AGA Juice Mango

AGA Juice Mango

You know when your watching the Food Network and they make everything look easy? For instance, you know how they cut mangoes? They cut them in half, do some fancy pants knife work, turn the mango inside out and there you have it. A gorgeous, squared mango ready to do whatever you want. So, do that. I'll wait...

Now that your mango looks a fraction as awesome as Ellie Kreuger's, you're ready to go. Now smoosh up your carefully carved mango through a strainer. Do it one more time to get most of the chunks and pulp out and you've got this drink.

It's not bad at all and anyone who likes mangoes a little bit should enjoy this drink and although it's technically nectar, there isn't a lot of pulp and/or seeds. Some people, including myself, enjoy a lot of pulp, but you have to take a break every once in a while.

I picked this up at a local Halal market. This place was nothing to write home about and the service staff didn't say a single word the entire time Jay and myself were in there. This was good though and it comes with a stamp of approval from me.

Website
http://www.aga.com.eg/en/index.asp
Country
Egypt
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Orange Passion +Guarana

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Orange Passion +Guarana

Three things:

A. If your flavor has the word passion in it, I’m going to believe that it is passion fruit flavored. This doesn’t have passion fruit in it, nor does it taste like it. Instead it has the traditional orange drink flavor of Tang.

B. I expected this to have an insane diet taste, but the mixing of the cane sugar and sucralose isn’t bad at all. There isn’t much diet flavor to it.

C. The only thing in it that makes it an energy drink is caffeine from guarana. I don’t think that actually qualifies this as an energy drink. If it does, than Coke or Pepsi should also be considered.


Overall this isn’t a bad drink. Sure the name of the flavor isn’t very fitting, but I like the way it tastes. Also, they were able to keep the calories down without sacrificing too much of the taste. I can’t argue with that.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Agua-Enerviva/295882930443237
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 18th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Mate Lemonade + Guarana

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Mate Lemonade + Guarana

Sadly this is a pretty big bottle of mediocrity. I thought that mate lemonade would be pretty interesting but instead, I was served some sort of light juice that doesn't really taste much like lemonade or mate. Odd how that happened. It actually tastes a bit diet, but not too much. I'm just kind of milling over the taste but from what was advertised to what was delivered, they are worlds apart. This drink was fruity but light almost like if you had some guarana Vitamin Water.

I didn't know what it would taste like as mate is inherently pretty bitter and lemonade is sour or tart. Together I thought that it would have given my tongue a run for it's money, a phrase that my tongue doesn't understand because it doesn't work and as many times as I've tried to become a famed voice-over actor, it decided to work by spouting off negativity, sarcasm, and unfortunately misdirected wit.

I might have the energy to complete my day due to the caffeine in both mate and guarana, but I didn't particularly enjoy the path to get there.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Agua-Enerviva/295882930443237
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Lemonade, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 22nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Strawberry Kiwi + Guarana

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Strawberry Kiwi + Guarana

You've got a great thing. Imagine, if you will, a pristine Pontiac Fiero. Gorgeous, right? Red with those strange but lovable cloth seats with the speakers in the headrest. Manual transmission, stock everything, fastback, and unaltered in every way. You love it, much like Cameron's dad's Ferrari in Ferris Bueler's Day Off, you wipe you car with a diaper. You reach a point in your life, though, where you've got a kid and you can no longer see yourself driving such a cherry roadster so you have to sell it. An eighteen year old in a beat up Neon comes to your house, hands you cash, and you sadly give him the keys and the title.

A year later you see the car around your work. It's got a dent in the hood, a plastic bag taped to the passenger window because of an apparent break-in attempt, bigger tires, and a different color passenger rear view mirror. You feel like all your hard work preserving the best of 1988 was for naught and shed the saddest single tear your eyes have ever shed. This drink is that.

You've got one great second of strawberry and kiwi that you wish never ended followed by a diet massacre. The final ingredient is sucralose, which ruins this entire drink turning it into the abomination of what it once was. It truly starts out very promising but then promptly takes a turn for the worse.

Both drinking this and writing that intro made me sad.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Agua-Enerviva/295882930443237
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 1st, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Fruit Punch + Guarana

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Fruit Punch + Guarana

I hate to always bring reviews of drink such as this back to this company, but this tastes like a diet Vitamin Water. Sure there are dozens of other companies I could compare it too, but I think most people are more familiar with Vitamin Water than those other companies, so it gives them a better base for comparison. Well that was completely unnecessary and boring.

I will say that while this is a fruit punch, it’s not the type of drink I think of when I hear the words fruit punch. I think companies should avoid that phrase because it makes me think of Hawiian Punch and the like, which no one really needs to drink. This is not just a bog bottle of red syrup. This is pretty light and has a more adult fruit punch flavor. I think it’s interesting that they still sweeten this with cane sugar, just not as much. They make up the difference with sucralose. The mixture doesn’t give it that deadly 80’s diet flavor that I dread. It tastes diet, but not like poison.

The thing that differentiates Agua Enerviva from Vitamin Water is that their drinks have guarana in them, which is a natural source of caffeine. There’s not enough in here to make you crazy and jittery, but it’s a nice slight push to get you through your day.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Agua-Enerviva/295882930443237
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 9th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Pomegranate Berry + Guarana

Agua Enerviva Lo Cal Natural Energy Pomegranate Berry + Guarana

This is one of those drinks that is hard to classify. If you asked a kid what this was, they would say a juice. I couldn't argue with him since it's dark, fruity, and tastes like juice. When you read the labels, though, they vaguely call it a "beverage" and use sweet buzzwords like "enhanced" and "natural" and "energy" which might or might not make it an enhanced natural energy beverage but those words are borderline worthless. Also, "agua" makes me want to put it in the same category as Vitamin Water and the like but I could be wrong. For the aforementioned reasons I will never discredit a scientist for having to pick the correct genus and species of animal, bug, fruit, et cetera. Some things are drifters. That being said, a tomato is eternally a vegetable. I don't give a rip what seeds mean.

This drink is good. I don't get a lot of pomegranate but get a decent amount of cherry. It does taste like if you ate a candle and I cannot pinpoint that. I worked at a skate shop in my youth that was next door to a candle store and this drink is like someone filtered a pomegranate and cherry juice through some strategically placed candles. I say strategically because if I were performing the task, I would have candles stacked up and carefully melted as to have a seamless, waxful route of like seventeen candles to pour the drink down.

Now I want to do this. Can someone commission me to make a candle slide in which to "enhance" my otherwise average drink with additional mystery flavors? If not to make a drink, just to melt a whole bunch of candles and hook up a garden pump to have water go through a multicolored slide-o-wax? I'll let you name it, just let me take care of the actual work and don't bother me while I make art.
e art.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Agua-Enerviva/295882930443237
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 19th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

AGV Barley

AGV Barley

Not what I expected, not what I wanted. Yes, this is a barley drink, but it's not good to me. My dad always taught me that if I was going to be opinionated, I should end all my opinionated statements with "to me" so that I'm not demonstrating close mindedness. My dad is a smart man. Smart enough to not drink this drink. It's barley, through and through but it's a bit...sweet and earthy. I know that might sound good, but it tastes more like you're in a field, hanging out with Huck Finn, chewing on a stalk of barley, wearing no shoes, talking about how you're going to make a sweet raft out of logs and push yourself down the river.

I never read Huck Finn, although I feel like I've seen enough parodies of it to know what happens. Something about faking death in a church, whitewashing fence posts, kids stuff.

Website
http://www.agv.com.tw/english/trade.php
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 28th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ahhmigo Endurance Lemon Chia Superseed

Ahhmigo Endurance Lemon Chia Superseed

"Tastes like lemonade," sounds like trickery to me. Telling someone that something tastes like something else seems like a not-so clever way of sneaking something into someone. If they would have said this was their interpretation of lemonade, I would have been fine. Them saying on the bottle that this "tastes like lemonade" tells me that this isn't lemonade and it's not trying to be lemonade but still tastes like it.

Does this taste like lemonade? Yes. It tastes like lemonade with those delightful little chia seeds in it. I like them. I don't know if I ever didn't but for the record, I like them. They've got a little crunch but you have to get through the smooth jelly exterior first. Although it sounds gross, I like it and if you don't actively chew the seeds, you might be able to care a little less with the fact that something you're drinking crunches.

The Stevia taste is there and I could tell right away. It's not too offensive but it's worth pointing out that this is a low calorie drink that tastes like a low calorie. An important point is that they're not trying to disguise it as not being diet. They also go on to point out what feels like a thousand times that this contains things that are good for you. Great right? Eh. It's good.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/ahhmigo/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Stevia Extract
Categories
Chunky, Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 8th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ahhmigo Brain Boost Super Greens Cleansing Energy

Ahhmigo Brain Boost Super Greens Cleansing Energy

In the deserts of the southwestern United States there roams a nameless man. He is a man with many friends who have never heard him utter a single word. To those who know of the lore he is simply known as Ahhmigo. He wanders the desert with his trusty llama and helps those who are lost. The thing is he is kind of a jerk. He drives around in a jeep all day with a llama riding shotgun, until he finds someone wandering in the sand. He then pulls up, flips open a cooler from the back and tosses the wayward soul a bottle of water and a packet of vitamins and the like. He then just points in the direction of the nearest town, and just drives off. I know he’s giving some help, but the dude has a jeep. He could easily drive the people to safety instead of just hydrating them. He becomes their friend (I guess) and offers them refreshment, but like I said, he’s kind of a jerk.

This is the closest you will come to experiencing an encounter with this leathery skinned man. It is a bottle of spring water that has a cap full of freeze dried vegetables, roots, fruits, herbs and vitamins, just like the astronauts use. It helps to keep the ingredients fresh so that you can get the most out of them. Much like a Japanese soda, you smash the top down, into the fluid below, but instead of releasing a marble, a dusting of health enters your water.

The majority of these ingredients in cap drinks use zero calorie sweeteners to help make it more palatable for your average drinker. Ahhmigo is no different in that they use stevia, but with so much other healthy stuff in here, you can’t really taste it at all.

For drinks like this I normally list all of the weird ingredients that I’ve never heard of before, but I’m sure are ridiculously good for you, but this seriously has so many that it would be the entire review. They are broken up into different categories on the ingredients list, which include algae, phytonutrients & enzymes, tonic herbal extracts & mushrooms, green juices, western herbs and natural antioxidants. I would like to mention that it has bladderwrack though. Now that’s something completely new to me.

Overall this tastes like an old style health food store smells. It’s mostly wheat grass that I taste, but there are a bunch of other flavors in there that just make it taste healthy. It’s like someone took every little think that was healthy that they could find, juiced it all together, and then watered it down a bit. There are some flakes of the powder that I couldn’t get to dissolve, no matter how long I shook it.

This is certainly a strange drink that is fitting for the strange fellow in the desert who travels with a llama. If you ever come across him, make sure you thank him, as he probably saved your life, but also give him a little guff, for not helping more.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/ahhmigo/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 18th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ahhmigo Immunity Camu Superberry

Ahhmigo Immunity Camu Superberry

Raw foods are all the rage for those interested in a healthier lifestyle. Personally it’s not for me, but I support anyone that wants to go that route. I am a creature of dietary routine, as my ladyfriend will complain, and I’m sure after a small adjustment period I would get used to that diet, but the thought hurts my head, and to be honest I just don’t care enough to do it.

As far as raw foods go I never considered that some beverages would be off the table. I never think about pasteurization as cooking a beverage, but that’s what it is. Knowing that makes eating raw even further from any reality I would want. Ahhmigo makes sure their beverages are raw though. Instead they freeze dry all of the flavor and ingredients and store them in the cap. When you’re ready to drink it, you press that sucker down and give the bottle a healthy shaking. It mixes it all up and you end up getting more nutrients out of it all. Not only is it an interesting little thing, but it’s also better for you. We have a win-win situation here.

As far as taste goes like all of the drinks in this line, this is pretty light. It’s more of flavored water than a juice (obviously). It’s taste is mainly camu, even though there are a whole mess of other ingredients in there to help ward off sickness. I could do without the stevia, even though I have a suspicion that without sweetener this would be a whole different drink. I was surprised to find that they put the stevia in the cap and not in the water. Also, even though I’ve shaken this vigorously on three separate occasions I still feel like undissolved bits of freeze dried cap matter are getting caught in my throat. The sacrifices we make for a healthier diet.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/ahhmigo/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Extract
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 |