Iced Tea (903 reviews)

Southern Graviola Distribution Inc. Graviola Life Original

Southern Graviola Distribution Inc. Graviola Life Original

No thanks. The whole drinks packaging reeks of "As Seen On TV" sales tactics. With phrases like "World's most powerful heath drink" and "Low on sugar low on carbs" (no spaces or punctuation). I should have known. Not to mention, the website listed on the bottle is not correct. That rarely happens.

Let us continue...

From opening up the bottle, it gave me a plasticy, unnatural taste. The primary ingredient is a fruit called the "graviola" or known by its more common name "soursop". It does have a slightly sweet, milky smooth taste, but that strange aroma overpowers the taste and welcomes itself back into your senses.

Having heard nothing of graviola or soursop, I did ten seconds of research on Wikipedia, the worlds most reliable (sarcastic) source, and came across two items which interested me:

1. "Nutritionally, the fruit is high in carbohydrates" - After it had previously stated that it was low in carbs
2. "Research carried out in the Caribbean has suggested a connection between consumption of soursop and atypical forms of Parkinson's disease due to the very high concentration of annonacin." - Which just plain isn't good.

Sure, everything is good in moderation, but this just plain isn't good. Needless to say, the garbage found a 3/4 full bottle of this drink.

Website
http://www.graviolalifetea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Foco Pennywort Drink

Foco Pennywort Drink

First of all, let me explain the rating. I would not drink this again. It was quite an adventure. I know nothing of whatever pennywort is, and still don't. The image on the front looks like it would have been a drink made out of cilantro, which might have been good. This was better than I had thought it was going to be. The taste was very present. It’s full sugar, full flavor, and full color. This was a dark drab green. I put it in a clear, plastic cup and I couldn't see my hand on the other side. I think if I had a glass half as wide I still wouldn't have been able to see it. The taste was just like a sweet tea that some jokester put grass clippings in. If you've even been bored, picked up some grass and put it in your mouth and chewed it, you would have a non-sweetened version of this.

I've had wheat grass and I guess it's a little bit like that, but at least wheat grass has a natural sweet and not an applied sweet. Does that make sense?

I save "1's" for drinks I simply can't finish and this is one of them. I don't feel the need to torture myself since I've got a fridge filled with other stuff. If I was trapped on an island and a case of this washed up on short, I'd drink it, but until then, I'll let someone else do it.

Website
http://www.thaiagri.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 28th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hansen's Sugar Free Acai Black Tea

Hansen's Sugar Free Acai Black Tea

Oh, no. I don't want to do this to Hansen's again. I really like a lot of their products but I have to do this. I owe it to myself so that I may sleep at night and the public since I am the messenger. People come here for professionally written reviews about products the world loves. This, though...phew. What a dump of a drink. It is a liquid. This is true. It tastes like some garbage, diet powder mix drink. Now, I've had some of those that are good, but this would not be one of those. I'm not 100% on Acai's bus. I'm half way out the door with the driver pushing me in so that he can get me, and my fellow riders, to our destination on time. Don't push me, bus driver. I'm not ready to give in, yet. This drink is bitterly sweet like Acai drinks are but, man, uber-sweet and uber-diet.

This is an abomination of a black tea. Black tea should sue Hansen's for the slander that is this drink. As soon as this hits my mouth I am in terror. Diet. Bleh. I've drunk Spenda drinks before but this might take the cake as being some of the worst I've ever had. There are light years of distance between "sugar free" and "unsweetened" and if you don't know that, you should get out of the game and enjoy something else.

Hansens. You know I love you. I love many of your products. If you could remove this and that pineapple drink that I hated from your line, I would give you the highest reward of plugging the daylights out of you, until then, justice.

Website
http://www.hansens.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Splenda
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 14th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hansen Beverage Acai Black Tea Sugar Free, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Hung Fook Tong Imperatae Cane Drink

Hung Fook Tong Imperatae Cane Drink

Is it possible to strain a liquid through a liquid? I suppose it would be. If you wanted to strain water through an oil, that would work. It's a matter of volume and separation. You may have to go through some sort of skimming process to take a layer off, but that works.

This drink, which sucks, tastes like you strained sweet tea through soup; iced tea through all the corn, peas, carrots, broth and the like. I gave this drink to our new employee slash my new coworker and she knocked it out of the park. I made her just smell it and she said that it smelled like water chestnuts and me, hating water chestnuts, am not too familiar with the scent. Number two ingredient after water? You guessed it, new girl: water chestnuts.
You're re-hired™. Take that, Donald Trump. I've coined my own phrase that people have been using for years and called it my own.

Website
http://www.hungfooktong.com/tc/
Country
China
Sweetener
Sugar Cane
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 4th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Imperatae Cane Drink - 16.9oz [3 units] by Hung Fook Tong.

Positive Beverage Positive Energy

Positive Beverage Positive Energy

This stinks. This is disappointing and it stinks. I wanted this to be a bitter green tea, maybe a mildly sweetened but gnarly green tea. I could not be more wrong. This tastes like green tea flavored plastic. That's not what you came here for. You came here for details. Alright, you've got it.

Right off the bat, it smells bad. It smells like it tastes and it smells like burnt plastic. Initial taste is bitter but a vitamin bitter. Not a green tea bitter. What sweetener do they use in here that toxifying this thing? Oh would you look at that; sucralose, the bastard of all sweeteners.

Also, since we all know my opinions on this thing, let's talk about "natural energy." The energy in this might be real but the rest of it tastes like a chemical mess.

Oh, and also the "cross out" above "Gluten Free" makes it seem like it's not gluten free.

Website
http://www.positivebeverage.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 14th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Positive Charge, Natural Energy, Zero Calorie and Sugar Free

Ito En Mate Sencha Shot Yerba Mate Green Tea

Ito En Mate Sencha Shot Yerba Mate Green Tea

This is supposed to be an energy shot. The energy it supplies comes solely from the yerba mate and green tea, which are pretty much the only ingredients in the drink. If you are a fan of strong unsweetened tea and are looking for a little kick of energy, this is the drink for you.

Website
http://www.itoen.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Unsweetened
Categories
Energy Drink, Iced Tea, Shot
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ito En Mate Sencha Shot, Yerba Mate with Green Tea, 6.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 30)

Taylor's Tonics Mate Mojto

Taylor's Tonics Mate Mojto

I had my first mojito a few months ago, and I loved it. When I saw this in the store I was very excited to try it. It's definitely very strong, and the mint way overpowers the mate flavor. On first sip, I thought it was great. By the time I got halfway through the bottle I realized that it reminded me of the toothpaste that they use at the dentist office. That kind of ruined it for me, and I wasn't able to finish the bottle. I probably shouldn't have mentioned it, because now it may ruin it for you also.

Website
http://www.taylorstonics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

What's Knew Freshet Lemon Honey Green Tea

What's Knew Freshet Lemon Honey Green Tea

I don't particularly enjoy not being able to find anything on a company. I enjoy supporting a company I can get behind, but when two of the listed drink manufacturer's websites are down, and have been down for two years, I get a bit...iffy. I mean, seriously, it costs less than $20 a year to renew a domain and everyone knows someone who has more than enough hosting. Less tech, more tea.

I didn't like it. I like a light drink. I don't like over saturated juice or tea. A step above "weak" is right where I like to be. This tasted like someone put too much drink mix in and shipped it out. Also, an ingredient in the tea was "green tea powder" so I was pretty spot on. You do get a rather pleasurable lemon honey aftertaste, though. I quite enjoyed it, but didn't appreciate the initial punch in the face that it gave me.

Even with the highly contrasting dynamics of flavor, I will leave these on the shelf next time I see it.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 10th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

I typically love independent, mom and pop, generic iced teas because they're hand made and generally very good. This one was a bit of a let down.

The sugar was overpowering to the point where it tasted more like tea flavored sugar water than sweetened iced tea. You didn't get much tea flavor at all.

I will continue to try out small company iced teas like this in search for more winners.

Website
http://www.harrisburgdairies.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Black Jack Mango Mutiny

Black Jack Mango Mutiny

I had to buy this. It just looked too ridiculous. I knew it wasn't going to be very good, but the 88-cent price printed on the can made me feel okay about it. Just as I expected it’s not very good. Super think and syrupy. It doesn't taste like mango. It tastes medicinal. If you’re looking for a cheap HFCS tea, stick with Arizona.

Website
http://www.blackjacktea.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 18th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |