Water (254 reviews)

Skinny Girl Sparklers Pink Grapefruit

Skinny Girl Sparklers Pink Grapefruit

2014 is winding down, and if someone were to ask me as a professional imbiber of beverages to sum up the year I would have to say that these 365 days have been all about low/zero calorie sparkling waters. The past couple years have been owned by fake Vitamin Water, but man sparkling water is everywhere this year.

While I may not be the biggest fan of these drinks, I do appreciate their growth and that humans are taking more interest in what they ingest, particularly their sugar intake. Americans drink far too much soda, diet or not it’s just too much. Since I’ve cut most of it out of my diet (minus reviews) I feel better and I dropped pounds pretty quickly. Now a lot of these sparkling water companies are just dumping some sucralose into flavored water and calling it a day, and their lack of effort is very noticeable. Skinny Girl (I still hate the name) takes things a bit further. They use fruit juice (albeit from concentrate), sweeten it with honey, cane sugar and sucralose (culminating in only 2g of sugar per bottle) and then add some vitamins and super fruits so your body is actually getting something beneficial from this drink. That’s right they have combined the former champion with the reigning one, and they mingle oh so well.

This is made with grapefruit juice and it tastes like it. It’s not an overly strong taste, but it’s stronger than if you just left some grapefruit soak in water. It has a bit of a diet taste to it, but it’s not bad at all. Arizona it’s hard to stay mad at you for your dumb brand name, when you make it taste so good. Who needs garbage grapefruit pop that doesn’t even taste like fruit when this is available with only the slightest fraction of calories?

Website
http://drinkarizona.com/skinnygirl/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Diet, Sparkling, Sports/Dietary Supplement, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 12th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Skinnygirl Sparklers Variety Sparkling Water 17 FL OZ (12 Bottles in Total)

Zpirit Infuzion Spiced Pear & Vanilla

Zpirit Infuzion Spiced Pear & Vanilla

There are chunky drinks and then there is this. Take a good, hard look at that picture that I took. There are four, half inch chunks of pear in this drink. Cut up and thrown right in. It's a good drink, too. Very light. It tastes like somewhat spiced pear. The flavor of a pear isn't really prominent. As they said, it's an infusion. There is a nice, smooth vanilla taste. Since it's an infusion, the "spice" of the spiced pear isn't as strong as you might think. It's tough to accept that it's a spiced fruit drink that is restricted by the fact that it's an infusion rather than, say, and elixir. I do enjoy this even if I do despise pears. I would drink it again but given the opportunity, I would take the stronger one because this is only a teaser for what possibly could be.

Website
http://zpirit.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Chunky, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 27th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Blueberry

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Blueberry

All my life I’ve hated blah blah blah. It wasn’t until recently that I discovered that I have grown to like yadda yadda yadda. Sometimes our reviews sound like broken records, or to be more modern about it, like iPods on repeat. The thing is that after 4000+ reviews a lot of the beverages out there start to taste the same. This is especially true with a lot of juices and as I’ve recently discovered seltzer waters.

Sparkling waters may be flavored, but that flavoring is never in your face, and the base of them is all the same; carbonated water. Sanavi boasts that they are organic and I really didn’t think it would make that much of a difference. I of course was wrong, like I usually am. While most other seltzer companies have a general generic fruit taste, this bottle of bubbly water tastes as if the blueberries had soaked in it for a long time. It tastes like real fruit, and there is nothing to complain about there. It’s light, (accurately) fruity, and has zero calories, fat, sodium and sugar. It may not be promoting health, but it certainly is not detracting from it either.

Website
http://www.drinksanavi.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 14th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sparkling Spring Water, Blueberry, 17 fl oz., 12 bottles

Perrier Sparkling Natural Mineral Water Pink Grapefruit

Perrier Sparkling Natural Mineral Water Pink Grapefruit

The naturally sparkling, salt free air that this company makes is my favorite. Oh wait that’s not Perrier, that is Perri-air a hysterical fictional product from the Mel Brooks vehicle Space Balls. That is a great gag though. If you don’t think so, you’re either too young, or have no soul. You can be sure the science is solid behind that remark as well.

Even though it has been around forever this may be the first Perrier product I have ever drunk. It’s sparkling mineral water and that is something that until recently I had no interest in. I’ve tried a few pink grapefruit seltzer waters and there is a difference between them and this flavored mineral water. I think I may actually prefer this because it has more substance. The grapefruit flavor isn’t as strong and you can taste the minerals. It’s a nice change up, and I’ll certainly be drinking more of it. I never thought I would be sitting at home on a Saturday night drinking a bottle of Perrier. Oh how strange life has become.

Country
France
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 22nd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Perrier Sparkling Natural Mineral Water, Pink Grapefruit 16.9-ounce plastic bottles (Pack of 24)

Izze Sparkling Water Beverage Mandarin Lime

Izze Sparkling Water Beverage Mandarin Lime

Things got rough for the members of Guns and Roses after the mid 90’s. I mean just take a look at Axl Rose. Most of the members wallowed in their former fame and fell into the gutter, but guitarist Izzy Stradlin worked with his money and invested in beverages. He hung up his Gibson for bubbles and slowly started an empire. Wait…Oh…his name and the company name are spelled differently. He has nothing to do with the beverage company, huh? I’m just having another one of my fever dreams brought on from boredom. Sorry about that. Imagine is a guitarist with that fame, from that era had the restraint to use such simple packaging on his beverages. That would be the real miracle. If what I said had been true I’m sure this bottle would have been covered in Ed Hardy style design. Let’s count our blessings that the two are not related and sit back and enjoy this sparkling water.

The Izze sparkling waters are essentially seltzer with the smallest amount of cane sugar added to take away a little of the bitterness. There are only 2g of sugar and that leads to 10 calories. Not bad at all. The lime is definitely a bit stronger than the mandarin orange, but it’s still in there and this is quite pleasant. I imagine it would make a great mixer for some sort of alcohol, but what do I know. I’m just going to enjoy it the way it is. It gives me tropical feelings. I need those in this snow.

Website
http://www.izze.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 19th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
IZZE Organic Flavored Sparkling Water Beverage, 12 oz. Bottles, 3-Flavor, Variety Pack (12 Count)

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Lemon

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Lemon

The Pledge cleaning supply company has ruined a good portion of the beverage industry. Sometime decades ago they created furniture polish that smells exactly like every lemon flavored beverage I have ever come across. It’s the first time a company created a product that is an accurate portrayal of the fruit it named itself after, and it’s just unfortunate. Companies like Sanavi are the victims here. Pre Lemon Pledge days this would be a wonderful citrus seltzer. It tastes just like someone squeezed a lemon into a bottle of seltzer water. It should be a dream come true, but unfortunately all I can think about is cleaner. Do yourself a favor and get past the cleaner idea and enjoy this like it is meant to be. Like it should be.

Website
http://www.drinksanavi.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 6th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water, Lemon, 17 fl oz., 12 bottles

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Lime

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Lime

I know. I know. Jay just reviewed a drink from Sanavi. What are you going to do about it? Fight me? I'm already impressed that you're reading this review at all. I often wonder if anyone gets so mad at our reviews that they do want to fight us. Jay and I are pretty passive dudes. Attractive, sure. Friendly, sometimes. Passive? Yeah. Also, quiet and dangerously apathetic. It's strange that we even run this website considering the ample amount of things we don't give a rip about.

I'll tell you one thing we love, though and that's sparkling water. Oooh sparkling water. We've come a long way from nothing but pop and jelly drinks. In the last five years we've reviewed over 4500 drinks and we've come to a point where all we want to drink is unsweetened sparkling water and unsweetened tea. All day. Every day. This is a reward after you do anything since it's not super sweet. It's just a nice little flavor burst whenever you want. How about now? You bet'cha. Twelve minutes from now? Oh hell yeah, pimp. The only reason that it's four out of five bottles is because it's "just" lime. Four is an admirable score. Don't feel bad about it. Get it. Refresh yourself.

Website
http://www.drinksanavi.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 7th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water, Lime, 17 fl oz., 12 bottles

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Coconut

Sanavi Sparkling Spring Water Coconut

It’s times like these that I curse my tastes. I can tell that this is a really good seltzer, but I really just hate the taste of toasted coconut, and unfortunately that is what this tastes like. Keep in mind it tastes like a lighter version of that, but that flavor is still there and it just ruins the whole drink for me. Based on the other flavors of Sanavi I knew this was going to be good, but I was hoping for a more coconut water flavor and not the toasted variety. I lost out, but I also know that most of the world likes that flavor and this would probably be a big hit with most people. Sanavi does flavored sparkling water right.

Website
http://www.drinksanavi.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 7th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Spindrift Seltzer Blackberry

Spindrift Seltzer Blackberry

This beverage brought about a very rare thing. This is one of the few drinks that Mike and I have not agreed on. To quote a text I got from him, “Did you review this Spindrift because it’s kind of gross. On paper it sounds fantastic, but it is not great in execution.” I don’t know what my apparently dumb partner wanted because I think the exact opposite of that, and it tastes just like what it is; crushed blackberries in seltzer water. Perhaps his problem is the little bit of lemon juice that is added. That does throw things off just a touch, but not enough for me to not enjoy it thoroughly. It really tastes like blackberry juice in carbonated water and I don’t know what else you could ask for. Do does taste a tad bit more soda pop like than seltzer because there is some sugar (1g) from the fruit, but I can’t hold that against it. This is what diet pop should be like, all natural with just tiny bit of sugar to give it a little something. Forget zero calorie sweeteners. They will end up killing you. Just go for the low calorie delicious versions of things.

The most important part of this beverage is that through it I learned that there is a cucumber version out there and I need that, and I need it now.

Website
http://www.spindriftsoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 8th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Steaz Cactus Water With Green Tea

Steaz Cactus Water With Green Tea

I think I speak for all people when I say that prickly pear is a wonderful fruit. Pears blow but add some spikes and thorns and nails and it flips it right around. Make a pear dangerous to eat and it makes it better than its soft, smooth brother. Or cousin. They're related but maybe just through marriage. It counts but barely.

This is wonderful. The green tea isn't powerful but you can taste a little bite. The prickly pear, though, she shines through with beams of light as bright as the G.D. sun. It's a soft flavored drink. Real sugar and a little bit of Stevia come together and really round this little guy out.

This rarely happens, but I finished the drink before I finished writing this review. I'm on the top of the third paragraph and it's gone. I've polished off twelve ounces in like 100 words. This is great. It's not terrible for you, either. At fifty calories per can, I'd easily take a tallboy of this any day of the week. You hear me, Steaz? Tallboys. I'm inventing the demand as I type. Everyone who reads my words is seeing it in my head wondering if it exists. Make it exist. Do the right thing, Steaz. Do the right thing.

Website
http://www.steaz.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 25th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |