Rocket Fizz Black Licorice

Rocket Fizz Black Licorice

How many times have you spent your lunch hour alone in an near abandoned city mall, eating a bag of black licorice jelly beans, slowly burning up your taste buds? If you say more than nonce, then I have the perfect product for you. Rocket Fizz black licorice pop. Now, you no longer have to look like that strange kid in school that eats black jellybeans. You never understood them and they never understood you anyhow. If you like the taste of black licorice, then you know the way to succeed, otherwise, you know the way to suck eggs. Now, whenever your desire for more than ten but less than twenty ounces of pure, unfiltered, ungelatinous, pleasure arises, you know where to go.

For those of you that think that only crazy people enjoy the taste of black licorice, Dillinger Escape Plan wrote a song called Black Bubblegum and no research and full assumption points to the truth that a product such as that would taste like black licorice. Skinny Puppy's Too Dark Park was written not only about crazy Canadian animal rights, but titled after the place with Ogre and cEvin Key used to go to avoid adolescent persecution and eat jellybeans which were “too dark” for the rest of the kids.

How does it taste? Well friends, I'll tell you. The smell is as familiar as the darkest Halloween night and the taste is much like that, but lighter. More of an early morning, November 1st taste. Now that you know it exists, I would expect it to fly off the shelves. It's the perfect drink from at any time from last fall to early spring. The perfect time to quench your darkest, most depressed thirst.

************************************************************************
We originally reviewed this for a Halloween drink article we did for Auxiliary Magazine. To read the full article and to check out the awesome magazine go to
auxiliarymagazine.com.

Website
http://www.rocketfizz.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/25/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mash Ripe Mango - Blood Orange

Mash Ripe Mango - Blood Orange

M.A.S.H. was there ever a television show that was more boring, with a more depressing television show. When I was young it would bum me out so much when I'd be watching cartoons or Three's Company (one of the best shows ever) and they would end and that stupid song would start. Bummer City, Vietnam should have been the name of the show. Now that I'm older maybe I would enjoy the show a bit, but I think my past prejudices would hold up.

Maybe the actors would liven up more if the US Army would have packed their provisions with MASH drink. I didn't know what to expect with this when I bought it. I certainly did not expect it to be carbonated. It says on the bottle "A water drink," but just by seeing it I was calling their bluff. My best guess would have been an extremely intense Vitamin Water type drink. It turns out it was a lot like an Italian soda. It was sharply carbonated and tasted exactly like a mix of mango and blood orange. It was one of the best surprises I've had in awhile in the beverage world. I drank it while I was walking around Columbus, OH and I stumbled across a creepy tunnel that I circumnavigated. (Can you do that if it's not a globe?) I took sips periodically, and by the time I finished it the carbonation was gone and it was flat. Even flat it was still good. At that point it tasted like I originally expected it to; Vitamin Water.

The moral of this story is that instead of watching stupid reruns of M.A.S.H. you should go outside and explore creepy tunnels where you will find nice cats and then stumble upon a hobo encampment.

Website
http://www.drinkmash.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/25/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
MASH 20 oz. Ripe Mango + Blood Orange 12pack

Wawa Iced Tea Orange

Wawa Iced Tea Orange

Yesterday I embarked on a 6-week tour with the band Lemuria. We left DC this morning and just made it to The Fest in Gainesville, Florida. This is the longest tour I've ever been on but I'm excited to see a lot of the US and Canada that I've never seen before. I'm also obviously excited to find and try new drinks along the way.

Our first rest stop after leaving DC was a Wawa near Richmond, VA. If you've never been to Wawa, it's a chain of gas stations that have tons of great flavors of iced tea. They have soft pretzels too which are delicious. But back to the iced tea, it's really good. It's made with real sugar and is just really refreshing. Sometimes iced tea can taste way too much like the flavor it has in it with barely any tea. Wawa knows how to balance it out and it's more like an iced tea with an orange aftertaste.

I'm kind of glad there isn't a Wawa in Buffalo. If there was, I'd drink their iced tea so much I'd probably eventually get sick of it. It's a great treat when you're on a trip.

