Granny Squibb's Raspberry Lime Tea

Granny Squibb's Raspberry Lime Tea

Granny Squibb's has done it again. She's now 3/3 with great tasting teas, all of which for four bottle ratings. This one here is definitely something special. It's pretty much their mojito tea with raspberry juice added to it. Can you really ever go wrong with adding raspberry? Okay, you can really mess up cakes with fruit, especially wedding cakes. I love fruit, but it has no place in a cake. It always ends up tasting like someone spread some jelly on your wonderful piece of cake and ruined it. Friends take note. I want no fruit in my cake (unless it's whole strawberries on top). Luckily there is no cake involved in this tea, so added the raspberry was a great idea. I hope that Granny Squibb continues to expand their line of outstanding iced teas.

Website
http://www.grannysquibb.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hosmer Mountain Root Beer

Hosmer Mountain Root Beer

I'm not sure if he introduced me to it, but I’ve always associated root beer with my dad. Whenever we would go to the store, root beer would always be his go-to soda. While he never ventured outside of the realm of A & W/Dad's/etc..., those early trips to the store made me want to try new root beers as I was pushed off into the world of soda alone.

Hosmer Mountain must be a wonderful place (if it is a real mountain). I imagine it to be a beautiful snow capped mountain much like the one in Immortal's music video for Blashyrkh. On that mountain, you can find bottles of delicious soda, much like this one. The best thing about this wonderful mountain inhabited by a black metal band is that the soda is endless, and always cold.

This root beer is good and simple. If I were reviewing this soda on eBay, it would be like this: "A++++ soda! Very delicious! Fast shipping! Would drink again!"

Website
http://www.hosmersoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Gamer Grape

Gamer Grape

Grapes rule: plain and simple. They're easy to eat, they're super delicious, and it's such a common fruit. I normally don't like grape juice because it's too rich and heavy. I never thought grape juice represented grapes very well because they are a very light and hydrating fruit.

I love this soda because it tastes like you're eating grapes. Most grape soda's I’ve had before are heavy and too sweet. This is the most refreshing grape soda I’ve ever had. Thank you Gamer soda for renewing my interest in grape sodas!

Website
http://www.gamersoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Firefly Natural Energy Britannia - Raspberry, Blackberry & Bramley Apple

Firefly Natural Energy Britannia - Raspberry, Blackberry & Bramley Apple

The cinnamon challenge is a thing of modern folklore. Oh you're not familiar? It's a little game where you dare or bet someone that they can't swallow a tablespoon of cinnamon without the aid of a beverage. The person is also not allowed to puke. It can be endlessly funny at parties. Generally if you can convince one of your friends to do it, it's pretty much guaranteed that others will join in saying that the people who can't do it are wusses. If you've never witnessed the hilarity please head over to You Tube and watch some videos of it. Watching the puff of spice come out of peoples mouths like smoke from an angry dragon never gets old.

I found this drink in a grocery store up in Canada on a little trip today. They had a handful of flavors, but since it was a little on the expensive side ($3.50) I had to chose only one. All of the flavors looked great, but once I saw blackberry and ginger combined I knew my answer.

It tastes like a lightly gingered apple juice. It has some slight berry flavor to it, but the apple it what really hits your taste buds. The ginger is there in flavor, but there isn't a burn with it. I brought up the cinnamon challenge earlier because even though it isn't listed as an ingredient there is the definite dryness of cinnamon in the aftertaste. Just like in the challenge, but to a smaller extent, it feels like the drink dries out your mouth. No one is going to be screaming for water because of it, but it's there and it makes the drink more interesting.

This is a natural energy drink. They make sure to point on that there is no refined sugars or taurine contained to give you "fake energy," as I will call it. In a separate ingredients list they let you know all of the "Botanical Extracts" that are contained to give you energy. Included are yerba mate and guarana.

I don't know what I expected this to taste like, but it was not how it actually tastes. I'm okay with that though, because it's pretty great. It's sweet, with just the right herbs and spices. I wish more companies would take note.

Website
http://www.fireflytonics.com/
Country
England
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Energy Drink, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cell-nique Super Green Drink Berry Grape

Cell-nique Super Green Drink Berry Grape

In retrospect, which doesn't count ever since it's too late, I wish we had done the dark chocolate review later in the game. I feel that we would have "gotten" the drink a little bit more. They have gotten increasingly better with every drink. Don't get me wrong. It's still a strange drink. It’s wonderful for you, but strange as could be. Sludgy. Dirty. Sandy.

Mike, not me, but one of the other Mike's in our office needed a "pick me up" drink. We went over to the fridge and I ran through the list. Pop? No. Lemonade? No. Tea? No. This? Oh yeah. I made him shake it because it's gratifying to watch the junk on the bottom mix into the dirt water looking drink.

Here's the thing, though...it's good. It is actually berry flavored. I don't know about grape, but it's a pretty honest berry flavor. There's the grit in your teeth that you learn to love with Cell-Nique stuff, too, especially at the bottom of the bottle. It's a good fruity flavor and although some people here who tried it thought it wasn't good, I think that it is and this is my site and I'm giving it a 4.

Website
http://www.cell-nique.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 4/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Cell-Nique Super Green Berry Grape, Berry Grape 12 oz

Pure Black Blackberry

Pure Black Blackberry

A couple of years ago I was on tour in the UK. We went to Ireland for a few days and with the exception of the Dublin show those four days were a disaster. There were poor turnouts and the cops shut one of the shows down. Tensions were running high in the tour party. The thing that made things better was that it was blackberry season. I don't know if you're aware of this, but blackberries run rampant in Ireland. They are everywhere. Seeing as they are my favorite berries I was in heaven. I must have consumed over ten pounds of blackberries in those couple of days and every single one was perfectly ripe. Since then I'm constantly let down when I buy some from the store. They are still good, but only a couple out of each bunch is perfectly ripe. The rest are always a bit off and sour. I continue to buy them, but I always look for perfection in the fruit.

This drink is that perfection mixed with a bit of grape juice. It actually tastes like ripe blackberries, which is a shock. Some other fruit overpowers most things that are supposed to be blackberry flavored. This is just another reason to love Canada.

Website
http://www.leadingbrandsinc.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Goose Island Spicy Ginger

Goose Island Spicy Ginger

For years there has been a secret tryst going on between Mr. Ginger Beer and Ms. Ginger Ale. It was a fiery romance to say the least. Even though they came from similar backgrounds the differences were just too much and it drove them apart. The last time the two tried to work it out they took a trip to Goose Island. They got a nice little bungalow on the beach and had one last spicy weekend romp. Unbeknown to them at the time a miracle occurred. A child was conceived, a child that, once born, brought the world together. It was neither a beer nor ale. It was simply a soda. It got its flavor from its mother's side and a little bit of fiery temper from his father. He was loved the world over and soon rose to the role of leader of the free world. If you turn on your television now you will see him giving a speech that will end all discrimination, unlike my cat who is a racist.

Website
http://www.gooseisland.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/17/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Calypso Teamonade Peach Tea & Natural Lemonade

Calypso Teamonade Peach Tea & Natural Lemonade

I've gotten into a bad habit of bringing drinks out with me places and then not wanting to write the reviews. As a result I have maybe eight bottles in my fridge with two sips left. Now I keep hearing the voice of Mike "Lumbergh" Literman in my head repeating over and over "We sorta need to play catch up." When the bossman speaks the drones will listen.

Here at Thirsty Dudes we are big fans of the Calypso line. If you have any interest in lemonade you should be too. They make some of the best flavored lemonades on the market. They were recently kind enough to send us a bunch of samples. We were psyched just to receive them. When I sent Mike a picture message of what they sent his response was "Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!" To make things better they sent us a sampling of their Teamonade line. I didn't even know these existed. They are basically a version of an Arnold Palmer with additional fruit flavoring. On an average day half and halfs are always incredible, when you throw some peach into this mix it's pretty out of this world. Calypso didn't cheap out on the peach flavoring either. For that they will get one thousand hi-fives.

Now I just need to remember to fill out my TPS reports.

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/18/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

CalNaturale Svelte Spiced Chai

CalNaturale Svelte Spiced Chai

Even though coffee was never my think I drank obscene amounts of it in high school. My friends and I would hang out at Perkins and just down coffee for hours. It was what we did, so I joined in. I added so much sugar and cream to mine that I don't know if it could technically still be called coffee, but it is what it is. As we got older, meaning we got cars, we would go into the city and hang out at Topic Coffee in Allentown. The first couple of times I got coffee, but then a random person we met exposed me to chai. I love tea now and drink it all the time, but when I was younger all I knew about it was that my grandmother drank it. When someone had me try their chai tea bells and whistles went off in my brain. This was delicious. It wasn't bitter like what my grandmother drank, and the spices made it seem so exotic (keep in mind I was 16 at the time). Since then chai has been a favorite of mine, and the times I find myself in a coffee shop it's generally what I order (Unless Nina is working and she makes me this magical peanut butter mocha thing with tons of whipped cream).

I had expected this to be a soymilk with a light chai flavoring, but the chai was way stronger than I anticipated. I love it. It is a completely vegan drink chock full of vitamins and minerals that actually tastes incredible. At first the chai hits you nice and strong. As that fades out a dry soy aftertaste creeps in. It's subtle and nice. I've finished the carton and now I already want more. If only this were available in Western New York.

Website
http://sveltebrand.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Dried Cane Syrup
Categories
Soy, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/18/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
CalNaturale svelte Sustained Energy Protein Drink, Spiced Chai, 15.9- Ounce Aseptic Boxes (Pack of 12)

Hansen's Natural Energy Pro Citrus

Hansen's Natural Energy Pro Citrus

Hansen's makes a damn good soda. There are no questions there. In the past, I haven't had the best luck with "natural" energy drinks. They always taste bad, but not in the normal energy drink way. Bad in the "now I know why companies load their drinks with sugar to mask these flavors" way.

I'm happy to say that Hansen's knows how to make an energy drink! This is really delicious. It almost taste like a less syrupy grapefruit soda with a splash of Mountain Dew. There's no battery acid taste, which is great. As far as the energy portion of the drink goes, I've been dancing in my chair to Kanye West while writing this whole interview so I think it's working. Good work Hansen's!

Website
http://www.hansens.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 4/18/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hansen's Energy Pro, Citrus, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 12)
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |