Grace Tropical Rhythms Pineapple Ginger

Grace Tropical Rhythms Pineapple Ginger

This is a drink that would have a cameo role in my dreams. I can just imagine it now. I'm trekking across the prairies on a mission to get who knows where, but it's somewhere important. I suddenly come to a gate. Why is there a gate in the middle of the prairie with no fence? I surely don't know, but if you think I'm going to try and bypass it you my friend are the crazy one. I approach the gate and suddenly dozens of screaming undead souls come out of the ground in front of it. I am informed that if I do not dance with them they will tear into my flesh and eat every last morsel, even my pancreas. Who likes to eat pancreas? The undead I suppose. Before I know it someone has cranked "Jungle Boogie" and we're all getting down. There's even a dance line and everyone is trying to outdo each other. I make mention that I'm getting thirsty and one of the zombies pulls this bottle from his chest cavity. I blow off the dust, twist off the cap and take a big gulp. The pineapple is refreshing without being overly acidic. Then the ginger kicks in. At first it's just the flavor, but after I swallow the burn sets in. It's a good burn. The kind of burn that will give you the little push you need to out-dance the undead. Just as I'm about to pull out some big moves I wake up. My first thought would be "Where can I score me some of that juice in the waking world?"

Website
http://www.gracefoods.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/6/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Grace Tropical Rhythms Pineapple Ginger

Give Energy Mojito Grapefruit

Give Energy Mojito Grapefruit

Mohawk Place is the only bar in Buffalo that I think is worth going to. It used to be a biker bar, but over the years it has transformed into a "punk" bar. All of the employees rule, and I've become good friends with most of them. I DJ there bi-monthly, and when my bands play Buffalo that's where we do it. It's a dive bar with the perfect size stage and the room is big enough to hole 200-300 people, but doesn't seem empty when only 50 people are there. It is a beer and mixed drink bar with nothing too fancy. The other day someone asked the one bar tender to make him a mojito. For some reason that is hysterical to me. Don't get me wrong I think they are tasty (minus the alcohol of course), but the idea of someone drinking one at Mohawk is completely ridiculous. It's way to fancy pants for that place. I didn't witness it, but I can imagine Erik the bartender semi freaking out of the guy, and that makes it even funnier to me. I had that on my mind today and when I had to make a decision between Give flavors, it was a no-brainer to go with the mojito grapefruit.

This is an all-natural energy drink. It’s a good thing to be in this day and age. It's made with yerba mate, gotu kola leaf, guarana, gingko biloba and rhodiola rosea root extract. Nothing chemical. Nothing gross.

The can did not instruct me to, so I did not shake it before opening it. As a result three distinctive sections of flavor were in the can. The first third of the can was mostly grapefruit with just the tiniest hint of lime and mint. The grapefruit flavor was great, just the way I like it. The second third was more mojito flavor with a hint of grapefruit and a slight note of yerba mate. For the end of the can it was mostly all yerba mate with a lime/mint aftertaste.

I would have preferred more grapefruit flavor the whole way through the can, but it was still pretty great. Better than most energy drinks. I will definitely be giving their other flavors a shot.

If you ever find yourself in Buffalo at Mohawk place, order a mojito and see if you can get the bartender to snap.

Website
http://www.drinkgive.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/6/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Give Energy Drink, Mojito Grapefruit, 16-Ounce Cans (Pack of 12)

Jackson Hole Strawberry Rhubarb

Jackson Hole Strawberry Rhubarb

I wonder if they wanted to put the strawberry seeds in here? Is there any pop with stuff in it? Aloe has chunks. Some lemonade has chunks. All of those Kato drinks have chunks in it. Juice seems to take the cake when it comes to accompaniment. I bet, if done well, this drink would be awesome if it had actual strawberry seeds in it.

Where is this all coming from? This might be the most honest fruit flavored pop I've ever had. Not to mention it's mixed with everyone's favorite sweet fruit, rhubarb. Yeah, rhubarb is technically a fruit. I thought it was a root, but I guess roots would grow underground. "Plant" would be a good second categorization, but it would also be wrong. Either way, the taste of strawberries and rhubarb...rhubarbs(?)...rhubarb is pretty fantastic.

I feel like this is a real "country guy" pop. Like you get this at farmers markets and ho-downs. I would like Jackson Hole to please respond if you read this and let me know if either of these assumptions is true. I hope they are.

Website
http://jacksonholesoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 6/6/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Nantucket Nectars Pomegranate Pear

Nantucket Nectars Pomegranate Pear

I'm tagging along with my friends, Night Birds, playing the role of "merch dude." Our first stop was Cleveland, OH. We went to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, which was surprisingly rad. I got to see Ian Curtis' lyric sheets, a bill The Replacements got for damaging a hotel room, the original Riot Grrrl zine, some rad Nirvana stuff and a bunch more. I nerded out a bit. I also worked up one heck of a thirst. Only juice could save the day.

Cleveland is hardly a coastal town, but how can you say no to Nantucket Nectars with its all-natural juice goodness? It's pretty readily available everywhere, so I don't know why I don't drink it more. This is a perfect blend of pomegranate and pear. Both are obviously present, but the strength of their flavors keep each other in check and subdued. It's incredibly refreshing. Just the way I needed it to be.

Website
http://www.nantucketnectars.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/8/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Turkey Hill Light Raspberry Lemonade

Turkey Hill Light Raspberry Lemonade

I fell victim to marketing yet again. I went to the store today and noticed a big selection of Turkey Hill teas and lemonades in the cooler. Turkey Hill makes some of my favorite drinks and has never disappointed me. I was going to just get a traditional raspberry iced tea, until I saw this jug of raspberry lemonade with the ominous “limited edition” beacon. As much as I wanted that raspberry iced tea, not wanting to potentially miss out on this flavor drove me to buy this instead.

I had reservations with this before opening since it is a light/diet drink and sweetened with fake sugar. Luckily, it’s pretty damn good! It doesn’t have a diet/chemical taste at all, which is good news. In fact, in a blind taste test I doubt I could identify this as a diet drink, which means they're doing something right. It has a really nice sour taste to it, which is key (in my eyes) for good lemonade. Hopefully others concur with my thoughts and Turkey Hill rethinks this as being only a limited edition drink.

Website
http://turkeyhill.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Aspartame
Categories
Diet, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 6/9/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Jackson Hole Outlaw Orange Cream

Jackson Hole Outlaw Orange Cream

Like everyone else in this ghost town, I like to go to the saloon everyday. The usual characters are always there: One-Eyed Jack and the blacksmith playing poker, the owners son 'lil Johnny playing with his dog in the corner, and Davey playing the piano while two women danced on the balcony. The only problem is I always get made fun of for my drink of choice. While I'm told Smitty's Saloon has the best whiskey this side of the Mississippi, I don't like the hard stuff. My father was a drinker and I didn't like what it did to him so I swore I'd never try it.

I prefer Outlaw Orange Cream. No, it's not because I'm a criminal. I only had that one run in with 'the law' once when I was playing a prank on my best friend and took his horse around back. The sheriff and I straightened that all out years ago. I like this soda pop because it has a classic orange cream flavor. I've heard some fancy hot shots in New York City are trying to make orange cream soda that will appeal to everyone, but what do they know? This is great the way it is. It has a great orange flavor, with a really nice smooth aftertaste. Sure I wouldn't mind if it was a tad bit smoother, but it's a damn fine orange cream if I do say so myself. In fact, when this one is gone, I just might order another one if Smitty ever comes back to this side of the bar.

Website
http://jacksonholesoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 6/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Crayons Sports Drink Breakaway Berry

Crayons Sports Drink Breakaway Berry

Marky, move the launch ramp slightly to the left. I want to make sure I don't land on my mom's flowers. What do you mean I'm going to land on them anyways? Haven't you ever seen me skate before? I'd be pro if I could just get an audience with the head of some company. Just to prove it to you I'm going to launch over my dad's new car. First let me down this can of Crayons. It will give me the extra energy I need. Hmm this stuff is actually pretty good. It has the consistency of watered down Gatorade, but twice the flavor. It's got that weird blue raspberry flavor that tastes like it should come from a real fruit, but raspberries don't taste like that at all. In fact I like this a lot. Guys, you won't believe this. It says right on the can not to launch over your dad's car OR your mom's roses. Looks like this little show is off. What's that Tommy? You're right, those aren't roses they are petunias. Here I go.....

Website
http://www.drinkcrayons.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Crayons Breakaway Berry Sports Drink, 8-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Hansen's Self Beauty Elixer Tropical Bliss

Hansen's Self Beauty Elixer Tropical Bliss

Hey Paul, are you really entering that beauty contest? I mean that's a joke right? You look like a gorilla somehow mated with an eel. Your parents are fairly good looking, how did you end up so weird looking? I'm sorry I didn't mean to hurt your feelings. I just wanted to make sure you didn't completely embarrass yourself out on that stage. Sure you have a great act for the skill section. I don't know anyone else who can balance all of their body weight on their nose while singing Cher songs like you can. What is that, your secret weapon? I don't think it's really going to work, but if you want to give it a try, it's all you.

Wow! You pounded that can and now you look like a young Steve Guttenberg. I don't know if it's enough to win, but it's a definite improvement and you won't get laughed off of stage. Do you have another? Hmm this tastes like a light tropical fruit punch. It's got sucralose in it, but it's one of the better tasting diet drinks I've ever had. What's that? I don't look any different? Well is that really a shocker? I mean did you really think I could look any better? I'm pretty much Oscar Wilde's dream come to life.

Website
http://www.hansens.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Self Beauty Elixir Tropical Bliss, 8-Ounce Cans (Pack of 12)

3D Multi Dimensional Beverage Mango

3D Multi Dimensional Beverage Mango

This can tells me to "think pineapple." Don't worry friends. I'm already there. I take a bite and it's so juicy it dribbles down my chin. The acidic levels in it make my tongue tingle a bit, but not to a level that it's uncomfortable. I mean it's my imagination so I cut the thing right off the tree/bush with a machete and use that same tool to slice it up. Man this is some good pineapple. I do have a question though. What does this pineapple have to do with my mango tea? There's no pineapple juice in it. It doesn't even have the faintest taste of pineapple. It tastes like a nice dry/bitter white tea with just the right amount of sweet mango juice mixed in. There's also some cane sugar and agave thrown into the mix. It's not overly sweet. It's just right.

Now if I could only get this pineapple off my mind...

Website
http://www.revolutiontea.com/3D/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Calypso Lemonade Black Cherry

Calypso Lemonade Black Cherry

With all the drinks in the world, it's hard to keep up sometimes. That's why it's nice when people suggest drinks for us to try. It’s even better when they buy them for us. My friend Jenna was appalled that we hadn't reviewed her favorite flavor of Calypso so she bought me this bottle of Black Cherry Lemonade. She was talking it up a lot, and I was afraid of it not living up to the hype and thus ending our friendship when I gave it a bad review. I was kinda afraid to open the bottle because of how much was riding on its contents.

Luckily, it is as good as she made it out to be. The black cherry has such a strong and juicy taste to it. And then the perfectly tart lemonade kicks in and completes the drink. It's a little heavier (or maybe rich is the word I'm looking for) than most lemonade due to the great black cherry flavor, but it works and I like it a lot.

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 6/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Calypso BLACK CHERRY LEMONADE "Like drinking lemonade from a Boylan's bottle", 20-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |