Wild Poppy Blood Orange Chili

Wild Poppy Blood Orange Chili

Oh how I wanted this to burn. "Chili?" Yeah, there are chilis in it but it didn't deliver the punishment I so desperately wanted. I guess if someone told me this is a gateway between juice and Prometheus Springs, I would be more lenient but they didn't and when I read "chili," I was ready to accept the punishment.

Disappointment aside, I will not fault them for it. I cannot blame them for my ignorance. There is some spicy kick in there and you get it with every sip. The blood orange is fruity and the chili is a nice, sharp aftertaste that keeps you coming for more. It's a very small bottle but there is no doubt that if this came in a larger size; I would enjoy all of that, too. This is a nice drink through and through and will not disappoint anyone now that I've prepared you for what to expect.

Website
http://www.wildpoppyjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 31st, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Wild Poppy Organic Blood Orange Chili Juice, 10 Fluid Ounce -- 12 per case.

Wild Harvest Coconut Water Chocolate

Wild Harvest Coconut Water Chocolate

Remember when you were young and you would make chocolate milk from the Hershey powder that came in a tin. No matter how much you mixed it in that powder would never fully dissolve in the milk and it always seemed like it was chocolate and milk and not a complete cohesion of the two? Well this is the coconut water version of that. I’ve had chocolate coconut water that tasted like it could have come right off the tree in that form, but this tastes like two separate thing that just happened to get put in the same can. Lucky for us they are two enjoyable things and they don’t ruin each other at all. I enjoyed this, but it feels like they rushed to get it to market and didn’t make it as good as it could have been.

Website
http://www.mywildharvest.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Coconut
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 29th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wild Bill's Buck'n Birch Beer

Wild Bill's Buck'n Birch Beer

One thing I miss about living in Buffalo, NY is the abundance of birch beer. I even had a keg of birch beer at my high school graduation party. I cannot find a bottle of birch beer anywhere here in Portland. There's plenty of root beer, but no birch beer. Which is why I was excited when I got this bottle in the mail as it's been quite some time since I've tasted the sweetness of a bottle of birch beer.

This bottle goes down real smooth. It has a really nice vanilla taste to it. I really like how Wild Bill's uses real sugar, because I don't get that heavy taste that some birch beers give you. I'm excited to try all the other soda's Wild Bill's has to offer.

This was another bottle I got from Anthony of Rootbeerbarrel.com, hence the green stuff on the bottle.

Website
http://www.wildbillssoda.com/index.aspx
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 4th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Black Currant

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Black Currant

When I first saw this I made a joke about it being from Massachusetts, specifically Boston. Anything with the word “wicked” in the title has to be from there, right? Guess what? IT IS! I didn’t really think was going to be. I mean people joke about people from that region saying everything is wicked this or wicked that, but I had no idea that the denizens of MA actually embraced the stereotype. That is better than my joke could ever be. I also just discovered from the company’s website that lekker is the Afrikaans word for awesome. That’s right, this companies name translates to “Wicked Awesome.” Somewhere Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are very proud.

As much as I would like to, and will, laugh about this company’s name, they are right. This tea is pretty great. Due to it being a rooibos tea it is a different beast than the iced teas you are used to. It’s slightly nutty and a little fruity. It’s definitely a nice path to take from time to time as a respite from your normal iced teas. You can really taste the honey in here as well. Most importantly, at least to me, is that the black currant isn’t overpowering. You can taste it, but it adds to the flavor rather than taking over the whole show.

Wicked Lekker, your name is ridiculous and I love it. I also love your teas. I hope the fact that I found it at a discount store means that you are just redoing your labels and not that your company is in trouble. I want to see more of you.

Website
http://wickedlekker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 22nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Meyer Lemon

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Meyer Lemon

These New England folks have done it again. They have made a tea that should have been completely average something that I truly enjoyed. When you think of a lemon tea your mind tends to wander to the mundane. Apparently the secret to success with that is to throw that black tea out the window and embrace rooibos aka red tea. It has a somewhat earthy taste with a hint of vanilla. What drink doesn’t vanilla improve? I’ll wait while you try to figure that out.

I am not a fan of lemon normally. I find it boring and unless it is in exceptional lemonade I tend to think most drinks would be better off with it omitted. The Meyer lemon in here is something different though. It definitely enhances the flavor by blending in with the tea in a way that normally doesn’t happen. I expected so little from this tea and I was given so much in return. To quote the Pet Shop Boys, “What have I done to deserve this?”

Website
http://wickedlekker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 1st, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea White Peach

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea White Peach

This is the last of the three Wicked Lekker teas that are currently available and if they are nothing they are a consistent company. They are actually more than just consistent though. They are a company that makes great tasting teas that I could sip day after day and not get sick of them.

I love peaches, but I am wary of peach flavored things because they have a tendency to taste candied and that is something I’m just not looking for. After my first taste of Wikked Lekker’s black currant I was pretty sure they were going to do right by peach and I was not disappointed. It actually tastes like fruit and the use of white tea is always the wise choice. It has a softer taste that sits a little in the background and gives the rest of the drink a little time to make your acquaintance. After the rooibos tea says “what’s up and stuff” to your taste buds the white peach slips in to make sure that everyone is getting along well, and trust me it’s a love fest in there and my mouth wants to host that party for a long time to come.

Website
http://wickedlekker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 4th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Whynatte Latte

Whynatte Latte

Children, as lovable as they are, can be some of the most annoying creatures to ever crawl across this planet. To begin with, as soon as you pop one out you have given up most of your personal freedoms for at least 15 or so years. The nights out that you took for granted when you were younger are a thing of the past, unless you want to shell out some cash for a babysitter, which in my social circle is rare. On top of that are the messes and constant fear that they will do something dumb and badly hurt themselves. Even beyond all of that is the never ending curiosity. I’m all for learning and growth, but when kids get to the age where they respond to every explanation with, “Why?” I was to punt them off of a bridge. If you were to feed those same curious little ones a bunch of coffee and their questioning became somehow even more frequent, I can assure you that would start asking you, “Whynatte?” Then even the most loving parent would be drop kicking their children into ravines all over the US.

The thing is that if children were to like coffee, this would probably be what they would enjoy the most. It’s milky and even though there are only 9g of sugar in it, it’s pretty sweet (without being a cavity factory) due to the combination of sugar and sucralose. It still has a coffee flavor in it, but in the way that coffee iced cream does. It’s become a treat instead of just a way to kick start your morning. To be honest I’m right there with the kids. If I were to drink coffee this is the kind of thing I would want. The unsweetened, black stuff is just not for me. This transforms that flavor into something that I find enjoyable, but it doesn’t taste cheap like a lot of canned coffee.

I still don’t advise giving into the constant Whynattes. Those rug rats really don’t need this coffee, and neither does your sanity.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 12th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Whooppee Citrus Smash

Whooppee Citrus Smash

Nice to meet you, my name is Warren Phillips. I'm a businessman on the go, by trade. Where am I going? Oh you know, here and there doing business type things. What things? Mergers, acquisitions, layoffs, buyouts, the occasional deer wrestling, you know the usual. As long as I have my trusty hat and briefcase I'll make it through this world just fine.

Why yes my brief case is very heavy. Thank you for noticing the sag. The reason is that along with all of my contracts and other paperwork I also have several bottles of Whooppee Citrus Smash soda in there. I do get mighty parched running to and fro all of the time, and it is important for a businessman on the go to stay hydrated. A colleague of mine, Stan Levy, didn't subscribe to that train of thought and that is what led to the Boncroft-Fairfax merger going down the toity. Ever since then I always have at least two bottles of soda in my brief case.

I'm not an idiot. I know that water would be more hydrating and better for me over all. The thing is that I really like the bubbles and carbonated water just tastes wrong. I went to the soda store down on Lexington and I must say they have quite the selection. This bottle instantly jumped out at me. I mean it looks like a caricature of me on the bottle. The little guy has the hat and everything. I now down this stuff daily. Sure I've had to let out all my suits in the waist, but it's worth it. You see not only does it look like I'm on the bottle, which makes me seem more important with my clients, but it also tastes fantastic. It's an orange and lime soda, which you don't see very often. It's also fairly light tasting. Most orange sodas are very thick and heavy, but not this one. Which is perfect for me Warren Phillips, businessman on the go. Speaking of which, I need to be at the Wang Kong exchange like right now! I'm off!

Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 9th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

White Rose Root Beer

White Rose Root Beer

Sometimes putting a product in nicer packaging is just not enough. Giving a terrible record a really great looking album cover may be aesthetically pleasing, but it isn’t going to help the music suck any less. Now there is nothing inherently bad about this root beer. It’s perfectly average, and tastes like a store brand that you would find in a big plastic 2lt bottle. Sure it’s sweetened with cane sugar, but that can only take it so far. I appreciate that they put forth the effort to have this in a glass bottle and use a clean, classic, simple look to the label, but again that doesn’t make the contents taste like anything special. I would happily drink this if it was served to me, but I just wouldn’t go out of my way to purchase some myself.

I read some other people’s reviews of this soda, and it seems that they had a very different experience than I did and said that it was an unusual root beer because it had a fruity taste to it. I simply did not get that at all, so maybe I will get another bottle of this after all and see if I notice a difference.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 11th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

White Rock Ginger Ale

White Rock Ginger Ale

Sometimes you find yourself on tour with a bunch of your friends. You (they) play a bunch of shows and it's fun and awesome and everyone has a good time. Sometimes you don't have as place to stay at the end of the night and that is a bummer. Sometimes while you're standing around trying to figure out what you're going to do you get a call that friends are playing a show down the street, so you go to check it out. Sometimes you wind up on Lagwagon's tour bus at two in the morning. Sometimes you get handed a drink and you would normally turn it down because you don't drink, but then you look at it and you realize it's a ginger ale that you haven't reviewed on your dumb drink review website.

It was a fun night, and even though I don't particularly care about the band, everyone who was around was really nice and we had a good time. The ginger ale was fairly standard. It tasted like pretty much every no name ginger ale out there. If you've had a ginger ale in a restaurant or at a family party you know what this tastes like. The can is graphically appealing though. It's got a nice logo and a pleasant color scheme.

Website
http://whiterockbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 22nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 |