Website
http://www.wawa.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 10/28/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wawa Iced Tea Lemonade

Wawa Iced Tea Lemonade

When I saw this Wawa half and half/Arnold Palmer, I couldn't say no. Two things I love in one little bottle. Plus I knew Wawa would do it right, and they sure did. I always complain about lemonade's not being tart enough, but this needs none of that. This was so lip puckering, it make the back of my throat hurt (in a good way). This is exactly what I look for in a lemonade iced tea hybrid, the deliciousness of iced tea with the sour taste of lemonade.

Website
http://www.wawa.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 10/29/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

AquaStix FruityDophilus Black Cherry

AquaStix FruityDophilus Black Cherry

Number one: I have read the title of this product well over a dozen times and I still, in my head, read something about dolphins.

Number two and so on: I saw this at a discount store and due to the price ($1.50) a few emotions came across my mind. This being a company I had never heard of, I assumed that it would be a company I would never hear from again because that's what graces the shelves of stores like that. Bad ideas, poor judgment, and excessive inventory. Thing is, black cherry isn't something I hate, nor are probiotic drinks and Reb-A stuff. Cash in hand, and a ton of baby food later, I purchase my items and headed home.

Side topic: Remember ten years ago? 2001. Great year minus that one thing that happened in early Fall. Think about this, though. No one back then knew or cared about things like probiotics, prebiotics, free radicals, and antioxidants except maybe scientists. Everything was made from either cane sugar or corn syrup and there was no scare or wondering what was going to happen if you OD'd on one or the other except for inevitable tooth decay. We didn't know about ADD or ADHD and things like autism were in their infancy of knowledge. Only hippies and gardeners are organic and we all had a lot more money in the stock market than we do now. What a frightening world we live in now though, in retrospect. We didn't have to worry about anything it seemed. We didn't care where our food was coming from or worry about how it wasn't wise to buy a $450,000 house on a secretary's budget. Everything was A-OK. Look at all the stuff we have to worry about now. Drinking probiotic drinks filled to the gills with new, antioxidant-rich fruits to help avoid getting sick. Taking all our money out of the stock market and investing in cold, gold ingots. Frightening. I don't think I've changed much except I've become deader inside and more cynical than ever before.

Back to drink mix. It's really good. It's a powder that you stir in a tall glass of water. It stirs up nicely, tastes nice, and got me to easily put down two, sixteen ounce glasses of water today. It's good for you, contains no calories, and you can carry it with you. Thumbs up. I really do hope that you come through with your website's promise of new flavors. I'll try them when I see them.

Website
http://www.aquastix-health.com/aquastix/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Rebiana
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/30/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aquastix FruityDophilus Probiotic Drink Mix Sticks | 8 ct.

5-Hour Energy Grape

5-Hour Energy Grape

The Fest in Gainesville, FL is one of the best times of year. I would take that weekend over Xmas any time. Even on years such as this where there wasn't very many bands I was interested, I still had an incredible time. It's the "punk rock family reunion." People from all over the country (and world) that I have met from playing in bands are all congregated in a tiny college town. It's really a special thing to be surrounded by so many great people. Fest ended last night, and I was sad to have to leave everyone behind to head out to the next town. I know I'll see everyone again next year, if not sooner, but it's always a bummer.

We had an 11-hour drive to Richmond, VA (we wanted to avoid the south which is over-saturated with touring bands). I was first to bat for driving. I downed this energy shot to help get me where I needed to be. It certainly did its job. We made it well into South Carolina before I felt the need to give up the driver seat.

As far as I know 5-Hour Energy was the first company to get into the energy shot game. I somehow had never tried one until now. It was much better than I expected. It wasn't as harsh and as chemical tasting as other ones I tried. It did have a very distinct grape flavor. That's a rarity in this world. Usually the shots just have a general sweetness to them. I'm still not a big fan of energy shots, but if I have to get one in the future i would pick this over any other ones I've had thus far.

Website
http://www.5hourenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/31/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
5 Hour Energy Grape, 2-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

La Vanquita Licuados Dulce de Leche

La Vanquita Licuados Dulce de Leche

I've got a headache. I wish I could pour this drink on my brain. I've watched enough doctor shows on television to know that when you do things to the brain, it makes you do funny things. Poke here and you pick your nose. Poke there and you'll recite the alphabet in Spanish. If I poured a caramel milk on my brain, I think that it would be bad, number one, but before I went into an inevitable, caramel induced coma, I would hope to do some all encompassing spastic dance and spit out some unintelligible gibberish. I guess that I would be making a big mistake and it would not be funny or worthwhile.

If I were to miss my giant open head cavity and make some in my mouth, or have some drip out of the crevices of my brain and into my mouth, I would say that it was delicious and calming and perfect for a headache. It's just a very smooth, very caramel drink. You know those little, plastic wrapped caramels that both your grandma and myself love? They taste like that if you ate one and chased it with milk, or, better yet, drank milk, held it in your mouth, and chewed one of those caramels.

It should be known that I didn't remember that it was Halloween when I was talking about brains and stuff. That came to me naturally.

Website
http://www.castrocheese.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Milk
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/31/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Barq's French Vanilla Cream Soda

Barq's French Vanilla Cream Soda

Seeing as Barq's root beer is famous for untraditionally having caffeine in it, I was half expecting this also to have it. Sadly my hopes of finding a cream soda with caffeine in it will have to wait another day. This definitely lives up to having a French vanilla flavor. I gave Sheena a sip and she said it was "really sweet, and kinda salty." It's weird but she's right. It does sort of have a salty aftertaste, but it is really awesome. I found this in a gas station in the middle of Louisiana but have never seen it around Buffalo before. Hopefully i will come across it again because it is great.

Website
http://barqs.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 11/1/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Barq's Red Cream Soda, 12 oz. (Pack of 12)

Bing

Bing

Hey man, I know your a Yankee boy, so since you're down here visiting Florida how 'bout I take you to go see some gators? There right this way, we'll go through this gate used to keep in the wild bison. Yeah that's right we have herds of bison here in the prairies of Florida. Weird I know, but yet here they are. See that on the rock down there that is a huge guy. Wouldn't want to tangle with a gator like that. Sure I'll wrestle the little ones, but I won't go near them big guys I did that once and now I got this here wooden leg. Not a fun time I'll tell you that. Gee, you aren't looking so good. Why is your face and neck all red? Oh you're not used to being in the sun? You usually slather yourself up with sunscreen? Well my friend even though it is the end of October, you are in Florida and you're sure a dum dum head for not preparing yourself for this. You're going to be in some pain in the morning. You look just like a cherry! Speaking of which I have this bing cherry drink if you want it. What's pop? Oh you mean soda! Yeah I guess it's kind of like that. It's got bubbles in it. It's got some actual cherry juice in it as well. It's fairly sweet, but it doesn't taste all syrupy and gross like the big bottles of soda they sell at the corner store. This is high quality. It's got some other stuff in there as well to give you a little energy boost. Some stuff called ginkgo biloba and ginseng. I think those are Asian things, but don't worry this doesn't taste like any Chinese food I've ever had. Oh man you sure look like a cherry! We should probably get you into the shade and away from these gators before one of them thinks you're a tasty treat. I can't afford to loose another leg. No seriously, I don't have health insurance and I'm up to my neck in bills. What an economy.

Website
http://www.getbinged.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 11/1/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dr. Brown's Cream Soda

Dr. Brown's Cream Soda

Soon we will be at the date, which Marty Mcfly traveled to in Back to the Future 2. Unless technology changes at a very rapid pace I don't see that version of the future coming true. Do you know who is to blame for this? Doctor Emmit Brown. He broke his own rule. He brought something back from the future. He discovered a cream soda in 2015 that really excited his taste buds and he just couldn't help himself from bringing some back and marketing it as his own. That's right, Dr Browns is actually a cream soda that "Doc Brown" brought back with him on one of his earliest trips. As a result he really messed with the time space continuum. Our society did not progress as quickly as it would have, but what would you rather have flying cars or tasty soda? Okay, I would take a hover board over and soda any day, but I hear they have a complex out in the desert where they actually made them. It's at that Laser Tag Institute of Technology. I need to make my way out to that desert.

Truth be told, we really have no choice in the way our future turned out. Doc Brown rolled the dice and we get what we get. So let's just sit back and enjoy the soda. It's a fairly light cream soda, with a nice sharp vanilla flavor. It's better tan most canned cream sodas, and that is saying a good deal. Cream soda is one of the few sodas that I actually completely enjoy in can form. Curse Doc Brown if you must for your lack of technology, but at least he supplied us with this tasty treat.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 11/2/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Dr. Brown's Cream Soda (Case of 24) - 12 Oz Cans
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |