Granny Squibb's Lemon Mint

Granny Squibb's Lemon Mint

My grandma rules. Every time I go over there she has made something delicious like pasta, cookie, or something else. She doesn't fool with drinks, though. If she did, that would run companies like Granny Squibb out of business. That says a lot for my grandma, but I don't want it to sound like this company is easy to beat. It is hard to find a good iced tea company. This tea was very good. It’s clearly a lemon tea base with just the right amount of mint. It has enough mint that it's extra cool, but not that it's mouthwash.

Very refreshing.

Website
http://www.grannysquibb.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Natural Brew Ginseng Cola

Natural Brew Ginseng Cola

For the majority of my life I was under the impression that all colas tasted like Coke or Pepsi. As a result, I never really liked cola all that much. There was also a weird phase of my life where I wouldn't drink brown sodas. I really have no idea why. It was just something I did. Man, I can't believe I didn't drink root beer. It's one of the best things ever. It wasn't until relatively recently that I discovered a world of specialty colas. They taste nothing like the mainstream brands. They are to Pepsi and Coke what fancy root beers are to Mug and A&W. So many herbs and spices that take you on a wild ride of flavor. If you haven't had the Fentiman's Curiosity Cola or the Taylor's Tonics' Chai Cola put down your Coca Cola Classic and make a run for the store. It's a whole new world.

Natural Brew stepped up the cola game with their Chai Cola, and they have proved that it wasn't a fluke with this Ginseng Cola. It has an earthy taste, but it's in a good way and not in the way that tastes like it was filtered through worm ridden soil. A cola made with herbs and vanilla is a cola that I will certainly drink again and again.

Website
http://www.natural-brew.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Nestle Jamba Blueberry Pomegranate

Nestle Jamba Blueberry Pomegranate

Pep? I'm full of it. Piss and vinegar? Likewise. Hater of energy drinks? This guy. To come across a juice that is an all-natural energy drink kind of intrigued me. I bought it, took a sip, and pondered...why don't all energy drinks taste like this? Why do all energy drinks taste like someone cracked open a case of Smarties, mortar and pestled them, poured them into some already disgusting drink, and called it a day? Oh, you're surprised that I know what a mortar and pestle is? I'm also full of surprises.

This drink was more of a puree than a juice or an energy drink. For that, it was actually pretty nice. I like a nice, thick drink anyhow. The flavor wasn't bad, either. Fruity up front, and since it was Stevia, just a little sweet afterward.

All in all, I would say this was a success for Nestle and I hope that Jamba is more available to the general public. I'm not an energy drink convert, but this is cleverly disguised.

Website
http://www.nestleusa.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Extract of Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Jamba Juice Energy Drink, Blueberry Pomegranate, 8.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 12)

Sea2O Organic Energy Drink

Sea2O Organic Energy Drink

This was actually one of the first drinks I reviewed for Thirsty Dudes, but somehow before the site went live the review got deleted. Here is a new review as I bought another can.

This is not carbonated which is weird for two reasons. 1. This is the only energy drink I've had that wasn't. 2. Things that come in skinny cans always seem like they should be.

Basically this is agave juice that has been transformed into an energy drink. It's really sweet, but in a non-offensive way, like a pure fruit juice.

If you're looking for an alternative to all the chemical energy drinks out there, give this a shot.

Website
http://www.sea2o.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SEA2O Organic Energy Drink, No Caffeine, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 12)

Cocaine High Caffeine Energy Supplement

Cocaine High Caffeine Energy Supplement

I feel like Indiana Jones with this drink. No lie. I had heard legends that it existed, but had never seen any proof. There were murmurs that it was at this store or that, but I would show up and there would be no truth to the stories. You see this drink came out a few years ago and was quickly pulled from the shelves by the creators, due to impending arrests. Why were there going to be arrests? It seems they were advertising on the can that this was a legal substitute for the illicit street drug of the same name. Of course this caused all sorts of rumors as to why it was pulled. Some said the level of caffeine being too high. Others claimed that there were trace amounts of cocaine in the drink. Rubbish. Things had been quite and I was settling down to a life of teaching drink archeology (I am a scientist after all). Suddenly it came down the wire from a reliable source that a tiny mini mart in the Black Rock section of town had a couple of cans. I jumped in my car with my own tiny version of "Short Round" (my girlfriend who was confused for a toddler earlier today while sitting in the back of a car) and we made our way across town. We dodged obstacles (construction and missing a turn) and made it to the store. We bounded through the doors and searched the coolers. Nothing. It seems I was misled again. Resigned to go back to teaching I sighed, turned around and started making my way towards the exit. Suddenly from the corner of my eye I notice a smaller, almost hidden, cooler by the register. There is an almost holy glow emanating from it. There before me was my Grail. I quickly grabbed a can and slammed it on the register. As the cashier and I exchanged currency for product I felt as if I was switching a bag of stones for my treasure. (Yes I know it wasn't the Grail he switched for his bag of stones.) As soon as the transaction was complete I was out the door for fear of giant boulders, or snakes.....I hate snakes Jock! Outside there was a whole mess of cop cars. (Yes I would say there was a plethora of them El Guapo...Sorry wrong movie.) Short Round Natalie and I dove in my car and got the hell out of there, before we could hear an officer proclaim "The drinks will be found! You won't!"

Back in the safety of headquarters I rounded up the troops and we cracked our treasure open. I took a big sniff of it. It was a formidable scent; it stung the nostrils. (Again, wrong movie.) There was also an undertone of strawberry. I took a big swig and the flavor was definitely strawberry. Suddenly one of the craziest burns I've ever experienced set in. It was like a ginger or a capsicum burn, similar to those in the Prometheus Springs beverages. People had described this drink to me in the past as drinking liquid razor blades. Although it did hurt, it was in a very good way. After passing it around Mike said it tasted like Faygo Red Pop. Dan said it tasted like red War Heads candy. They were both right. This is one of the craziest drinks I've ever had. It also is said to have 3.5x's the energy as a can of Red Bull. I don't think this beverage is anything close to being healthy for you, but it certainly is interesting.

*********************************************
This is the warning they put on the cans now to ensure there is no legal recourse:
This message is for the people who are too stupid to recognize the obvious. This product does not contain the drug cocaine (duh). This product is not intended to be an alternative to an illicit street drug, and anyone who thinks otherwise is an idiot.

I love them.

Website
http://www.drinkcocaine.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Dextrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Cocaine Energy Drink - As Strong As 3 Red Bulls - 6 Pk

MiO Liquid Water Enhancer Strawberry Watermelon

MiO Liquid Water Enhancer Strawberry Watermelon

I did not know what to expect when I heard of MiO. I love the idea of having a drink mix in a super-concentrate and not having to fuss with powder. I don't hate powders, but from a practicality standpoint, it's easier to carry one thing than many things. Women, do you have purses? Carry this and don't carry 24 drink mixes around with you. Problem 1 is solved. Problem 2? Diet drinks are gross and often really gross. MiO scared me at first. It's a concentrate, so the flavor is concentrated, and you know what else is? The artificial sweetener. I didn't think that I was going to like it from the smell alone. I was still going to try it, obviously, but that caught me by surprise. Oh wait, I didn't solve problem 2. So I made the drink, and we at Thirsty Dudes don't mess around when it comes to mix drinks. We follow directions to a T so that it's easily reproducible. For this, I did the recommended "1 squirt" per 8oz. of water. It did not taste diet at all. There wasn't a hint of diet. It tasted like if you had juice, drank three quarters, filled the glass back up with water, and started re-drinking it.

I don't want to say that it tasted like weak juice; because here's the best thing about it...you can just add more mix. Oh, it's too weak? Add more mix. Done. It’s completely customizable. You can mix flavors if you want. It could be good.

I like this as a product as I, as well as many others, wish that MiO had used Stevia or something natural since everyone is up in arms about chemical sweeteners. That being said, sucralose might have been a more disguise-able sweetener. Stevia might have had more sweetness that they didn't want. I'm sure they looked into it.

Look, this is clearly a well thought out product. It eliminates the need for many and consolidates into one easy to use, easy to travel, thing. It tasted good and I feel confident about the whole packaging not opening when it shouldn't do to a rather sturdy click.

This is a brand spanking new product and since it's not gross, even if you aren't on a diet, give it a try. I'm happy that Kraft and MiO took the time to send us some samples so that we could share this with you. I feel like we're breaking ground with crisp new, revolutionary products.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/MiO
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
MIO Strawberry Watermelon, 1.62-Ounce (Pack of 4)

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Orange Passionfruit

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Orange Passionfruit

Sparkling Water and grape/orange/passion-fruit juices are the only ingredients in this drink. It's the way things should be sometimes. Although this tastes more like a tropical punch than the individual flavors that compose it, it still tastes completely natural. It's very obvious from the first sip that there is nothing fancy or chemically added to this for any reason. It's made for those that enjoy sodas, but for health reasons they don't drink them. I want fountains of the different flavors of this line flowing in my house at all times.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Spritzer, Orange Passionfruit, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Bulldog Handcrafted Root Beer

Bulldog Handcrafted Root Beer

You know when you drink something and it has a very distinct taste, but when you look at the ingredients it's not there? That happened with this bottle. My first sip I got a really strong pancake syrup flavor mixed with the root beer. Thinking it was a fluke, I took another sip and it was more of a brown sugar taste. Turning the bottle to see the ingredients, i was shocked to not find brown sugar. There is honey and "real vanilla" in this bottle. The honey isn't overpowering, but it's a nice and subtle aftertaste. The vanilla helps this be one of the sweetest and smoothest root beer's I've ever had. While it's a nice and smooth root beer, I wish it had a little more bite to it.

Website
http://www.bulldogrootbeer.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
(Premium) Bull Dog Gourmet Root Beer 12 Pack

Smart Juice Organic Pomegranate Purple Carrot

Smart Juice Organic Pomegranate Purple Carrot

I can't express how excited I was to get a package full of Smart Juice. So much soda and iced tea gets poured down our throats that it's nice to have a break to enjoy some natural juice. There are two ingredients in this bottle; Organic Pomegranate and Organic Purple Carrot Juice. I've said it before, but this is how juice should be made. Fruit doesn't need sweeteners added to it, and concentrate is just a cop out. Keep it whole. Keep it pure.

This is an intense juice. It's very strong. Mike Tyson strong. This juice could go for the belt and win it without trying much. I could see a lot of people wanting to water it down a bit to suit their tastes more. I applaud Smart Juice for giving us this pure 100% juice. Those of us who like it strong can enjoy it that way. The others can add their own water to dilute it. Pomegranate is the main force behind this powerhouse, but its sidekick purple grape sticks his head in there a little bit. You get a slight hint of carrot, but it's only recognizable as that if you really concentrate. These are the drinks us Thirsty Dudes need to keep up our health.

Website
http://www.smartjuice.us
Country
Turkey
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Smart Juice Organic Pomegranate/Purple Carrot Juice, Pure, Fresh Pressed, 33.8 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6)

Bavaria Premium Apple

Bavaria Premium Apple

This has been sitting in my fridge for quite some time. After drinking Malta Goya anything that is malted makes me weary. I'm also 99% sure I was racially profiled when I purchased this. I got it from a tiny African market. When I walked in all ongoing conversation ceased. When I brought my drink to the counter there was no price on it. The two employees shot each other a look, nodded, and then told me a price that was higher than expected. Oh well, it was the only drink they had that we had yet to review so, I won't have to deal with them again.

Tonight I decided I finally needed to get it over with. I grabbed the bottle (that eerily looks like a beer bottle) from the fridge, sighed, and twisted off the cap. I expected it to have a super malty smell, but was shocked to discover it had the scent of a freshly sliced green apple. Things were starting to look up so I took a big gulp. This is exactly what I want out of an apple soda. It tastes like a perfect apple. It tastes crisp and has a slight malt/barley aftertaste. It's not enough to distract you from the glorious apple taste. So many apple sodas out there have that disgusting fake green apple flavor, but Bavaria got it right. For that I salute them. I was expecting this to taste like liquid garbage, but it ended up being in the higher spectrum of drinks we reviewed.

Country
Holland
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |