Iced Tea (907 reviews)

Nature's Promise Organic Red Tea With Mango Mandarin

Nature's Promise Organic Red Tea With Mango Mandarin

One good thing about Mother Nature is that she always keeps her word. When she makes a promise you know she’ll follow through. Don’t listen to what those meteorologists say; they don’t have a direct line to Mrs. Nature and are full of lies. I would say that next time you want to go to the beach or on a picnic to give her a call yourself, but her number is unlisted and I don’t really feel comfortable giving it out to people. I don’t want to annoy her at all.

I was talking to Mother Nature just the other day and she made a promise to me that this tea would be totally organic and totally awesome. Of course that wasn’t a lie and this tea is amazing. It’s semi-sweet, which is how I’ve grown to love my tea. You don’t feel like you’re drinking liquid sugar, but you also aren’t just drinking a whole bunch of bitter either. It’s made with red tea; a nice change up from the normal black and green varieties. Also, while there is no juice in this bottle the mango and mandarin flavors are there just enough to make this a flavorful tea without taking away from the taste of the tea itself. I could drink this stuff by the gallon, and I would if Mother Nature hadn’t told me that it would be a bad idea. As we’ve learned she doesn’t lie and is never wrong, so I’ll stick to my 16oz bottle.

Website
http://www.stopandshop.com/our_stores/offerings/brands/index.htm?brnd=NATURE_PROMISE
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 20th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Pokka Oolong Tea

Pokka Oolong Tea

I drink a lot of unsweetened tea. I mean A LOT of unsweetened tea. I brew it myself and let it chill in the fridge before I enjoy it. The thing is that all of the tea I have thus far brewed has been either black or green tea. It’s been so long since I’ve drank an unsweetened iced oolong tea that I have forgotten exactly how delicious it can be. Oolong has a much earthier taste to it than black and green tea. It’s not the kind of tea that you would drink when you needed instant refreshment, but it is the type you would sip slowly and mull over the flavor as you relax. I will definitely be getting some tea bags to brew some myself.

Website
http://www.pokka.com.sg/
Country
Singapore
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 26th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Oolong Tea Can - 10.1fl oz by Pokka.

Argo Tea Charitea

Argo Tea Charitea

Charitea…get it? Charity. Cherry Tea. It’s wacky word play that comes around full circle. This is a cherry hibiscus tea and a percentage of its proceeds are donated to different charities. Those are two things that I can get behind.

I love that Argo chose to use hibiscus as their tea. It’s not the obvious choice and it makes the drink that much more enjoyable. Also, unlike most companies they actually use real fruit juice to flavor their teas. So to clarify this is hibiscus mixed with straight up cherry juice. Could this get any better? Well self, I’m glad you asked. You see on top of the cherry and hibiscus there is also vanilla in the mix. For those of you not in the know, cherry and vanilla makes one heck of a combo. It also makes Mike’s favorite pop of all time. This is a strong flavorful beverage, and even though it’s a tad on the pricey side, it is well worth every penny. It’s one of the most unique teas I’ve enjoyed in a long time, and I’d like to share this experience with you. So, you know you should probably dish out the cash and buy a couple of bottles and come over to hang out. I swear I won’t just be reading Batman comics and drinking the tea while you sit there uncomfortably.

Website
http://www.argotea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 29th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Argo Tea Tea, Charitea, 13.5-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 6)

Kuang Chuan Frozen Green Tea

Kuang Chuan Frozen Green Tea

Global warming is running rampant. You don’t believe me? Well then perhaps you should look at the shifting weather patterns and talk to your local displaced penguin. As a result of it glaciers are melting left and right and scientists have headed north on a mission to find all sorts of things left in their soggy wake. Some of the greatest rewards discovered during “Operation: Encino Man” have been bottles of Kuang Chuan green tea. I mean the government is keeping the whole thing hush hush, but that is the only explanation I can think of as to why this would be called “frozen green tea.” It tastes just like a decent quality unsweetened green tea. There is nothing out of the ordinary about it, but you now what? It doesn’t need anything new or different. This is a classic taste that is perfect the way it is. Drinking it right out of the fridge is like pulling it straight from the semi-solid melting ice of the glacier. It’s cool, refreshing and just a bit bitter. Who could ask for anything else from a green tea?

Website
http://www.kuangchuan.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 4th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Gabrielle's Bakery Exotic Beverages Hibiscus Tea

Gabrielle's Bakery Exotic Beverages Hibiscus Tea

Every couple of days when I finish up printing t-shirts I find a nice package waiting in my front hall for me. The drink companies of the United States have been very kind to us and we whole-heartedly appreciate it. Today was one such day and as it turns out there were two boxes waiting (This and one from Mountain Dew). Normally I’ll bring the boxes inside, put them on the table and get cleaned up/make some food. After I’m all settled in and fed I’ll see what gifts came in the post. I’ll open them up, take some pictures and then put them in my “to-drink” pile. I’ll usually get to them within a week, but I have such a backlog of things to review that occasionally it takes a bit longer. Today was a very different day. I saw that the box said perishable so I opened it as soon as I got inside. When I saw that what the box contained was hibiscus tea I was stoked. We had gotten an email about this drink and I knew that it also had ginger in it; I started salivating. It was in a cooler, and the drinks were still very cold, so I quickly took some pictures and opened one up before my camera could even save the file to it’s memory card.

As soon as I took a sip I was filled with a deep sadness that could very well lead to a dark depression. You see this drink is so ridiculously good that knowing that I have so little of it, and that my willpower is weak, that it will soon be gone from my life. You see I can’t get this drink around me. It’s made in Georgia, and I believe it’s only available in that self same state.

It’s a fairly sweet tea that has the faint hint of floral hibiscus. Mike and I have argued over whether we love hibiscus or not. I kept telling him that in fact we were not we just had one hibiscus drink that blew our socks off and the rest were merely mediocre. I hereby take back everything I said. This drink showed me that when prepared properly hibiscus could be a gift given by the gods. You know what another one of their gifts was? That’s right, ginger. I love ginger. I can’t get enough. Mixed in with this already wonderful tea and I’m in heaven. This is real ginger, so it has the faintest of burns and the greatest of flavors. Throw in a few other spices and it’s almost more than I can handle.

This drink is absolutely perfect. I just mapped it out and it would take me 14.5 hours to drive to Florida. If I leave now I can get there around 9am tomorrow. I also have two bottles left to give me a fix along the way. I may have to rent a Uhaul because I don’t think I can fit as much as I would need in my tiny hatchback.

Website
http://www.gabriellesbakery.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 12th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Granny Squibb's Raspberry Tea

Granny Squibb's Raspberry Tea

I don’t mean to bum everyone out, but I currently have no grandmothers, as mine have both passed on. It happened a long time ago and I have moved on and learned to live in a grandmotherless world. Now that I’ve tasted my fourth bottle of this brand of tea I realize I was wrong and this is a plea for Granny Squibb to adopt me as her own so that I can get my fill of her tea any time I so wish. You see it’s not available in Buffalo, and waiting for her new flavors to come out so that we can get samples is simply not acceptable.

This tastes like a nice black tea that one of my past grandmothers might have brewed up, except they never would have iced it. It was hot tea or nothing with them. This is chilled and sweetened. If it were just black tea I would have loved it, but the addition of raspberry made it perfect. This may in fact be the best raspberry iced tea I have ever tasted. When a tea actually tastes like it was sweetened with real fruit, you know the company has done well.

So what do you think Madam Squibb, will you be my new grandmamma?

Website
http://www.grannysquibb.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 30th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Urban Zen Green Tea Honey Jasmine

Urban Zen Green Tea Honey Jasmine

I had a true taste comparison with this one. As I’ve previously mentioned Arizona was my gateway into green teas. It was the first I’ve ever had and for a longtime it was my benchmark. How stupid I was. Last night I went to a show with my friend Dave and he brought a can of the classic Arizona green tea and I brought this bottle of Urban Zen. We were both happily drinking our respective teas when he needed me to hold his for some reason. Being the sneaky so and so that I am I took a sip. Wow, the two drinks while having essentially similar makeups were light years apart. I had never realized how cheap Arizona tasted before. It’s essentially a sweetener with some green tea flavoring in it. This on the other hand was the real deal. It’s properly brewed whole leaf green tea that has been infused with jasmine flower. It has a real green tea taste, and it’s mostly sweetened with honey, which gives it’s own twist to the flavor. All in all this has only 10g of sugar in it, which is all you ever really need in a sweetened tea. I’m pretty sure that Arizona has about 4 times that. The comparison made me realize how much of a kids drink Arizona really is, and how this is a tea of a pseudo sophisticated adult. It’s slightly bitter with a nice light floral taste. Jasmine tea, it’s not just for fancy Asian restaurants anymore. Arizona, I don’t know if I’ll ever look at your green tea the same way again.

Website
http://www.urbanzentea.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Honey
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 4th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Harney & Sons Organic Peach Invigorating Black Tea

Harney & Sons Organic Peach Invigorating Black Tea

This is one the lightest, and most lightly sweetened teas to ever walk the face of this earth. Did I just insinuate that this tea is sentient? Possibly. For all I know this bottle could sprout legs and it could go on a walkabout. I don’t know and I don’t care, as I would still drink it. It’s a quality black tea that is ever so slightly sweetened with cane sugar and honey. You can taste the honey a teeny tiny bit, but it’s enough to add leaps and bounds to the overall flavor. There is only a faint hint of peach. It’s more in the aftertaste than the sipping taste. If sentient beverages is the cost of having teas that taste this good, I say let’s do it. Sure we’ll have a moral dilemma with each sip, but we’re humans we adapt to the craziest things.

Website
http://www.harney.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 17th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Oriental Leaves Jasmine Tea

Oriental Leaves Jasmine Tea

Would you just look at that bottle? Is that the classiest looking bottle of iced tea you have ever seen, or what? It’s just a normal plastic bottle, but the shape and the cleanness of the design make it look much greater than it is. Little kids would look at this and think to themselves, “That looks like it is for grownups. I bet it burns like grandpappy’s juice.” I assure you the contents of this bottle are nothing like your grandfathers private stock, well unless your grandfather is a collector of fine teas. Those kids were right though. I bet if you gave this to 100 kids maybe 2 or 3 of them would enjoy it. It’s an unsweetened jasmine green tea, so it’s slightly bitter and tastes of flowers; two flavors kids tend to not like. It is what I like though. The jasmine flavor is just right. It’s not overpowering like some of Oriental Leaves’ competitors drinks are. This just hints at the floral and lets the green tea do most of the work. It’s tastes like a dream, and it makes me feel like more of a grown up than I will ever actually be. Oh, did I mention that I’m 33 and I spent more than 60 hours over the past two weeks playing Final Fantasy X? That’s right I spent more time playing a video game than most people work in a week. At least I get to pretend to be an adult sometimes.

Country
China
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 10th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Guayaki Sparkling Yerba Mate Cranberry Pomegranate

Guayaki Sparkling Yerba Mate Cranberry Pomegranate

Guayaki is a company that knows what they are doing, and what they are doing is making yerba mate based beverages that are nothing if not delicious. This is the 9th product of theirs that we have reviewed and so far they have all received either 4 or 5 out of 5 bottles. That is a rare thing indeed in the world of these Thirsty Dudes.

For those of you not familiar with it, yerba mate is essentially a tea. Does tea have to be made from a specific plant, or is it just any plant that is steeped in hot water? I think I’m safe referring to this as a tea. I’ve heard others do it, so I’m going to follow suit. As with all teas it has its own distinct taste, that is hard to describe, but once you’ve had it, you’ll always be able to place the flavor. It’s been compared to green tea, but I don’t really see it at all. Both are a tad on the bitter side, but yerba mate has an earthier flavor to me.

Guayaki has been making this tea for years and recently has started producing a sparkling line. I for one love it. Tea based sodas are always hit or miss, but this is an inner circle bulls eye. The yerba mate flavor is right in the center and it’s softened up a bit by some sweetener and a mixture of cranberry and pomegranate juice. What we have here are three bitter flavors, which could easily take all of the moisture out of your mouth, but instead blend together in a perfect way. Both of the juices are easily recognizable in the taste, but they are living in harmony together instead of fighting to see who will solo in the spotlight. I suppose that is because they both know that they will only ever be supporting characters in this drink; yerba mate is taking them all the way to Broadway.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 22nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Sparkling Yerba Mate Organic Cranberry Pomegranate -- 12 fl oz
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |