Iced Tea (907 reviews)

Big Island Organics Gingerade Mate

Big Island Organics Gingerade Mate

Anyone who can get this drink at their leisure is a lucky person. This is a complete treat. Spicy, sweet, tart, and bitter all at the same time. You can't get this close to an even distribution of wonderfully blended flavors easily. You take a sip and it's sweet, fantastic lemonade. Then you get the burn of the ginger followed by a little bitterness of the mate. To make something like this you have to be a mastermind of flavors and concoctions. I think that this, if put in the hands of the masses, would blow up as a company. We've become too safe with our beverages and no one wants a little bit of bang. "Oh a spicy drink? Who wants that?" Oh, I don't know. The millions of people who purchase hot sauce, jalapenos, or put ginger on their sushi. It doesn't taste like chicken wings, you idiot. Things can be spicy and sweet. Have fun with your drinks. Don't be scared.

Website
http://www.bigislandorganics.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 20th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Big Island Organics Mate, Gingerade, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Runa Focused Energy Unsweetened Guava Guayusa Tea

Runa Focused Energy Unsweetened Guava Guayusa Tea

I’ve said it before, and I’m sure I will say it again; guavas have never let me down. From juices, to teas, to the actual fruit I like everything I have ever tried that it was involved with. I even like the Ween album “Pure Guava.” It’s the magical fruit that can do no wrong.

In that same regard it seems that Runa is a tea company that can also do no harm. I’ve tried a couple of the products and have been impressed by all of them. I want more companies to use guayusa as their tea of choice. It has a more interesting flavor, and as much as I don’t want to admit it, I’ve grown bored of black tea. Yerba mate and guayusa are now my teas of choice. It also helps that they have a decent amount of caffeine in them, as I never want to drink coffee, unless it’s made up all nice and fancy, and I try to drink energy drinks very sparingly, as I don’t want to have heart problems in the future, and there’s a lot of unnatural chemical junk in them.

The thing I love the most about Runa and this tea is that they weren’t afraid to forgo a sweetener. The tea alone would be great unsweetened, but adding the guava makes this perfect. It’s fruity enough that it has it’s own quasi sweetness. It also perfectly balances with the guayusa, so neither flavor overpowers the other. There is a Ying and Yang thing going on with this tea of two great flavors that can also live in perfect harmony together.

Website
http://www.runa.org/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bolthouse Farms Green Tea Soy Latte

Bolthouse Farms Green Tea Soy Latte

I've had chai lattes. I've had yerba mate latte. I've even had a straight up black tea latte, but never in my days have I had, or even thought about a green tea latte. The idea of adding a cream substance to green tea just seems completely foreign to me. The taste of green tea is so specific in my mind that I couldn't fathom it being creamy. I just looked it up and apparently this is a normal thing in coffee shops. Guess I've just been unobservant as always.

This is basically just soy milk, matcha green tea and cane sugar, and it's wonderful. It tastes like what I would imagine vegan green tea ice cream would taste like. Now that I think of it, I have had green tea ice cream in the past, so I guess I have had creamy matcha. It definitely tastes like a culmination of its ingredients and it's wonderful. This was my first time seeing this in a store, and I hope it becomes available in the big bottles, because I love it and it makes me feel sophisticated for some reason. Looks like I'll have to break on the monocle and spats.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 4th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Panera Bread Tropical Hibiscus

Panera Bread  Tropical Hibiscus

Oh I think I'll just take a little walk. I've got about five hours before I have to do anything. I'll take a walk, get something to eat, look for some cool cars, and look for some drinks. It will be fun. (opens door to go outside) Oh fantastic. It's windy, raining, and cold. One better is there are no sidewalks. I'll just walk on the side of the road like a bum.

Here I am at a Panera and I know what I want to eat. Clearly the cinnamon crunch bagel but what to drink? That giant sign advertising tropical hibiscus tea piques my interest. I'll have that. (sits down) There is a real lack of "cool" car's out. The weather sucks but still. No one wants to drive their Porsche 911 to get a bagel? This tea is worth the drive. It's got a great floral tea taste with just a touch of sweetness from, presumably, the tropics. I don't taste any pineapple or mango or passion fruit; just a nice hibiscus tea, which is fine by me. Sure, a pineapple hibiscus tea would probably reign supreme but I'm not working at the Panera Bread flavor center now, am I?

Now this bagel is done. Looks like I'll aimlessly walk around like a hooded creep who doesn't have a car and enjoys running into the end of sidewalks because Jersey doesn't care about tourists without cars.

Website
Http://www.panerabread.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Runa Focused Energy Unsweetened Lime Guayusa Tea

Runa Focused Energy Unsweetened Lime Guayusa Tea

For a good portion of my life I consumed far too much sugar, and the majority of that sugar came in the form of iced tea. I love the stuff. Can’t get enough of it. With the advent of the iced tea tall boys and the expansion of the medium they are everywhere and generally only $1. That’s a deal that was hard to pass up. Eventually I got to the age where what you eat/drink finally catches up to you, and it was quite a shock. For 30 years or so I ate and drank whatever fancied me and my weight never went under 170 and never above 175. They were the golden years. Then I started to notice a change and I decided I needed more exercise in my life and a change to my diet. I am happy to say that I have actually stuck with it, and things are looking good.

One of the steps I took was to start brewing my own tea at home. I would boil a huge pot of water, throw a couple of tea bags in and them transfer it to a growler after an hour or so. I learned to love unsweetened tea, and it help stave off the cravings I used to have for tallboys. I still drink more tea than is probably good for a human, but at least there is no sugar involved.

One of my go to teas to brew is “original” Runa guayusa tea. It has an earthy taste that is similar to yerba mate, but with it’s own twist. Sometimes I drink it just like that; sometimes I throw in a different tea bag into the mix of flavored tea. Either way it’s always delicious. I love that I have the option to get these teas in ready to drink form. I wish this were available at every gas station around the country, so I could easily find them when traveling. It is a perfect balance of earthy tea and limejuice. It’s mostly tea, but the lime flavor is very obviously there.

These days “mixologists” are all the rage. It seems like just a fancy word for a bartender that knows how to do their job. If I were to use the term though, I would say that Runa has one of the best mixologists around, sure this is a simple beverage, but ratios are as crucial to a drink as the quality of the ingredients used, and they have it down to a science.

Website
http://www.runa.org/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Runa Focused Energy Traditional Guayusa TEa

Runa Focused Energy Traditional Guayusa TEa

Did you know that in the original draft for Heart of Darkness the tale that Joseph Conrad told was very different? For one thing it took place in Ecuador and not Africa and secondly it had nothing to do with the ivory trade. Mr. Conrad was actually writing about his favorite tea, guayusa. Sure the general themes of savagery vs. civilization and racism were there, but the heart of the heart of darkness was tea. Ultimately it was decided that the subject of tea wasn’t gripping enough the world over (the English loved it), and it was swapped out for ivory and you have the story we all know.

I for one don’t give a rip about ivory. I mean sure I don’t want to think of the death of elephants so that man can have nice piano keys. I do on the other hand love me some tea, and guayusa is absolutely wonderful. It’s earthy with natural caffeine much like yerba mate. Runa makes it right. It’s lightly sweetened with only 14g of sugar in a 14oz bottle. I would enjoy it unsweetened as well, but it’s nice to have an option for a sweetened tea that doesn’t taste like someone accidentally dropped the whole bag of sugar in it.

Now you know the secret behind a literary classic. Do you feel dirty, or are you just thirsty?

Website
http://www.runa.org/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 13th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Plan Tea Organic Black Tea With Vanilla & Basil

Plan Tea Organic Black Tea With Vanilla & Basil

“Let’s make Plan Tea plan A.” You’re welcome for your new slogan. I’m sure the higher ups at Plan Tea have already thought of it, but come on it’s great. Actually it’s almost as great as the tea itself, almost. If this were only Darjeeling black tea it would be an excellent tea that would get a great rating on this website. The addition of the flavoring puts it through the roof and makes it one of the best ready to drink teas I have ever tasted.

Vanilla is an odd enough choice for a flavoring for iced tea. I’ve had it a few other times, but it’s not common by any means. Whoever suggested using basil is a goddamn saint. They must have had a direct line to some sort of god who spoke to them in a dream and hinted at the use of basil. It’s simply heavenly.

Both flavors are on the light side, but that it exactly how they should be. It’s also mostly unsweetened. I know that sounds like an oxymoron, but the only sweetener in it is a single drop of honey. It doesn’t make it taste sweet by any means. It simply smoothes out the edges just a little bit.

I cannot exalt the greatness of this tea enough. Since the only place I have found this for purchase is over six hours away from me, I took my time and sipped it slowly. The next time I find myself in Brooklyn I’m going to have to stock up. If you or anyone you know are a fan of unsweetened iced teas I strongly urge you to give this a go.

Website
http://www.drinkplantea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Wildflower Honey
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 12th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Jin + Ja Fresh Ginger - Cayenne - Mint - Green Tea - Lemon

Jin + Ja Fresh Ginger - Cayenne - Mint - Green Tea - Lemon

The tale of Jin and Ja is as timeless as Disney would like you to believe Beauty and the Beast is. Two star-crossed lovers doomed because of their families…wait that’s not it. Is it something about a monkey and a talking car? Hmm. Whatever the tale we here at Thirsty Dudes are constantly on the prowl for the perfect ginger beer. The kicker is that I think I now hold it in my hands, but it’s not a soda at all, due to its lack of carbonation. The perfect version of ginger ended up being some sort of weird tea type drink. I say that because it doesn’t taste like tea at all.

Jin + Ja is a healthy elixir that combines ginger, cayenne, mint, green tea and lemon. It has one of the craziest burns I have ever experienced with a beverage in my life. It burns as soon as it hits your mouth, and it has an incredibly strong cayenne/ginger after burn. It’s so strong that I can only drink the tiniest of all glasses at one sitting. I’ve actually been sipping on about 8oz of liquid for the past hour. I’m savoring every sip, which is how this should be enjoyed.

In-between the initial and post burn you get a nice sweet lemon flavor, with a very light hint of mint. The “heat” overpowers most of the tea flavor, but I’m not complaining. I just poured myself a little more, and the little that I poured makes me feel like I’m sitting here pouring shots for myself. Speaking of which, this would probably be a great mixer for some liquors.

My warning is that this drink is not for everyone. I seek out spicy ginger drinks, and this is almost too much for me to handle. My ladyfriend had the tiniest of sips, under duress, and she was writhing in pain yelling about the burn afterwards. Perhaps it will become the new” Cinnamon Challenge” or the “100 Warhead Challenge.” How much Jin + Ja can you drink before your head explodes like in Scanners?

Website
http://drinkjinja.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 13th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Harmless Harvest 100% Raw Tea Raw Peppermint

Harmless Harvest 100% Raw Tea Raw Peppermint

With cold brew coffee being all the rage these days I’m shocked that this is the first I have heard of what is essentially a cold brewed tea. I mean sure I’ve heard of sun tea, but that’s not something I have ever found for sale in a store.

The tea in this bottle has never been heated, nor has it been dehydrated. It is essentially the freshest tea you will ever have in your life unless you or someone you know picks the tea leaves themselves. So what does the world’s freshest tea taste like? Well, it’s the smoothest of it’s kind that I have ever tried, and that is with only 7g of sugar in it. It’s no bitterness to it at all. This is a whole new world of tea, that I appreciated more and more with every sip.

So there you have the base for the tea. Added on top of that is some peppermint leaves that are out of this world ridiculous. As soon as you open the bottle the smell hits you and it hits you hard. I can be a bit iffy about mint in my drinks, as it has a tendency to taste like I’m drinking something with gum in my mouth, but that is simply not the case here. This peppermint tastes the way that tea tree oil smells. Yes, that is a good thing for me. The way the leaves are ground up in here, when you take a sip your lips are coated with a crazy mintiness. It feels like you licked a Lifesaver and then rubbed it all over your lips. Intense.

When I first started this bottle I was unsure how I felt about it, but by the time I was done I was already craving more. There is some magic here, and if you see this in your local grocery, do not pass it up.

Website
http://www.harmlessharvest.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 19th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Guayaki Sparkling Yerba Mate Classic Gold

Guayaki Sparkling Yerba Mate Classic Gold

I must implore everyone who tries this beverage to not give up after one sip. I completely understand why you would want to. Something about that first sip seems like the drink had gone bad. It tastes like the beginning stages of fermentation, and it’s not very pleasant. The thing is that if you can make it past the first introduction of tea to tongue, you will be rewarded. With each sip this drink gets better and better until you get to the last drop and you are completely bummed out that it is gone. That’s right, this went from gross to “when can I get another bottle?” in 12 small ounces.

With a name like Classic Gold I expected this to be straight up yerba mate and carbonated water, with a little sugar mixed in. To be fair, that was delivered but along with it came some spice as well as prune, lime, tamarind and ginger juice (I don’t know how you juice ginger). The culmination of all of this is extremely interesting on ones taste buds. You can swish it around your mouth and actually make out the different flavors. That’s exactly how I like my beverages. It has the classic yerba mate flavor, with just the right amount of sweetness and additional flavors.

I’m telling you, work past that first sip and you will find that you are in for a true treat.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Classic Gold Sparkling Mate (12x12 Oz)- 12 Pack
| 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |