Almdudler 50 Jahre Krauterlimonade

Almdudler 50 Jahre Krauterlimonade

Ladies, gentlemen, councilmen, Mr. President, your highness, or whoever it is that makes any sort of decision for the country of Austria. We have a dilemma on our hands. Our country has found itself without a national drink. Yes general I know we consume way more Coca-Cola than we really should, but let's face it Coke is everywhere. There's really nothing about it that shouts Austria. No headmaster. Bundaberg Ginger Beer simply will not work, as it's made in Australia, not Austria. Do you even know what country you live in? Seriously. We need something unique. Something that people can't get in any little market over in Germany. I'm sick of them stealing the spotlight. I want to have something that will make us shine brighter! Hey, what was it that Archduke Ferdinand was always drinking before his untimely demise? Alma matter? Alms to the poor? No, that's not it. Oh yes Almdudler! All in Favor? Anyone opposed? There we have it from here on our Almdudler will now be the national drink of Austria!

When you're dealing with a beverage that makes a claim of being the national drink of anything you get some crazy ideas of what it might taste like. Especially when it's called "Krauterlimonade," which my friend Nina says translates to "cabbage lemonade." I really don't know what I expected it to taste like. So many different ideas entered my mind. Not many of them seemed appealing. After I drank it I did some research and found out that Nina would have been correct in her translation if it weren’t for that little "er." Those two little letters change the definition to "small-timer." I still don't know what that has to do with this drink.

As the drink first hit my taste buds I thought it was going to be a ginger ale, but that thought quickly faded. I thought I detected some apple, like in an apple malt soda, but I wasn't exactly sure. As the previously mentioned Nina put it "This tastes like nothing more than water does." It tastes sweet, but the sweetness passes soon. I Wikied it to discover that it's a mix of apple and grape flavors. If that's what it is then Austria has some pretty weak fruit on its hands.

The fact that it doesn't really taste like much of anything is actually extremely appealing. I've just about finished this bottle, and I already find myself bummed that I don't have any more after this. It's something that I really, really enjoy. On top of the strange awesome lack of flavor this also has a nice unique bottle.

Website
http://www.almdudler.com/
Country
Austria
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/8/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Almdudler Soda ( 0.33 l )

Tazo Plum Pomegranate

Tazo Plum Pomegranate

I don't like strip clubs. I've been to two in my lifetime and I'm fine with that. I like to look at girls as much as the next dude, but something about looking at one with other people seems creepy. You can't touch them so all you can do is look. Seems pointless. You can see the same thing in a Sears ad every weekend. Seriously, you can. It's really not a big deal. Dudes go and drop thousands of dollars and for what? To think that some girl likes you because you had money before you rudely threw it at her? There in an infinite amount of things I would rather do than go to a lunch buffet at a strip club. Burger King, for one. Honestly, do you know what would make a Whopper more awesome? Not much, I know, but this tea can't hurt. It's not like it has complimentary flavors or ingredients, it's just really good. You taste the plums right off the bat. Second comes pomegranate, all while being mixed in a nicely brewed green tea.

I really like Tazo because they not only use natural ingredients, but they clearly have fun. Seriously?
Brambleberry? Made up, but it's interesting. Thank you, Tazo, for the taste voyage you put me on and we've got a long ways to go before we're to the end of your street.

Dudes, if you're at a strip club and you're reading this; go home to your wife and kids. If you would spend more time with your possibly attractive wife and kids, you might all get along more than you know. Plus, your wife will let you touch her hogans so that's already a plus one for the "family man".

Website
http://www.tazo.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 4/9/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tazo Tea 25828 Plum Pomegranate Iced Tea

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Every day when I go to work I have to walk past a coffee shop. I do not like coffee, but I do enjoy the smell. It's not one of those "Oh, it brings back so many memories." things, it just smells good to me. I don't want to turn into one of those kids that are way too young to be hooked on the stuff, though. I despise people who say "Oh, I need my coffee," or "I had like 6 cups of coffee today," or the classic "Don't get me wrong, it's not like I haven't had coffee in years and am, for some reason, holding a grudge. I try a sip here and there and it just never gets me.

Here's where I feel I can blend in with society. This Bai stuff has been nothing but incredible. The fruit of the coffee bean can be used to add antioxidants to juice, tons of them according to a (probably biased) scale on the side of the bottle. This dragonfruit flavor is no exception. The Stevia does a good job of not masking the flavor and the flavor itself is a nice, fruity flavor.

I don't see myself drinking coffee in the near or far future, but I do see myself drinking Bai for many years to come. Does that mean that I am going to go into coffee shops with a couple bottles of it, pull out my laptop and work for 8 hours while people are standing next to me awaiting seats in the worst laid out establishment ever? Absolutely not! You can have your seat, addicts.

Website
http://www.drinkbai.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Coffee, Diet, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 4/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tommyknocker Almond Creme

Tommyknocker Almond Creme

Tommyknocker soda has no affiliation with the Stephen King novel/movie of the same name. The bottle tells us that Tommyknockers are mischievous elves that came to Colorado in 1859 for the gold rush. They apparently guided miners to the "motherlode." The bearded fellow on the label doesn't look like any elf I've ever seen in the moving pictures or storybooks. He looks more like a dwarf. I expect that just out of view of the picture there is a giant hammer laying around. I mean how else is he going to break all of those giant rocks to find gold. I wonder how much wax from that candle on his helmet he has to pick out of his beard. It's a pretty glorious beard and it would be hella annoying to have to pick wax out of something so majestic.

This is a dessert soda if I've ever had one. You have yourself a nice big meal and then you sit out on your porch as dusk sets in taking sips off of a bottle. That's exactly how I spent my evening. Porch sitting with my cats and a bottle of almond creme. I bet it wouldn't go very well with a meal, but after dinner is done it's just wonderful. It's slightly heavier on the vanilla than the almond, but I think straight up almond might have been too much. These so called elves have gotten the proper proportion down.

Website
http://www.tommyknocker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Flashback Olde Time Blue Cream Soda

Flashback Olde Time Blue Cream Soda

I've had clear cream soda. I've had brownish cream soda. I've had pink cream soda. Until now, I had never had a blue cream soda. This reminds me a lot of soda mousse. It is almost like a cream soda candy, I love it. The blue color is making me think it tastes like the blue bubblegum, but it really doesn't. I really hope there are other blue cream sodas out there, because just like white birch beer, it's a great version of a classic drink.

Website
http://www.orcabeverage.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mona Vie The Premier Acai Blend Emv

Mona Vie The Premier Acai Blend Emv

I woke up early again today for no real reason. Why does this keep happening? It was also way warm in my room. I mean like sweating to the sheets summer warm. So I'm laying there in bed playing Words With Friends, like I do when I wake up every morning, and decide that it's obviously really nice out, so I'm going to go on a long bike ride before my girlfriend gets up. I eat my cereal and head out to the porch where I realize that it's insanely windy and looks like the sky is going to open up and all of god's wrath is going to come down in the form of unholy rain. I sigh and head back inside and read the morning away. Around noon it cleared up a bit so I decided to take my chances. I ended up riding to North Tonawanda, which is a decent hike. There are brief moments where it's really windy, but nothing I can't handle. Of course as soon as I got to the furthest point in my little adventure it starts to rain. Just a light shower though. I start heading home, but once I reach the bike path that runs along side the river a never-ending wind picks up. Speaking of never ending, it's like the wind that picks up right before the Nothing hits in Never Ending Story. I'm talking Wizard of Oz wind here. It should have picked me up, bike included, and carried me off to some magical land. It turns out it didn't, but I did find myself in the same predicament as some seagulls. They were trying with all their might but they just couldn't make any ground. They were just hovering in one place flapping their wings like crazy. Me? I made slight ground, but for the intensity that I was pedaling I should have been going a lot further, a lot faster. I don't know how I made it home, but I did and collapsed on my bed.

As I lay in bed playing Words With Friends for the second time today, I realized I had some things that needed to get done, but I had little energy to do them. I didn't want to drink one of your every day energy drinks, because that would have just made me feel like a steaming pile of poop. Instead I went with a Mona Vie. It's a "Healthy Energy Supplement." It didn't make me all jittery and crazy feeling like Mike's Celsius drink, but it did give me the little boost I needed to get off my butt and get some work done. It's ever so lightly carbonated, which was a nice touch. There was just a soft fizz as opposed to the big bubbles you would expect. Acai is the base flavor, but it's a pretty smooth version of it. This is an energy drink I 100% approve of. It sure brought me back from the dead.

Website
http://www.monavie.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Energy Drink, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Muskoka Dry Pale Ginger Ale

Muskoka Dry Pale Ginger Ale

Canada gets the worst rap ever. As a country it is the butt of probably 37% of the worlds jokes. I'm not kidding polls were taken pie charts were made up. This is serious business. I love Canada. I would love to move to Toronto, and I even looked into it at one point, but it wasn't in the cards. I've never had anything but a good time while I'm in the Great White North, and seeing as it's less than 10 minutes from my house, I'm there a good deal. I actually have plans to go to Toronto twice this week. With all of my love for our northern neighbor I never expected an outstanding ginger ale to be one of its exports. I always associate ginger ale with Wisconsin (another incredible place). It's probably because of Vernors. That's made in WI right? Either way this is pretty incredible. It stands high above nearly all other ginger based beverages I have tried. It's full flavored with just the slightest bit of burn. I mean this is a ginger ale and not a beer, so it shouldn't burn too much. It's not overly sweet and it's perfectly carbonated. I will surely look to grab some more of this on one of my Toronto trips.

I salute you Canada for your plentiful maple trees, your noble beavers, your abundance of veggie food and now for your wonderful ginger ale.

Website
http://www.muskokaspringwater.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/12/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Refreshing Beverages Goin' Bananas

Refreshing Beverages Goin' Bananas

If someone were to ask me how many different soda's I have tried over my entire life, I don't think I could come up with even a good estimate. Obviously I could count how many I have reviewed here as a start, but those have only been the past year or so of my 29 years of soda drinking.

Among those many, many sodas, I have tried many different fruit flavored sodas: orange, pineapple, strawberry, grape, apple, raspberry, and many more. Up until now, I have never had (or even seen) a banana soda. When a friend mailed me this bottle, I was really excited to try it and waited for the right time to try it.

Upon opening the bottle, it gave off a very strong banana smell. It was a very familiar smell, but I couldn't put my finger on it. After the first sip it hit me: Runts! This tastes EXACTLY like banana Runts. They were always my least favorite part of the fruit mixture candy, but only because they were the hardest to bite into. Sip after sip, this soda still taste like banana Runts. I heard this company makes a bunch of other fruit flavors. Now I’m very excited to find them and hope they are as good as this.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Granny Squibb's Raspberry Lime Tea

Granny Squibb's Raspberry Lime Tea

Granny Squibb's has done it again. She's now 3/3 with great tasting teas, all of which for four bottle ratings. This one here is definitely something special. It's pretty much their mojito tea with raspberry juice added to it. Can you really ever go wrong with adding raspberry? Okay, you can really mess up cakes with fruit, especially wedding cakes. I love fruit, but it has no place in a cake. It always ends up tasting like someone spread some jelly on your wonderful piece of cake and ruined it. Friends take note. I want no fruit in my cake (unless it's whole strawberries on top). Luckily there is no cake involved in this tea, so added the raspberry was a great idea. I hope that Granny Squibb continues to expand their line of outstanding iced teas.

Website
http://www.grannysquibb.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hosmer Mountain Root Beer

Hosmer Mountain Root Beer

I'm not sure if he introduced me to it, but I’ve always associated root beer with my dad. Whenever we would go to the store, root beer would always be his go-to soda. While he never ventured outside of the realm of A & W/Dad's/etc..., those early trips to the store made me want to try new root beers as I was pushed off into the world of soda alone.

Hosmer Mountain must be a wonderful place (if it is a real mountain). I imagine it to be a beautiful snow capped mountain much like the one in Immortal's music video for Blashyrkh. On that mountain, you can find bottles of delicious soda, much like this one. The best thing about this wonderful mountain inhabited by a black metal band is that the soda is endless, and always cold.

This root beer is good and simple. If I were reviewing this soda on eBay, it would be like this: "A++++ soda! Very delicious! Fast shipping! Would drink again!"

Website
http://www.hosmersoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |