Blue Sky Natural Soda Jamaican Ginger Ale

Blue Sky Natural Soda Jamaican Ginger Ale

You would think that a Jamaican ginger ale would just be called "ginger beer", right? Well that's why I make the big bucks and you are a dummy. You know that Jamaicans love spicy things like ginger beer, salsa, chicken wings, and spicy tuna sushi rolls. Yep, those are the Jamaicans we all know and love. Hey, do you think that every Jamaican teenager has a tapestry of Bob Marley? If so, I hope that it's cheaper since, you know, he's local. I hope that is the case. I would also hate to see that they had to pay full price for a Bob Marley record.

Because of these few prerequisites, I don't think that Jamaicans would like this ginger ale. I, an American, really liked it. It tastes like ginger, doesn't have bite, and is perfectly sweetened. It's better than most ginger ales that I've ever had and now I will not forget it next time I drink some garbage, Joe Lunchpail, ginger ale. I love ginger beer, and the hotter the better, but this is a separate drink all together.

Website
http://www.blueskysoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Real Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 11/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Blue Sky Jamaican Ginger Ale, 12-Ounce (Pack of 24)

Cock Cola

Cock Cola

Down the road from our family’s farm there's one of those fancy Coca-Cola bottling plants. At first we got along just fine with the management there. Back when I was only knee high I remember mountains of cases of their soda all over the farmhouse. Grandmamma couldn't get enough of the stuff. Then sometime in the 80's they switched their recipe over to a different kind of sweetener and that sent grandma right off. She up and declared a feud, and not even a single can of their soda has been seen on our property since.

It would have probably been for the best to ban soda from the farm, as we'd have been a much healthier bunch. The thing was that my dear sweet grandmother had developed a bit of an addiction to cola. You know how some people cant' start their day without coffee, well she couldn't start a sentence without taking a sip of that bubbly sugar water. The first couple of weeks were rough. She was like a demon in a floral dress with the way she snapped at everyone. Finally grandpa had enough and he went out to the barn and brewed up a batch of his own cola. I'll be damned if it wasn't worlds better than what they were producing down the road. It tastes darker with a bit of a bite. Grandpa did for cola what small breweries do for root beer. It doesn't just have a set cola flavor like Coke or Pepsi. Instead it has layers of flavor that are all as interesting as they are delicious.

Grandpa decided to call it Cock Cola because all of the chickens on the farm kept pecking at the vat he made it in. It probably wasn't the most sanitary of conditions, but it got grandma back to her old sweet self, and it put some cavities in my teeth.

Website
http://rocketfizz.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/8/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey

Cintron Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey

Today a slew of us went up to Letchworth State Park to enjoy yet another gorgeous day. We enjoyed the sights, sounds, and smells of everything nature. In addition, there was also a craft show, which I didn't give two rips about until Jay freaked out because some dude from his past was selling homemade root beer, sarsaparilla, birch beer, and (the legal equivalent of) Cheerwine. Also, I got a blackened chicken po-boy that was pretty darn outstanding.

On our way to "the Grand Canyon of the East" and some waterfalls, I saw the following automobile:


  • 1986 Bertone

  • Mid-90's Miata

  • Glistening black Porsche Cayman

  • Bentley Continental

  • Triumph Spitfire Mark IV

  • A new, brown Mercedes E-class coupe, which couldn't have been owned by a nicer man.

Nice, right? Yeah. You know that's night. Can you tell where my priorities are? I just told you that I went to a state park and told you about cars that I saw? I've got my interests and you've got yours. I love cars. I would love to do something with cars later in my life because no way do I see myself doing web development until the day I die.

So I did not drink a whole lot when I was there. I had a small, twenty-pound weight strapped to the front of me in the shape of a small boy and that didn't make matters any better. After spending all day there and only sippin' on Jay's drinks that came in a refillable, tin can, I didn't have much. Seriously, every drinking fountain gave me one-third the water I so desperately desired. When I got home, it was an issue of quantity so I grabbed a tallboy, threw it in the fridge, waited an hour, and then grabbed it and went.

I made the right decision. This is a good green tea and honey iced tea. Like many other drinks like this that don't need to be named, you lose quite a bit of the green tea, but there is a really good honey taste to this drink. Cintron also performed some magic and managed to keep the calories down to a respectful amount. Drinking this whole can, which I am not far from doing, would rack up only 210 calories and although that is a lot, 23.5 ounces is also a lot. It's not like I didn't work it off at the park, so I'm fine with my decisions.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/9/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Phix Energy Tropic

Phix Energy Tropic

On a recent trip to the tropics, Shawn wanted to taste all that the tropics to offer. He ate many things in, around, and out of pineapples. He ate a lot of fresh fish such as grouper and a red snapper that was the same size as his two-year-old son. He devoured tons of delicious fruits like mangoes, grapefruits, lemons, and limes. He even ate a rather gluttonously large bowl of turtle soup, which he was on the fence about but tried and liked more than his vegetarian wife would have liked. On the final day, he went to a pig roast and after that, he was ready to come home to Minneapolis.

On the plane ride home, he felt a bit of a void. Yes, he had done as the people of the land had done, but he felt that he didn't get a well-rounded taste of the tropics. If he could blend the culture, food, and drink up into a very good, industrial blender, he could have what he desired. When he got home, he went to work the next day, still feeling that hole that he didn't get. A few days later, a package arrived on his doorstep. He hadn't ordered anything except for Pet Shop Boys Please and this was too large to be that. He opened the box and there was a note and a box. It read:
Shawn,
We thank you for your recent trip to the topics. We notice that you did quite a lot of activities and we appreciate you using your time to its fullest extent. We have sent you a package of Phix in the Tropic flavor so you can drink your vacation whenever you want.
Thanks again,
Joe the travel agent

Shawn opened up the package and quickly but carefully poured the powder into a leftover bottle of water. As he drank it, he remembered all the good things about the trip he had just returned from. No, it didn't taste like fish, turtles, coconut, and pig. It tasted fruity, a bit citrus-y, and as an extra added bonus, was an energy drink to get him out of whatever rut he was in. He was smart to have put it in a resealable water bottle because shakable, mixable stuff fell to the bottom and he had to mix it up. It kept it interactive and he was fine with it. He was happy with the taste and now, rather than pictures, he could carry around little packs of his vacation and not have to show disinterested people pictures of him eating a swordfish.

Website
http://www.phix.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Energy Drink, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Phix Energy Tropic - 5 Pack

Sobe Lifewater Black Cherry Dragonfruit

Sobe Lifewater Black Cherry Dragonfruit

You've got your best suit on and you're ready to go. It's your big day. You've got an interview at a publishing house and this is your opportunity to get out of this town. You board the train into the city and when the snack cart rolls by, you are feeling thirsty and decide to grab something to drink. You scramble through your briefcase, which you bought just for this interview because, you know, big city people carry a suitcase. You scrounge enough money to buy a Sobe Lifewater and since you're aggressively trying to get a job, you decided on the black cherry dragonfruit. Dragons don't ask questions. Dragons are closers. Who gets to drink coffee? Coffee is for closers. A.B.C. Alec Baldwin is your new spirit guide for the rest of the long train ride into the city.

You drink this drink and it's good. It's light and has a bit of a bitter erytritol taste, but you're on your way to be an adult and you can deal with a little bitterness. For the first time with a dragonfruit drink, you can actually taste it, and that pleases you because you've only had one once at an exotic fruit taste test party at a rich friend's house. What a night. Kumquat, dragonfruit, pomegranate, and the like. A night you will not soon forget.

You take the last sip and when you throw the bottle in the garbage can, the cap comes loose and spills purple juice on your crisp white shirt. You can cover most of it in your suit coat so you decide that is all you can do and you go into the interview. You talk to the CEO of the company for over an hour and things are going great. As you stand to leave, you shake his hand and he takes one last look at you and sees the newly acquired stain. He asks you what it is and since you don't want to start off on a bad foot by lying to your potential boss, you tell him that you were enjoying a Sobe Lifewater and when you threw it out, the cap flew off, spilling some on your shirt. He laughed and took his jacket off. Under the jacket lied over a dozen stains. "This is mustard and this one is ketchup. Over here we've got both black and blue ink. On the back, you've got chocolate and here on my arm is pizza. You're going to fit in great. I'll see you next Monday. Congratulations."

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Black Cherry Dragonfruit - 20-fl. oz. Bottles (Pack of 24)

Facedrink The Social Drink

Facedrink The Social Drink

Dear Mr. Zuckerberg,
It has come to our attention that people are becoming annoyed at the constant layout changes you've been making to The Facebook. I'm sorry, I was just told Justin Timberlake told you to drop the 'The' and it's now called just 'Facebook'. Anyways, if you don't do something drastic and awesome soon, I think people are going to jump ship and join Google + more rapidly. Sure you could clean up the layout, make privacy settings better, and a whole slew of other things, but I have a better idea!

An energy drink! Kids these days love energy drinks. Have you seen the energy drink sections at corner stores lately? It's bigger than the juice section! So you get this energy drink in the hands of kids and they will be so wired and hyperactive they will want to post a million photos and status updates.

Ready to hear the name I thought of? You're going to love it: Facedrink. Isn't it great!? What's that? Oh.... apparently there is already an energy shot called Facedrink. Its tag line is "the social drink". Hmmm, well great minds think alike I guess. Lemme give it a try. Not bad at all! Most energy shots are gross, but this one is pretty good. I already feel energized and ready to post about this on Facebook. See! It's working already and I'm not even the target demographic.

Sincerely,
Derek

Website
http://www.drinkfacedrink.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 10/12/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Facedrink, the Social Energy Drink Shot (6-pk - Limited Stock Available)

Snapple All Natural Lemon

Snapple All Natural Lemon

Come on, people. You haven't had this? I don't know how we haven't had it yet. We've been spending all our days drinking Black Mushroom sludge and enough Energy drinks to fuel the most depressed, tired country. So why the wait? We probably went to the store as individual, thirsty dudes, saw lemon Snapple, and though, "Oh yeah, someone already did this. Next." and moved right on down the line? You didn't come here for that, though. You came here for a review so here goes.

It's good. Now that they've replaced their lines with all natural product, every tastes better. You can taste the black tea, the sugar, the lemon and everything together is actually great. This is a wonderful lemon tea. Great balance, great price, great taste, and so on. Snapple, you've been in the game a long time and I would be upset that you couldn't have gotten it right in that amount of time.

Website
http://www.snapple.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/12/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Snapple Lemon Tea, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Blackberry Grape

Sobe Lifewater Blackberry Grape

Ever since Vitamin Water came on the scene tons of companies have popped up with their own versions. They all refer to them as water drinks. Let's call them what they are people; they are sports/revitalization drinks. This is closer to a Gatorade than it is a glass of water. I feel like as soon as you add a sweetener to water that it no longer can be considered water. If this is a water drink than so is a bottle of Coke. Both are over 50% water, but really come on.

Now that I have that rant out of the way, the drink is pretty great. I don't know why they put erythritol in here along with normal sugar, but luckily you can't taste it at all. Maybe that is the secret that drinks need. There are only 9g of sugar in this, but it tastes just as strong as it's competitors. The main flavor is definitely grape, but there is some berry flavor mixed in there as well.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Enlighten Blackberry Grape, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Dr. Tima Honey Kola

Dr. Tima Honey Kola

Remember when there was a real problem with swarms of bees? They would all band together like an unruly gang and attack, and demolish, anything in their way. I'm pretty sure that I discovered the cause of it. It turns out those bees were way pissed that Dr. Tima harvested such a ridiculous amount of their honey for her sodas. I'm not kidding. She went to Africa on safari and emptied every last nest she found of anything resembling honey or a comb. It was really kind of disgusting the blatant disregard our dear doctor had for the indigenous animals.

I really couldn't believe someone would do such a thing, then I tasted this "kola." After one sip I was ready to hop continents and help the doctor find as much honey as I possibly could. Not only is this good, but I can tell that weeks from now I'll be in my print shop and out of nowhere I will start daydreaming about it. I'm sure I will drool on whatever shirt I'm printing and not even notice.

This starts off as a good quality "olde time" cola. If you're looking for a Coke or Pepsi facsimile, you're barking (or should I say buzzing) up the wrong tree. This is a hand-crafted soda that reminds me of Fentimans' Curiosity Cola. So you take that awesome cola and then you add butt-loads and butt-loads of honey to it. I'm not kidding it's ridiculous how much honey is in this. It's almost like a honey soda that is cola flavored and not the other way around. I love it. I did get some complaints that it wasn't very carbonated, but I thought it was just right. The fizz didn't bother my throat, but it also didn't taste flat. Now put on a beekeepers suit and watch out because those little buggers are coming to get us all.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Honey
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/14/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Dr.Tima KOLA - Honey Kola is just what Dr. Tima ordered!, 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Harcos Laboratories Energy Potion Zombie Blood

Harcos Laboratories  Energy Potion  Zombie Blood

Are you sick and tired of worrying about the impending zombie apocalypse? Does it keep you up at night thinking about the day when you and your family will be attacked and the walking dead will rip the flesh from your bones in order to get to your sweet, sweet brain nectar? Harcos Laboratories has a new product to put your mind at ease.

After years of research, and movie watching, it was scientifically proven that zombie's do not attack their own kind. With this knowledge Harcos employees worked long and hard in the lab to come up with a syrup derived from actual zombie blood that will cause the imbiber to give off certain pheromones that will trick the living dead into thinking you have already been turned. In layman's terms your brains will smell like butt-soup to them instead of sizzling prime rib.

It's lucky for us that zombie blood in its natural state tastes like melted green freezie pops. The difference is that downing this I.V. pouch won't make you cough like the dickens. Unlike the mind, it's not a terrible thing to taste. It is also has added ingredients to give you extra energy to run to safety in case you are in the .01 percentile that are unaffected by the blood of reanimated corpses.


************************************************************************
We originally reviewed this for a Halloween drink article we did for Auxiliary Magazine. To read the full article and to check out the awesome magazine go to http://auxiliarymagazine.com.

Website
http://harcoslabs.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Glucose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Energy Drink Zombie Blood Energy Potion
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |