citrus

Mighty Leaf Chamomile Citrus

I want a divorce. I just can't take it anymore. We have grown apart and I don't know if we have anything in common anymore. We've had a good run though, right? Seventeen years? Our kids are pretty well grounded and I think they'll take it well. It just kind of seems like we don't like the same things. I like pop and you like rock. I like red wine and you like white. I like going to parties and you like going to concerts. I like oranges and you hate them. Wait...you...you what? You like oranges now? When did this happen? How did this happen? What's this? This is chamomile tea. I know that it says that there is citrus in the title but that doesn't mean that you like actual oranges. Try it? Alright, considering all we've been through I will drink this tea. Wow. Daryl, you are right. This is good tea. It's calming but very citrusy. It is like someone just filled a teapot with chamomile tea and orange zest.

Where did you go? Daryl?! I was talking about how good this tea is. Where are you? In the kitchen? Alright, I was just...Daryl. What are you doing? Are you...are you eating an orange. Daryl, I'm so attracted to you. You can disregard what I said about the divorce earlier. This tea and you sensually eating that orange has saved our marriage. We've got twenty minutes before the kids get home from school. Let's take care of sexy business.

Website
http://www.mightyleaf.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 19th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mighty Leaf Tea Tea Chamomile Citrus, Whole Leaf Pouches, 15 ct

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Daryl, this chocolate is great. Most chocolate is great but we need to step it up. No one wants regular "mom and pop" chocolate forever. We've made our name at this farmer's market by making quality chocolate but we need to step it up. The people have spoken and they are bored. Let's get something that figuratively punches them right in the face. Something different. Something to set us apart. Something like...pickles! No. That's gross plus the vinegar from the pickles will mix with the milk from the chocolate and provide nothing but an instantly spoiled mess. What else? Candy inside chocolate is hackneyed. Cereal? Bleh. No thanks. What else. Oh, I've got an idea, hold on a sec.

Look at these. Chilis from Sharon over there. I gave her a chocolate bar and she gave us a handful of chilis. If we mince these up, boil them down and extract the flavor and heat, we could cook it with the chocolate and have spicy chocolate. Yeah, I know it's been done before but I think that people here at this market would appreciate a little pain with their pleasure. Look at that old lady over there. You know she needs a little kick in the pants. Let's do it. I just want to try it first here in its raw format. Oh, Daryl, this is something else. Try this, dude. Wait...where are you going?

Where did you go? Is this a cup of tea? Thanks man, I appreciate...wait...what is this? This is a liquid version of what we just made. This is a packaged tea? Good Earth made this? It's...it's just like what we made. It's spicy and has a pretty strong chocolate taste with a hint of Stevia which we don't use but is actually pretty good in this tea.

So what do we do? We still pursue it, right? It's still a good idea. We need to change it up. Using this tea as a model, we will make fantastic new chocolate bars. Thanks, Daryl. You're a good partner. Let's try to think of other things we can concoct. Broccoli? Gross. Farm fresh eggs? No. Daryl, do you want this or not?

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 6th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Cocoa Tango Black Tea, 18 Tea Bags

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

"Twisted" might be an understatement. The contortionist that your tongue becomes while drinking this drink is enough to make a circus performer get queasy. It's one of the strangest hot teas I have ever drank and reminds me of when I drank chai for the first time. Is it spicy? Is it sweet? Who knows? Who cares, really since it's so good, sometimes. I like the no-milk chai way more than the milky chai. This is on a different plane all together.

I think the base of this is an herbal tea since it's a black, hibiscus tea. Then all hell breaks loose with ingredients like licorice, lemon, blackberry leaf, vanilla, and rosehip. There are more ingredients than that but it's just a constant jumping from one to another like the guy in Pitfall jumping from rope to rope trying his hardest to not make it into those pesky crocodile's mouths. So pesky. This tea is sweet which some people won't like but I didn't mind because I like Stevia and it's faint enough that it's not overpowering. It's far from a sweet tea and if anything is just being added as a flavor rather than a sweetener. Man, those crocodiles. Much pesky. So wow. Very rope swing.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 15th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Sweetly Twisted Black Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags

Yogi Ginger

Yogi Ginger

Oh my stomach. I can tell that I have not been eating well when it constantly feels like I have a brick in my stomach. I assume, and am probably wrong, that this is what the second trimester of pregnancy feels like. Just like a thing is in your stomach and you feel like you're going to take an award winning poop and all will be fine.

In order to sooth my stomach and my head, a generous coworker brought me a bag of this tea which I made immediately. I sat down and didn't expect what would happen next. Wait...let me try to make that a little more BuzzFeed.

I drank the tea for the first time. What happened next you won't believe.


Better. So I drank it and there it was. Just as promised. Ginger. Spicy, dirty ginger. I enjoyed this entire cup of tea because it was like I let a bottle of ginger beer go flat in the sun and then decided that I didn't want to waste money so I was going to drink it anyhow. It wasn't sweet but there was a bite with every sip regardless of how much I drank.

BuzzFeed, if you want to link to this review, I already wrote your headline and I don't think anything is spelled wrong so you don't need to edit it. I guess I'll just expect my check in the mail then, right? Thanks, guys.

Website
http://www.yogiproducts.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 28th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ginger Tea Organic Yogi Teas 16 Bag

Stash Black and Green Tea Christmas Morning

Stash Black and Green Tea Christmas Morning

I certainly don't remember any historic Christmas mornings where I drank black and green tea. Certainly black tea is wonderful and jasmine green tea is equal if not better and together this is a great drink but it doesn't scream "Christmas" to me. Throw a single, measly dash of nutmeg or cinnamon or something in there. This is a fine tea but a bit of a misnomer. This is just a black and green tea which, like a girl I dated, nondenominational. Sure, this tea doesn't have as awesome boobs as she did but who does? Boobs: like a million. Tea: probably close to a million. As I type that out it's probably a closer race than I initially thought it out to be.

Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 22nd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Stash Christmas Morning Black Tea 18 Teabags

Traditional Medicinals Holiday Chamomile

Traditional Medicinals Holiday Chamomile

Oh chamomile. You're usually so boring. You are made of boring flowers and are used by old people to manage getting through the day. This, though. This is different. I can't place it but it's stronger and perhaps more floral than the typical, boring old chamomile. Also, I have to at least type this because I know you're all thinking it; Chamillionaire. There. I said it. You know what? Now that I mention him, maybe he'd be into this. Even hard rappers need to calm down and enjoy the simple, relaxing times. Sure, I'm working behind a computer as I pathetically do every day of my G.D. life but it can be stressful. You think that Chamillionaire has it easy being a rapper? You, right now, give me sixteen bars. Not so easy. See? Everyone needs time to look out the window and watch boats go by. No phone calls, just a nice flower-based tea. Maybe I'll give Chamillionaire a call. He'd probably like to hang out with me.

Website
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 6th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Good Earth White Tea Mango Me Crazy

Good Earth White Tea Mango Me Crazy

Dear Good Earth, it is summertime. It’s hot out and I have no reason to drink hot tea. I don’t drink many hot beverages, even in the dead of winter, but especially not now. I hope that you are okay with the fact that I brewed a big pot of this tea, with several bags and then put it in the fridge to cool down so I could make my own iced tea. Actually I don’t really care if you’re bummed because it was delicious tea. Truth be told it’s what I’ve been doing with most of your products and I have enjoyed each and every one of them in its cold form.

If white teas were more popular I could see myself getting over it really quick (I’m a green tea man myself), but when I have them every once in a while their subtleties are nice. This has a strong white tea base to it, and then an even stronger fruity overtone. Yes there is mango in there, but it’s the mangosteen that really stands out. Everything is actually in a really nice ratio and the flavors kind of come in waves. I’m sure this would be great hot, but until the snow returns I’ll be drinking it in its opposite form.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea, Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 27th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Mango Me Crazy White Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags (Pack of 6)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |