Taiwan (100 reviews)

Young Energy Source Plum Juice Drink

Young Energy Source Plum Juice Drink

Shit Sandwich.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Juice
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 30th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

7 Eleven 7 Select Essence of Chicken

7 Eleven 7 Select Essence of Chicken



For your viewing pleasure and enjoyment. I have drank and video'd my review for 7 Eleven's very own "Essence of Chicken." Watch the video and let me drink this for you.

Website
http://www.7-eleven.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Couldn't Read Ingredients
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Typhoon Enterprise Company Ltd Hawthorn Berry

Typhoon Enterprise Company Ltd Hawthorn Berry

Plums = Prunes. Like the Alamo, never forget. Also never forget that in the East, their prunes are smoked or something because everything plum/prune flavored tastes like you are eating their Western equivalent at a bonfire. Smokes. It's like chipotle fruit. Now allow me to read the ingredients to this drink because it should be the best drink I've ever had:
Water. Sugar. Hawthorn berry. Plum. Hibiscus flower. Licorice.

Could this drink sound any better? I mean, I don't know what hawthorn berry tastes like, but it's a berry. I get it. The plum/prune, I can say with most certainty, ruined this drink. I cannot taste anything but that. I love hibiscus drinks and love licorice and those are non-existent and that blows. It smells and to a lesser extent tastes like fruity beef jerky. Man. Editor Dan, the bequeather of this drink, was right. It sucks and should be better. If I could dissect this drink, I would do it in a heartbeat. Take all the plum/prune DNA out of it, add some water to put it back together, drink it again and love it.

Drats. This sucked.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 31st, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Yon Ho Black Soybean

Yon Ho Black Soybean

This couldn't look more like chocolate milk. I knew it wasn't. I knew it. It just looked so much like it that I endlessly hoped that it did. So much. Then I took a sip and...bleh. It has a bit of an open, airy, slightly sweet, packing peanut taste. But it looks so much like chocolate milk. I gave it to my boss, because I'm a fantastic employee, and told him it was chocolate milk. Because of who I am and the fact that we've been working together for like five years, he knew I was up to something. Then he smelled it, confirmed I was up to something, drank it anyway, and for a minute, made that "ugh" sound.

Different tastes for different countries, I guess. If it was my job to sell this drink I might quit my job because I don't know anyone who would desire this drink, but I'm sure it's huge in Taiwan and I'm going to get a lot of foreign flack for this review. It is sweetened so I assume this is a casual drink, like pop would be to us. Taiwan? Anyone? I know there are a couple of you over there that can answer me.

Website
http://www.yonho.com
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soy
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 15th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Yung-Ho Rice Drink Peanut

Yung-Ho Rice Drink Peanut

Peter loved peanut butter, or as his mom liked to call it “Peter Butter.” It started with PB&J sandwiches. Then he switched to straight peanut butted on bread, and lots of it. Before he knew it he was hooked on the stuff. He was dipping veggies on it. Eating it with dessert. He even became a regular at a local Thai restaurant because he could get peanut satay there. He consumed more peanut butter than any other substance and it was evident in his physical presence. His mother told him he had to cut down, or else he would turn out to be one of those people that you hear about on the news that is so obese that they can’t even leave their bed, and weeks pass before anyone even realizes they are dead. Peter did not want that to be his future, so he started cutting down on his peanut butter intake. It was hard because he loved the flavor so much. His mother worked out a recipe for a drink that would taste like peanut butter, but wouldn’t be so terrible health wise. She took rice milk and blended in some peanut butter. Sure it wasn’t exactly health food, but it filled the void that the lack of peanut butter had created in Peter’s life, while keeping things a tad better for him. At first Peter thought it was strange. He felt like he was drinking a can of the sauce that was on his peanut satay. The more he thought about it, the more it grossed him out. He didn’t want to drink sauce. Only degenerates and junkies did things like that. He thereby claimed that he was off the sauce. He didn’t want to be a peanut butter junkie anymore. He took the rest of his drink and gave it to the cat, which surprisingly loved it. It’s now been ten years and Peter has taken to lying to people about having a peanut allergy, just so he doesn’t have people tempting him with his old love.

ps. My cat totally starting drinking this and I had to physically restrain her to get her to stop. Cats love peanuts.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

AGV Barley

AGV Barley

Not what I expected, not what I wanted. Yes, this is a barley drink, but it's not good to me. My dad always taught me that if I was going to be opinionated, I should end all my opinionated statements with "to me" so that I'm not demonstrating close mindedness. My dad is a smart man. Smart enough to not drink this drink. It's barley, through and through but it's a bit...sweet and earthy. I know that might sound good, but it tastes more like you're in a field, hanging out with Huck Finn, chewing on a stalk of barley, wearing no shoes, talking about how you're going to make a sweet raft out of logs and push yourself down the river.

I never read Huck Finn, although I feel like I've seen enough parodies of it to know what happens. Something about faking death in a church, whitewashing fence posts, kids stuff.

Website
http://www.agv.com.tw/english/trade.php
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 28th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Apple Sidra

Apple Sidra

When I was in Germany a couple of years back I found one of the most delicious drinks I've ever experienced. It was an apple soda called Apfelsaftschorle. It is absolutely perfect. It's mineral water and apple juice. I don't know why it's so much better than any other sparkling apple drink I've ever had, but I have been searching for it's equal ever since I've been back in the States. A couple of weeks ago I found this in my trusty Asian market. As always my hopes were high that I had found a comparable drink that I could find at home. Nope. It's kind of gross. It's really harsh, and even though it has apple concentrate in it, it tastes like apple candies. How to companies mess that up? They are using juice. Why can't they just let it be? They always have to add a butt load of sugar and ruin it all. Apple Sidra deemed it necessary to use both fructose and sugar. Grosstown, USA.

I should probably abandon my search and just try to make the wonderful German drink on my own. I know it will never be the same, but I need it to survive. Maybe not survive, but to have content taste buds. They apparently run my life these days.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Fructose & Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Famous House Sugar Cane Drink

Famous House Sugar Cane Drink

When I saw this can, my immediate thought was "sugar water?" The ingredients confirmed this suspicion: sugar cane juice, water, sugar. Upon opening the can, the smell was really pungent and kind of gross. It smelled like what I imagine rancid sugar to smell like. Luckily, it didn't taste as bad as it smelled.

But at the end of the day, it's just sugar water. It's really hard not to let the gross smell waft into your nose while drinking this. Am I glad I tried this drink? Yes. Will I ever drink this again/finish this can? No way.

Website
http://famoushouse.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vedan 500 Sarsaparilla

Vedan 500 Sarsaparilla

Sarsaparilla in a can? OK I'm willing to try this. It was pretty cheap so I was expecting this to taste pretty cheap. Was I right? Pretty much. I didn't know it was possible to make a mediocre sarsaparilla. Then again, there are lots of mediocre root beers so I guess someone had to screw up sarsaparilla as well. This just strengthens my suspicion that no good root beers/birch beers/sarsaparillas come in cans.

Website
http://www.vedan.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Famous House Chrysanthemum

Famous House Chrysanthemum

Much like Mike who reviewed the last chrysanthemum drink, I was disappointed that this didn't taste like earth. This tastes a lot like the other Famous House drink I had: loaded with sugar and no other taste. There is a slight black tea taste, but it's definitely not prominent. File this one under the "not great, but not horrible" category.

Website
http://famoushouse.com.tw
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |