Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream

Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream

This bottle totally looks like something your grandpa would pull out of the fridge. As he opened it and started to drink it, you'd think to yourself "I wonder which war prevented him from drinking that soda, only for him to rediscover it 30-60 years later."

This cream soda has that old time look and taste to it. It has a really strong vanilla smell. So strong, I almost thought I was smelling a vanilla bean Yankee candle. It has a really strong vanilla cream taste to it too. It's so smooth, I almost don't mind the burn from the HFCS as it goes down. Though, if this was made with cane sugar it may have gotten a perfect 5.

Website
http://www.henryweinhards.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream Draught Style Head
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

San Pellegrino Aranciata

San Pellegrino Aranciata

What we have here is a proper drink. Here's how it goes.

Step 1: Birth
When an orange is born, it is just an orange. No one touches it. They don't rub other stuff on it, nothing. Not ignored, just not messed with. This is a fruit in its purest sense.

Step 2: Adolescence
When an orange starts to grow up, it turns into orange drink. Too sweet for normal consumption, good once a year, kids love it. Kids are kids, and kids love kids. Adults don't like kids, so adults don't deal with kids. This isn't a great time for orange.

Step 3: Rebellious Stage
This is an interesting time for an orange. At this stage in the game, he doesn't know if he will go to college, or become an artist, or just be a vagabond and wander the country getting dirt in his pores. He will fraternize with other fruits and end up in punches and mixes like orange mango juice, orange lemon pop, and banana orange smoothies. It is a wonderful time because at this stage, an orange can be whatever it wants to be.

Step 4: Adulthood
Oranges exclusively make up orange juice. Different brands. Different qualities. It all depends on how you were brought up, but at the end of the day, every orange's carton says the same thing; "Orange Juice"

Step 5: Seniority
Oranges in this stage are refined. They know who they are and stick to what they know best. What they know best is water and themselves. The things they know to survive. San Pellegrino Aranciata is seniority aged orange. It’s a tad bitter, but with a real orange taste with just enough sweetness to make it drinkable by most everyone. This wonderful drink tastes like a high quality sparkling orange juice. Aged to perfection, this stage is what all oranges strive for.

Website
http://www.sanpellegrino.com
Country
Italy
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
San Pellegrino Aranciata, 6 Pack - 11.15 Ounce Cans

True Brew Peach White Iced Tea

True Brew Peach White Iced Tea

I love that we keep coming across companies that know how to make quality iced tea. After years of complacency, drinking whatever swill they have at the gas station, I have been shown the light. I can't even drink most of the gas station garbage anymore. Most of it doesn't even taste like tea, just sugary sweetness.

True Brew knows the importance of making sure the iced tea actually tastes like tea. Which means they also know how to properly sweeten it. One sip of this and you just know they use cane sugar. It just tastes gritty, without having any real texture to it at all. The sweetness hits you first, and as it dissipates you are left with a nice bitterness from the white tea. It's just how I like my teas sweetened. The peach flavoring is fairly subtle. If someone handed you a glass and didn't tell you what flavor it was, you might not be able to guess. Knowing what it is, it's just a nice hint. This is the third tea of theirs we're reviewed, and all of them have been pretty stupendous. I'm better their entire line is just incredible.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vacation In A Bottle Pomegranate Berry

Vacation In A Bottle Pomegranate Berry

Two pushes of websites on one day equals stress. Pushing websites on a Friday? Stress. Knowing that the next phone call you get could be your girlfriend telling you to rush home because you're having a baby? Stress. I thought what better time than now to drink one of my relaxation drinks. I finished it about ten minutes ago but have been milking it for a good half hour. The taste isn't so bad. It's a bit diety because even though the primary sweetener is sugar, there is sucralose in there as well. Why? I don't know. I didn't make the drink. The flavor isn't bad. It's a crisp, carbonated pop with more of a berry taste than a pomegranate plus berry taste, but I'm not finicky about that.

But what's it doing to me? I wouldn't say sleepy as much as I would say...spacey. Not that sick, floaty feeling, but that feeling you get when you drive to the mall and then it hits you that you don't remember driving to the mall. You know you drove, but it was so second nature that in retrospect it feels downright dangerous.

Since I'm taking the train and the bus home, I can feel confident that I don't have to drive and I can relax while people look at me as I have plugs, a giant beard hidden in my hood that I wear up constantly and probably look intimidating but really I'm just a white kid that plans on listening to the Thompson Twins "Into The Gap" album. There’s nothing tougher than that.

Website
http://www.drinkvib.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Relaxation, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
10 Pack - ViB Vacation in a Bottle - Pomegranate Berry - 12oz.

TrueToniqs Brain Toniq

TrueToniqs Brain Toniq

A think drink? Being the curious beverage consumer I am, I had to try it. According to their website, "Brain Toniq is the world's first organic, kosher, botanical-based, non-caffeinated think drink specifically designed for those who need more mental focus and clarity."

I was expecting this to taste gross, but to my surprise it's really good. It has a really light taste, and just the right amount of carbonation and sweetness (thanks to the agave). I can't really place the flavor though, but it's tasty. If this actually does what it says it can, I would drink this over soda/energy drinks any day. I'll just have to wait and see.

Website
http://www.braintoniq.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brain Focus & Memory Drink ( 24x8.4 OZ)

Henry Weinhard's Root Beer

Henry Weinhard's Root Beer

Root beer like this reminds me why I love root beer. It's really smooth and rich, with hints of a lot of different flavors.

In the world of root beer, I've heard the term "head" a lot but have never experienced it much with bottles. This has "drought style head". Judging by my experience with this bottle, this must mean "lots of head". After putting this bottle down for a minute, the whole neck was filled with head. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing, just an observation.

Website
http://www.henryweinhards.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Henry Weinhard's Root Beer
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Glaceau Vitamin Water XXX

Glaceau Vitamin Water XXX

When I first came across this flavor many years ago, I got really excited since XXX is commonly associated with straight edge. Sadly, the quirky writing on the side of the bottle makes no mention of refraining from drugs and alcohol. Instead, they decided to make a bad joke about the adult film industry. Despite this, this will always be the straight edge flavor of Vitamin Water.

Name aside, I love the taste of this. Like most Vitamin Water, it's the perfect amount of sweetness and full of flavor. The blueberry and pomegranate are the prominent flavors here, and they mesh together really well.

Website
http://www.glaceau.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose and Cane Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Glaceau Vitamin Water, XXX Acai-Blueberry-Pomegranate, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Fuze Slenderize Tropical Punch

Fuze Slenderize Tropical Punch

Tropical punch might trump fruit punch. Fruit punch is a mystery blend of fruits that I'm convinced no one knows except for the manufacturer. Tropical punch has pineapples and banana and mango and passion fruit and more. This drink even splurged on a stockpile of dragon fruit, which I give them all the credit in the world for.

This drink has a little bit of a diet taste to it but you can actually taste most of not all of the fruits. It is kind of fun to drink and try and pick out each of the flavors as they come along.

This is a good diet beverage and I will recommend it to anyone who wants to give it a shot.

Website
http://www.drinkfuze.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Acesulfame Potassium
Categories
Diet, Juice, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Fuze Healthy Infusions Slenderize Tropical Punch, 18.5 oz (Pack of 24)

True Brew Fruit Punch

True Brew Fruit Punch

Tiny, tiny juice. Also, probably the best fruit punch I've ever had. It's just juice, no sweetener, so it's not thick and syrupy as most fruit punches are. It has your standard apple and grape juices, but the bonus of pineapple and passionfruit as well. If only all fruit juice was like this I think kids would want to drink more juice. It tastes so much better than the generic stuff they are used to.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Thomas Kemper Orange Cream

Thomas Kemper Orange Cream

This is an orange cream soda that doesn't taste like a creamsicle. That is something that piques my interest. I like me some creamsicle pop, but for the most part if you've had one, you've had them all. This was a pleasant surprise. I'd describe this as 60% orange pop, 30% cream soda and 10% honey. I love Thomas Kemper for their use of honey in their sodas. It's always noticeable without being overbearing. I think there's a Winnie the Pooh joke in their somewhere. It gives them such an advantage over their competitors. I can't wait for them to expand their empire in an easternly direction.

Website
http://www.tksoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Thomas Kemper Orange Cream Soda, 6pk
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |