Honest Tea Cinnamon Sunrise Herbal Tea

Honest Tea Cinnamon Sunrise Herbal Tea

This looked like a dream. I wasn’t even thirsty when I saw it in Whole Foods, but I had a Pavlovian response and there was no choice but for me to purchase it and try it immediately. Cinnamon iced tea with ginger in it sounded like exactly what I didn’t know I was looking for. When I picked it up I could see the cinnamon swirling around in the tea and the mouthwatering increased. There was one thing that I didn’t take into account though, and that is that cinnamon, and ginger to an extent, don’t have the same effect without a little bit of sweetener added to them. This tastes like someone made some rooibos tea and while it was brewing through in some ground up cinnamon and ginger root. In fact that is exactly what happened and what it is. As anyone who has ever been dumb enough to take the cinnamon challenge can tell you, cinnamon has a drying effect. The way it’s in the tea does make it feel oddly dry, and the ginger only shows p around the edges. I drink about a gallon of unsweetened tea a day, because I have no self-control, and I love the stuff. I’m at a point in my life now where sweetened tea tasted wrong a lot of the time. In this instance I think the tea could have benefited from just a touch of sugar, may be 10g in the entire bottle. It would have combated that dryness and pushed the cinnamon flavor forward a bit more. Again, this is just me searching for an ideal. As it is this tea is wonderful and I could happily drink a ton of it. Is a liquid ton a real thing?

Website
http://www.honesttea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper 1 month ago
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Teas' Tea Organic Lightly Sweet Peach Ginger Black Tea

Teas' Tea Organic Lightly Sweet Peach Ginger Black Tea

I know I can be a stickler, but I really would prefer if companies named their products in the order of the prominent flavors. For example, this is labeled peach ginger, but in my mind it should be ginger peach. That’s correct, for the first time ever a beverage has peach in it and it is not the flavor that is smacking you a good one, right in the kisser. In fact both flavors in here are fairly tame, but of the two, ginger is what I am getting the most of. They are not kidding when they say this is lightly sweet. Even though it’s 20g of sugar, it tastes on the border of being unsweetened, which is where I like my iced tea to reside. So it’s a black tea with a tad bit of sugar in it that tastes like it was steeped with a bunch of ginger in it (not enough to give it a burn, but enough for the flavor to be there) and then a single slice of peach was allowed to soak in it while it cooled down. I know I was complaining earlier, but this really is a nice tea, and I apparently just like to complain about something in every situation. I need help.

Website
http://teastea.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 11th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hobbi Basil Seed Drink with Passion Fruit

Hobbi Basil Seed Drink with Passion Fruit

To quote my ladyfriend, “Well, this is just delightful.” It is the lightest flavored passion fruit beverage I have ever had. It still has plenty of flavor too it, but this particular flavor normally punched you right in your taste buds. Hobbi just gives you a little “how you doing?” caress. It’s more in the aftertaste than in the sip. The basil seeds are nice and slippery and give the drink an interesting texture. If you drink this like a normal human they just slide right down your throat and are easily forgotten. If you want to be a child, like myself, you can strain them through your teeth and play with them for a bit to give the beverage a little bit of a fun edge.

Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 8th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Pumpkin Spice

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Pumpkin Spice

For camping in this chilly autumn weather I really wanted a bottle of Reed's Spiced Apple Brew to sip while I sat at a fire. There is something wonderful about sipping some spiced sparkling apple juice while fire consumes everything it touches in a controlled setting while chatting with some good friends. At the store I discovered that they no longer seemed to stock that particular product (I am more than slightly concerned that it has been discontinued and I need to do some research). While I didn't find what I was looking for I did find this bottle which appeared to be similar, but with pumpkin added to the mix.

So I sat at my campsite and threw a rouge pumpkin I found on the fire and cracked this bottle open. As the fire distorted the face carved into the gourd I sipped on a glass of this sweet treat. It turns out it is very similar to what is one of my favorite drinks that I was bummed I couldn't find. The pumpkin isn't too overpowering and I'd have to say that it is mostly a sparkling apple drink. It is fairly sweet tasting. I could only drink a smallish glass (which is what a human should drink, we don't need to be the gluttons we tend to be). It was very enjoyable for that glass, but I can't imagine drinking more than that in a sitting (or even over an extended period of time). It's good that it's a seasonal product. I hope to enjoy it again next year.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 8th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Moonshine Sweet Tea Sweet Peach

Moonshine Sweet Tea Sweet Peach

I always wonder why there are drink companies who play off of the while moonshine imagery. There are a few soda companies that have done it and now we have a tea company that has named itself after strong bootleg booze. Are they aiming to tap into a market of children and teenagers who want to pretend they are drinking booze (even though it's the furthest thing from it)? I mean when I was a dumb kid I used to drink the sparkling Mystic drinks when they were in the slim bottles and pretend they were wine coolers. Well, I guess I just proved to myself that that market exists, even though I was making fun of it. I still don't know if that's their intended reason for the name, but I'll go with it.

In other news this tastes like sweet tea with some peaches in it. Big shock there. The sweet tea overpowers the additional flavoring, just like a good sweet tea should. Unfortunately there is also a little bit of plastic taste in here too. I don't know where that came from, but it's unfortunate. Does the south love plastic and I just don't know?

Website
http://https://moonshinesweettea.com/
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 2nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

X2 Performance All Natural Energy Raspberry

X2 Performance All Natural Energy Raspberry

Do you like teas the taste vaguely, and lightly, like raspberry? Do you want the same amount of energy you would get from drinking almost any old iced tea, but only have to drink half the quantity? If you fall into this category you are someone who lives a very specific life and good news, this tea is for you!

I really have nothing bad about this. Nor do I have anything really great to say about it either. See my complaints in my other reviews of their products for non-taste related things. Flavorwise it's pretty unremarkable, but again there is nothing bad about it. It's just there and sometimes that is what a drink needs to be.

Website
http://www.x2performance.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 2nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Polar Seltzer Ginger Lime Mule

Polar Seltzer Ginger Lime Mule

Look at being preemptive and getting their winter flavors out before the snow has even begun to fall. Hell, I’m still reviewing summer flavors and they are two seasons ahead.

When I heard this was an upcoming flavor I was beyond excited. Lime is the basis for most of the seltzer I drink and ginger is my weakness. I would probably purchase any beverage that had ginger in the flavor name. This, unfortunately, leaves something to be desired. The lime is right where I want it to be, but the ginger simply isn’t strong enough and tastes more like ginger flavoring than the actual root. Ginger is a flavor that is meant to be bold and in your face (as well as burning your throat). This is just not that. It’s still good, and I would buy it from time to time, but it is by no means a new favorite. I suppose it’s good that it’s seasonal. Maybe I will grow to miss it by next winter’s release.

Website
http://www.polarbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Ginger, Sparkling, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 30th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Matchabar Hint of Honey Matcha

Matchabar Hint of Honey Matcha

This tastes like you took a heaping spoonful of matcha powder and mixed it into a glass of water and then added a tad of honey (almost a negligible amount). It definitely tastes strongly of matcha, but it almost feels powdery still, like you made yourself a protein shake and didn't shake up your little bottle enough. You're quite the exercise fanatic aren't you? You’re not like me who uses their matcha powder to mix in with vanilla ice cream. We are opposites you and I. PS. I totally shook the hell out of this and it didn't make a difference.

Website
http://https://matchabarnyc.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Honey
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 28th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tickle Water Cola

Tickle Water Cola

Have you ever gone to a fast food restaurant and asked for a glass of water with your meal and they just give you a cup to fill up with water at the fountain machine using the honor system that you won’t actually get soda? Obviously when you are younger the honor system is out the window and you fill that cup to the brim with syrupy, carbonated goodness, but as an adult I actually really just want water. Sometimes when you push the button for the water there is a little residual soda left in the nozzle and you end up getting a very light soda flavor (it always seems to be root beer) added to your water. That is exactly what this tastes like. It’s as if someone poured a glass of sparkling water and then added a splash of cola to it. I feel like to some the lightness of a flavor that is normally so strong could be off-putting, but I enjoyed it a great deal. I love a good cola, but rarely want to deal with all the sugar that comes along with it(and diet cola has never been good, don’t trust anyone who says otherwise).

This is a light sparkling treat that hints at a cola taste. Sure it tastes like watered down Coke, but it’s so watered down that it doesn’t taste gross and wrong. It taste refreshing and like something they would feed you at a spa, or so I would assume because I don’t live that lifestyle. It’s marketed for kids, but I don’t think it has a strong enough flavor for most children I know. I do think it would be advantageous in helping adults I know who should kick their soda habits.

Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 24th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Odwalla Almond Milk Shake Snickerdoodle

Odwalla Almond Milk Shake Snickerdoodle

You call it snickerdoodle. I call it horchata. This is tastes more like the traditional beverage than it does a fancy cookie I would spend far too much money on in a coffee shop in the late 90s. The difference s is that Instead of rice it's made from almonds and pea protein. It's a tad sweeter than I wanted, but it is flavorful. It goes beyond the "this tastes like the milk left over after I ate cereal" I into more of its own thing. It's vanilla. It's cinnamon. It's almonds. It’s quite tasty.

Website
http://www.odwalla.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Milkshake
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 24th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |