Germany (26 reviews)

Mezzo Mix

Mezzo Mix

I first had Mezzo Mix a few years ago when I was touring in Europe. We could drink all we want for free, but unfortunately the only non-alcoholic things a lot of the venues had were sparkling water (terrible) and Mezzo Mix. The first time I had it, I was not a fan at all, but I kept drinking it for lack of anything else. After a few days I grew to love it.
It's made by the Coca Cola company, and it's orange cola. It sounds like it should be terrible like orange chocolate, but as I said it's pretty good. I think it also helps that the orange flavoring in it is actually concentrated orange juice and not some bizzaro orange flavoring.

Website
http://www.mezzomix.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mezzomix Classic - Cola Orange Soda 0.33l

Bionade Holunder Elderberry

Bionade Holunder Elderberry

I have never had a drink with elderberry in it before. In fact, this is the first elderberry flavored drink we have reviewed so far. I didn't know what to expect from this drink, but I had high hopes. First sip, I thought it was really gross. It tasted like dry soda, which I don't like at all. But then I decided to look into this drink, and found out that it's made by fermenting malt and water, but in a way where it's not converted to alcohol. This explains the taste. This tastes like a juice that's been sitting out a little too long and the bottle starts to bulge because it's fermenting.

Through the fermentation taste, I get hints of the fruity elderberry taste. But sadly, the fermenting taste is too prominent for me to really enjoy this. It's also more bitter than sweet. This seems like a very sophisticated soda, definitely too sophisticated for me.

Website
http://www.bionade.com/bionade.php/20_en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rhino's Relaxation Drink Blueberry Blackberry

Rhino's Relaxation Drink Blueberry Blackberry

I've been hearing a lot about relaxation drinks lately. I haven't had the opportunity to try one until now. It's made up of a lot of juices, as well as Valerian root, L-Theanine, Lemon Balm, and Chamomile. While I can't say if the drink is relaxing, or it's the music I'm listening to (or maybe both?), I can say that it tastes really good. The blueberry/blackberry combo is really nice. The carbonation and sweetness is right on as well. This reminds me a lot of Izze sparkling juice, which makes sense since that's what this is essentially. Completely random, but I also really like how the can feels. It has a matte finish to it. OK, maybe this is relaxing me because I'm starting to ramble about how much I enjoy the feel of this can. It might be time to lie in bed and watch Arrested Development.

Website
http://www.rhinos-energy.com/en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Relaxation
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rhino's Energy Shot Cola

Rhino's Energy Shot Cola

I've gotten in the habit of smelling drinks before I drink them, as if it's going to prepare me for what it tastes like. This smells like cough syrup, which half surprised me since this is supposed to be cola flavored. But on the other hand, I should expect it since most energy shots taste pretty bad. While this isn't the worst tasting energy shot ever, it's definitely not the best. I don't really see how this is cola flavored. There is a VERY slight cola aftertaste, but it's overshadowed by the gross energy drink taste.

Website
http://www.rhinos-energy.com/en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rhino's Natural Energy & Fruit Cranberry

Rhino's Natural Energy & Fruit Cranberry

Despite Rhino's track record with energy drinks so far, I was excited to try this one. When companies add real juice to an energy drink, it usually works out well. For example, take Jason's review of Monster Khaos.

No matter how hard I try, cranberry always reminds me of Thanksgiving. More specifically, it reminds me of my great grandmother cheating at rummy and swearing during dinner. In a weird way, that's a very fond memory of mine. I'm bringing this up because this drink has a very strong cranberry taste to it. In fact, it's the only taste I can decipher. It completely masks the energy drink taste, which is good. Unfortunately, despite the memories cranberry drinks conjure up for me, I have never liked it's taste. But as far as energy drinks go, I'd drink this one over 90% out there.

Website
http://www.rhinos-energy.com/en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 5th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Now Black Cola

Now Black Cola

Our friend Nina just got home from a trip to Germany and we are very gracious that she brought us back a handful of drinks. I opened this pretty much as soon as she handed it to me (okay I put it in the freezer for like 15 minutes to cool it down). When I read "Black Cola" I instantly thought of black metal, because I had watched the documentary "Until the Light Takes Us" a few nights earlier. I was expecting an extremely intense cola. Visions of Burzum, Dark Throne, and Mayhem sitting in dingy basements downing cases of this stuff, floated through my mind. Were they in corpse paint as if they were going to war for Satan? Of course they were! How else would you enjoy such an extreme soda? In my mind, this soda was specifically brewed to be enjoyed on a day trip out to the country, to burn down some churches and perhaps stop off in a neighboring town to stab the guy who runs your record label in the skull.

I really need to stop letting my imagination run away from me before I try a beverage. There is nothing really intense about this cola. I should have known better because of the little green lizard guy on the bottle, but all it takes is .2 seconds for my mind to come up with ridiculous scenarios. It's 100% organic, but has a pretty standard cola flavor. It does have guarana in it for a little extra caffeine kick. If you ever find yourself over in Germany you should pick some up.

Website
http://www.drinknow.de
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Bio-Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 21st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Fritz Limo Melonenbrause

Fritz Limo Melonenbrause

Melon, it is not just filler for fruit salads. I'm a staunch supporter of these underrated fruits. I've hand numerous conversations in my life about how there should be more melon drinks available, especially cantaloupe. It's one of the most refreshing flavors out there. Unfortunately, the few melon flavored things I've found have all been artificially flavored by some scientist in a lab mixing chemicals together until they have the desired taste. Things done that way rarely hit their mark. This little German treat, on the other hand, hit a bulls-eye. I'm talking the center of the bulls-eye, not that cheater outer ring.

As you might gather from the name, this has a lemon lime base with melon added to it. Let me tell you, they mix together incredibly. I once heard some wise men having a conversation. Upon facing an inevitable death one proclaimed, "Aw, we're going to die and I never tasted cantaloupe." The others reply held the wisdom of sages. He calmly stated, "Eh, you didn't miss much. Honeydew is the money melon." I believe the Fritz company took said money melon and mixed in some cantaloupe to appease both parties involved. The result could have gotten someone burned at the stake in olden times for witchcraft.

Website
http://www.fritz-kola.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 21st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Bionade Ginger-Orange

Bionade Ginger-Orange

I'm not a big fan of fermented drinks. I have never drunk beer, my tongue hates kombucha, and the few fermented soda's I've had so far haven't been so great. Despite this being fermented, I was actually excited to try it due to the flavor. Sadly, the orange taste is not very prominent. It has a strong ginger taste, but not a spicy ginger. As far as ginger drinks go, this is VERY mild. I suppose that would be good for someone liked the taste of ginger but not the spicy part of it. Not me though, up the spice! Once again I am reminded that fermented drinks and I don't go well together.

Website
http://www.bionade.com/bionade.php/20_en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Now Fresh Lemon

Now Fresh Lemon

This is another drink that my friend Nina brought back from Germany for me. I don't really know why we don't have straight up lemon pops in the States. Everything is always lemon and lime. Sometimes I want just lemon, if you jump in the car with lemon and lime is riding shotgun, you're probably just going to go to the mall and TGI Fridays for some food. When it's just you and lemon, that's a whole other adventure. You might actually take in a movie and hit up Chili's for some endless chips and salsa. It's not a crazy adventure, but it different and different drinks have their different moments.

This is almost carbonated lemonade, but it has more of a sweet soda pop flavor to it. I really enjoyed it. I'm pretty bummed that the bottle is empty and it is going to be some time before I can get my hands on it again.

Website
http://www.drinknow.de
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Bio-Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 1st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zille's Green Fassbrause

Zille's Green Fassbrause

My brother went to Germany for school. He's working on becoming a mechanical engineer, which seems like an awesome profession. I guess any profession is awesome if you can do what you want with it. It's almost the same thing as saying, "Hey, being a garbage man is great if you don't have to actually pick up other people's trash every day of your life."

Obviously I have to give credit where credit is due and Germany, this bottle rules. It's a Grolsch bottle and that makes even the worst drink better in my eyes. This drink is different. I feel like there is a national tongue to it because it is a taste I am unfamiliar with. It's half floral and half almost like a green apple. It's also one of the most carbonated drinks I've ever had, where the fizz seems to last a long time. The flavor itself lasts a limited time and leaves you with a pretty clean taste, much like the taste of a fresh mouth. Strange, I know, but imagine using unflavored mouthwash and then having a scientist bottle the results of that. That is kind of like how it tastes. Maybe with more apple taste. It's a quick, light flavor that I have gotten used to since I've been drinking this bottle and although it dissipates quickly, when it's there, it's pretty nice.

I am hoping that this revolutionary bottle will allow me to reseal it and put it back in the fridge because I cannot even share this much pop with other people. Here's to that.

Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |