Taiwan (100 reviews)

Old Street Cafe Cappuccino

Old Street Cafe Cappuccino

This is my last coffee drink for a while. Three of them were given to me by my one handed boss and I got my fix and they were all good but I don't drink them often and I have a lot of self-conscience issues with my breath smelling. I don't think that it does but I've had a boss that drank a lot of coffee and their breath smelled like they ate a crap sandwich. I can't have that happen to me. I'm charming and I don't want to be charming and have pooh breath.

When I was a lad, I used to take tae-kwon-do. I may have mentioned it before but I don't care. I'll say it again. I used to take tae-kwon-do. We used to make coffee with the complimentary coffee the main dude put in the waiting room for parents who were waiting for their kids to be done punching, kicking, and to a way lesser extent, breaking boards. We would make an eight-ounce cup and put about eleven sugars in it. It really smoothed it out, and for a kid, it was drinkable because no thirteen-year-old kid should be drinking coffee. This drink tastes like that. There is a real, roasted coffee undertone and it's smoothed out with milk and sugar. I don't know how cappuccino it tastes, but it's a pretty standard coffee taste to me. Nothing special.

I honestly craved some cocoa in here. That might make it awesome. Maybe I'll look for a mocha version of this. For now, I'll give it an "eh" rating. Nothing says "Hey, how's that drink you've got? It looks good." like "Eh." Flattering.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 1st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Uni-President Guava Juice

Uni-President Guava Juice

They promise. They deliver. Or I can only assume, since I can't read the packaging. This is a guava juice box. When I was a kid I always got Ssips juice boxes. While those were all well and good, if I had gotten a guava flavored one I would have been one ecstatic kid. I'm pretty sure this is only 15% juice, but it's still enjoyable. Do you have a kid in elementary school? Treat them well. Get them some fancy juice boxes.

Website
http://www.uni-president.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Couldn't Read Ingredients
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hey Song Guava Juice

Hey Song Guava Juice

Hey guys we have a great juice here. In reality it was sweet enough on it's own, but Johnson really upped his game when he added sucrose to the mix to make it sweeter. I know this might sound crazy but what if we also added high fructose corn syrup into the mix? Sweet is good. The kids love sweet! Sure it takes away from the flavor a bit and it really is overly sweet with it in it, but it will cut down overhead because we can use more sweetener and less juice. Who cares if it makes an otherwise great juice a bit syrupy? It worked for Coke, so it can work for us!

Website
http://www.heysong.com.tw/web_en/index.htm
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vitali Original

Vitali Original

Derek's daddy went back to Taiwan and brought back more goodies. This is, apparently, a hot ticket item. Does "hot ticket" mean that it's hard to come by or that it sells like hotcakes? Let's assume that it means the latter and continue.

I didn't know what to expect, you know, because most of the can is not in English. I knew it was carbonated and that's about it. When translating the site from Chinese to English, the product title actually came through as "Victoria vigorously soda". I can only assume that it's a bit of Engrish but it could also mean that it's an energy drink. "vigorously", and adjective which seems like a strange word to use in that context, would, to me at least, mean energy.

It tastes a bit energy and a bit cola and a bit citrus and a way bit sweet. It's not bad, just very candied. If you could carbonate a sugar stick, this is what it would taste like.

Website
http://vitali.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 26th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Uni-President Premium Wuhe Milk Tea

Uni-President Premium Wuhe Milk Tea

In the limited amount of time that I have spent in the UK in my life there is one thing that I have learned above all else; the fine folks there sure know how to make a great cup of tea. I have been a fan of herbal teas since my teenage years, but it wasn't until I toured the United Kingdom for my first time that I could honestly say that I was a fan of straight up black tea. Every night after we would play a show we would head back to someone's house to stay for the night. Without fail, as soon as we settled in, our host would as us if anyone would like a cup of tea. For the first couple of days I experimented with different variations. I started off drinking it black, but it was too bitter. Then I tried it with just sugar. It was still not quite right. By day three I had resigned to drinking my tea with both cream (soy if they had it) and sugar. It was incredibly relaxing, and enjoyable to the taste buds. Every night that I have spent in those countries since has been accompanied with a nice cup of tea.

A company from Taiwan may make this, but it really reminds me of the tea I had in the UK. Well a cold version with a bit more creamer in it. I have to be honest here. It has a lot more creamer in it. It's a bit too much, but it's still enjoyable. I feel like the fine folks abroad would enjoy this as a to-go drink on a hot summer day. Then as the day cools down and the night sets in they would enjoy a nice cup of their classic hot tea.

Website
http://www.uni-president.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 11th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mr. Brown Iced Coffee

Mr. Brown Iced Coffee

Mr. Brown, so nice to meet you. I'm sorry, but I've got to get this out of the way because I'll be thinking of it this entire meeting. You look remarkably like a mix between Dom Delouise and Wimpy from Popeye. I hope that doesn't offend you, but I have to speak my mind. That’s why you brought me in here, right? Honestly? Right? No? Oh, you made a new coffee drink. Well fantastic. I always thought you should expand the line. What have you got for me? Iced coffee? I like it. Let's have a drink here.

What a delightfully small and nearly indestructible can you've got here. Man, you're not cutting corners on this thing. It's un-crushable. I like that you're ruling out the "I'm going to get drunk and smash this can on my forehead." demographic. This would knock a brother out, Mr. Brown! Let's get down to taste, though. That's what's going to push product, not this nuke-proof bottle. You know what? This is coffee. It's cold coffee with a little bit of sugar. It's very coffee tasting and isn't for haters of coffee but please, those people aren't for us anyhow. This is a nice morning drink when you don't feel like burning your mouth or tasting your receptionist's garbage, burnt coffee. Did you ever think of that? We're a coffee company and Sally makes the world’s worst coffee. She just lets it sit in the pot for hours, doesn't make more, and it just gets old or burnt or both. That's not what we want in these cans and that's not what we want in this office. She's fine. Please don't tell her I said that. She's a dear. She's a dear who just needs to pay more attention to her coffee.

Mr. Brown. You have made another wonderful product. People will think of your name when they think of coffee. You will be synonymous. Coffee? Oh, Mr. Brown. Congratulations, sir. You've done it again.

Website
http://www.mrbrown.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 17th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mr. Brown Iced Coffee

Alo Escape Pineapple + Guava + Seabuckthorn Berry

Alo Escape Pineapple + Guava + Seabuckthorn Berry

I pose to you a question: When Kurt Russell was escaping from New York, and later L.A. would he have had an easier time if this drink were on hand? Would it have given him the refreshment he needed in such dire situations? Would he have just been able to trade a bottle of this for the president? I can only imagine that pineapples and guavas would be like gold on a prison island. If you lived in an area that was cut off from the world for years and suddenly someone dangled those fruits in front of you, I think you would be surprised as to what you would do to procure it. The joke would be on you though if you traded something as precious at the president for a bottle of this. You see there are four main ingredients in this bottle: aloe vera, pineapple and guava (which are all incredibly delicious), but then you also have sea buckthorn berry. I’ve never actually had one before, or heard of it until now, but a quick internet search tells me they are extremely healthy an also extremely tart. My question is if they are so tart why does this drink taste like someone took a delicious tropical aloe drink and mixed in a little bit of vegetable soup? There is just this little flavor of soup that makes this whole thing really, really weird. It counters the tropical flavor, and once you realize what the taste reminds you of it’s hard to concentrate on any of the other flavors. It's still enjoyable, but it's just a weird drink. Snake Plissken sure pulled a fast one on those cons. Now he just needs to get the president back to his glider.

Oh yeah, in case you didn’t already realize it this drink also has chunks of aloe in it. I normally love them, but they kind of add to the vegetable soup scenario in here.

Website
http://www.alodrink.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 24th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Love the Taste Multigrain Decomposition Tea

Love the Taste Multigrain Decomposition Tea

This happens all too much. I go somewhere, read the ingredients, get stoked, drink it, and feel instant sorrow. This is a good tea, but don't lie to me. What is the lie? One word that is a secret key to my heart: capsicum. When I read that work, my eyes light up like when you say "boney" or "walk" to a dog and their ears shoot up like tiny, furry radars. Why are they liars? There is no burn in this tea at all. Once again, that's fine, but why add the ingredient if you aren't going to use it to its full potential. Burn my mouth off or at least sting me a little bit.

This tea tastes like a bitter jasmine tea. It's very fragrant and nicely bitter. I like it and would drink it again and again. Also, I would get to drink the whole thing because no one wants to drink anything titled "decomposition tea."

Website
http://www.agv.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 18th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mr. Brown Iced Coffee Blue Mountain Blend

Mr. Brown Iced Coffee Blue Mountain Blend

I'll take a coffee, please. One sugar. Thanks. Ahh! This coffee is far too hot. Can I put this in your fridge to cool it down? Thank you very much. It smells great, but I just can't sip it without the fear of burning my mouth. We all know that nothing ruins your day like burning the roof of your mouth. Sure, I'd love to go to the mall.

[four hours later]

Did you see the great deal I got on these slacks? It's like I stole them from the store. Oh crudbuckets. I forgot my coffee in your fridge. You know what? I'll drink it. No, you don't need to make me another one. I drink iced coffee at work. What's the difference between that and this? Ice and some fancy but unnecessary syrup? I'm fine with this, thank you very much.

You know what? They must be adding something else I'm missing out on at the coffee shop because this just tastes kind of like cold coffee. I know, I know. It is cold coffee. You know, when I was in Taiwan, they had these tiny but near indestructible cans of coffee by some dude who looked like Dom Delouise called Mr. Brown. This is that, or that is this. Regardless of what it is, I have just created it in your home and now have no need to ever but it again.

Website
http://www.mrbrown.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 2nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Mr. Brown Iced Coffee (Blue Mountain)

Uni-President Black Tea Drink

Uni-President Black Tea Drink

I find it odd that "drink" is appended to the title of this drink. Is this drink not a tea of the black variety? There are like four ingredients. There are so few ingredients that I will list each and every one. And I read: Water, sugar, black tea, and barley. Done. End. It seems odd that they wouldn't just call it "Black tea with barley" or "Barley Black Tea" like Uni-President did with one of my favorite drinks.

How does this taste? Like cereal. Like if you ate Cheerios with water and drank the milk afterwards. It's not that bad. Perhaps a little too sweet for me, but it's not bad. I don't get a strong black tea taste as the barley cuts right through pretty strongly.

I also don't particularly understand the "The Noir" title of this. Is it a sub-title? Black Tea Drink The Black like people would know what it is. Code name? I don't think there is a line of "Black Tea Drink" drinks that there is a need for another one. This drink is an enigma filled with unanswered questions.

Website
http://www.uni-president.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 10th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |