Function Light Weight Peach Mango

Function Light Weight Peach Mango

Ugh. I have had such good experiences with the other Function flavors I've tried. When I saw a peach mango one, I was so stoked. I didn't even take into consideration that it was "Light Weight." It tastes like nothing but artificial sweetener. I get no specific peach or mango flavor. It starts off with a general fruit flavor, and quickly turns to sucralose hell. If you are an alien and love the taste of artificial sweeteners, this may be right up your alley. I will be steering clear. Unfortunately I bought another flavor of "Light Weight" that I still have to review.

Website
http://www.functiondrinks.com/
Country
United States
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Function Drink, Light Weight: Peach Mango, 16.9 Oz. / 12Pk

Dr. Pepper Throwback

Dr. Pepper Throwback

I like Dr. Pepper. It's one of the only "standard" pops that I drink. I like the flavor.

For that reason, I liked this throwback version. It didn't have any real different taste, perhaps just a little bit sweeter. It seemed to have a different bite to it. It no longer had the thickness and lastingness of corn syrup and had a more instant and quick taste.

Please, just keep using real sugar and retire your old ways.

Website
http://www.drpepper.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Cola

College Club Cola

This is a delicious, inexpensive, historic treat. Firstly, remember when we were kids and we used to drink out of reused bottles? No, not recycled, reused.

This pop is in those bottles and, in my opinion, flavored with real sugar.

It's a quick, sweet cola taste that is short lasting and is a bit reminiscent of Coke.

Love it, buy it, and bring the bottle back.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Inko's White Tea Apricot

Inko's White Tea Apricot

Inko's is now three for three. They know how to make a great tea. I like that in all their products they use exclusively white tea. It makes a nice difference from your usual black and green teas. This tastes just like all of their others (in a good way), white tea mixed with whatever fruit they are flavoring it with. It's not overly sweetened, but there is just enough to give you what you're looking for. I can't wait to try some more of these.

Website
http://inkostea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fructose Crystals
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Inkos White Tea, Tea Rtd White Apricot, 16-Fluid Ounce (12 Pack)

Aloevine Grape

Aloevine Grape

Look, I'm a fan of aloe vera drinks. I was a fan of Orbitz when that came out and this is like a more socially acceptable, adult Orbitz. This is one of the most sweet aloe drinks I've ever had, but I'm actually excited that it comes in a small container because prior to this, I've only seen them in giant 40+ ounce containers. That's fine, but it takes me days to drink, which is also fine. Typically, this stuff is cheap, too, like ~$1.50 for the small ones, and ~$3 - $4 for the "honkin'" ones.

Is grape good? Yeah, it's alright. It's, as stated, mondo sweet and very close to a concord grape. You can even think that the aloe chunks are actual bits of grape, but they're not.

All in all, try it. Kids might think it's cool because it's got "stuff" in it. Aloe is good for the skin so it's that whole "don't tell kids that it's good for them or they won't eat/drink it" garbage the media is pushing on us, which I could not disagree with more.

Website
http://www.saluttiflorida.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloevine Aloe Vera Drink Grape Flavor (1.5ltr) 12 Pack

Boylan's Cane Cola

Boylan's Cane Cola

This cola isn't really different than any other cola. Does that make it good? Possibly. I guess if you have a good thing, stick with it. For a company that has been around for over 100 years, I would say Boylans is a staple in the cola game. I might be disappointed if it did taste strange or different unless that's what they were known for.

"Strange tastes for over 100 years"

Who wants that tag line? How about something like:

"The taste you know and love, unchanged for over 100 years."

Probably better, right? This makes it hard to rate because although it's nothing different or special, it is the gold standard of cola tastes. I would go as far as saying that due to the age of this company, this would be the model of cola. Does that make it a 5? It certainly doesn't make it a 1. Is a 3 too harsh? I don't think they want me to expect anything more since it's such a classic.

I'm rating it a 4 because I give them full credit for keeping with what they believe in with the cane sugar and making a high quality cola. Glass bottles and a pry-off cap also a +1, even if I rarely have a bottle opener on me. It's classic. You could share this with your dad and grandpappy and they would say the same thing. That speaks to me, the consistency.

Website
http://www.boylanbottling.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Boylan 12 oz. Sugar Cane Cola 12pack
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Marley's Mellow Mood Citrus

Marley's Mellow Mood Citrus

Wait there are hyper hippies in the world? This is a Bob Marley "anti-energy" drink. It has valerian root, chamomile, melatonin, and various other ingredients in it to relax you, or "mellow you out." I got it because I thought it was a hysterical idea, and packaging. It turned out to be pretty darn delicious. It doesn't have any sort of chemical taste to it, like a lot of energy drinks do. The citrus doesn't just taste like lemon, lime and orange. I taste a hint of pineapple and some others in there as well. I was actually shocked that about fifteen minutes after I drank it, I definitely crashed, and just wanted to lay in a warm cozy bed. I wonder if this will become a new trend, and some terrible companies will pop up with more "city themes." They will advertise that it will help bring you down for a late night coke binge. Until now I guess it will be marketed towards the strange girls who were always in your art class in high school that talked to much about absolutely nothing.

Website
http://www.marleybeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Relaxation, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Marley's Mellow Mood Relaxation Soda, Citrus Flavor, 12-Ounce (Pack of 24)

Fuze Black and Green Tea

Fuze Black and Green Tea

How do I describe you, Fuze Black and Green Tea with Acai Berry and "these" essential vitamins? Floral? Clearly, the first thing you taste is the Acai, which has a fruity, almost flower spell and taste to it. It's not bad as much as it is...confusing.

As the days progress and I spend more time looking at beverages, the FDA is really insistent that we cram as much Acai down our gullets. Acai is two years ago's pomegranate. Remember when they couldn't leave that poor dude alone and it was in everything? Have you ever had a real pomegranate? They're wonderful. Wait, we were talking about Acai. Let's get back to work.

Do I like this...I still don't know. I personally don't care when vitamins are in my drinks. Sure, thanks, but I don't eat like an idiot so I get vitamins in my meals so I don't need people filling my otherwise healthy tea with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and experimental fruit.

Sidetracked again? What's wrong with me? Am I chronically unsatisfiable? Possibly/probably. I was stricken on day one with an analytical and skeptical mindset so I always think that things can be done better/faster/more efficient so when someone comes in and starts dumping some new foreign fruit unbeknownst to me down my throat by the 18.5 fluid ounces load, I can question it, can't it? 3. There. You want my review? Here it is:

It's a fruity, floral tasting drink with a sweet, bitter green tea aftertaste.

Website
http://www.drinkfuze.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Fuze Healthy Infusions Black & Green Tea, 18.5 oz (Pack of 24)

Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero Go Go

Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero Go Go

It's weird putting this drink into the water category because like Mike said when he reviewed the dragonfruit Vitamin Water, this is much more like juice than water.

Anyways, this is part of the Vitamin Water zero calorie line of drinks. I like these a lot better than normal Vitamin Water because they're not as heavy tasting. As far as this flavor goes, it really lives up to its name because it truly tastes like mixed berries. Usually mixed berry drinks taste more like one or two berries, but I cannot distinguish any particular kind of berries in this. It's very delicious and refreshing.

Website
http://www.glaceau.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero, Go Go, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Reed's China Cola

Reed's China Cola

This is a soda I try at least once a year because I keep hoping I'll like it more than I do. It's not a bad cola. In fact it lacks the bite that most cola's have which is nice. The aftertaste is what I'm not crazy about. The bottle says it has herbs and spices in it, and that is what is probably contributing the interesting aftertaste. It sort of reminds me of that holiday Pepsi Spice that was available a few years ago that had a nutmeg aftertaste. Although, I loved Pepsi Spice and I'm not a huge fan of China Cola.

Website
http://www.reedsinc.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Raw Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
China COLA ORIGINAL TIANFU SODA, 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
| 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 |