Ito En Oi Ocha Green Tea

Ito En Oi Ocha Green Tea

You, over there with the bad hair! Bring that wheelbarrow of sugar to me. You, with the floral sundress, bring that 50-gallon drum of cherry syrup. You two kids with the hair that's too long for your own good. Yeah, you. What, are you parents some sort of hipsters? Get a haircut but before that, bring those two buckets of corn syrup to me. Don't get your stupid long hair in it, either. This is a sterile environment.

Excuse me, sir. I work for Ito En and I was wondering what you were doing with all these additives. Adding them to this drink? No sir, I don't think so. We won't need any of this. Here, let me take care of this crowd-based assembly line. Pardon me, the little madame with the mini skirt and argyle sweater, could you bring over those green tea leaves? Thank you. That's all. That's all we need to make such choice tea. Put it on ice and you've got a nice drink. It’s suitable for all occasions and all ages: All sexes, creeds, religions, colors, and so on and so forth.

So sir, as you can see, those fixins might be necessary elsewhere, but not here. Ito En Oi Ocha needs nothing but water and green tea. It's refreshing, quenching and a wonderful all around drink. I do have a question for you though, sir. Where are we that everyone looks this ridiculous? Aside from the people we've hired to help us make this drink, there is a man over there wearing a Cosby sweater, cargo shorts, and boots. Over there are twins both wearing shell toes, carpenter pants with accompanying hammers, and mesh football shirts. Where are we?

Website
http://www.itoen.com/
Country
Japan
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ito En (Oi Ocha) Japanese Green Tea, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Jarritos Toronja

Jarritos Toronja

Look, I'm not a resort guy. I got in a tiff with my girlfriend about going to Mexico and staying on a resort. What's the fun in that? If I go to a foreign land, I want to go to that foreign land. I want to eat what they eat, see what they see, and do what they do. What fun is going to a new place if you only get some faux luxury? No nitty-gritty. Slavery-esque waiting on you hand and foot is probably great for some people but what's more fun, getting waited on or getting dirty in the streets with the people. I want to eat real tacos and I don't want sushi if I go to Mexico. Who goes to Mexico and gets sushi? You go to Mexico to get tacos, and boss sugar skulls with your name on them, and delicious indigenous Jarritos pop.

I am not grapefruit's number one fan, let it be known, but maybe it's just because I don't like raw grapefruit and Squirt isn't the greatest. After trying DG's Ting, I might be a convert. This was very refreshing. It was very citric to start. Not too grapefruit until the very end where you get a nice zap of it. It's good. Chuggable good. I know that's a poor classification of drink, but honestly, some drinks are sipping drinks and some are not. This is anything you want it to be. Your dream drink, if you will.

If I went to Mexico, you know darn well that I would learn more Spanish than I ever learned in all my years of taking a foreign language in both high school and college. I would hope that after a while, they would see my love for burritos and welcome me in with open arms.

Website
http://www.jarritos.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Natural Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Jarritos Grapefruit Soda, 12.5 oz.

Kuang Chuan Rice Drink Peanut

Kuang Chuan Rice Drink Peanut

Have you ever stopped at a small gas station down south? If the answer is yes you have probably seen the large pots of grossness that are known as boiled peanuts. Serious barf sauce. Soggy peanuts are no ones friend.

I was afraid this was going to taste like those sloppy nuggets. I lucked out today friends. This tastes like unshelled peanuts were ground into a fine power and then mixed that into rice milk. It almost tastes like peanut butter, but it's not quite there. It was very enjoyable. It's pretty thick.

I also found out while drinking this that Mike doesn't shell his peanuts. He pops the entire thing into his mouth and chomps down. Who does that? He said it like it's a normal thing that everyone does. The other four of us looked at him in disgust. He also doesn't believe in napkins.

Website
http://www.kuangchuan.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Boysenberry

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Boysenberry

I can't even begin to tell you how refreshing it can be to come across a good carbonated beverage that doesn't have any sugar added to it. We drink a lot of beverages here at Thirsty Dudes, and most of them are full to the brim with sugar. Most of the time it's not a problem, but sometimes it just gets to be too much (I do brush my teeth all the time for fear of them falling out of my head). These are the times I love to visit my friends the unsweetened teas and spritzers such as this.

Fruit is sweet. That is one of the reasons it is so good. You normally don't need to add sugar to it. The R. W. Knudsen family knows all about that. Nothing that I've ever had by them has any sugar added. I may not have been a huge fan of their Sparkling Essence line, but their Spritzer's have been great. This is just sparkling water added to fruit juice. Boysenberries are a hybrid of raspberries and blackberries, and it's definitely shown in it's taste. Mix in a little grape and you have a refreshing drink that I think everyone would enjoy.

If the soda industry took note and followed this process there would be a lot less overweight people in this country. Well if the soda companies also found a way to make American's less lazy too.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Spritzer, Boysenberry, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

FunctionALOE Defense Grape

FunctionALOE Defense Grape

I picked this up at my local co-op because it was being discontinued, which means either I won't be able to find it again or it's really gross and that is why no one is buying it. In either case, I couldn't pass it up. So far, my experiences with aloe drinks have been very positive. As I was shaking the bottle, I noticed the bottom was stained brown from the contents inside. This terrified me. After opening the bottle, I noticed a lot of tea like flakes floating inside. This also took me by surprise, but then the pleasant fruity (mostly grape) smell hit me. This made my fears go away, and rightfully so.

The grape taste in this is really good and tart. What I thought was tea, is actually pulp from the aloe vera. This was not only a relief but pretty delicious. I love how the tart flavor is consistent throughout the drink. It's been a while since I’ve had a good tart drink. They also had a lemon flavor of this at the co-op, I really hope it's still there when I go back.

Website
http://www.lilyofthedesert.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Function Aloe Defense Grape 16.20 Ounces

Frostie Root Beer

Frostie Root Beer

This is my first go at Frostie Root Beer. It's a brand I've heard of since I was a kid. It's a classic in the world of root beers. The logo is iconic. I have friends that have Frostie paraphernalia hanging in their houses. I've always wanted to try it, but they don't have it around Buffalo, and I never saw it in my travels. Our friend Dan picked it up for me on a drive down to Florida. Now here I sit with my first bottle of Frostie. I like it. I really do. I didn't have high hopes. I was expecting a pretty run of the mill root beer. It is a pretty safe root beer, but it falls on the better side of average. It's very creamy. I mean really creamy with a lot of foam. It's not a gourmet drink, but it doesn't taste like root beer candy either. It's kind of a root beer of it's own kind. I'm kind of bummed that it's going to be quite some time before I can have this again.

************************************
EDIT
************************************

I finally got my hands on a cane sugar version of this. It was even better than the one I previously reviewed. It was in fact probably the best "normal" root beer I have ever had. It wasn't micro brewed or anything. It doesn’t have anything wacky in it. It was just the best of the best when it comes to the style of A&W and Dads. If you ever see one, don't even hesitate to pick it up.

Website
http://www.frostie.biz/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Frostie ROOT BEER - "Frostie Man... Frostie!", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Simpson Spring Lemon Lime

Simpson Spring Lemon Lime

Up until now, every lemon lime soda I've ever had was clear. I like that this one is green. It's a really nice shade of green too. It's Ecto-Cooler green, easily one of my favorite shades of green. Can you tell green is my favorite color?

This is a pretty basic lemon lime soda with no frills. It's smooth and delicious, and tastes a lot better than 7-Up or Sprite. I don't know if it's in my subconscious due to the color, but it taste more lime than lemon. Now that I think of it, I don't know how one could make lemon lime soda with frills. I think it would probably ruin how classic it is. Then again, I probably thought that about root beer at one point.

Website
http://www.simpsonspring.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and/or Dextrose and Fructose
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Endurance (Citrus Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Endurance (Citrus Tereré)

Yerba Mate is a tea all of it's own. It has such a specific taste that just always pops out at you. This style of tea should also always have a leopard on the bottle. Why? Leopards are awesome, that’s why. Look at that thing. Is it smiling, or does it just want to rip you in half? It's the secret of the leopard. I would totally ride that thing around like in Harold and Kumar (I don't care what the world thinks, that movie is hilarious). I'd pick up Mike and the two of us would ride around from bodega to bodega looking for drinks. Sure we might have to buy the leopard a Gatorade once and a while, but he too will be a Thirsty Dude.
Guayaki knows how to blend their mate with other flavors. The citrus in this balances out the bitterness of the tea perfectly. It's not overly sweet or bitter, just a nice happy medium with a tangerine twinge. You know who loves tangerines? That leopard and I. Shibby.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki 19387 Ready to Drink Organic Pure Endurance
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Granny Squibb's Mojito/Lime Tea

Granny Squibb's Mojito/Lime Tea

Last spring I was on tour in the UK. After our show in Manchester some friends took me out to a couple of clubs. Even though I don't drink alcohol I've been to a decent amount of bars in my time. Most of the time they can be pretty depressing places in a sober state, but every once in awhile things just fall in line and it's a lot of fun. This was one of those nights. You may be asking yourself what someone like myself has for a beverage of choice in a bar. Is it water? Coke? No my friends. When I go out I ask the bartender for a mix of cranberry juice and 7Up. A lot of the time this is either followed by a strange look and some smart-ass comment. I don't care the drink is delicious. So back to Manchester. We get to our first bar of the night and I head up to order my trusty beverage when I notice there is a list of non-alcoholic mixed drinks they serve. Suddenly this night became even better. The first thing on the list was a Mojito. I was floored.

Now time for a back-story inside of a back-story. The year before this event we were down in Athens, GA. Walking around town. Checking it all out. We're walking by the outside patio of a bar and sitting there is Mike Mills from R.E.M. (my favorite band of all time, I don't care if that makes me a nerd). Guess what he's drinking? If you said a Mojito give yourself a fist bump. I'm not one to get all fan boy, but I did engage in a quick, slightly embarrassing conversation with him.

Back to the first back-story. So yeah I had never had a Mojito. Mike Mills was drinking one. I decided that is what I would choose from the list. I made a wise choice. It was delicious. Mint and Lime are a great combination.

This is a different sort of drink. It's Mojito mixed with tea. That means it's instantly improved. Mint in tea tastes like you're chewing gum while drinking tea. It's a sad fact the world needs to accept. When you add lime to the mix, it's a whole new player. The gum factor is out the window and you’re on a sailboat to the Isle of Refreshment. This time that boat just happens to be captained by Granny Squibb. She definitely knows how to handle that vessel.

Website
http://www.grannysquibb.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 26th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zuberfizz Orange Cream Soda

Zuberfizz Orange Cream Soda

What can be said about orange cream soda that we haven't said before? We all know it tastes like a carbonated melted creamsicle. But wait. What is this? This has actual orange juice in it. That is something new. It still has the insane amount of creaminess of the previously mentioned creamsicles, but the orange juice adds a new dimension. It's as if Orangina was mixed in with the creamiest off cream sodas. A pleasant surprise indeed.

Website
http://www.zuberfizz.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 27th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Zuber Creamy Orange Cream Soda (Pack of 12)
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |