Trader Joe's Vintage Root Beer

Trader Joe's Vintage Root Beer

I don't know why I expected more of this root beer since it's a store brand. There's nothing wrong with it, but it's definitely mediocre as far as root beer goes. It's better than A&W since it's sweetened with cane sugar, but it's far from being as good as Virgil's or other top tier root beer's. It's drinkable, but I wouldn't go out of my way to get a bottle.

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Gus (Grown Up Soda) Dry Cola

Gus (Grown Up Soda) Dry Cola

Remember when you were a kid or a stupid adult and you used to put your mouth over a fresh two-liter bottle of pop and just inhale? That was stupid, but do you remember the taste? It was like a dry cola air. Like a cola flavored, breath subtracting air. This "dry cola" tastes like that and nothing else. Nothing. I don't know who is complaining about too much cola taste but I do understand the too much sugar, which this drink takes care of.

If you are 84 and hate a rich cola taste and an adequate amount of sugar, this is for you.

Website
http://www.drinkgus.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Gus Grown-Up Soda - Dry Cola, 12-Ounce (Pack of 8)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Heart (Raspberry Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Heart (Raspberry Tereré)

This drinks sub-flavor claims to be "a raspberry revolution blend." I don't think there is so much of a revolt of berries, but maybe a small scuffle. The raspberry and cranberry juice that are used to flavor the mate aren't overbearing, but they are present enough to make this a truly tasty tea. If you're not familiar with mate, it may be a weird iced tea experience for you, but once you get used to it, it's a nice change from your black and green teas you're used to. It has a decent amount of natural caffeine in it, and it's also a large supplier of antioxidants.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Tea Iced, Pure Heart, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Virgil's Cream Soda

Virgil's Cream Soda

Virgil's has been one of my favorite soda companies for quite some time. I don't know if it's because it's micro brewed, or the quality of the ingredients they use, but it's worthy of the "Outstanding Beverage Award" they have won several times from the National Association of the Specialty Food. This specifically is the smoothest cream soda I've ever tried. It actually tastes like real vanilla and not vanilla flavored candies. Why do so many companies think their sodas should taste like the candy of that flavor, and not the actual flavor? I really need to try other micro brewed sodas.

Website
http://www.reedsinc.com/virgils/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Carmelized Unrefined Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Virgil's Cream Soda - 4 per pack (Pack of 2)

Trader Joe's Flavored Water Spearmint

Trader Joe's Flavored Water Spearmint

I was excited to try this. Why? I enjoy minted waters. This was simply labeled "mint" which makes me default to peppermint. Why? I don't know. I was first disappointed when it was spearmint. I don't hate spearmint but I think that my mind just associates it with gum only. When was the other time you had spearmint? Yeah, I thought so. But this spearmint was lighter than the Metromint drink. I got a natural sweet aftertaste vs. the overwhelming mint taste I got from Metromimt.

Drinks like this make me wish we had a Trader Joe's in my area; even if I can't afford anything in there. Derek in the Thirsty Dudes Portland office has been reviewing a lot of Trader Joe stuff as of late so keep your eyes on that cat.

Mint water is not a substitute for brushing your teeth.

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Gassosa

College Club Gassosa

What a crisp drink. I've been finding that there are some great drinks at holes in the wall. This one, like the others, was found at Black Rock Beverages. It's such a throwback. I love it. The small, reused bottles with pry-off caps are so retro, but for them, it's the way it's always been.

This was a nice, fast, sweet drink. It's close to 7-up and Sprite, but different. My friend Matt I let try it says that he likes it and doesn't like 7-up and Sprite is impressive. Like I said, it's got a sweetness and a definite citrus flavor, but nothing you can put your finger on. According to the bottle cap, it's got citrate and lemon lime extract so there you go.

If you want something different but somewhat familiar, get this. Seriously, it's $0.30. Get two. Your girlfriend is in the car waiting for you.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cold Spring Root Beer

Cold Spring Root Beer

I saw this root beer in the store for $3.50 for a sixer. I figured for cane sugar root beer, how could I pass it up? On the way home I cracked one open, and was fairly disappointed. It tasted more like root beer barrel candy than actual root beer. The rest has been sitting in my fridge since. Today I brought one to work. Having it cold made such a difference. It became creamy and smooth, almost like cream soda minus the vanilla. I will enjoy the rest of the bottles I have, but I doubt I would purchase it again. There are just too many other better root beers out there.

Website
http://www.coldspringbrewery.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sierra Mist Diet Cranberry Splash

Sierra Mist Diet Cranberry Splash

Is this our first diet drink? I think it might be. My review? Tastes like a diet drink. Aspartame has the "too sweet" bite aftertaste to it. I typically don't drink things like this, but with any new drink, it has to be reviews. Sorry friend, but you too have to enter the gauntlet.

Sweeteners aside, it give you a good initial kick of flavor. Even though it is still, at its core, lemon and lime, you really get a cranberry taste.

Far from my least favorite diet pop, but I honestly don't have a favorite so you can take that however you would like. It tastes a lot less like poison than a lot of the other diet's I've tried in the past.

Website
http://www.sierramist.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Aspartame
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sierra Mist Cranberry Splash Soda, 12 oz Can (Pack of 24)

Trader Joe's Vintage Cola

Trader Joe's Vintage Cola

Did cola 40 years ago taste bad? Because if this is vintage cola, I'll stick with the modern recipe. This is made with can sugar, yet has the bite and aftertaste of HFCS. Usually cane sugar cola's taste much better than the normal 99 cents per 2 liter store brand stuff, but this one tastes just like them, if not worse. This is my 2nd bottle of Trader Joe's "vintage" sodas. The only one I haven't tried yet is Orange Cream, and I don't know if I want to see how bad they messed up one of the best soda flavors. I'm going to try it though for the sake of Thirsty Dudes, so check back soon to see how that goes

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Trader Joe's Pomegranate and Blueberry

Trader Joe's Pomegranate and Blueberry

First of all, please, for me, be careful with this. It might be the darkest juice I've ever drunk and I don't want you spilling it on your white Polo shirt and off white tennis skirt.

Onward to the review:
Stuff is good. It has no sugar in it but somehow only with fruit clocks in at a whopping 300 calories. Seems high but I'm not a nutritionist. This juice is filled with pomegranate, blueberry, apples, and grape juices and purees. This might actually be a healthy drink if you split it in its recommended serving size of half the bottle.

It's not bitter and it's not gritty like you might think a partially pureed and pomegranate drink would be. Maybe a little tart but who doesn't like that tight cheek feeling?

Get it. You will like it.

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 |