Taiwan (100 reviews)

Mong Lee Shang Pearl Soybean Drink With Tapioca Balls

Mong Lee Shang Pearl Soybean Drink With Tapioca Balls

As to be expected, this is pretty much sweetened soymilk. The flavor is nothing fancy. I was bummed because I didn't get any tapioca balls for the first half of the can. I was afraid it had disintegrated or just weren't added to this can. Then I got a sip that was pretty much all tapioca. So if you ever get one of these remember to shake it. For anyone who's ever had bubble tea, it's the same idea. If you're not familiar they are pretty much flavorless little gelatinous balls that add a fun little texture.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Chunky, Soy
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 27th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Uni-President Bale Barley Black Tea

Uni-President Bale Barley Black Tea

A letter from the desk of Mike Literman,

Dear Uni,
Are you sorcerers? What type of wizardry do you have in stock that you can do what you did? I was a bit standoffish when I read barley. I don't drink anything with barley in it so I don't know what it's used for other than beer. Whatever you did was a work of art. Now you're artists, you've been promoted/demoted from wizard. This barley black tea tastes like chocolate milk, and good chocolate milk. There is a little black tea, like it's a half and half with chocolate milk and black tea. It's very good. It’s very, very good. I love you. It turns out barley isn't such a jerk after all.

Love,
Mike Literman

Website
http://www.uni-president.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 27th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ve Wong Guava Drink

Ve Wong Guava Drink

I was a little frightened to try this beverage. After a week of binging on drinks bought at an Asian market, I was really expecting for there to be some wacky addition to the guava juice. Luckily I was wrong and it's just plain juice. I'm used to drinking guava nectar, so this is a change since it's not super thick. It's good though. It would make a nice breakfast juice. How did orange juice corner that market anyways? I mean it's good, but something like this would be way more refreshing.

Website
http://www.asian-food-supplier.com
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Taisun Grass Jelly Drink

Taisun Grass Jelly Drink

I was scared. I didn't want to drink this. With a title like "grass jelly drink" what was I supposed to think? I knew it was going to have chunks in it so I poured it into a glass. It’s chunky, very chunky. Like if you bought an aloe drink and doubled the amount of aloe. Here's the deal though. It was awesome. My one friend said that it tasted like sweet tea and that it got better with every sip. I thought that it had a winter taste, like there were some unlisted spices.

I mean it. Try it. I'm sorry if you don't like it, but I think that with an open mind, this could be a diamond in the rough.

Website
http://www.taisun.co.uk/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Chunky
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Taisun, Drink Grass Jelly, 10.8-Ounce (24 Pack)

Mong Lee Shang Mango Juice Drink

Mong Lee Shang Mango Juice Drink

I came in to work today and the lovely and talented Kristin Merz stopped at her local Asian market and picked me up this Mango juice drink. Yes, there is nata de coco in it, but there isn't a lot. It's not like a lot of the other ones I've had where there is an abundance of little squared, gummy goodness. This drink had but a few little dudes but the mango juice was actually really good. There is actually a small bit of mango chunk in there, too, but nothing to really write home about. It's not a puree or a smoothie, just a juice, but a good juice. Personally, I think it's an all or nothing gig with nata de coco. Either put a lot in or don't put any in.

This is a excellent juice and I urge anyone who is 10% adventurous to go down to their local Asian market and get a can.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Chunky, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hey Song Sarsaparilla

Hey Song Sarsaparilla

This is really weird. It's kind of like a normal sarsaparilla, but not quite. When it first hits your taste buds, it tastes like a budget root beer. Then a complete different flavor hits you. It has a "woodsy" flavor to it. It's kinda tastes like the root beer Mike and I made a few months ago, well before we carbonated it and it tasted like complete butt. I'm not a fan of the first flavor, but the second wave is pretty darn good.

Website
http://www.heysong.com.tw/web_en/index.htm
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup and/or Sucrose
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Noyu Peach

Noyu Peach

Last night I went and saw Let Me In. It's the American version of Let The Right One In. If I never had seen the original I would have thought it was an absolutely incredible movie, but seeing as the Swedish one is possibly the best vampire movie I've ever seen, the remake just seemed okay.
The point of that is that I drank this tea while I was watching the movie. Did you need to know that? No, but I felt like since I was reviewing two peach drinks in a row I should let it be known that there was a time lapse in between them.
I've had quite a few peach oolong teas in my day. I don't know who decided to put those two flavors together, but I understand why the couple is now in an open relationship. This is by far the best one that I've had. It's not peach flavoring, but actual peach juice in it, and the flavor is strong. The peach tastes like it was just about to be fully ripe when they juiced it. A slight bitterness of the oolong still sneaks by though. I also like it when the sweetener in teas is in the bottom half of the ingredients list. It's nice to actually be able to taste the real flavor, and not just sweetness.

Website
http://www.noyuteas.com/index.php
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 18th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Noyu Teas Peach Oolong Tea, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Noyu Samurai Defender Mandarin Ginger Oolong Tea

Noyu Samurai Defender Mandarin Ginger Oolong Tea

Samurai Defender. Is there a greater name for a antioxidant type tea? It's perfect fit, and it certainly got me interested in the tea.
It's a real nice oolong tea with a touch of mandarin oranges and a ginger aftertaste. There's no burn at all with the ginger, just a small dose of the flavor to remind you it's performing its "herbal defense."

Website
http://www.noyuteas.com/index.php
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 11th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Noyu Teas Samurai Defender Mandarin Ginger Oolong Tea, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Noyu Honey Lemon Chamomile Green Tea

Noyu Honey Lemon Chamomile Green Tea

You've spent your entire life running around. Doing errands for yourself and doing errands for other people. Getting placed on time. Anticipating getting places late and speeding to get there on time. Climbing mountains. Running marathons. Having kids. Doing eating challenges. Skiing. Taking out the garbage. Riding a bike long distances. Washing windows. Shoveling. Weeding. Filing your taxes. Housekeeping. Discussing the plot to a M. Night Shamalan movie. Attending Church. Telling your significant other that their pants don't make their butt look big. Visiting your in-laws. Discussing politics. Jumping rope. Researching a solution to the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. Walking uphill both ways in the snow. Preparing for the 2012 Apocalypse. Finding a parking spot. Waiting on hold.

CALM DOWN!! Honey = soothing. Lemon = soothing(?). Chamomile = calming. This is good, too. All flavors are represented and for a little over one dollar, I am down with this. If they sold this (they may) in one of those really large containers, like 60 ounces, I wouldn't hesitate to get it. I am actually impressed at how adequately they captured all the flavor friends in this drink. Surprise yourself. Find this drink (I got mine at a local Marshall's) and take your time drinking it.

Website
http://www.noyuteas.com/index.php
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Noyu Teas Honey Lemon Chamomile Green Tea, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Young Energy Source Barley Tea Drink

Young Energy Source Barley Tea Drink

I don't know what was wrong with just calling it "Barley Tea". I don't know why they had to append "Drink" to the end of it. The only ingredients are mineral water, fructose, and sugar. Barley is probably in there somewhere, but there really isn't anything that would turn it into a "Tea Drink" instead of just a "Tea".

ANYHOW...

I bought this in the largest size possible, over 60oz, because I wanted it to taste like the Uni Barley Black Tea but it didn't and now I have to deal with 60+ ounces of regret.

That's a bit strong. It's not bad, it's just not what I wanted it to be. I wanted that smooth taste that I got with the other one. It heavily barley flavored and not so "chocolaty" like I described the Uni drink.

If you like the taste of barley, get a giant bottle. It's a very good, true flavor. I just wanted something different. I wonder if Uni makes a 60+oz bottle. I deserve it. I'm wonderful.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 16th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |