Cawy (10 reviews)

Cawy Watermelon

Cawy Watermelon

Look at that can. Isn't it just adorable? It’s a fresh young boy just digging into some watermelon. Look at his two teeth just ready to fall out, and the big smile on his face. He loves it so much that he's never been happier. Then unfortunately you have the other version of the can here: OUCH! Wow! That is just terrible.
After getting over that racist can (which I don't know if they still make), here is a description. It smells and tastes just like a watermelon Jolly Rancher. Oddly it has an aftertaste of those Violets candies. It kind of tastes like a soapy old lady would in my imagination. Not a fan of the alternate can or the flavor at all.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar & Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 23rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
CAWY Watermelon, 6 per pack, 12-ounces (Pack of4)

Cawy Materva Yerba Mate Soda

Cawy Materva Yerba Mate Soda

I really like yerba mate, so I was really excited to try this. It fell way short of my expectations.
When I opened it, it smelled strangely like pineapple. To be clear, there is no pineapple in it. Then I realized it just tastes like a sweet pop, with a slight hint of tea.
It got worse, then better, then worse again as I kept drinking it. Not what I wanted out of this at all.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar & Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 23rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
CAWY Soda, Materva, 6 per pack, 12-ounces (Pack of4)

Cawy Champ's Cola

Cawy Champ's Cola

What is up with Cawy and their bizarre flavors? With a name like Champs Cola wouldn't everyone expect it to be a straight up cola? Well you like me would be mistaken. This is a fruity cola. It is a less intense version of Fruiti Cola. It really only has the faintest tinge of cola. It's more of a fruit pop. I don't like being tricked and I don't like this drink. Even the rad picture of champion George Prince couldn't save this drink.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane or Corn Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 25th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cawy Pineapple

Cawy Pineapple

Wow. Candied pineapples. It's so sweet and there is no way that I could drink a whole can of this. Kids could, self-respecting adults could not. Burps taste like pineapple candy, too. I'm trying to cover all aspects of this drink for you. You put the can to your face and you begin to smell what's to come when you tip that can over a bit. It's pretty good and next time I'm anywhere where Cawy drinks are sold and I want a pineapple pop and have 11 friends around me to share the can with, I'll buy it.

Also, designers, seriously, look at the can. It's so classic and vintage. You've got to see the rest of the stuff they sell. Many in the same vein and nothing looks like it's past the early 80's.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar & Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 25th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
CAWY Jupina, 6 per pack, 12-ounces (Pack of4)

Cawy Materva Diet Yerba Mate Soda

Cawy Materva Diet Yerba Mate Soda

Time for another installment to our diet section of the ever-growing list of drinks. See, dieteers? We care. We really do. So lose that weight and don't look back.

Initially, this smells like an energy drink. While awaiting the million Smarties flavor to invade my taste buds, I was happy/surprised to not get it. There is bitterness to this that perhaps in the non-diet version might be a little less bitter, but it's actually not bad. With the aspartame, I got a bit of the tongue pinching that you get with artificial sweeteners, but you get a strong tea and light, dry cola taste. It's not bad and it's definitely different. If you have the chance, get it and give it a taste. Expect it to be bitter, because the yerba mate is, after all, a tea.


Now, as you can see (hopefully) that I took a picture of my friend John drinking this. He wanted to put in a little review so here is his contribution to Thirsty Dudes:

While it resembles some foul-tasting energy drinks I've had, the resemblance is similar to the resemblance between a hot sister and an ugly sister. We've all seen them... you know they're sisters, they look somewhat alike, and they act a lot alike, yet one is hot and the other is butt-ugly.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Aspartame
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 25th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Diet Materva 6PK

Cawy Rica Orange Mandarin

Cawy Rica Orange Mandarin

Hmm...I can't place it. It's orange pop. Let it be known. I don't know why, but I appreciate, there are two different oranges in this drink. Why not put a tangerine in there? Round it out. Burps taste like oranges and they are long lasting. Honestly, the burps might be better than the drink. Is that bad? If you only enjoy one aspect of a drink does that make it a good drink? It might. It is not a bad flavor and if anyone adores orange pop, give this a whirl.

In Buffalo, it's unacceptable, but I know you can get it anywhere elsewhere, like Target, for example of ease of access.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cawy Coconut

Cawy Coconut

Mixed reviews galore. I'll give you all of them:

Darryl:
Coconut instantly hits my throat and I instantly think Banana Boat suntan lotion.

Mike:
Tastes like suntan lotion

Mark:
[silence]

Me:
It wasn't bad. I mean, it's coconut, for real. If you like coconut, you should like this drink. If you don't, I would basically say that you should get a restraining order against it. It captures a real coconut pretty accurately. You get the sweet taste including the nutty aftertaste. It might sound gross, and it is, but I wish that there was chocolate syrup here so that I could mix it in and make an Almond Joy pop. I wonder if we have any...

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane or Corn Sugar
Categories
Coconut, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cawy Red Cola Fruiti Cola

Cawy Red Cola Fruiti Cola

The Cawy sodas have been pretty hit or miss. This one is closer to the center of the board than most, but it doesn't quite hit the bulls-eye.
Fruiti Cola is similar to a cherry cola, but instead of cherry being the added flavor it's more of a fruit punch. It has an aftertaste that, as a friend pointed out, is very reminiscent of cotton candy.
I like the flavor of this, but it's a bit too sweet for me to finish an entire can. I can see this being a favorite for little kids.
I also think this may be what Neil Diamond was singing about in "Porcupine Pie." "Tutti fruit, and fruiti blue cheese." Really what was that man thinking?

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cawy Diet Pineapple

Cawy Diet Pineapple

I hate to say it, but it's better than the non-diet version. It's less candy and a titch more diet at the very end, like one minute after you drink it. The "problem" with the first one was that it was so sweet that it was hard to drink. Kevin [featured], my boss, friend, and drinker of many of my diet drinks has the following to say:

It reminded me of eating a pineapple Jolly Rancher with a little less sweetness. It didn't give me that "phlegmy" throat you usually get with fruity drinks. The fact that I'm still drinking it 10 minutes later means that I'm not overwhelmed by too much fruit.


Thank you Kevin and now you, the general public, have another diet drink to enjoy.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Nutra-Sweet
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
CAWY Jupina Diet, 6 per pack, 12-ounces (Pack of4)

Cawy Quinabeer

Cawy Quinabeer

This is our 300th review. That's pretty crazy. I'm glad it's on a great drink like this as well.
I still have no idea what Quinabeer is. I expected it to be some sort of root or ginger beer. It was neither. What it is is incredible. At first it reminded me a lot of Cheerwine. Then a friend described it as a cherry cola, if cherry was the main flavor with just a splash of cola added. That is definitely a more accurate description. It also makes sense since both this and the Cawy Champ's Cola both have champion George Prince flexing on them. It's just great. It tastes like being a kid.
In addition to the flavor, how cool is the can? It looks like new old stock from the 70's. I love it. All of the Cawy drinks that I have seen have a similar feel. Pretty great.

Website
http://www.cawy.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | | next >>