Frozen Run Black Bear Mountain Birch

Frozen Run Black Bear Mountain Birch

When you read the following please pretend that the guy who announces movie previews is reading it to you. That is the way the artist meant for it to be absorbed.

In a world of plastic bottle sodas, one pop had the courage to climb the top of the mountain. She wasn't a normal birch beer. A pigment disorder rendered her clear, but she wasn't about to let that stop her from reaching the top of FROZEN RUN!

FROZEN RUN is the tale of a young girl who fought the prejudice against her to stand out amongst the plastic bottle sodas. She fought long and hard to shrug off her roots of cheap discount store sodas to climb a mountain in the Pennsylvanian countryside to proclaim to the world that she had a voice and it would be heard.

FROZEN RUN is a tale about love, life, loss and the crispest birch beer you will ever taste. It has the crispness of mint with out the actual mint flavor.

FROZEN RUN. Coming soon to a gas station and mini mart near you. That is if you live in central PA.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/22/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Welch's 100% Juice White Grape Peach

Welch's 100% Juice White Grape Peach

Derek and I drove to DC and back in two days in order to be judges for the Clear Choice Awards, which is the glass bottling competition. According to Google Maps the trip should take 7.5 hours each way. Due to the fact that we are men of leisure we took our dandy time getting down there and stopped at a bunch of places to pick up some yet to be reviewed drinks. We ended up spending 14 hours getting down to our nation's capital. We got to our hotel at around 1:30am and I finally got to sleep at 3. After that long of travel you want to get a good nights sleep. Especially when you're sleeping in a comfortable hotel bed like I was. Unfortunately we were on a schedule and at 8am my alarm went off and I was up getting ready. Completely groggy I scarfed down a bagel and pounded this juice.

Would I have made it through the day without this juice? Probably. Would I have been as happy? No way. It's delicious. It's grape, pear, apple and peach juice all mixed together. The grape and peach juice is all you really taste though, and their flavors are strong and smooth.

As I said before if a juice is made properly it doesn't need added sugar. Fruit is sweet enough as it is. Welch's is wise. They understand these things and they make a good mass produced juice.

Website
http://www.welchs.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/22/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Welch's 100% White Grape Peach Juice, 14-Ounce Single Serve Bottles (Pack of 12)

Hydrive Energy Strength Formula Blue Raspberry

Hydrive Energy Strength Formula Blue Raspberry

Hydrive is slowly becoming my favorite non-carbonated energy drink. For being in a market full of carbonated drinks, they really needed to step up the game to stand out. First, the tall slender bottles are not used often. Plus, they are really good to hold while drinking. Secondly, it's only 30 calories a bottle and this is almost 16 oz! Even though this is a low calorie drink, it doesn't have a diet taste to it at all, which is great.

Speaking of taste, for an energy drink, this is awesome! It has no chemical taste to it at all. It's basically like Vitamin Water with a blend of energy giving ingredients. I'm only half the way through the bottle and I can already tell it works. I was yawning before I opened it up but now I'm wide awake and ready to be productive. Since it's not full of sugar and calories, I actually feel good after drinking this.

Website
http://www.hydriveenergy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hydrive S, 15.5 ounces Bottle (Pack of 12)

Glaceau Vitamin Water Stur-D

Glaceau Vitamin Water Stur-D

I just realized that I have not had a Vitamin Water since we started this site. That seems insane because there was a long stretch of my life where I got them for free so I drank at least one a day. Since this incarnation of Thirsty Dudes ten months ago I just figured there were other, weirder, drinks that needed my attention. When I was in a gas station and I wanted something that wasn't carbonated I went with a new flavor of an old standby.

As soon as I opened it I remembered how much I actually enjoy Vitamin Water. Glaceau took the traditional sports drink and upped the ante. They add extra vitamins and minerals to make their drinks more functional, but at the same time they take extra care to make sure that all of their products have a strong pleasant flavor. The only thing that could really make these better would be if they actually used the juice from the fruits listed in the flavors. I guess this would fall under a different category if they did though, and it might lose its functionality.

This particular bottle is supposed to be blue agave, passion fruit and citrus flavored. The individual flavors don't stand out at all, but it does taste like a hodgepodge of the flavors combined into something new. Maybe it's just passion fruit and citrus. I've never had straight up agave before, but I've had it as a sweetener and I don't really remember it having a distinct taste. Overall it taste rather great. I would definitely pick this over a Gatorade any day. I don't think I will be waiting nearly as long before I pick up another bottle of this.

Website
http://www.glaceau.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Glaceau Vitamin Water, Stur-D, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Real Soda Olde Rhode Island Molasses Root Beer

Real Soda Olde Rhode Island Molasses Root Beer

Jay and I recently stopped at a great store in Sewickley, PA called Village Candy. We ended up spending over $80 on pop and talking with the owner for over an hour. It was great and I already can't wait to go back. I had exhausted all the root beer I could find to review in Buffalo so I was happy to see they had a really good selection.

This bottle was among the 12 different bottles of pop I bought. It's a really hearty root beer. It's not super heavy, but it definitely isn't smooth. It has a lot of flavor to it and has a really good bite to it. I can't really taste the molasses but that doesn't mean it's not great. If this is what root beer tastes like in "Olde Rhode Island", I want to go back to that time!

Website
http://www.realsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Marburger Farm Dairy Lime Tea Cooler

Marburger Farm Dairy Lime Tea Cooler

Fikes used to be THE ghetto iced tea of choice among my friends for a long time. They were 69 cents for a little jug of it and was only available at a gas station on the corner of Main and Winspear in Buffalo. They changed their label at one point and for the longest time I hung onto an empty jug of it. I wish I still had it.

Anyways, as Jason mentioned in the Mountainberry review, Fikes is now Marburger Farm Dairy. Sure it doesn't have the same classic label, but it's still delicious. I bought this at the same gas station as Jason and I could have sworn I saw Franklin Mercer coming out of the store as I was entering. It sent chills down my spine. Anyways, this flavor is great. It tastes like iced tea mixed with a melted freezie pop. Even for a tea made with high fructose corn syrup, this is great! I just wish I had stocked up on more while I was in Zelienople.

Website
http://www.marburgerdairy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Pure Cool It's Berry Cool! Pomegranate

Pure Cool It's Berry Cool! Pomegranate

Flavored water? No thanks. It usually tastes gross to me unless it's really sugary like vitamin water. You're telling me this has no calories, no sugar, no sweeteners, just water and natural flavors? That sounds like it's going to be really bland and boring. But this "Pure Cool" name is kind of intriguing. Okay, I'll give it a try.

Hmmm, it has a slight berry taste but it's more of an afterthought. Wait, what is this? It suddenly feels like a blizzard in my mouth. It's not like a peppermint cool, it's a smooth cool, and feels like you're breathing in really cold air. It's weird, but a really awesome sensation. I stopped caring that this doesn't taste like berry or pomegranate at all, this after taste is amazing! I hope I can find more flavors to try them all.

Website
http://www.drinkpurecool.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
PURE COOL Berry Cool, 16 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Real Soda Dr. Cane

Real Soda Dr. Cane

There is nothing that infuriates Sharon Clarion more than when people make the wrong assumptions about the flavor of her favorite sodas. As you can see by the picture on the bottle her husband, Franklin Mercer, did just that and she promptly shoved him down a staircase.

Now Franklin is no world-renowned rocket scientist, but I can understand where he's coming from. I also thought this was going to be a cola. From the tiny pictures in the background of peppers and candy canes I thought it was going to be a spicy cola with some mint in it. I admit now that it would have been the craziest pop ever and probably disgusting. It's my sworn duty to be honest though and that is what I expected it to be.

Luckily for Franklin he got a straw in the bottle before the aforementioned shove, and somehow the bottle landed next to his crumpled body on the floor, and the straw was in reach of his mouth. As soon as he smelled the soda he instantly knew his folly and he couldn't blame Sharon for shoving him. What is a person without passions? Franklin would tell you that it is a person that he wants nothing to do with.

He sucked down a mouthful from the straw and assured himself that his super sniffer was correct this is a Dr. Pepper knock off. Of course it is, thought Franklin. Dr. Cane....duh. Also the peppers in the background now made a whole lot of sense. The thing is that it's way better than Dr. Pepper. It's not just the cane sugar, because we've had Dublin Dr. Pepper and this is superior to that. This is the same basic idea of Dr. Pepper, but it tastes more natural and fruity. Franklin and I agree that we're not big fans of the original, but that this is a pop we can get behind.

Don't worry. Franklin has been healing nicely. He's still trying to get Sharon to switch to his last name, but she's a fiery woman with conviction, and to be honest that is what he likes about her.

Website
http://www.realsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Inko's White Tea White Peach

Inko's White Tea White Peach

The best word I can think of to describe this tea would be "clean." It's very crisp and flavorful, but there's really no aftertaste. You take a sip. The flavor hits you all at once. You swallow. Clean palate. It's a nice change of pace as many sweetened teas leave a taste in your mouth for a while afterwards.

The peach flavor doesn't taste overly ripe, but it fits the taste of the white tea better because of it. If it were riper it would become too overpowering. I am a big fan.

Website
http://healthywhitetea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fructose Crystals
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Inkos White Tea White Tea, White Peach, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)

College Club Strawberry

College Club Strawberry

Jay and myself got a tour of College Club and I've been sitting on my stock of drinks for months now. I've got a lot of flavors that I really want to try but there are so many other drinks that I have to review I have to put them by the wayside.

Today was yet another scorcher. Maybe "scorcher" is exaggerating a bit but I would say that between the heat and the immense humidity it was borderline unbearable.

This pop sure beat the heat. It was just what I wanted and I was lucky enough to discover that it wasn't too sweet. I am typically scared of that with flavors like strawberry, grape, and other fruit flavors.

This is a large bottle and I put a wine stopper on it. I had to lean it on an angle because it couldn't stand upright. My girlfriend opened the fridge and it exploded...everywhere. It covered the entire bottom half of the fridge and a nice puddle on the floor with a nice coating of strawberry pop.

Needless to say, half of that bottle and went down the drain angrily.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar And/Or High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 7/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |