Picabi Sparkling & Functional Coconut Water

Picabi Sparkling & Functional Coconut Water

Mr. Coconut, why are you smiling like that? Are you hiding something from me? Really? You're not going to talk? You're just going to stare at me with that creepy smile? Great...

Before we crack you open Mr. "Creepy Smile" Coconut, I'm going to read what's on the back of you. Apparently inside you is "Sparking & Functional Coconut Water". The functional part is a little intriguing. It says you are functional in three ways: Replenish, Repair, and Revitalize. I'll take your word on those, I'm more interested in how you taste.

I can't believe you still have that creepy smile on your face. You know I'm about to open you up and drink what's inside you right? Fine. Be that way. I've never tasted sparkling coconut water before; this is a first for me. I must say that I really like it. It's light and refreshing and has a green tea aftertaste. Despite your creepy smile Mr. Coconut, you are one hell of a drink!

Website
http://www.picabi.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Coconut, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Picabi Sparkling Coconut Water, 4 count, 8.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 6)

Rieme Sparkling Limonade Blood Orange

Rieme Sparkling Limonade Blood Orange

Before even opening this beverage I had an appreciation for it; mainly for it's use of a "Grolsch" top. I don't know if that's the official name, but that's what I've heard it referred to. I know that's the name of a beer company that uses the same design, so maybe it's just slang. Besides being visually appealing and fun to open they also wield a secret purpose. As someone who plays guitar (well bass, it's still a guitar) the annoyance of your strap coming unattached from your instrument while you play can be annoying and embarrassing. Sure you can go buy fancy strap locks, but who really wants to have to screw something into their instrument. The secret these bottles hold is that you can pop off the little rubber washer and put that over your strap after it's on your guitar and that strap won't be going anywhere. It’s cheaper. It’s easier. For that any company that uses this design gets a nod from me.

Flavor-wise this is also really great. A nice sparkling blood orange flavored lemonade. It's more blood orange than lemonade, which I enjoy. It also has the slight bitterness of an Italian soda, but it's from France. This could cause an international incident. They chose to sweeten this with beet sugar, which is interesting and it worked well for them. This is a fancy adult soda that I feel like I should be sipping on the patio of some cafe or another. Thumbs up all around.

Website
http://www.epicureanbeverages.com
Country
France
Sweetener
Beet Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/12/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Rieme, Blood Orange Sparkling Lemonade, 24.5 Ounce Bottle

Hydrive Energy Alertness Formula Kiwi Strawberry

Hydrive Energy Alertness Formula Kiwi Strawberry

Let's kick this thing in to high gear! I wish we had a commemorative drink to...commemorate this occasion. What do you have there? HyDrive? What's that, an energy drink? I don't like energy drinks. They taste like someone put fake sugar and a case of Smarties in a can and called it "energy". Fine, I'll try it. Because this is such a momentous occasion, I will try it. Because you are the best man in my wedding, I will try it.

It's not bad. Is that strawberry? Kiwi strawberry, huh? Cool. Got to say, I don't get any kiwi but the strawberry is pretty good. It's got the smallest bit of a diet sting to it, but it's so light that it's not hard to convince myself it's the strawberry.

I don't feel energized but it's only been three minutes. It's pretty good and at only thirty calories per bottle, I'm sure to still fit in this cummerbund. Now where were we? Right. The momentous occasion that is buying a killer 1988 Ford Taurus sedan. Let's kick this thing in to high gear!

Website
http://www.hydriveenergy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 7/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

BodyArmor Super Drink Raspberry Blueberry Goji

BodyArmor Super Drink Raspberry Blueberry Goji

Dude Mikey you’re totally getting slaughtered in your D&D campaign. Every hit you take is nearly killing you. You really need to step up your defense. That elf just slapped you and it took away half of your remaining hit points. That is no way to live my friend. You should probably down this Body Armor drink. It says right on the bottle that it’s made to “prevent and protect.” I imagine that it will turn your game right around and you can crush that backhanding elf. What do you mean that’s not the way the game works? This stuff is chock full of ingredients that will protect you. There’s even a little chart on the label that tells you what’s in it to help you recover and it also will keep you hydrated because of the coconut water and various other things it contains. I mean sure the goji berry overpowers any other flavor that is supposed to be contained within and makes you think that oxidants are running away in fear, but isn’t that what you wanted; to be safe and to recover? What do you mean that you appreciate the drink, but that’s not how the game works? What are you talking about dice for? Wait, you have to roll dice to decide on your levels. Well that just seems boring. I just wanted to deal with some sweet dragons. Apparently that’s never going to happen here because you’re now deceased due to a slight breeze. Learn to roll your dice better next time.

Website
http://drinkbodyarmor.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Coconut, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Texas Tea Nacogdoches Blueberry Green Tea

Texas Tea Nacogdoches Blueberry Green Tea

Call it a hunch, but I’m pretty sure this is a completely different company than the Texas Tea we reviewed in the past. That stuff was cheap gas station swill that was passable only because it was so cheap. This on the other hand is a high quality organic tea. This one is also actually made in Texas instead of New Jersey. Can we just strike the other country from our collective memories and pretend that this was the only Texas Tea that we’ve known?

This tea is wonderful. You can tell from the taste that actual blueberries were used in the creation of it. The sweetness of it is also very obviously pure cane sugar. It’s almost gritty and I mean that in the best possible way. It’s sweet and refreshing. I can imagine myself slowly sipping on a bottle while I sit on a back porch of a century house somewhere in the backwoods of the south. It’s a relaxing and slightly terrifying thought.

The bottle was also informative as I learned that Nacogdoches is the oldest town in Texas and it also has the highest production of blueberries out of anywhere in the U.S. Who would have thought that? I never expect much to be in Texas. With the exception of Austin my experiences in that state have been less than stellar. Since starting this site I’ve learned that there is an unusually high concentration of quality tea companies that reside in that state and I’m glad that I’ve found another in Texas Tea. The next time I’m down there the amount of iced tea I will consume may be setting a record for the books.

Website
http://www.teasoftexas.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rob's Really Good Peachy Keen

Rob's Really Good Peachy Keen

Up until this point nearly all of the Rob's Really Good Flavors have been discontinued. It's funny because I had stated before that I always expected more from this company with the exception of the blueberry tea, which is the only flavor that made the cut in the switch to their new line. I'm glad that the company held the same opinion as us.

This is my first go with the new line, and I have to say after my first sip I already knew it was far superior to their old flavors. If a sweetened tea company wants to win me over with their products the best course of action is to use a decent sweetener and actual fruit juice for flavors. Rob's Really Good has done both of those things. I also want to applaud them for their use of oolong tea instead of the classic black variety. It adds just a little bit of kick that makes it stand out. In essence this is a southern sweet tea made with oolong with some real peach juice mixed in. I can't wait to try the other new flavors.

Website
http://www.robsreallygood.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Lotte Milkis Strawberry

Lotte Milkis Strawberry

It's rough being eight. I can't have everything I want. Sure, I don't get homework and my math is just adding and subtracting and I only get like four hours a day to play with friends. I have no responsibilities except to brush my teeth, which I only do when mom is watching. I also feed the dog the food I don't want for dinner under the table regardless of what my dad says. So DJ Biacco the chihuahua has gained fifteen pounds and my parents have no idea why. I don't care. I'm eight and don't completely understand consequences.

One thing that I want is pop, all the time. I love it and my dumb mom never lets me have it. I don't care if I lose teeth; they just keep growing back, right? That's why I don't brush them, as I have previously mentioned. So I love pop and want more of it, number one. Number two, more strawberry milk needs to be stocked in the house. I love it and once again, I can't have it all the time and that's just not fair.

You know what would be great? Strawberry milk pop. Man, if they ever made that then I would just lose my mind. Wait, what? They do? You've got to be kidding me. I have to get some. You have some? It’s strange that you would have this on you. If I didn't know better, you would be trying to get me in your van. I don't think you have any. You do have it! I will get in the van because I see that you have video games and pizza in there, but just to eat one slice and try this Milkis.

Ahh! How did no one tell me about...yeah you can close the door. How did no one tell me about this before? It tastes like carbonated strawberry milk. This is the best drink I have ever had.

Where are we going? Oh, we're here? Oh, there's my house. Thanks for taking me home, although it was strange that you did that since I only live two blocks from where we were. Thanks anyhow and thanks for this Milkis.

Website
http://company.lottechilsung.co.kr/eng/
Country
Korea
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Milk, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 7/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sokenbicha Purify Aromic Green Tea

Sokenbicha Purify Aromic Green Tea

Rough days count for strong, unsweetened tea. Nothing calms me down like an unsweetened tea that's bursting with infused with flavors. I've been having a rough time at work. Things are going down, you know. It's one of those things where I just wish someone could punch me in the face and it would all be over? You've never had that? Come on. You've never wanted to get punched in the face and wake up and "it's all over"? You live an easy life, my friend.

Before someone punches me in the face, I would like to finish this bottle of tea. It's good. It's that nice bitterness that is accompanied with an uber-intense chamomile flavor that, I'm hoping, doesn't knock me out. I hope it just chills me out to the point where I don't care if someone runs up the back of my legs with a bike because no one in this city knows you're supposed to ride your bike on the street. Sidewalks are for walking. Streets are for bikes. So there aren't any bike lanes. Who cares? Deal with it.

I could easily make this tea a nice standby and if you are a non-sweetened tea lover, and you've never tried it, you can't go wrong. Drop a small amount of dough and relax. That punch is coming.

Website
http://www.sokenbicha.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 7/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sokenbicha Purify Green Tea Blend ( 12/15.2OZ)

Mong Lee Shang Grass Jelly Drink Lychee

Mong Lee Shang Grass Jelly Drink Lychee

It's been awhile since I have delved into the world of unusual Asian beverages. I feel I'm about due to have some added texture in my drink. As a result I find myself sitting down with a good book and a can of grass jelly drink. Let me put my feet up, crack this can open, and begin our little adventure.

Before I even had the can completely open the smell of lychee was in the air. It's sweet, fragrant, and doesn't really smell like something you should consume. My first sip was all liquid, and all lychee. What is it about that fruit that makes it taste vaguely like perfume? I've had some lychee drinks in the past that I just couldn't finish, and I've also had a couple that I found to be quite pleasant. Luckily this can of Mone Lee Shang falls into the latter category. It definitely tastes like a perfume, but in an almost candy-like way. It's similar to those Violet candies that old ladies and Editor Dan love.

Before I took another sip i swirled the can around to mix up the grass jelly. That did the job. My second gulp was full of little gelatinous cubes. I know to a lot of people that would probably be disgusting, but I've grown to love a little texture in my drinks. They taste like a honey sweetened iced tea that was somehow made into Jello. If you pour this drink into a glass, so you can actually see the cubes it even looks like Jello that is the color of iced tea. The flavor of the grass jelly balanced out the lychee even more and made this drink truly enjoyable. I've read that grass jelly drinks are consumed in Asia as a way to beat the heat. It's pretty warm out there today, and I can concur that it helped me to fight the heat.

Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Chunky
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dad's Old Fashioned Blue Cream Soda

Dad's Old Fashioned Blue Cream Soda

Dad, can you hand me a root beer? What, how are you out of root beer? I guess you got a point there. It's kind of hard not to drink Dad's Root Beer when you are the dad. You made something besides root beer? A cream soda? I wasn't expecting that. I could see Dad's Birch Beer or Dad's Sarsaparilla, but I never thought you'd make Dad's Cream Soda. Sure, I'll try one.

Wait, why is this blue? Who ever heard of Blue Cream Soda? It looks like windshield washer fluid. Hmmm, it doesn't smell like chemicals. Bottoms up! Oooh, that's a nice smooth cream soda. Good work Dad! It reminds me a lot of the Crush Soda Mousse. It has a nice cotton candy and vanilla taste to it.

This goes to show you just because a company is known for one kind of pop, doesn't mean they can't make other quality flavors/varieties.

Website
http://www.dadsrootbeer.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 7/18/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |