Lipton (19 reviews)

Lipton Half and Half

Lipton Half and Half

To whom it may concern,
What are you doing over there? Do you have three separate divisions? Your drinks have completely different flavors. You've got your Joe Shmo brand garbage like Brisk and this half and half which is quite possibly, top five worst half and half's I've ever had, and your TrueLeaf and your new 100% Natural line which are pretty amazing. So what's the deal? Here's what I think.

You've got the classics, the relics, the veterans, and the original line up. These guys are the people that started Lipton. They make stuff the way it should be made; real sugar, actual, real tea, natural flavors. These guys make the TrueLeaf.

You've got the new jacks, the rookies, the kids making the 100% Natural line. It's good for you and has natural sweeteners, which don't taste like liquid sewage and actually let the natural flavors shine through. They utilize the newest technologies and natural ingredients to allow the flavors to act as they should and stay low in calories.

Then you've got the 80's guys. Those jerks. Giant lapels and even bigger hair, these know-it-alls will do anything to turn a buck. Take this half and half, for instance. It's too sweet. It is clearly made from excess or overstock Brisk. Then there is lemonade in there. You can't really taste it, but you are left with the feeling on your tongue like you just drank lemonade but can't taste it. You know they're churning this out by the gallon and those 80's dudes are just sitting on their cigarette boats, blaring Van Halen's "1984" so loud that it's veering the ship off course.

Old dudes and young guns, why do you let yuppie jerks get away with bringing your entire company down? Yes, I understand that they carry the load of the company on their padded shoulders, but don't you want to be known as a quality tea manufacturer rather than a drink powerhouse? It’s money versus integrity.

I love a lot of your stuff and I don't like a lot of your stuff. You've released more than any company and you've got a lot coming out all the time. Try and turn down the poor quality stuff and turn up the classic tastes.

Sincerely,
Mike of the Thirsty Dudes

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 4th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton Diet Watermelon Green Tea

Lipton Diet Watermelon Green Tea

I've been sitting on my computer for the past four hours working on a new project. Within that time I have listened to predominately electro-pop like Tesla Boy, Anoraak, Brookes Brothers, and Skinny Puppy "Remission," which could not be further from electro-pop. I'm in a fantastic mood and that's also considering I took ten minutes to walk down the street to see a car chase gone wrong with a criminal crashing into a tree and a cop car crashing into someone's front porch. I'm in the zone (chief) and I could stay up all night and get a good portion of this project done and over with if it wasn't for my better judgment and assumption/guarantee that my son will wake up between 7:30 and 8 in the morning and I will be drained all day.

As I'm working, I'm working on this iced tea. I was stoked to see this in the smaller bottles today instead of those gargantuan, thirty-plus ounce bottles. I had no choice but to fork over a buck and a half and get it. I took one sip and my glee promptly turned into disappointment. Why? Simple. Lipton forgot to add the watermelon. I was so excited to try a watermelon green tea but Lipton, in their haste, forgot to put the watermelon flavor in this. It's got a decent green tea taste and I commend that. It does taste a little diet, which is good considering this is a diet drink sweetened exclusively with sucralose and that stuff is grozz. I have eaten watermelon on numerous occasions and I've got to say that this drink is simply lacking that flavor.

I understand that the two is harsh, but it's partially a punishment for getting my hopes up with the promise of watermelon green tea and also the fact that all the flavors of this line of tea have been great. Bottom rung.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 11th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton Sparkling Iced Tea Lemonade

Lipton Sparkling Iced Tea Lemonade

This is strange. There, I said it. It's lemonade and tea, but the sparkles and the sugar are super distracting. It almost gives the entire drink a bitter taste. The tea...what tea? It is sweetened with real sugar and has black tea and lemonade. There are a couple preservatives but not many. There is nothing in it to give it this wonky taste. Lemon juice, actual lemon juice, and black tea are the ingredients. Legitimate. Something is going on in here. It's not good.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 9th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton PureLeaf Sweetened

Lipton PureLeaf Sweetened

Everyone has had Lipton iced tea, but they've got so many different lines that you shouldn't nail them down to the abomination that is Brisk.

This tea is very strong in its black tea taste and is very sweet but doesn't taste terrible. Is that hard to imagine? I know. Nice thing is that this is all natural with not fructose garbage and you can get it anywhere.

Give Lipton another chance. Forget the stuff you've had before and start from scratch.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton 100% Natural Passion Fruit Mango Green Tea

Lipton 100% Natural Passion Fruit Mango Green Tea

This is Lipton's new "100% Natural" line and I've got to say, bravo. This is actually 100% natural. It has a great flavor and is good for you. I have seen this on sale as of late at top retailers like Target and I hope that it catches on. I have given credit before to Lipton for doing things right for a "big guy". It seems that when companies get larger, they focus more on profits and making things cheaper rather than making a quality product like they used to. Lipton has brought it back around with this and the TrueLeaf stuff, which I absolutely love. With the added sweetness of Stevia, this is a current product with everyone in mind. Everyone can deal with this large bottle clocking in at only 130 calories. This is a lot of tea. It also has a good green tea taste. It’s entry level, but good. It's not as harsh as a traditional tea, but it's easily approachable. My mom got this for me for Easter and I think that it's hard to find stuff that I haven't drank, but she found this and I thank her for this.

Mom and Lipton; thank you both. I see that there are a lot more flavors out there for me to try and that pleases me.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 28th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton 100% Natural Lemon

Lipton 100% Natural Lemon

It's a funny thing, this world that we know as "the land of sweet tea". It's such an easy thing to make but so many companies just lose mama's recipe and make it up as they go along. Mama wouldn't settle for that and if she knew what you were doing, she'd grab you by the ear and make you clean your room and then maybe wash the car. It's cold outside, too, but you have to learn a lesson, because you went and lost that recipe. Even though mama doesn't use recipes anymore since she's been cooking and baking from heart, but it's the principal of it. Mom never loses a single one of your dirty socks, so you should treat her with some respect and not lose her stuff.

Lipton lost mama's recipe for a long time and then found it and have recently been putting out some actual quality product as of late. Between this and the TrueLeaf they are right back on track. This tea is a decent sweet tea. You get a little of cool/sweetness from the Stevia at the very end, but before that, you've got a mass produced, easily findable, sweet tea with a true lemon flavor.

Let's get one thing straight, though. You will not have better sweet tea than you make yourself or get from an old lady in the South, but we have to deal with whatever we're dealt. A couple companies like True Brew have nailed it, but those dudes are from Texas, and they know what they're doing, too.

Want sweet tea? Try it out. You might be impressed. I was but I drink a lot and with the amount of trash that I ingest, I appreciate large companies thinking before they put out a product.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton 100% Natural Pomegranate Blueberry

Lipton 100% Natural Pomegranate Blueberry

You've got a great son, Mr. Ziegler. Roy Jr. is a bit high strung at times and often likes to plot other children's demise, but all in all, he's not a bad kid. He's good at math, but not so good at history. He's good at science, but not so good at English.

Reason I called you down here is because of two things. He brought this Lipton 100% Natural iced tea in and passed it around to the rest of the class. Although his sharing is great, it felt almost as if he coerced the other kids into doing it. Like they were doing his bidding. Have you ever noticed that type of behavior before? Like he had taken control of their minds through some sort of magic and was making them take sips from this one bottle. I took the bottle from him and made him finish his work but I've got to be honest with you. The drink, although good, was not the best. I found it lackluster and a bit...forgettable. It was a bit too sweet because of the Stevia. The flavor was alright, but I took a couple sips and never really craved going back to it. I drank it because it was there. That's not really that great? So, why did Roy Jr. tell everyone it was the greatest? You might just want to work on getting him to wash his hands and inform him about the danger of germs.

Second thing is that he brought in this magazine...I can't stop thinking about that magazine. I mean, where did he get it? I can't get those images out of my head.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton 100% Natural Citrus Green Tea

Lipton 100% Natural Citrus Green Tea

I have a love/hate relationship with good common beverages. I hate it because it makes people complacent with what they can get at everyday grocery stores. They won't look elsewhere for new, high quality beverages. It's a jerk move on my part, hence the love/hate part of this review. I love that this drink is out, and that it's good, and that it isn't horrid for you, and that the flavors are actually good. Back to hate. I don't like that this drink is so good that people will potentially run "the small guy" out of business. This drink has the subtle bitterness of green tea mixed with really good lemon and lime flavors. It's exactly what you want it to taste like. Also, the Reb A in there is indistinguishable so haters cannot complain about that. It's used for what it's supposed to be for, cutting calories while simultaneously sweetening the drink.

Lipton, you've done a spectacular job on this. Everything is just as it should be, like when you go to a fancy dinner and all the silverware is in the right place and you actually can't complain about anything. You love to complain about stuff and when you can't, you feel back trying to find things to complain about because for a limited time, everything is alright.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 16th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton Iced Tea Lemon

Lipton Iced Tea Lemon

This isn’t Brisk, it’s not PureLeaf and it certainly isn’t their 100% natural line. What we have here is just plain old Lipton lemon iced tea. I actually don’t think I have ever even seen this before until this bottle made its way into my grubby little hands (okay my hands are actually quite large, which is awkward since my ladyfriend’s hands are tiny. I don’t suggest this combo).

This doesn’t taste all that different from their Brisk line. If anything it tastes like it’s homemade from some powdered tea mix. Man, I haven’t had that stuff in at least 15 years. I used to get it and make insanely strong/sweet tea that I would always have in my backpack. I bet I couldn’t even get a gulp of that stuff down nowadays. This tastes like what that tea would have tasted like had I followed the directions. It’s not bad. It’s just average. It’s like what you would expect to get if they had tea on tap at Applebees or some garbage place like that. Ugh, those restaurants are the worst.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 9th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton Sparkling Iced Tea Raspberry

Lipton Sparkling Iced Tea Raspberry

Well it turns out this has just been a carbonated tea weekend. On top of that they have both been pleasant to the taste. That’s a phrase right? “Oh darling, I truly loved the fancy dinner you took me to. It was just pleasant to the taste.” That sounds like something that somebody who is not me would say. I don’t think I’ve been to a fancy dinner since I won the Pepsi Challenge bowling tournament when I was like 11, so I don’t know how people talk when they are at nice meals. I’ll assume they say things like that.

While this is pleasant to the taste it is, as Mike said about the lemon variety, strange. It’s a lightly sweetened raspberry tea that tastes like it is the stuff they use in their PureLeaf line, but the carbonation just does something weird to it. I do like it, but it somehow takes the tea-ness out of it a bit. This is a nice change of pace from regular soda, and the reduced sugar helps. It’s just going to take some time to get acclimated before I can truly enjoy it.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 30th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Lipton Sparkling Iced Tea, Raspberry flavor, 12oz Sleek Cans, (Pack of 12)
<< previous | 1 | 2 |