Root Beer (223 reviews)

Sarsi Sarsaparilla

Sarsi Sarsaparilla

I found this bottle of Sarsi at a large international supermarket near my house. Judging by the color, ingredients, and uncanny similarity to the Pepsi logo, I thought this was going to be a cola. I also didn't see the "I" at first and was really excited that there was a drink called Sars. After i pried off the non-twist bottle cap (all I had was a staple remover to help with this), it didn't smell nor taste like cola. It's more of a light sarsaparilla, but with a bitter aftertaste due to the use of aspartame instead of sugar or high fructose corn syrup. It's not bad, but it's not amazing. If you're a fan of sarsaparilla and don't mind artificial sweeteners, it's worth a try.

Website
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarsi_%28drink%29
Country
Philippines
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cooperstown Brewing Co. World Series Root Beer

Cooperstown Brewing Co. World Series Root Beer

Welcome back to the World Series of Soda Pop. We've had an exciting game thus far and we're now in the bottom of the ninth and team Ginger Beer winning against Root Beer 14 to 11.

First up to bat we have Stewarts. Oh he just barely makes it to first on a bunt. Who on Earth bunts when no one is on base? I guess that's Stewarts. Now approaching the plate is Virgils. It's a fly ball out into left field! Virgils brings it in with a double. We now have Stewarts on third and Virgils on second and Barqs is up to bat. Strike One! He seems a little rattled, but let's see how he does on this next pitch. Oh it's a ground ball right to the third baseman. Virgil's not going anywhere, but at least the bases are now loaded. Cooperstown is stepping up to the plate and he's pointing to the stands. This is a root beer that talks a big game and he's looking for a grand slam to win this game for Root Beer. Here's the first pitch. Strike One! Oh man he didn't even swing at it. He's literally shrugging it off. He looks totally bored out there. The pitcher is winding up. Strike Two! Cooperstown was actually leaning back on his bat for that one. The nerve of this guy! It all boils down to this pitch. The runners seem pretty confident and are taking fairly decent leads off the bases. The pitch is thrown and Cooperstown makes contact, although the ball looked like it got hit by a 6 year old. It was a fly ball that went directly into the second baseman's mitt. He then tagged Virgil's out at third. It seems like Stewarts didn't realize that the ball was caught and before he could get back to third the ball was thrown to Goya and that's three outs ladies and gentleman. Ginger Beer Wins the Pennant! Ginger Beer Wins the Pennant! Cooperstown really screwed the pooch on this one ladies and gentleman. He was cocky because he was named after the baseball hall of fame. The thing he didn't realize was that he actually tastes like watered down store brand root beer. Acidic and lacking much flavor. Ladies and gentleman not only did he cause Root Beer to lose the World Series, but he also may be the worst root beer I have ever tasted.

Website
http://www.cooperstownbrewing.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Trader Joe's Vintage Root Beer

Trader Joe's Vintage Root Beer

I don't know why I expected more of this root beer since it's a store brand. There's nothing wrong with it, but it's definitely mediocre as far as root beer goes. It's better than A&W since it's sweetened with cane sugar, but it's far from being as good as Virgil's or other top tier root beer's. It's drinkable, but I wouldn't go out of my way to get a bottle.

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vedan 500 Sarsaparilla

Vedan 500 Sarsaparilla

Sarsaparilla in a can? OK I'm willing to try this. It was pretty cheap so I was expecting this to taste pretty cheap. Was I right? Pretty much. I didn't know it was possible to make a mediocre sarsaparilla. Then again, there are lots of mediocre root beers so I guess someone had to screw up sarsaparilla as well. This just strengthens my suspicion that no good root beers/birch beers/sarsaparillas come in cans.

Website
http://www.vedan.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hansen's Diet Creamy Root Beer

Hansen's Diet Creamy Root Beer

Have you ever been super stoked on a drink but then you take a sip and you find out someone put sand in it? This has never happened to me, but it's how I feel about this can. I love root beer and I love Hansen's, but I do not love diet soda. For a second this taste good, but then the awful diet acid taste kicks in. Sorry Hansen's, I'm sticking with the regular sugar versions of your soda.

Website
http://www.hansens.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hansen Beverage Creamy Rootbeer Soda, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Sprecher Root Beer

Sprecher Root Beer

We here at Thirsty Dudes love root beer. It's possibly our favorite beverage, and that is saying a lot. I've maybe tried a hundred different types of root beer and I've enjoyed almost all of them. I found this in a local specialty shop today. I was pretty pumped because their Puma Cola is fairly spectacular. On top of that, look at that combination of the crow and monkey creature on the label. It kind of reminds me of the racist crows from the old Loony Tunes cartoons. I'm going to assume it was not meant to be an homage.

So we've talked enough about the label, let's discuss the taste. I'm really not into it. When it first hits your taste buds it has a great classic root beer taste, then suddenly everything changes. Mike says it tastes like oak and that it's woody tasting. To me it tastes like someone spilled some cleaning solution into the vat of root beer. I kept on drinking, but I just can't get over that secondary flavor. Sorry Sprecher, you didn't do it for me this time.

Website
http://www.sprecherbrewery.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Glucose Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sprecher ROOT BEER PINT AMBER BOTTLES - "Sprechen Sie Deutsch?" Wisconsin, 16-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Virgil's Zero Root Beer

Virgil's Zero Root Beer

There is a lot riding on this review. Up until now, Virgil's has a nearly perfect record (with the exception of a 4 bottle review for their black cherry cream soda.) Virgil's has stepped into dangerous territory: diet soda. For the most part, diet soda and us do not usually go well together (except for a couple exceptions like the Thomas Kemper Diet Cola). I was really scared to buy this because I didn't want my opinion of Virgil's being one of the best soda companies to be tainted. But in the name of Thirsty Dudes everywhere, I have to.

Unlike most diet soda's that are usually sweetened with sucralose or aspartame, this is sweetened with stevia. I was hoping this would make it more tolerable. Sadly, it did not. I was really hoping the delicious and complex flavors of Virgil's root beer would overcome the gross chemical taste, but it failed to do so. The classic Virgil's taste is there for the first second of the sip, but then is washed away with a wave of dish soap water. Literally, if someone else had opened this bottle for me, I would be suspecting them of putting dish soap in it. It's pretty vile.

I'm sorry to have to give you a bad review Virgil's, but this is not good at all. I picked up a couple of the other "zero" flavors and I'm not that excited to try them anymore. Please stick to making your amazing non-diet sodas.

Website
http://www.reedsinc.com/virgils/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf Extract
Categories
Diet, Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

A&W Diet Root Beer

A&W Diet Root Beer

File this one under "I drank it because it was free". Regular A&W root beer is a fine, generic root beer. It's a step above most store brand root beers, but a diet version of an already mediocre drink? Bad news. This taste like someone dumped dish soap into a can of perfectly fine root beer. I'm sure there are some people who wouldn't mind the taste of this, but I'm not one of them. The only reason why I’m finishing this can is because I don't want to be rude and dump it.

Website
http://www.rootbeer.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Aspartame
Categories
Diet, Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
A&W Root Beer Diet, 12 oz Can (Pack of 24)

Cooper's Cave Ale Company Birch Beer

Cooper's Cave Ale Company Birch Beer

When I saw the Cooper’s Cave sodas in the store I bought every flavor they had. They are a quasi-local company (about 4 hours away) and the labels looked great. Seriously, look at the design on any one of their flavors. They all have a cool comic book look to them. Remember what your mother said; “Don’t judge a book by its cover.” This is one of those times when that nugget of wisdom works in the opposite way of what she meant. I guess “All that glitters is not gold” is another way of putting it.

This is one bland birch beer. An average amount of birch beer flavor hits you as soon as you take a swig, and just as quick it’s gone. It tricks you in much the same way that diet pop does. You’re greeted with a nice flavor that quickly dissipates, but instead of the gross sting of sucralose you’re left with nothing. It’s strange, it’s sad and it leaves me wanting more flavor.

Website
http://www.cooperscaveale.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 27th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Monterey Bay Soda Root Beer By The Beach

Monterey Bay Soda Root Beer By The Beach

So you've finally made it to the coastline. You've been out in California for the past four days and all you have to show for it are awkward meals and events with family that you don't really know. It has been a dumb trip that your parents talked you into. They finally convinced you by pointing out that it wouldn't be all family stuff; there would still be fun in the sun. Well four days later and this is the first moment you've had to yourself, and you're heading back to Oklahoma first thing in the morning. At least you finally made it out to the beach at the end of your last day. It's quite a sight to behold. The sun is shining at the waves are crashing onto the rocks. The only thing that could make this more perfect is the nice crisp root beer you have in your bag. You reach in and pull it out...what the!? You had packed a nice Virgils, but in your hand you know hold a bottle of Monterey Bay with a note from your aunt that reads "Thought you might like some local flavor." Well I guess that's nice of her. I mean it's still root beer, and it's a company you've never tried. You twist off the cap, lean back against a rock and take a sip. That sip is nearly "spit-taked" everywhere. There is definitely something amiss with this root beer. You take another hesitant sip. Yup, something is wrong. It tastes like someone started to brew a batch of nice old-fashioned cowboy root beer and then forgot to put in 80% of the ingredients. You can't quite place what exactly it is that it tastes like, but it definitely is an incomplete root beer. You try to make the best of it and work through the bottle, but it's just not happening. Your stupid family has gone and ruined the only good thing about your vacation by swapping out your time test root beer for this bottle of liquid garbage. It truly is the worst "root beer" you have ever tasted. Now you have no choice but to go back and start a small fire in their garbage can.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Raw Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |