Iced Tea (907 reviews)

Sweet Leaf Half & Half Lemonade Tea

Sweet Leaf Half & Half Lemonade Tea

Imagine this. You've been on tour for a long time. You're completely beat and down in Austin, TX to play a festival. It has been pouring all weekend, and it's an outdoor festival. You go back stage and it seems like the only non-alcoholic beverage for the bands is Red Bull (why is that always the case?). Suddenly you see a barrel with a different logo on it. What's this you say? Sweet Leaf? Never heard of it. You grab a bottle and on first sip you realize this is a force to be reckoned with. Then you drink about 20 of them over the coarse of the weekend and watch Mission of Burma, Gorilla Biscuits and Danzig all in a row. That was my first experience with Sweet Leaf. Somehow the tea left a bigger impression on me than seeing nonstop amazing bands.
I can't believe it took me so long to review this. It's by far my favorite Sweet Leaf flavor. Unfortunately, I also believe it's the only one not available in Buffalo.
Even though the ingredients are water, tea, cane sugar and lemon juice, this tastes like it has some light spices in it. It's just incredible. It's the perfect blend. Neither the tea nor lemonade is overpowering.
If you are in any way a fan of "Arnold Palmer" grab a case or eight of these and never look back.

Website
http://www.sweetleaftea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sweet Leaf Tea, Half & Half Lemonade Tea, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Bolthouse Farms Perfectly Protein Vanilla Chai Tea

Bolthouse Farms Perfectly Protein Vanilla Chai Tea

Bolthouse Farms is one hell of a company. I think I have tried all of their flavors, and there hasn't been a single one that I did not enjoy. The chai in this is present, but not overpowering like it is in some other beverages. It tastes vaguely like a chai latte. Due to the soymilk and spices in this, it also reminds me of a lite version of Silk Nog. The vanilla is pretty great as well. Another nice aspect of it is that it's not gritty like most protein drinks.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wegmans Just Tea Green Jasmine

Wegmans Just Tea Green Jasmine

It's Tuesday. Let me rephrase that. It's Thirsty Tuesday (as all Tuesdays are. That means we go get burritos and then hit up stores in search of new drinks to review. Today we went to Wegmans. It's a slight point of controversy around Buffalo, but I claim they have the best burritos in the city. It's probably just because the tofu they use is delicious. You don't agree? We can easily settle this argument like gentlemen, with a round of Rock Paper Scissors.

Wegmans' burritos are meant to be enjoyed with unsweetened tea. I also go with the green jasmine. It's so nicely bitter, and jasmine is a great flavor to add to any tea. It cleans the palate so you can properly enjoy your burrito. Now I need to polish these chips and salsa that accompanied my meal.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Unsweetened
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Sweet Tea

True Brew Sweet Tea

I'm the only one in the office. It's a lonely day here. It was supposed to be a snow day of massive proportions but, once again, the outcome was overstated to say the least. It was honestly no worse than a typical snowy day. Perhaps it was a little more slippery. So what do I do? Jump right on that bus, earlier than usual, and ride in to work. No one is here. Everyone anticipated a disaster. So here I am, listening to an array of different new jams including, but not limited to, Everything But The Girl, Prick, and now an old Battles EP.

Even though the storm of apocalyptic scale was nothing more than an icy dusting, it's still cold. What better way to warm up than with a cold bottle of sweet tea? Yeah, I know, cold on cold. It doesn't matter. You drink sweet tea when it's hot so I'm in my own little paradise and it tastes great. I don't know how it could taste otherwise with these ingredients: water, cane sugar, and black tea. That's it. No preservatives. No artificial sweeteners. No anchovies. Nothing. Due to this, and the fact that True Brew is from Texas, means that this is one phenomenal sweet tea. Potentially some of the best sweet tea I've ever had. This is what sweet tea should taste like. It's not too sweet, but it is very sweet. I'm not complaining and I've got no complaints with this gem of an iced tea.

I'm not being kind with this 5-bottle review because this is the model. I don't know if it can go up from here. They took something great and left it alone and for that, I reward them.

This Battles record makes me want to learn how to play drums.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

Holy crap! I was excited for this, but I didn't expect it to be this good. It tastes like a slightly floral sweet tea, with a little something extra. That's right there is cinnamon and orange peel in this. You cannot imagine what that can do to an already quality iced tea. You like apple cider, right? Of course you do, because you're not a Nazi, and only Nazi's hate apple cider. You know what makes cider even better, and infuriates the führer even more? Spices. Spiced apple cider is one of the greatest things that can ever grace ones taste buds. True Brew has taken that same science and logic and applied it to this tea. If you see it in a store don't buy one. Buy a case.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

T'zen Harmony Ginger Chai

T'zen Harmony Ginger Chai

It's apparently Canada day here at Thirsty Dudes. No, no, not the holiday. That's not until the first of July. That would be a long time to "rock your body" as Robin Sparkles may say. I've just reviewed two beverages from the wonderful country of Canada and they were both over the top great.

I first encountered this on tour in Ottawa last year. I got it in a co-op where I also picked up the best samosas I have ever tasted. They were spinach and tofu. I still think about them to this day. This drink perfectly accompanied them. It did not perfectly accompany the burrito I had tonight, but that was because it was fairly spicy and this didn't help cool my mouth down. I don't care. My mouth can deal with the heat. I'm not five years old. What? Do you think I am? I can assure you if I were I would be the fattest five year old ever having drank so many drinks in the past six months. My parents would also be brought up on child abuse charges for the same reasons.

Back to the drink; chai and ginger are two of the best flavors ever. That being said, I would never have imagined mixing the two together. For that fact I am a moron. It's spice heaven in my mouth. It's a mostly chai taste with a great undertone of ginger. There are also orange, lemon and lime juices mixed in to give it a slight fruit kick.

It's very rare that I give a drink a five. It really has to knock my socks off to get that sought after rating. This has gone beyond any expectation I could ever have. I can't press you hard enough to give this a try if you're ever up in Canada and it's in your general vicinity.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TZen/38503384012#!/pages/TZen/38503384012?sk=info
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mangajo Healthy Days Goji-berry & Green Tea

Mangajo Healthy Days Goji-berry & Green Tea

I've been doing way more research than any one person needs to in order to follow the trail of Ecto-Cooler. If you don't remember it I feel sorry for you. It was a flavor that Hi-C put out in the 80's in celebration of the masterpiece that is Ghostbusters. It's the least they could do for the movie changed the entire world. Well my world at least. Either way it was a green citrus juice drink and it was wonderful. Sadly it was discontinued (although brought back for a bit under the name "Shoutin' Orange Tangergreen"). It's probably the drink I miss the most in the world. I might just be feeling nostalgic, but this tastes like Ecto Cooler to me. The Sweet Leaf Citrus Green Tea had me thinking the same thing. Maybe it's just something with green tea and citrus (this has mandarin juice in it). Even without my history of loving Ecto Cooler this drink is incredible. It's some of the best tasting juice tea combos I've ever encountered. Goji Berry is something that I'm going to have to look into more.

Now I feel like I need to watch both Ghostbusters movies for the 900th time in my life. I'm not complaining.

Website
http://www.mangajo.com/
Country
England
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Iced Tea, Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 21st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ito En Teas' Tea Pure Green

Ito En Teas' Tea Pure Green

So the Teavana ad keeps popping up when I load our site. I have to say their tea is delicious. Possibly the best I've ever had. To be fair I haven't had much loose-leaf tea in my life, but the types I've had from there are over the top good. They have tea that has been picked by trained monkeys (Okay I think it was just a story about a monkey picking tea, but for the sake of the review let's pretend it's their tea that is monkey picked). Having a trained monkey would be pretty rad. At first I think I'd have him run errands for me, but eventually I would probably just hang out with him and play Uno or something. If I were ever in Japan I'd sure as hell have that little bugger pick me some tealeaves.

The leaves Teas' Tea uses may not be picked by monkeys, but it is pretty pure tasting. It's all natural and unsweetened. It's water, green tea and ascorbic acid (vitamin c). In the world of unsweetened green tea it doesn't get much better than this. Lucky for us Big Lots got a bunch in and they are blowing them out for $1 a bottle (they are normally about $4). I will be drinking this all day at work for weeks to come. Now how do I acquire a monkey, and then how do I train it?

Website
http://www.itoen.com/
Country
Japan
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ito En Teas' Tea Pure Green, Pure Green Tea, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Calypso Teamonade Blueberry Tea & Natural Lemonade

Calypso Teamonade Blueberry Tea & Natural Lemonade

Recently I've been on a winning streak with blueberry drinks. If I were Clark W Griswold I would grab the $27 that I had in my wallet, go to the nearest casino and place a $26 bet on the "Pick a Fruit" game that they will undeniably have (I'd need to save the extra dollar for bus fare home). Everything would come up Griswold. Rusty would finally look up to me. I would be the man I always wanted to be. Then for some inexplicable reason I would change my bet and put it all on crappy durian. Who would ever pick durian? It smells like vomit! The wheel would spin, slow down, land on durian and then at the last second flip one more space and land on blueberry again. I would be broke with only my bus fare home. Oh wait I used that to tip that pretty waitress that looked like a model from the 80's. It's a sad time in the life of a man who just loves to vacation.

I (Clark) would be crushed, but blueberry would reign supreme, just like it does in this drink. When you open the bottle it's like shoving your nose in a bushel of fresh picked berries. The tea and lemonade are at perfect levels, with the blueberry just a touch higher in the mix. It's tart, sweet and fruity all in one. I don't know if the world of "Arnold Palmers" gets better than this.

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 1st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Argo Tea Green Tea Ginger Twist

Argo Tea Green Tea Ginger Twist

Chicago is home to some of the best vegetarian food I've ever tasted. There are multiple restaurants that are must eats if you don't partake in the flesh of other creatures. Today I learned that the same city is also home to one of the best teas I've ever poured down my throat.

I obviously chose this because of the awesome bottle. It looks like it should house some sort or marinade and not a tea. Secondly when has anyone known me to pass up something with ginger in it? Not only does it taste like ginger, but also there are actually small pieces of it in the drink, like sediment. It's surprisingly smooth with a heavy ginger flavor, minus the burn. The secret weapon in here isn't the ginger though; it's the trace amounts of vanilla. It gives this tea a whole new dimension. I picked this up at Whole Foods. Hopefully their stores outside of Chicago will also carry it, because I definitely want more.

Website
http://www.argotea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Argo Tea Tea, Green Ginger Twist, 13.5-Ounce (Pack of 6)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |