Lemonade (230 reviews)

7Up Nimbooz

7Up Nimbooz

I always knew "classic" soda companies such as Coke and Pepsi sold their drinks in other parts of the world. Until recently I never even considered that they had separate product lines for different countries.
Nimbooz is a beverage that 7Up manufactures for India. It says on the packaging that it is carbonated, but this bottle is not. I don't know what could have caused that to happen. Perhaps the nutritional facts sticker that was put on it (so that it could be sold in the U.S.) is wrong. Maybe something happened in the importation process that caused it to go flat. I'd like to go along with the theory that an irate crewman on board the ocean liner (that this was undoubtedly brought over on) had a vendetta against the soft drink industry. It's my guess that he carefully removed the caps from all of the bottles and let them sit for the duration of the trip. Just before they reached U.S. soil, he snuck below deck and returned the caps to the bottles, thus ruining, what could have been a wonderful treat for U.S. customers.
If it were carbonated this would taste like a fizzy lemonade. Since it was not, it was pretty much just lemonade in a neat little bottle.

Website
http://www.7up.com
Country
India
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 1/17/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Evolution Organic Ginger Limeade

Evolution Organic Ginger Limeade

I've heard lots of good things Evolution's drinks, and I don't know why it has taken me this long to try one. I wish limeade were as prevalent as lemonade, because it's so much better in my eyes. This limeade is so refreshing, which is shocking given that it has ginger juice in it. Unlike other drinks featuring ginger, the ginger is a supporting flavor instead of the headliner. You get really nice tart limeade, and then just as the sip is going down your throat the ginger kicks in really nice.

I can't wait to try more by Evolution. I love that it's organic and has 4 ingredients: filtered water, organic lime juice, organic cane sugar, and organic ginger juice. More companies need to make simple yet delicious drinks.

Website
http://www.evolutionfresh.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 1/18/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Fentimans Victorian Lemonade

Fentimans Victorian Lemonade

As Mike pointed out when we drank this, this tastes a bit like a mix between lemonade and a ginger ale. It's like a bizarro version of a "Brass Monkey," except instead of drinking half of a 40oz someone drank half of a bottle of ginger ale, and then they replaced the orange juice with lemonade. Not exactly worthy of a Beastie Boys song, but you do what you can. My only problem with this is that they used fermented ginger root. It gives it that apple cider about to turn. I can do without my drinks tasting vaguely alcoholic. It's not too bad, but the thought is in my head and that's enough to slightly turn me off. I could definitely see how other people would really enjoy this. I know I really wish I did more.

Website
http://www.drinkfentimans.com
Country
England
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 1/26/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Fentimans Victorian Lemonade Soda - 9.3 oz Bottle

Purity Organic Half and Half

Purity Organic Half and Half

When I was around 12 years old I learned a very hard but very important lesson. I learned what favoritism was. It was a terrible feeling but something that is a necessity for one to learn as early as possible so that they don't turn into the cynical jerk that I am today. No, I do not blame Tae-Kwon-Do for turning me into a cynical jerk, and I actually credit Tae-Kwon-Do for teaching me things like responsibility, punctuality, respect, defense, and (to a lesser extent) honor.

I took Tae-Kwon-Do for around seven years and I really liked it. I had a lot of friends, I did well, I got to get my black belt in Toronto which was a lot of fun and my aunt told me that on the way there, I might see things like boys kissing boys and girls holding other girls hands and that it was OK.

Where the lesson came from was there was a kid named Ryan, and yes, that was his real name. Like Taylor Swift, I too, can name names. He always got to do all the cool stuff, all the attention, and yes, I will admit he was better than me, but there is a scale to how much attention one person can get and one person can't get. It eventually got to me so much that I didn't really want to go anymore. Than combined with the fact that the owner kept "losing" our checks and probably ever other month, my mom had to come in the office and convince him we paid our dues and he would find our check in a pile of other kids checks that were probably double and triple paying because their mom's weren't smart enough to not give him the benefit of the doubt.

There is no favoritism in this drink. Half and half and that's it. It’s like there is a strip of tape right down the middle of the room. Purity doesn't care if you have a closet and your brother who sucks has the door to get out of the room. You can leave out the window and you will like it. It's a fair game in this bottle and I appreciate it. Sure, some people are better at some things than others, but everyone deserves a fair shot: black and white, boys and girls, adults and children, Ryan and myself, iced tea and lemonade. We're all equal to Purity. I wish you taught me Tae-Kwon-Do. I would break boards with you all day.

Website
http://www.purityorganic.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 1/27/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Purity Organic Half & Half, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Calypso Lemonade Triple Melon

Calypso Lemonade Triple Melon

How have we not reviewed any Calypso drinks yet? I know I've drank a ton of them before. Today, I went to lunch with a handful of Mikes. We took the subway uptown, got out, walked through a storm, and then ordered lunch. I got a turkey breast sandwich with horseradish potato salad as a side. Oh, you don't care what I got? I spill my life into drink reviews and want you in my shoes as I describe how the experience goes. Just pay attention. My lunch was great but this drink was better. It's so good. Watermelon, honeydew, and cantaloupe compose the "triple melon" drink and it's friggin' awesome.

Every sip tastes like summer. Like you just ate a giant mouthful of fruit salad and then washed it down with a refreshing glass of lemonade. Not to mention it might be the coolest color drink ever made. It looks toxic. Bright. Fluorescent pink.

I really like this and will buy it again. I promise.

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 2/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Calypso Triple Melon Lemonade 12 - 20oz.

Calypso Lemonade Ocean Blue

Calypso Lemonade Ocean Blue

Dad, I've got a question about something.

Oh, man. Here it comes. I knew it was going to happen some day. I should have prepared for this. Don't they teach you this stuff in school? Why did I stay home from work today? Today of all days! Now I've got this to deal with. I would have been better off with the Johnson report. Alright, here goes...Son, what you saw was not what you think. You see...your mother and I...

Where do blue raspberries come from?

Your mother and I...wait what?

Where do blue raspberries come from? I bought this Calypso lemonade and it's really good, but I don't know where blue raspberries come from. I've seen red raspberries and I think I've seen black raspberries, but I've never seen blue raspberries. I don't think that I've ever seen a blue fruit at all.

Son, that is a very good question. Can I see that drink of yours? Say, this is pretty good. It's lemonade with a little bit of a berry taste to it. It says there are real lemon bits in here, but I don't see any. It's got a nice sting and rounds out nicely on the tongue. This is good stuff. To answer your question, I have no idea what a blue raspberry is or where it comes from. Why don't you ask your mother?

Mom? I've got a question to ask you.

Oh, man. Here it comes. I knew it was going to happen some day...

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 3/21/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Calypso Lemonade Ocean Blue 12 20Oz. Bottles

Nu South Blueberry Lemonade

Nu South Blueberry Lemonade

I have never known a blueberry to be florescent blue, and I've known quite a few in my day. Most notably, I've known Blueberry Johnson. He was a wonderful gentleman who had an idea for a television show for kids called "Blueberry Muffins in the Morning with Blueberry Johnson." It was a great idea, but the executives just couldn't figure out a way for him to host the show, even though he literally looked exactly like a human blueberry. Tragically he ended his life when the show didn't work out for him. It was completely horrible. The important thing is that he was not neon blue, nor was his bodily fluids.

I don't know why there are so many beverages out there that look like windshield washer fluid when the fruits they are meant to taste like are a dark blue. Truth be told, this doesn't taste like blueberries at all. It's lemonade that has been over saturated with sweetener and a little bit of "fruity" flavor. There is no bitterness left at all in this bottle. It's a liquid candy. It has its place in the drink world. I do enjoy the way it tastes, but it's just not what I'm looking for in lemonade.

Website
http://www.ubev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 3/22/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rob's Really Good Half and Half

Rob's Really Good Half and Half

If this drink were the television show My Two Dad's, the black tea would be Paul Reiser and the lemonade would be that other guy. No one remembers the other guys name. He really could have been anyone. I feel the same way about this drink. The tea has a strong memorable flavor while the lemon is forgettable like Greg Evigan (I had to look up his name). This would be a very good lemon tea, but if it ever expects to be a proper co-star the lemonade really needs to step up it's game.

Wait, that show was terrible. This tea is still pretty good. Let's pretend I made this entire analogy about Bosom Buddies instead. Switch Mr Reiser for Tom Hanks and the other guy for.....you know....the other guy.

Website
http://www.robsreallygood.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 3/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Alex's Lemonade

Alex's Lemonade

In a world where corporate America tries to take over a poor girls lemonade stand, stands one girl, the owner of the lemonade stand, against corporate America. It's the age-old tale of the big guy versus the small fish. It all started out on a suburban street on a sunny afternoon. Alex is making lemonade to help her family pay for her cancer treatments when along comes a masked man wearing all black in a black limousine. He buys a cup of the sweet little girl's lemonade, listens to her story, and raises his brow. "Jackpot" he thinks to himself. He quickly drafts a contract for the girl that says they will handle all distribution and she will get a portion of the profits and they wouldn't touch the recipe at all. Alex, who put everyone else in front of herself, happily signed the contract. With that signature went her patented lemonade recipe. The man in black took the ingredients and made a crude and cheap knockoff version of the original recipe leaving America with sugary, mediocre lemonade. As soon as Alex found out that her original recipe had been altered and the breach of contract had been made, Alex fought to get her fair and decent drink out of the greedy hands of corporate America.

Watch as a frail, little girl fights the unbeatable fight in this tearjerker of a blockbuster film. Coming this summer probably straight to VHS.

Website
http://www.alexslemonade.org/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 3/26/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ivi Carbonated Lemonade

Ivi Carbonated Lemonade

Last week was my girlfriend's birthday, so a bunch of us went out to a Greek restaurant. At the restaurant they had two different sodas made by the Ivi company. We picked up the carbonated lemonade variety. It has fairly obnoxious packaging. The label was obviously designed with Illustrator, which I am not a big fan of. Any art that looks like that is going to be so dated in ten years. Unfortunately it is everywhere nowadays. This specifically looks like it was designed to attract the interest of teenagers.

When I spent sometime in Europe I discovered that the people there have a love for carbonated lemonade. It's not something that you see very often in the U.S. Mostly it was pretty much just lemonade with sparkling water, a nice light beverage. This on the other hand is more of a soda. It tastes like a 7Up with way more lemon in it than there normally is. I enjoy it, but it's way thicker than I would have expected.


When I spent sometime in Europe I discovered that the people there have a love for carbonated lemonade. It's not something that you see very often in the U.S. Mostly it was pretty much just lemonade with sparkling water. A nice light beverage. This on the other hand is more of a soda. It tastes like a 7Up with way more lemon in it than there normally is. I enjoy it, but it's way thicker than I would have expected.

Website
http://www.pepsico-ivi.gr/versions/eng/page.aspx?itemID=SPG7
Country
Greece
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Lemonade, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/4/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |