Juice (942 reviews)

Goya Tamarind Nectar

Goya Tamarind Nectar

I am a fan of most of the Goya Nectar drinks. I usually get them in the larger bottles, but this flavor I've only ever seen in a can. I learned today that although the bottles use natural sweeteners, the ones in the cans all seem to be sweetened with High Fructose Corn Syrup. In my opinion that's already deducted points. The taste of the nectar reminded me of a mix of apple and grape juice, with a strange earthy undertone. It really did nothing for me.

Website
http://goya.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Goya Tamarind Nectar

Jones Naturals Limes with Orange

Jones Naturals Limes with Orange

I've never been a huge fan of the Jones company. I do appreciate that they were early to the game in using cane sugar, but their sodas so sugary that they left a film on my teeth. This is my first tasting of one of their juices, and I have to say that I enjoy it much more than their sodas I've had in the past. It tastes like a thicker, but not syrupy, orange juice with a hint of lime. It may only be 10% juice, but it doesn't make you feel like crap like most other "juices" do.

Website
http://www.jonessoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Inverted Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hotlips Boysenberry

Hotlips Boysenberry

Boysenberry soda? Really? I was pretty shocked when I saw this, but also excited to try it. It's a local Portland soda made by the people who run the Hotlips Pizza chain. It has a strong berry smell, but luckily the taste isn't as strong. I was afraid this was going to taste like carbonated juice, but it definitely was not the case. The boysenberry is represented perfectly: not too sweet, not too watery.
The only major complaint I have is the price. At $2.50 a bottle, it's one of the most expensive specialty sodas I've seen in a while. I could see myself picking this up once in a while as a treat, but my wallet would never forgive me if it became a regular drink of mine. I am excited to try the other flavors Hotlips sells, especially the blackberry and pear flavors.

Edit: I wrote this review when i was half way through the bottle. I just finished it and was surprised by little chunks of boysenberry near the bottom. This might make some people happy, but when you're not expecting it, it's a little off-putting.

Website
http://hotlipspizza.com/soda/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Chunky, Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Allen's Tropical Grove Mango

Allen's Tropical Grove Mango

The first thing I noticed about this was the kind of odd packaging, it being in a small carton, with a screw top lid, kind of like a medium sized orange juice container. Upon opening, I was pleased that this wasn't like mango nectar (which tends to be heavy, and overly sugary), it passed the smell test, and it was a nice orange color. All seemed well, and at first it was, the initial taste was awesome, until I swallowed it. Then came a strange mild body odor taste (which you can get with a unripe mango). As I continued to drink it, the taste got more and more powerful. I really wanted to like this, but I just couldn't get over the after taste. It has hints of grape and peach, which doesn't help the taste at all. Its only plus is that it's cheap (about a dollar), but I still have half of it left and its been a week and a half. I would pass on this if I were you.

Country
Canada
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Allen's 25% Real Mango Juice Case Pack 12

Switch Black Cherry

Switch Black Cherry

I stumbled upon this drink when stopping for provisions to go camping. Since then I've been searching high and low for it. Recently my search paid off, as I found it at a grocery store about a half hour away from my house. Switch really knows what they are doing. It's straight up juice mixed with sparkling water. Nothing else is added. If you're a fan of black cherry, I highly recommend this. It tastes like someone mashed up a bunch of cherries and then carbonated the juice that was forced from them. I'm not a huge black cherry fan myself, but it is still tasty.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Black Cherry, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Switch Fruit Punch

Switch Fruit Punch

Switch is quickly becoming one of my favorite beverages. If only I could get it somewhere closer to my house. 100% lightly sparkling juice. I think the fruit punch may be my favorite flavor. When I first had it, I thought it was a little weird, but by the time I got done with the can, I wanted another. It reminds me of Juicy Juice fruit punch, if it was carbonated.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Fruit Punch, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

At first I wasn't sure if we should review store brand beverages. The conclusion that I came to was that it shouldn't be a regular thing, but every once and a while it would be fine. This decision was easier to make because of the deliciousness of this beverage. It's your typical Italian Soda, but it's extremely flavorful, with a nice harsh carbonation. I just wish that everything that was orange flavored in the world were actually blood orange flavored. It's such the superior to a normal orange flavor.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Wgmns Frizzante European Soda, Blood Orange, 33.8 Fl. Oz. Gluten Free. Lactose Free. Vegan, (Pack of 4)

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Cucumber

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Cucumber

This looked so enticing sitting on the shelf. I had never even thought of it before, but a cucumber spritzer just sounds so refreshing. Unfortunately the carbonation in the drink tastes exactly like seltzer water, which I greatly dislike. I will say that underneath the bitter seltzer taste, it does taste exactly like cucumbers. Hopefully in the future a different cucumber spritzer will hit the market that I can enjoy.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence, Organic Cucumber, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Blueberry

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Blueberry

After my disappointment with the cucumber Sparkling Essence, I was skeptical to try another flavor. Today I gave in and tried the blueberry. It had the same strong seltzer water flavor that I just can't get into. It does smell and taste exactly like blueberries. I just wish they would carbonate it differently. I did have a friend who likes seltzer have the rest of my can, and they loved it. So if seltzer is "on your list of the best things in life," this very well may be the sparkling beverage for you.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence, Organic Blueberry, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Lychee Wasabi

Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Lychee Wasabi

Fun. I don't know how else to describe it. It's not refreshing, but it's not, not refreshing. It tastes good, but burns. See, it's got capsaicin in it, the stuff that makes spicy things spicy, so it's...spicy. I had the Pomegranate and Black Pepper flavor and it was around the same deal. It took me about three days to drink it as I had more fun sharing it and seeing other people's reaction than actually drinking it.

Website
http://www.prometheussprings.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice, Other/Weird
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Prometheus Springs Organic Lychee Wasabi Elixir ( 24x16 OZ)
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |