Alo Coco Exposed Passion Fruit + Pineapple

Alo Coco Exposed Passion Fruit + Pineapple

So far we have not had good luck with the Coco Exposed line. I have to blame the coconut for our disinterest. Alo makes incredible aloe drinks, and this line is basically those same drinks with coconut water added to them. The only difference I can see is that dumb coconut water. I’ve come around to coconut water for the most part. I don’t mind the chalkiness and it can be extremely refreshing. There is something different with the coconut water in here though. In another review Mike described it as tasting like the powder left over in the bottom of the box when you run out of Cheerios. I don’t think he’s wrong about that. It has that same wheaty/grainy aftertaste. It’s strange as the other coconut waters I’ve drunk did not have that flavor. In reality it could be because this drink has no sugar added to it.

I was hoping this flavor would be better than the others because it’s passion fruit and pineapple flavored; two of my favorites. Unfortunately the non-coconut flavor in here just tastes like a vaguely fruity aloe drink. Neither the passion fruit nor the pineapple stands out in any way. It’s a shame, but at least I was able to get through this whole bottle without being completely disgusted. That’s further than we got with the other flavors.

Website
http://www.alodrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky, Coconut
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 5th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Alo Coco Exposed Passion Fruit + Pineapple Drink, 11.8-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Alo Escape Pineapple + Guava + Seabuckthorn Berry

Alo Escape Pineapple + Guava + Seabuckthorn Berry

I pose to you a question: When Kurt Russell was escaping from New York, and later L.A. would he have had an easier time if this drink were on hand? Would it have given him the refreshment he needed in such dire situations? Would he have just been able to trade a bottle of this for the president? I can only imagine that pineapples and guavas would be like gold on a prison island. If you lived in an area that was cut off from the world for years and suddenly someone dangled those fruits in front of you, I think you would be surprised as to what you would do to procure it. The joke would be on you though if you traded something as precious at the president for a bottle of this. You see there are four main ingredients in this bottle: aloe vera, pineapple and guava (which are all incredibly delicious), but then you also have sea buckthorn berry. I’ve never actually had one before, or heard of it until now, but a quick internet search tells me they are extremely healthy an also extremely tart. My question is if they are so tart why does this drink taste like someone took a delicious tropical aloe drink and mixed in a little bit of vegetable soup? There is just this little flavor of soup that makes this whole thing really, really weird. It counters the tropical flavor, and once you realize what the taste reminds you of it’s hard to concentrate on any of the other flavors. It's still enjoyable, but it's just a weird drink. Snake Plissken sure pulled a fast one on those cons. Now he just needs to get the president back to his glider.

Oh yeah, in case you didn’t already realize it this drink also has chunks of aloe in it. I normally love them, but they kind of add to the vegetable soup scenario in here.

Website
http://www.alodrink.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 24th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Alo Comfort Watermelon + Peach

Alo Comfort Watermelon + Peach

Hello, my name is Jason and I am an addict. I spent years of my life chasing the dragon, trying to grasp the unbeatable fix. I went from sketchy place to sketchy place looking for the best that the world could offer. I knew I had reached a low point when I found myself eating plants to get a fix. I was literally poisoning myself, and for what a taste of the good life. I realize now that I could never find a high sweet enough, or a chunk big enough. You see I am addicted to aloe drinks. I have kicked the habit, but I know that I will always be an addict. Actually that’s not true…I had kicked the habit, but I’m ashamed to admit that I have had a relapse. I just couldn’t help myself. When a company like Alo released a drink that is watermelon and peach flavored, I feel like I have no choice but to submit to my urges. I mean it’s made with real juice for crying out loud.

I am shamed, and going back to the ‘lo wasn’t even as sweet as I wanted it to be. I was a fool. I knew watermelon drinks tended to end up tasting like Jolly Ranchers, but the use of real fruit gave me hope. In a cruel twist of fate, I was correct that it did taste like watermelon, but I had forgotten how light and nearly unflavored the juice that comes from a watermelon could be. This tastes like the great seeded fruit, but it was so darn light. Peaches are a much stronger fruit, but for some reason in this it was light as well. In some sips it came out stronger than others, but ultimately I must admit this was a very light drink. That can be fine and actually preferably in some beverages, but when it comes to aloe one wants bold flavors.

As far as chunks go, they are not as plentiful in Alo drinks as with other companies, but when you do get them, they are much larger than normal. It’s a trade off you must make sure you are okay with. At my moment of weakness I would have accepted any chunks the Alo gods offered up.

I was weak, and my confidence was shattered. I came here to this group in search of help and strength. I hope that you fine people will allow me to lean on you as you fight your own demons. Wait…what do you mean this has nothing to do with aloe? This is AA, right? Aloholics Anonymous? Oh…well it looks like I’m in the wrong place. Thank you for your time anyway.

Website
http://www.alodrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 14th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Alo - Bev Aloe Comfort Wtrmln P 16.9 FO (Pack Of 12)

Aloe Gloe Crisp Aloe

Aloe Gloe Crisp Aloe

Children of the 80’s rejoice! We have discovered the source of the Glo Worm glow. It was not batteries and light bulbs like we always suspected. In reality the glow from those weird toys was mass quantities of aloe juice concentrated down. Seriously though, what was with those toys? They were stuffed animals that had hard bulky insides, so they weren’t cuddly at all. In addition to that they were dolls based on creepy insects that glow. I would water that 95% of all of the children who owned a Glow Worm would have been super grossed out had they come in contact with the real thing.

Aloe Gloe is an organic aloe vera based beverage that aims to help with digestion, the immune system and skin health. It is unlike most other aloe drinks I’ve tried before because it is not overly sweet (a mixture of cane sugar and stevia leaves it at 4g of sugar), and it does not have any chunks in it. It’s a whole different world from the sugary treats I normally associate with the plant. Since it’s going for a healthier approach that makes a lot of sense. The white grape flavor that I have come to associate with aloe is barely there, and everything tastes a bit watered down. It is a called “Organic Aloe Water” so that makes perfect sense.

This is an aloe drink for the grown ups who actually take their health into consideration when they eat and drink. I with that either the aloe flavor was a bit stronger, or that the stevia flavor was a bit weaker. Either would improve this beverage in my eyes.

Website
http://www.aloegloe.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Diet
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 18th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
ALOE GLOE Natural Aloe Water, Crisp Aloe( Original ) Pulp Free, 15.2-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Aloe Very Green Tea

Aloe Very Green Tea

If there are two beverages that I truly enjoy in this world it would be green tea and aloe juice. I drink at least a half-gallon of unsweetened green tea daily and back before I was watching my sugar intake so much I used to down those giant 50oz bottles of aloe all the time. The thought of that now makes me feel disgusted with myself, but man are they tasty.

This product combines those two wonderful beverages with low calories and low sugar. While that sounds great on paper, I think the lack of sugar/use of stevia takes away from the allure of the aloe. The way it is I don’t like it aloe very much. See what I did there? Terrible joke. The aloe flavor that I love is nowhere to be found. I’m guessing it’s obscene amounts of sugar that give it the wonderful white grapeish flavor. In addition to that the tea flavor is not very strong.

I’ve told you what this drink is lacking and now I’ll tell you what it delivers. What I get when I take a sip is a watered down green tea that has been mixed with not-very-sweet aloe that gives it a taste that makes me think of a cleaner. All of that is sweetened with a mixture of cane sugar and stevia with a hint of honey thrown in for good measure. Doesn’t sound very good, does it? Luckily it does deliver a nice smattering of vitamins and it is also very refreshing. I can only imagine drinking this on a hot summer day would quench your thirst quite nicely. Make sure you’re prepared for a flavor that isn’t terrible, but also one that doesn’t live up to it’s potential.

Website
http://aloeverydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 27th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloe Very Green Tea - Organic Aloe Vera Juice (Pack of 12)

Aloe Very Original

Aloe Very Original

"It probably tastes like grapes." I say. "That's what it usually tastes like." I follow up. My friend Dan took this out of the fridge. I told him whatever he picks he has to take the first sip to which he agreed. He took a sip and oh, the disgust on his face. It worried me because we're usually on par when it comes to drinks. I took my own sip and man was he right. This sucks.

So let's draw a picture here as to why I came up with that blanket description. For one, it tastes medicinal. It tastes like something you would rub on a burn you got from making Jiffy Pop and trying your best, but failing, because you put your hand close to the heat. The chunks are in there but the flavor...ugh. It's a mix between plastic and rotten grapes. It's sour and bitter but it tastes as if they made it there by accident and it's not intentional.

This drink, much like that tattoo you have of a Creed lyric, is a mistake.

Website
http://aloeverydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 14th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Aloe Very Lemonade

Aloe Very Lemonade

Talk about gross. Look, I like lemonade as much as the next guy. I like aloe drinks more than the next guy. This marriage will most certainly end in divorce because it is like an oil and water mix. It's sour but it's a bitter, undesirable sour. What's good about this? It can't be all bad.

You can taste each of the flavors. If you could somehow separate the liquid in your mouth to one side aloe and one side lemonade, you would be satisfied. Touch them together and it's a chemical reaction that could melt a house. I don't know how that's so. Maybe it's the smooth and sweetness of aloe and the bitter sourness of lemonade just compiling in to a "too many flavors" in your mouth. Whatever's happening, the fish in the Niagara River are going to have to enjoy the rest of this because I quit.

Website
http://aloeverydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky, Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 8th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloe Very Lemonade - Organic Aloe Vera Juice (Pack of 12)

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Mixed Fruit

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Mixed Fruit

I often wonder what one would want to "detoxify" themselves of. Obviously if you smoked a pound, or kilogram to our metric brethren, of week, you might want to get that out of your system. It’s the same with any sort of drug. Aside from that, you can't really "detoxify" yourself of a giant hamburger that you shouldn't have eaten but the menu said that it had chipotle in it and that is your weakness. Water, I feel, would probably be the best detox drink because it doesn't leave anything behind. No sugar. No carbs. I think I've heard that cranberry juice is a good cleanser, but once again, what are you doing that you need to be cleansed?

I kind of expected this to be lighter than a typical aloe drink, you know, because it's called "Aloe Water". I thought that it might be in the beginning, but after you take a couple sips, you're right there with the rest of them. One thing that I did notice is that the "chunk count" is less in this than in many of the other aloe drinks I've had. That's never good. If I'm buying a drink, knowingly with chunks in it, I never want to chance that I will take a sip and not have anything to chew on. Taste? It tastes good. It's fruity but you still get a pretty good aloe taste to it. Think of a very light fruit punch mixed with an "original" flavored aloe. There is honey in the ingredients but I can't really pinpoint it in the drink itself.

If I ran this company, which also makes Coco Water, I would drop the tagline of "Natural Detox Drink" because it makes me feel dirty every time I read it. I would say something like "100% All Natural" or "All Natural Aloe" or "Naturally Sweetened". Why make something out of nothing. I have drunk my share of aloe drinks and I've never heard it be considered detoxifying.

Also, don't smoke a pound of weed. Go outside and play.

Website
http://naturalaloewater.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 21st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Pineapple

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Pineapple

It's a rough place to be, out on the hard streets of Aloeville. People were getting hooked on the heavy stuff left and right. Personally I've seen more than a handful of friends fall victim of its sweet siren song. It seemed that everyone was out to get the sweetest stuff they could find, and the bigger the chunks the better. More and more dealers were popping up everywhere. It was getting to a point where you couldn't be on a street corner without someone trying to push it on you.

That's when Aloe Water came onto the scene. They came up with this crazy idea that this city needed to be shaken awake. They thought the aloe world had become too complacent, and it was time for a change. They started producing a light aloe drink that wouldn't kill you so fast, to help clean up the dirty streets of this run down town. They went for the smallest chunks they could find. We're talking orange juice pulp small here. They also wanted more of a hint of flavor, rather than the way companies of old would bash it over your head. Sometimes they put a nice light pineapple. It wasn't harsh at all, just like they soaked chunks of pineapple in their aloe juice and then strained it out.

Before long things started to look brighter. Diabetes counts went down. People seemed happier. A new era began.

Website
http://naturalaloewater.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 5th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloe Vera Juice -Pineapple, 100% Natural, 16 Oz

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Cherry

Aloe Water Natural Detox Drink Aloe Vera Juice + Cherry

It’s a well-known fact that all of us at Thirsty Dudes love aloe drinks. Personally, whenever I get a new aloe drink to review it usually gets bumped to the front of the queue. Is that wrong of me? Honestly, with all the soda and energy drinks I consume, it’s nice to get a refreshing drink from time to time. Do you blame me?

As you can guess by the name, Aloe Water, this is a “thinner” aloe drink. It basically tastes like cherry flavored vitamin water with little aloe chunks in it. I usually prefer more chunks in an aloe drink, but it makes sense they might want to keep the chunk count down on this line. It’s kind of weird to drink because I want to take big gulps due to the water-like consistency. After the first swallow my body gets scared because of the little aloe chunks rushing down my throat. I know it’s next to impossible to choke on an aloe chunk, but my body doesn’t know that. So I end up sipping it slower than I’d like to.

This would probably be good for someone who wants to try an aloe drink but doesn't want too many chunks. It’s a beginner level aloe drink if you will. Just because I'm in the expert levels now, doesn't mean I can't enjoy this though.

Website
http://naturalaloewater.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 28th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloe Vera Juice - Cherry, 100% Natural, 16 Oz
| 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 |