Caruso's Legacy Gourmet Soda Maraschino Cherry Cola

Caruso's Legacy Gourmet Soda Maraschino Cherry Cola

I always thought it was great when you would go to a diner and you could get Cherry Coke, but it wasn't made that way, they just added cherry syrup to the regular Coke. It always tasted better than the Cherry Coke you buy in bottles/cans.

Caruso's Legacy has taken this a step further, or actually backwards. When diners first began doing this they would use the juice from maraschino cherries to flavor the cola. Nowadays it's a cherry syrup that is manufactured expressly for this purpose, and it's not the same.

This bottle I hold in my hand is more like the original. A cola that is made with cane sugar instead of a gross syrup with maraschino cherry "juice." It tastes like something you would make for a little kid at a family party, and I am all for that. Someone in my family used to make "kiddie cocktails" which were just cherry juice and a random soda. I loved them then, and I love them now. I actually made one at my mom's birthday party a few weeks ago.

If you're a fan of Cherry Coke, put down the swill you're drinking and pick up one of these. You'll never look back.

Website
http://www.blackbearbeverages.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Tamarind Iced Tea

Cintron Tamarind Iced Tea

Jerry, could you come over here? Jer? You're fired. I just heard from Sheila Larson that you messed up on our last batch of tamarind iced tea. Here at Cintron, we don't settle for second best and we certainly don't accept screw-ups a large as the one you performed today lightly. I know you feel bad for it, but I feel a little like Alec Baldwin in the beginning of Elizabethtown where he fires Orlando Bloom because he made that defective shoe that lost the company just shy of a billion dollars. Sure, we didn't lose but one batch of tamarind tea, but it's a loss nonetheless and any opportunity to feel like Alec Baldwin, I'll do it.

What did you do? Well Sheila told me that you forgot to put the tamarind in with the mixture so all we put out was black tea. Now I haven't had any but Sheila is on her way up with a bottle so that we can both taste what mistakes taste like. Here she comes now. Thank you Sheila, you hair looks big today.

Alright, Jer, come pull up a seat and let's crack this open and see what getting fired tastes like. I've always wondered. It seems that since I've been here at Cintron, I've done nothing but go upward on the ladder of success. Do you want ice in your glass? Alright, here goes. Same time, Jerry.

Jerry, I've got to tell you...I thought it would be worse. If you ordered Cherry Coke and just got regular Coke, you'd be upset. Personally, I never really liked the taste of Tamarind but the thought of putting out a product that claims to be tamarind and doesn't actually contain tamarind, well that's a lie and over at Cintron, we don't lie, ever, Jer. I may have been rash on firing you before I drank this. It's not bad. It just tastes like a sweetened black tea with a little citrus in it.

You know what? I have un-fired you. You can take a week off, unpaid of course, just to kind of rest up so you don't blem like this again, but I am just going to have the labeling guys re-label this as sweetened tea and re-sell it. Jer, you're a good guy. I like you. You've been here for ten years. Just don't mess up again. Have Sheila come back in here with more of that tea. It's a delicious mistake you made there, Jerry. Have a good week to think about what you've done.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 8/24/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Freeze Extra Coffee with Milk

Freeze Extra Coffee with Milk

Good morning, Ames, Iowa. We're coming to you live from this rented chopper we borrowed from the local high school. Er, I mean hospital. As you can see, traffic is moving pretty well through the highway. We had to get up mighty early to get this helicopter for you and I haven't had my coffee yet so I apologize for any mistakes that I might make on air. My cameraman, Joe, is handing me a can. Joe, what is this? This isn't coffee. It is? This is bad TV, I know, but I really need drink...what is this? It's not in English. Oh, turn it around? Oh, Freeze Extra, huh? Well, down the hatch, right, Ames?

This is great, Joe. Where did you get this? What are you doing at an Asian market? Oh, sure, buying udon. Why else would you go there? Ames, Joe here loves his udon noodles and he eats it every day at lunch. He's even got those cool, ceramic spoons and eats it out of a wooden bowl. Are you Asian, Joe? Irish? Well we seem to have gotten our wires crossed. The milk really smoothes down this coffee. It's like the coffee I get from the coffee shop but cold. I like it. Joe, Ames, Iowa, you have a wonderful day. You down there is the gorgeous new Hyundai Veloster who almost hit that semi, I know you can't hear me but be careful with that thing.

Joe, we've really got to get a helicopter for the station. This thing is great. Oh, we've been off the air for ten minutes? Who cares? It's awesome up here.

Website
http://www.nuboon.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 8/25/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Liquid Energy Original

Cintron Liquid Energy Original

A little known fact about Franklin Mercer is he used to own a robot. He tends to buy into all the latest gadgets, which is how he came into owning cinTRON. You see, in the late 80's helper robots became all the rage. When Franklin found out there was a robot that could bring him drinks from the fridge, he imported one from Japan. It took almost 2 months to arrive at the doorstep of his rural Pennsylvania house. Judging by his reaction when the large crate was coming off the truck, you would have thought he was setting sight on his first child. In fact, he was more excited for the arrival of cinTRON than his first kid.

The first couple weeks with cinTRON were great. Franklin was happier than ever with his new robot helper around. That was until March 13th, 1991. That is the day that will live in infamy in the Mercer-Clarion house. It was a typical Wednesday and Franklin asked cinTRON to get him a bottle of root beer. His calibration must have been off because when he placed it on the table, the bottle shattered and a piece went into Franklin's arm. He got so mad that he picked up the once helpful robot and threw it through the living room window onto the front lawn. He later asked his wife to hire some neighborhood kids to take cinTRON away because he never wanted to see his once loyal robot again.

If Franklin ever saw the name of this drink, he would probably flip out. CinTRON is not a word that is allowed to be said around him. It's too bad he will never try this because it's a good energy drink. It has that usual energy drink "melted candy" taste, which happens to be sweet tarts in this can. As far as Red Bull-esque drinks, this one is one of the better ones out there.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 8/25/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Cintron Original Energy Drink

Izze Sparkling Clementine

Izze Sparkling Clementine

Real fruit juice? Check.
No sugar added? Check.
Fortified with vitamins? Check.

There's really not much to say about this drink other than it's great. It doesn't promise much, but it delivers everything it says it does. If Izze is one thing it is that they are truth tellers. Liars need not apply at their company. I appreciate that and I appreciate this drink. It tastes like clementines mixed in with a handful of white grapes. It's also crazy how sweet this is without any added sugar. Further proof that most companies are dumb, or don't use real fruit juice.

Website
http://www.izze.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/26/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
IZZE Fortified Sparkling Juice, Clementine, 8.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Snow Sparkling Mint Beverage

Snow Sparkling Mint Beverage

The tagline on this bottle is: unique, subtle, refreshing, natural. I like making lists so I'm going to break down each bullet point.

1. Unique- This is not the first mint soda I have had. In 2003 I was at the Toronto zoo and came across Sprite Ice. I ended up drinking 3 bottles of it over the course of the day. It was great! Sadly it never was distributed in the US.

2. Subtle- This is the word I was looking for to describe the mint taste in this. It has a really subtle mint taste. I've had some mint drinks that taste like a blizzard in your mouth. Not this one. This is more like a cool breeze sneaking into a doorway as you close it.

3. Refreshing- It's rare that a soda is refreshing, but this one really is. There isn't much to it, but that makes it really light and delicious.

4. Natural- Carbonated water, cane sugar, peppermint (and other natural flavors), and malic acid are the only ingredients. I'd say that's pretty natural.

Website
http://www.snowbeverages.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 8/27/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Snow Sparkling Mint Beverage 12-pk.

Welch's 100% Juice Orange Fusion

Welch's 100% Juice Orange Fusion

Son do you know what science is? It's magic harnessed by man. That's right, science is magic that man can control. Ya dig? The Man doesn't want us to know it though. They want to think that magic doesn't exist. They want us to think science is something different, but I got the proof man, and it's in this can! Taste this and just try to tell me that this flavor wasn't made by magic. Just try! Alright now that we both agree that it's got an incredible mix of orange and pineapple, look at the can. What does it say there? "Fusion." That's science man. This can is both science and magic, so it proves that they are one and the same. The thing is that it's too powerful for us to handle in large doses, so they have to distribute it in these little cans. How am I supposed to make a makeshift bowl out of that little thing? The Man is keeping me down again.

Website
http://www.welchs.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/27/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Welch's 100% Orange Fusion Juice, 5.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 48)

Wong Lo Kat Herbal Tea

Wong Lo Kat Herbal Tea

Did you know that the only things that vegans consume are leaves and bark? It's true, just ask Derek. When a vegan works up a hunger they scamper out into the woods and fill up their satchel with some nice leaves and bark. Then they bring them home and make a nice sandwich out of them. Don't worry they aren't murderers; they only eat the leaves on the ground and the bark from fallen or dead trees.

Okay that may have been stretching the truth, but I have had basically that conversation verbatim with a woman in a restaurant before. She really believed everything I mentioned above to be true. Some people are just complete idiots.

While vegans don't solely consume those things, there are people out there who eat sticks. I know because all three of us here at Thirsty Dudes did just that a couple of weeks ago. We were in a local natural foods store and on the counter they had a jar of licorice sticks. They were exactly that: sticks from a licorice plant. We were interested. We each bought one and chewed on them for about a half hour. It was actually tasty until they started falling apart in our mouths.

This tea tastes like someone brewed some black tea, added a whole lot of milk and sugar and then drank it while chewing on one of those sticks. There are a whole bunch of other herbs in it as well, but all I can taste in the licorice and I like it....a lot.

Country
China
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/29/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Pineapple Ginger Green Tea

Cintron Pineapple Ginger Green Tea

Lets see, what do I have left to drink in the fridge? Man all I have left is 1/4 of a bottle of pineapple ginger juice and 3/4 of a bottle of green tea. I think we're all good with math and know what needs to happen. Combine them in one bottle and shake vigorously. This tastes pretty good. It's definitely mostly green tea, but the pineapple shines through a bit. It makes it sweet, but not candy-like. There is also the faintest hint of ginger. This is really a drink that everyone can enjoy. A lot of drinks with ginger in them are strong with a burn. While I love that, and wish this drink had a bit of a burn, I also understand that it's a turn off for a lot of people. This would be really marketable. I need to call Cintron and pitch this idea to them. I bet they would love it.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/31/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Clearly Canadian Daily Vitamin Tropical

Clearly Canadian Daily Vitamin Tropical

When I was in Hawaii a few months back our hotel had a giant water dispenser in the front lobby. For the first two days I didn't bother with it because I thought it was just water and I had my water bottle with me. On the third day Kevyn made me try it. It was water that had various tropical fruits floating in it that flavored the liquid. It was absolutely perfect. It was only faintly flavored, so it was completely refreshing and tasty, basically exactly the right drink to sip on in paradise.

As soon as this hit my lips the flavor brought me right back to my vacation. It tastes exactly the same, except a little sweeter. This is what I want from a flavored water. Too many companies go overboard with their flavor and it looses the water aspect. There is no doubt with this that it is water first and flavor second. I appreciate that. Now I'm going to close my eyes and pretend I'm surfing again.

Website
http://www.clearlycanadianbrands.ca/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 8/31/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 280 | 281 | 282 | 283 | 284 | 285 | 286 | 287 | 288 |