Germany (26 reviews)

Bionade Holunder Elderberry

Bionade Holunder Elderberry

I have never had a drink with elderberry in it before. In fact, this is the first elderberry flavored drink we have reviewed so far. I didn't know what to expect from this drink, but I had high hopes. First sip, I thought it was really gross. It tasted like dry soda, which I don't like at all. But then I decided to look into this drink, and found out that it's made by fermenting malt and water, but in a way where it's not converted to alcohol. This explains the taste. This tastes like a juice that's been sitting out a little too long and the bottle starts to bulge because it's fermenting.

Through the fermentation taste, I get hints of the fruity elderberry taste. But sadly, the fermenting taste is too prominent for me to really enjoy this. It's also more bitter than sweet. This seems like a very sophisticated soda, definitely too sophisticated for me.

Website
http://www.bionade.com/bionade.php/20_en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rhino's Energy Shot Cola

Rhino's Energy Shot Cola

I've gotten in the habit of smelling drinks before I drink them, as if it's going to prepare me for what it tastes like. This smells like cough syrup, which half surprised me since this is supposed to be cola flavored. But on the other hand, I should expect it since most energy shots taste pretty bad. While this isn't the worst tasting energy shot ever, it's definitely not the best. I don't really see how this is cola flavored. There is a VERY slight cola aftertaste, but it's overshadowed by the gross energy drink taste.

Website
http://www.rhinos-energy.com/en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bionade Ginger-Orange

Bionade Ginger-Orange

I'm not a big fan of fermented drinks. I have never drunk beer, my tongue hates kombucha, and the few fermented soda's I've had so far haven't been so great. Despite this being fermented, I was actually excited to try it due to the flavor. Sadly, the orange taste is not very prominent. It has a strong ginger taste, but not a spicy ginger. As far as ginger drinks go, this is VERY mild. I suppose that would be good for someone liked the taste of ginger but not the spicy part of it. Not me though, up the spice! Once again I am reminded that fermented drinks and I don't go well together.

Website
http://www.bionade.com/bionade.php/20_en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Eichbaum Breweries Brewmasters Wild Elderberry Lemonade

Eichbaum Breweries Brewmasters Wild Elderberry Lemonade

My brother brought it from Germany for me and I've been sitting on it for a long time. That won't lead me to what I'm about to say. This is old stock. He brought it to me when it was not and I was shelving it for when I felt like it. I'm an adult and I drink what I want when I want it. It doesn't taste spoiled. Don't worry.

It does taste like a mix between non-alcoholic champagne and alcoholic champagne. The fruit, whatever an elderberry tastes like, cuts through some of that malty taste. Since malt is an ingredient, why shouldn't it be showcased? I'm not arguing with that and in Germany, they are passionate about their brews. This is (apparently) from a brewmaster so obviously he wants to showcase his stuff a little bit. This one just so happens to be for the kids.

It's fruity and would be the perfect thing if you're in Germany and you can't find a bottle of kid champagne to celebrate something like the purchase of a new Porsche or new Adidas shoes or a new Warwick bass, you've got this to fall back on. You and Dubstep Viking can drink a bottle and dance a little bit in the streets to celebrate.

Website
http://www.eichbaum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Glucose-Fructose Syrup
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 19th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rhino's Natural Energy & Fruit Cranberry

Rhino's Natural Energy & Fruit Cranberry

Despite Rhino's track record with energy drinks so far, I was excited to try this one. When companies add real juice to an energy drink, it usually works out well. For example, take Jason's review of Monster Khaos.

No matter how hard I try, cranberry always reminds me of Thanksgiving. More specifically, it reminds me of my great grandmother cheating at rummy and swearing during dinner. In a weird way, that's a very fond memory of mine. I'm bringing this up because this drink has a very strong cranberry taste to it. In fact, it's the only taste I can decipher. It completely masks the energy drink taste, which is good. Unfortunately, despite the memories cranberry drinks conjure up for me, I have never liked it's taste. But as far as energy drinks go, I'd drink this one over 90% out there.

Website
http://www.rhinos-energy.com/en
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 5th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Now Black Cola

Now Black Cola

Our friend Nina just got home from a trip to Germany and we are very gracious that she brought us back a handful of drinks. I opened this pretty much as soon as she handed it to me (okay I put it in the freezer for like 15 minutes to cool it down). When I read "Black Cola" I instantly thought of black metal, because I had watched the documentary "Until the Light Takes Us" a few nights earlier. I was expecting an extremely intense cola. Visions of Burzum, Dark Throne, and Mayhem sitting in dingy basements downing cases of this stuff, floated through my mind. Were they in corpse paint as if they were going to war for Satan? Of course they were! How else would you enjoy such an extreme soda? In my mind, this soda was specifically brewed to be enjoyed on a day trip out to the country, to burn down some churches and perhaps stop off in a neighboring town to stab the guy who runs your record label in the skull.

I really need to stop letting my imagination run away from me before I try a beverage. There is nothing really intense about this cola. I should have known better because of the little green lizard guy on the bottle, but all it takes is .2 seconds for my mind to come up with ridiculous scenarios. It's 100% organic, but has a pretty standard cola flavor. It does have guarana in it for a little extra caffeine kick. If you ever find yourself over in Germany you should pick some up.

Website
http://www.drinknow.de
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Bio-Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 21st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zille's Green Fassbrause

Zille's Green Fassbrause

My brother went to Germany for school. He's working on becoming a mechanical engineer, which seems like an awesome profession. I guess any profession is awesome if you can do what you want with it. It's almost the same thing as saying, "Hey, being a garbage man is great if you don't have to actually pick up other people's trash every day of your life."

Obviously I have to give credit where credit is due and Germany, this bottle rules. It's a Grolsch bottle and that makes even the worst drink better in my eyes. This drink is different. I feel like there is a national tongue to it because it is a taste I am unfamiliar with. It's half floral and half almost like a green apple. It's also one of the most carbonated drinks I've ever had, where the fizz seems to last a long time. The flavor itself lasts a limited time and leaves you with a pretty clean taste, much like the taste of a fresh mouth. Strange, I know, but imagine using unflavored mouthwash and then having a scientist bottle the results of that. That is kind of like how it tastes. Maybe with more apple taste. It's a quick, light flavor that I have gotten used to since I've been drinking this bottle and although it dissipates quickly, when it's there, it's pretty nice.

I am hoping that this revolutionary bottle will allow me to reseal it and put it back in the fridge because I cannot even share this much pop with other people. Here's to that.

Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Schartner Bombe Lemonade Orange

Schartner Bombe Lemonade Orange

Ahh Germany: lovers of everything industrial and Hasselhoff. You have a soft side, too, and it's this lemonade. You make wonderful lemonade with orange in it and I feel like it's your attempt to look a bit tamer. You are known by the world as precise, perfectionists and although this is nothing less, it's lemonade with orange pop in it. It doesn't need to be so intense. You don't need to buckle down and hit the book, get out a micrometer, measure and calculate. You can kick up your shoes and enjoy a lightly flavored, carbonated, orange drink with a touch of lemonade. It's different than what you would be thinking because the flavors are a bit calmer than you would expect.

Germans, you're great. I would love to one day own a BMW. This pop is good and you did a good job. Congrats.

Website
http://www.schartnerbombe.at
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bodum Fruit Paradise

Bodum Fruit Paradise

In the past I have complained about tea being too weak. I'll drink water when I want to drink water, thank you very much. I don't want a super strong tea because that can be overwhelming and this is teetering on the fence. I steeped it for the specified amount and it came out about as strong as I could handle. Was I in a fruit paradise? I think I was on my last day at the resort where I feel like I have done all I can there. I sang karaoke, ate the local cuisine, hung out in the pool, made a sand castle, and ate copious amounts of fruit and now I'm ready to go home. I'm enjoying my last day but looking forward to boarding the plane and just getting home.

The fruits are all in there trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible but, in doing so, they're kind of getting on your nerves. Sure, I like to come home to a made bed, but sometimes I want to not make the bed and come back how I left it. There are a lot of fruits in here including apple, elderberries, strawberry and apricots. That's a giant amount of fruit, right? It’s a veritable fruit salad. There is also hibiscus and rose hips to make this a true, herbal tea. You can taste that they are all there but indistinguishably.

Look, I don't hate this vacation and I will come back here again. I just wish everyone didn't try so hard to make my stay so "pleasant." I suppose next time I could just steep it less and/or use a larger cup.

Website
http://www.bodum.com
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 5th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Spezi Cola Orange Limonade

Spezi Cola Orange Limonade

When Harry Nilsson sang about putting limes into coconut for a nice treat he had it all wrong. When he should have been singing is “You put the orange in the cola and you drink it all up.” That concoction is a true treat, albeit one with a learning curve. When I first tried Mezzo Mix I was not a fan, but after being fed a couple of bottles, I grew to love it. In America we are taught that the only fruit flavor that really mixes with cola is cherry (and to a lesser extent lemon and possibly lime). We have it all wrong. Cherry cola is fine and dandy, but orange cola is wonderful. Unfortunately this bottle didn’t have as much orange flavor as I would have liked. I would describe it as a cola with hints of orange around the edges. I’m sure that is what most people like, but I would prefer a bolder orange flavor. The cola is also pretty middle of the road. I wouldn’t give it a second thought if my citrus friend weren’t involved. When I’m in Germany in the future I’ll probably stick to Mezzo Mix, but I wouldn’t turn one of these down if it was handed to me.

Website
http://www.spezi.com/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |