Iced Tea (907 reviews)

True Brew Sweet Tea

True Brew Sweet Tea

I'm the only one in the office. It's a lonely day here. It was supposed to be a snow day of massive proportions but, once again, the outcome was overstated to say the least. It was honestly no worse than a typical snowy day. Perhaps it was a little more slippery. So what do I do? Jump right on that bus, earlier than usual, and ride in to work. No one is here. Everyone anticipated a disaster. So here I am, listening to an array of different new jams including, but not limited to, Everything But The Girl, Prick, and now an old Battles EP.

Even though the storm of apocalyptic scale was nothing more than an icy dusting, it's still cold. What better way to warm up than with a cold bottle of sweet tea? Yeah, I know, cold on cold. It doesn't matter. You drink sweet tea when it's hot so I'm in my own little paradise and it tastes great. I don't know how it could taste otherwise with these ingredients: water, cane sugar, and black tea. That's it. No preservatives. No artificial sweeteners. No anchovies. Nothing. Due to this, and the fact that True Brew is from Texas, means that this is one phenomenal sweet tea. Potentially some of the best sweet tea I've ever had. This is what sweet tea should taste like. It's not too sweet, but it is very sweet. I'm not complaining and I've got no complaints with this gem of an iced tea.

I'm not being kind with this 5-bottle review because this is the model. I don't know if it can go up from here. They took something great and left it alone and for that, I reward them.

This Battles record makes me want to learn how to play drums.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Numi Puerh Black Tea Mango Passion

Numi Puerh Black Tea Mango Passion

You know what? This is really good tea. If you don't like sweetened tea, this is a gateway to sweetened tea. If you don't like unsweetened tea, this is a gateway to unsweetened tea. It's right there, in tea purgatory, but a good purgatory. Think of this tea like a waiting room for kids. When you go to the tea doctor, and you have to wait in the waiting room, they've got video games, first edition books in mint condition, your favorite movies in HD with a giant LED TV. We're talking 72 inches of viewing pleasure. Also, a sub tray. I love when I got to parties and they have sub trays. Also, they have an endless bowl of guacamole and chips. Like Chi Chi's salsa but with guacamole instead. They will also have an endless array of Numi teas so that you can train yourself to like either full sweetened or full unsweetened tea. When you are satisfied, you get your parking validated and you can leave.

This is my first go with agave and I've got to say, I like it. It's a very soft, fruity flavor. Everything is subtle, but after a while the fruit get stronger and just makes you smile because it's good. Mango and passion fruit are good friends in this drink and although I'm no teaman, that's a Jewish tea maker, I think they should be combined more often.

Website
http://numitea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Numi Organic Tea Organic Mango Passion Puerh Black Tea, 12-Ounce Glass Bottles (Pack of 12)

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

Holy crap! I was excited for this, but I didn't expect it to be this good. It tastes like a slightly floral sweet tea, with a little something extra. That's right there is cinnamon and orange peel in this. You cannot imagine what that can do to an already quality iced tea. You like apple cider, right? Of course you do, because you're not a Nazi, and only Nazi's hate apple cider. You know what makes cider even better, and infuriates the führer even more? Spices. Spiced apple cider is one of the greatest things that can ever grace ones taste buds. True Brew has taken that same science and logic and applied it to this tea. If you see it in a store don't buy one. Buy a case.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Numi Puerh Black Tea Earl Gray

Numi Puerh Black Tea Earl Gray

When I was in about 9th grade I can remember a conversation that I had with my home and careers teacher verbatim. First of all, I started with "I'm going through a lot of changes." which was probably the worst thing I could have started with. I thought that she thought that I was going to talk about body hair, or at least something involving my wiener. I followed up that ambiguous statement with "I like to drink tea." I then followed that by saying that I think that I like listening to classical music, which lasted about a month and never, went past one compilation album of "the essentials" of classical music. I probably wouldn't touch the stuff now.

So anyhow, back to teatime. As soon as I started liking tea, I thought it was all the same. I don't even think that I had ventured into the Celestial Seasonings line yet. It was just whatever we had in the house. My best friend growing up's parent were right off the boat from England, Liverpool to be more precise. Being English, they knew their tea and bought me some loose Earl Gray tea. It was alright. Not too strong, pretty basic, but drinkable and very consistent. This Numi tea is the first time I've had Earl Gray of any variety in probably over ten years but it reminds me of way back when. This is sweetened, barely, but nonetheless, sweetened and it's very good. You can taste that it's different than just black tea and has a little something else to it. It's got a sophisticated, worldly taste to it that I cannot stand behind any more.

Americans and Englishmen alike. Please split a bottle of this and together we will have a feast.

Website
http://numitea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 5th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Numi Organic Tea Organic Earl Grey Puerh Black Tea, 12-Ounce Glass Bottles (Pack of 12)

Pacific Simply Tea Green Tea

Pacific Simply Tea Green Tea

For my final trick, I will make this unsweetened green tea good. Wait, does that make this drink sound like it's bad to start? Am I saying this out loud? This is the worst magic...er...illusion show I've ever done. I think that me saying that made it worse. My boss is going to fire me for this performance. Kids, here's a handful of quarters. Pull them out of each other’s ears.

What am I going to do? This tea is pretty good and not everyone is going to think it's bad. It's got a good taste through and through, but these kids won't appreciate it since there isn't sugar pouring out of the top of it.

Jimmy, don't put that quarter in your nose. We're doing ears only.

Where else could I work? I've got illusions running through my blood. I can do so many things that people only dream about with a single deck of cards except play poker. That's something I could never get a hold of. Cards aren't a game, though. Cards are serious business. This tea is serious business. No sweetness, all goodness. Maybe I'll get a job at the...JIMMY! DON'T PUT THAT QUARTER IN TOM'S NOSE EITHER! WE'RE ONLY DOING EARS! GOD!

I'm great with kids, but I don't want to be a teacher. Maybe I'll just get a job at a bank. I can do some cool stuff with money. I don't think that they would want to see their money disappear, though. I know customers like to get in and out of a bank and the usage of smoke and mirrors might be prohibited in a bank.

JIMMY! STOP IT WITH THE NOSE ALREADY!

Website
http://www.pacificfoods.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Pacific Natural Foods Organic Unsweetened Green Tea, 16.9-Ounce Containers (Pack of 12)

Texas Tea Acai Passionfruit Green Tea

Texas Tea Acai Passionfruit Green Tea

Large Plastic Bottle and a 79¢ price tag built into the design of the label. This spells low quality. I am so down on plastic bottles. In my head they instantly make a beverage seem cheap. Glass bottles are at the top of the beverage containment food chain. Next in line is the aluminum can. Plastic bottles are way down at the bottom. Can you imagine if the Ghostbusters would have used plastic for their containment unit? Their proton packs would have been pointless, because those flimsy things would have never held the souls of the screaming undead. You know what's an even bigger bummer than plastic bottles? Finding out that everything I had read about Ghostbusters 3 was just internet rumors. At least it's still happening according to Mr. Ramis, but it's going to be a long wait.

Another thing I don't get about this drink is that it's acai passionfruit flavored, two fruits that are notably good for you, but they chose to use HFCS for their sweetener. A quick inspection of the ingredients shows that their is also no juice from either of those fruits in it as well. I think the Texas Tea company is trying to hoodwink customers into thinking their run of the mill gas station tea is good for them. I'm not falling for it. What I will fall for is that even though it may not be healthy, this tea actually tastes pretty decent. It has hints of the fruits it boasts about, without them actually being present. It's a really sweet green tea with some nice flavoring. I think I would have given it a four if it were in different packaging and a different sweetener.

Website
http://www.teasoftexas.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Numi Puerh Green Tea Moroccan Mint

Numi Puerh Green Tea Moroccan Mint

This just came in over the wire: Chewing Gum Industry Single Handedly Takes Down The Mint Tea Empire. This morning officials met in an undisclosed location to discuss the state of mint iced teas. In recent years there has been a steady decline in the amount of mint in teas. It was put to a vote after hours of deliberation and the results came back unanimous that mint chewing gum is the solely responsible for this unfortunate demise. Stuart VonBrewenburg, leader of the anti-chewing gum league, was quoted as saying the following, "How can we continue to make our wonderful refreshing beverages when all our customers can say after a sip is that it tastes like they are drinking plain tea whilst chewing a stick of gum?" The most recent victim of this crime is the Numi company from Oakland, CA. Their "Moroccan Mint" line never stood a chance once the Wrigley Spearmint hit the streets back in 1911. Average citizen Kevyn Godwin from Buffalo, NY was heard to say, "It's hard to swallow when you imaging you're downing a bottle of spearmint tainted saliva."

Website
http://numitea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Honey & Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Numi Organic Tea Organic Moroccan Mint Puerh Green Tea, 12-Ounce Glass Bottles (Pack of 12)

Paradise Key Citrus Green Tea

Paradise Key Citrus Green Tea

I'm pretty sure Jimmy Buffet is involved in the production of this tea. I mean it says Margaritaville right on the label, and I can only image papers would have been served if he weren’t. If I ever get sued, it better be by someone like Jimmy Buffet, someone completely random. I can't imagine this ever being served at Mr. Buffet's paradise island without someone ruining it by pouring a bunch of rum into it. Gross. I'm glad that I was able to get to it before some idiot messed it up by turning it into a cocktail. Green tea and orange is a pretty great combination. When this is ice cold it's a pretty perfect beverage. It's not insanely sweet, but sweetened enough as to not be bitter. I'd drink these in a beach bungalow all the live long days.

Website
http://www.paradisekeyteas.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Peach White Iced Tea

True Brew Peach White Iced Tea

I love that we keep coming across companies that know how to make quality iced tea. After years of complacency, drinking whatever swill they have at the gas station, I have been shown the light. I can't even drink most of the gas station garbage anymore. Most of it doesn't even taste like tea, just sugary sweetness.

True Brew knows the importance of making sure the iced tea actually tastes like tea. Which means they also know how to properly sweeten it. One sip of this and you just know they use cane sugar. It just tastes gritty, without having any real texture to it at all. The sweetness hits you first, and as it dissipates you are left with a nice bitterness from the white tea. It's just how I like my teas sweetened. The peach flavoring is fairly subtle. If someone handed you a glass and didn't tell you what flavor it was, you might not be able to guess. Knowing what it is, it's just a nice hint. This is the third tea of theirs we're reviewed, and all of them have been pretty stupendous. I'm better their entire line is just incredible.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze, why do you deal in mediocrity? How do you sleep at night knowing that you produce a sub-par drink for the masses?

How many companies need to ruin one of the simplest recipes before someone says something? I would love to be that person.

Have you ever drank a high quality sweet tea? It's the simplest thing in the world. It’s water, black tea, and sugar.

This tastes exactly how you think it would, overly sweetened and a bit syrupy.

Cut the crap, most companies that make sweet tea that blows.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 |