Germany (26 reviews)

Eichbaum Breweries Brewmasters Wild Elderberry Lemonade

Eichbaum Breweries Brewmasters Wild Elderberry Lemonade

My brother brought it from Germany for me and I've been sitting on it for a long time. That won't lead me to what I'm about to say. This is old stock. He brought it to me when it was not and I was shelving it for when I felt like it. I'm an adult and I drink what I want when I want it. It doesn't taste spoiled. Don't worry.

It does taste like a mix between non-alcoholic champagne and alcoholic champagne. The fruit, whatever an elderberry tastes like, cuts through some of that malty taste. Since malt is an ingredient, why shouldn't it be showcased? I'm not arguing with that and in Germany, they are passionate about their brews. This is (apparently) from a brewmaster so obviously he wants to showcase his stuff a little bit. This one just so happens to be for the kids.

It's fruity and would be the perfect thing if you're in Germany and you can't find a bottle of kid champagne to celebrate something like the purchase of a new Porsche or new Adidas shoes or a new Warwick bass, you've got this to fall back on. You and Dubstep Viking can drink a bottle and dance a little bit in the streets to celebrate.

Website
http://www.eichbaum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Glucose-Fructose Syrup
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 19th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Schartner Bombe Lemonade Orange

Schartner Bombe Lemonade Orange

Ahh Germany: lovers of everything industrial and Hasselhoff. You have a soft side, too, and it's this lemonade. You make wonderful lemonade with orange in it and I feel like it's your attempt to look a bit tamer. You are known by the world as precise, perfectionists and although this is nothing less, it's lemonade with orange pop in it. It doesn't need to be so intense. You don't need to buckle down and hit the book, get out a micrometer, measure and calculate. You can kick up your shoes and enjoy a lightly flavored, carbonated, orange drink with a touch of lemonade. It's different than what you would be thinking because the flavors are a bit calmer than you would expect.

Germans, you're great. I would love to one day own a BMW. This pop is good and you did a good job. Congrats.

Website
http://www.schartnerbombe.at
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bodum Fruit Paradise

Bodum Fruit Paradise

In the past I have complained about tea being too weak. I'll drink water when I want to drink water, thank you very much. I don't want a super strong tea because that can be overwhelming and this is teetering on the fence. I steeped it for the specified amount and it came out about as strong as I could handle. Was I in a fruit paradise? I think I was on my last day at the resort where I feel like I have done all I can there. I sang karaoke, ate the local cuisine, hung out in the pool, made a sand castle, and ate copious amounts of fruit and now I'm ready to go home. I'm enjoying my last day but looking forward to boarding the plane and just getting home.

The fruits are all in there trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible but, in doing so, they're kind of getting on your nerves. Sure, I like to come home to a made bed, but sometimes I want to not make the bed and come back how I left it. There are a lot of fruits in here including apple, elderberries, strawberry and apricots. That's a giant amount of fruit, right? It’s a veritable fruit salad. There is also hibiscus and rose hips to make this a true, herbal tea. You can taste that they are all there but indistinguishably.

Look, I don't hate this vacation and I will come back here again. I just wish everyone didn't try so hard to make my stay so "pleasant." I suppose next time I could just steep it less and/or use a larger cup.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 5th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bodum Japan Sencha

Bodum Japan Sencha

There is time to play games and there is time to be serious. Now is not the time to talk about butts, cats in glasses, sandwiches with both meats and cheese in them, or corgi stuff. Now is the time to talk about things like third quarter investment strategies, medicine directions, model instructions, mathematical equations, and the complex relationship between Turkey and Sudan.

Green tea, and I mean real green tea, not canned green tea that should only be displayed in quotes, is a complex beast. It's an adult drink. A true drink for adults. It is a bitter beast that can only be tamed by an open mind and a clean palate. Once you embrace it, you really can get into it. This tea is splendid and I don't use that term lightly or at all, really. It is bitter but does something to your taste buds where it makes them crave more. Every sip is just bitter enough that you aren't offended and has a great taste at all times. It's bold and is complex and takes time to take it all in.

Look, if you're looking for just another tea to drink and chug, this is not for you. If you had a hard day and just want to go home, put on some music, sit in the dark and sip some tea, this is for you. Wait, what? You don't like to sit in the dark and listen to music and drink tea? Hmm, now I bet you're looking at me like I'm the crazy one. You are the crazy one. In the dark you can really take things in without the pesky, intrusive light bothering you.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 14th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Premium Cola

Premium Cola

The majority of the people in the world are probably completely unaware of this, but when bands from the US tour in Europe they are taken care of very, very well by the promoters/venues. I mean I’m sure bigger bands are treated this well wherever they go, but when you’re in a small band that maybe two people in the city have actually heard of before you get a bit overwhelmed with what they do for you. The food, lodging and drinks are more than we could ever possibly deserve. Recently when I played Frankfurt Germany we were basically given free domain over the bar, and lucky for me that included a decent selection of German sodas. As a result I drank way more pop than I ever would normally and I felt like crap. I also apparently stored this bottle of cola away in our merch for later enjoyment because I simply couldn’t handle any more bubbles/sugar.

I had completely forgotten about it until we were packing everything up to fly home and I found it in some leftover shirts. Keep in mind it’s 7am and we’re about to leave for the airport and my luggage is at the maximum weight, so I can’t store it away. Never one to let a potentially great soda go to waste I cracked it open and started to drink. Let me be straight here, no one should ever be drinking soda at 7am. I don’t care if you stayed up all night on some adventure; you find water or juice to satiate your thirst. That being said, if soda was the only thing available and you were in one of those famous drink or die situations that everyone finds themselves in bi-monthly, you could do a lot worse than Premium Cola.

This is a dark, bold cola. Normally when colas branch out from the typical flavor, they do so by going the herbal route, which I enjoy but it’s very different than what you expect from cola. Premium didn’t do that at all. They somehow took a general cola and made it taste dark. This is kind of like what birch beer is to root beer. You know it’s in the same family, but it’s just stronger and more flavorful.

The Germans know how to make a cola. Of course I immediately regretted drinking it (and eating chocolate croissants) at 7am, but hell my tour/vacation was coming to an end and why not try to enjoy the last of my beverages?

Website
http://www.premium-cola.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 2nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Spezi Cola Orange Limonade

Spezi Cola Orange Limonade

When Harry Nilsson sang about putting limes into coconut for a nice treat he had it all wrong. When he should have been singing is “You put the orange in the cola and you drink it all up.” That concoction is a true treat, albeit one with a learning curve. When I first tried Mezzo Mix I was not a fan, but after being fed a couple of bottles, I grew to love it. In America we are taught that the only fruit flavor that really mixes with cola is cherry (and to a lesser extent lemon and possibly lime). We have it all wrong. Cherry cola is fine and dandy, but orange cola is wonderful. Unfortunately this bottle didn’t have as much orange flavor as I would have liked. I would describe it as a cola with hints of orange around the edges. I’m sure that is what most people like, but I would prefer a bolder orange flavor. The cola is also pretty middle of the road. I wouldn’t give it a second thought if my citrus friend weren’t involved. When I’m in Germany in the future I’ll probably stick to Mezzo Mix, but I wouldn’t turn one of these down if it was handed to me.

Website
http://www.spezi.com/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lipton Iced Tea Sparkling Classic

Lipton Iced Tea Sparkling Classic

I love when I’m in another country and I find a product from a company that I am very familiar with that we don’t have back home. Most notably are all of the crazy flavors of Coca Cola that are hanging around this planet. Some of ridiculously good, and some are just plain ridiculous.

After spending a week and a half in the UK baffled by not being able to find a single bottle of iced tea, I came across this in Germany. Seriously though, we’re talking about a region of the planet that probably consumes more hot tea then the rest of the world combined, and the iced variety is not in corner stores? Ludicrous. This was an exciting find though. Not only would I get my iced tea fix, but I would also get to try it in carbonated form.

For some reason I expected this to taste like Brisk with bubbles, and was greatly pleased to find out that was not the case. It tastes like normal Lipton’s lemon tea, except you know…carbonated. I’m sure that is what most of the denizens of this planet would expect this to taste like, but I live in America where corn syrup is king and it leads to gross teas.

I have to admit that the bubbles were a bit weird at first, but by the end of the can I was getting the hang of it. This is something I could definitely get used to. Who knows if it will ever make it to my neck of the woods with this formula though? With my luck it will show up and just be a syrupy mess that will deserve one sip and then an introduction to the filth bin.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Afri Cola

Afri Cola

If you were a “cool” teenager in the 90`s you hung out in coffee shops. It was a different time, before the great Starbucks takeover when these locals were the homes of true weirdos. You couldn’t just pop off in your local suburb; you had to go the often seedy artsy parts of town. I’m sure if I were to go back in time to 1996 and head to Topic coffee it wouldn’t seem nearly as insane as it did to a 16 year old. It was dirty, dimly lit and it seemed like John Cale was always playing. It was filled with the kind of people I wanted to surround myself in, and I felt like I was finally home. There was one problem though; I didn’t like coffee. I loved the culture of the place, but I just couldn’t get into the drink of choice. Sure at Perkins and Dennys I would get it, but I would also add so much sugar that it could turn a walrus diabetic. I could tell that that would be frowned upon at this establishment, and you know I had to keep the cool air about me. I mean cut-off dress pants with combat boots and a painted army coat only took me so far. My solution was that I would occasionally order an iced coffee (it never seemed as harsh), but most ofhte time I would drink Afri Cola. It always seemed exotic to me with the name and weirdly shaped bottle. Topic was the only place that I had ever come across it during my short time on this planet and since it wasn’t a standard Coke or Pepsi I felt that the patrons wouldn’t look down on me for drinking it. In reality most of them were probably nodding off on heroin or some other opiate. Oh if my mother knew where her little boy spent her nights.

So now you have the back-story of my love affair with Afri Cola. Shortly after Topic moved, and it didn’t have the same esthetic. Coffee culture started to rise and more cafes opened and eventually what I thought would be my savior closed down for good. With it went my supply of Afri Cola. Occasionally throughout the years I would stumble upon it in some small store in another city, but I never had a steady supply. You can understand my joy when I came cross a decent display of it in a grocery store in Frankfurt, Germany. I bought the biggest bottle I could find and it was like going home again. I went home to a hole in the wall that was home to all of the disenfranchised of Buffalo; the punks, the weirdos, the junkies, the transgendered and many more.

Afri Cola has a special taste in the cola world. It’s not like Coke, Pepsi or the unimpressive store brands. It’s clearly a cola but it doesn’t fit into those molds, just like the patrons of Topic didn’t fit into the molds of the normal world. If I had to compare it to another cola I would say that it was closest to RC Cola. Keep in mind it is no clone, it is it’s own soda and I miss it dearly.

Website
http://www.afri.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Effect High Quality Energy Drink

Effect High Quality Energy Drink

Dear Red Bull,
Perhaps a lawsuit is in order.

Website
http://www.effect-energy.com/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 13th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dittmeyer's Valensina Saft-Limonade Zitrone

Dittmeyer's Valensina Saft-Limonade Zitrone

At some point in your life you may find yourself on a ferry returning to England from France. It’s a pleasant experience, even on the dreariest of days. Actually shouldn’t life at sea be dreary anyways? That’s how I always imagine it in books. If you ever find yourself in the situation I would recommend that you do the same thing I did, listen to The Cure and Joy Division on your headphones and just space out looking at the sea. I don’t care if it’s overly melodramatic; it was flat out enjoyable. In the moments when you come out of it why not enjoy a nice German soda? I myself chose a can of this Valensina.

Now, I can’t read a word on this can, but I can read the language of flavor, and the book I’m reading it a real page-turner. This is a lemon-orange beverage that is somewhere between a soda pop and a sparkling water (although I do consider anything carbonated with added sugar to be a soda). Each of the two fruits are equally present in a battle for flavor supremacy. To tell you the truth I don’t want either of them to win, because their struggle is so darn tasty. It’s slightly tart and very flavorful. I don’t know why we don’t get this flavor combo back home, but I really wish we did.

Oh, and when you’re ferry is approaching the dock, take advantage of the numerous gigantic seagulls that are hovering around. You can totally get them to eat out of your hand, if you are a turd who gets excited about things like that like I am. One of my traveling companions just wanted to feed them and then punch them as they grabbed the cracker. Now I’m against animal cruelty, but the visual of that in my head is over the top hilarious, and I hope the same visions are now in your mind grapes.

Website
http://www.valensina.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 14th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 |