Mountain Dew Holiday Brew

Mountain Dew Holiday Brew

The time is 9:03 AM. A half hour ago I drank Mountain Dew. If someone wants to drive me to an insane institution, I will happy enter myself into the system for a solid week. I could use it. This, friends, is a dumb product. It's Code Red with a "holiday blend." This tastes like a weaker Code Red. Maybe with more citrus. Nothing specifically "holiday" or "festive" about it, though. No cinnamon or nutmeg or bits of leaves or anything reminiscent of any sort of holiday flavors. What is the point of this? At least Pepsi Christmas or Holiday or Festive or whatever that is called has some sort of "holiday spice" to it. This is basically just Code Red "watered down" with 7-Up or something. Dumb. Way to go, America. You've been poisoned again by Mountain (Mitten) Dew.

Website
http://www.mountaindew.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 5th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

La Croix Sparkling Water Tangerine

La Croix Sparkling Water Tangerine

What I have been drinking is possibly the least flavorful La Croix flavor. It stands tall with most other seltzer companies, but it doesn't have the strong flavor punch one comes to expect from this company. I had anticipated more from tangerine as it's a naturally strong flavor, but it just kind of hangs there like a sitcom will they won’t they relationship.

Website
http://www.lacroixwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 25th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Classic Cafe Espresso Vanilla

Classic Cafe Espresso Vanilla

If you are looking for a strong coffee drink, you might want to pass this one by. Since this boasts that it is made with two different types of coffee beans and is an espresso, there was no doubt in my mind that this was going to be coffee heavy. As it turns out it’s more of a latte than any latte I have ever drunk. It tastes like someone maybe half a shot of coffee into a big glass of vanilla milk. I guess when a product ends up going from Aldi to Big Lots you probably shouldn’t expect much from it. It gets a little less enticing with each sip as well. That could just be my distaste of milk though coloring my opinion. The can says it’s rich and creamy. I guess being half right isn’t all that bad.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 24th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sapp Birch Water Rosehip

Sapp Birch Water Rosehip

Sap. I am drinking sap. It’s not even sap from a maple tree. It’s birch sap. I’m guessing drinking sap is something the majority of people in the United States would never imagine themselves doing, but it’s a thing and it is apparently very popular in Scandinavia. When I was there I didn’t see anyone drinking sap, but then again I wasn’t looking for it. Here I am though sipping away at sap and it’s not all that bad. It is very different tasting than maple, because you know different trees different tastes. It is somehow not syrupy, nor is it very sweet. Actually it pretty much has the consistency of water, which was unexpected. It is very refreshing and hydrating. I don’t really know how to describe the flavor. I believe it is its own thing that has no real comparison. I can taste a light rosehips in here though. This is nothing what I expected, but it is a good thing. Give it a try and attempt to describe the flavor yourself.

Website
http://www.sapplife.co/
Country
Ukraine
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Other/Weird, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 21st, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Cultivo Organic Cold Brew Coffee Chocolate Milk

Cultivo Organic Cold Brew Coffee Chocolate Milk

Yep. Here's another great one. When I drink coffee, it's cold and has chocolate in it. This checks all those boxes. It's pretty smooth because it's got half and half in there, too. I typically wouldn't put cream in my coffee but let me tell you this, if someone served this to me as-is while I was lying scantily clad on the lido deck of a cruise ship, I would say, thank you, and tip him an appropriate amount of money. I'm no monster. A tip is not a tip unless it meets the criteria of "enough." Having never worked in a tip-reliant industry unless you count playing in a band that is willing to but doesn't receive tips, I don't know what it's like to get a bad, good or great tip.

Here's a tip (segue) buy yourself some of this. It's smooth and still has a great coffee flavor even with the cream and chocolate. Be a little childish. You like coffee like you like your men? I don't know how to get out of this. I'm in a corner now. I'll stay here for a while. At least I have this coff...and it's gone.

Website
http://cultivo.coffee
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 20th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cultivo Organic Cold Brew Coffee Half and Half

Cultivo Organic Cold Brew Coffee Half and Half

I’ve spent 38 years of my life thinking that I didn’t really like coffee. I didn’t hate it and I would drink it from time to time when I needed some caffeine. Hell, my high school years were spent sitting in diners for hours just downing overly sweetened and creamed endless cups of it, just because that was what my friends did back then. I had to add so much to it to make it so I could continue to drink it. It’s a miracle that I’m not insanely over weight. In the past couple of years I’ve realized that coffee isn’t all that bad if you’re drinking the right stuff. There are some great blends/roasts out there that can be downright tasty, but mostly I’m talking about cold brew. There is something special about cold brew that cuts the acidity and just makes it such a smooth drink. Also, coffee is so much better cold that hot to my taste buds.

While the carton here describes the true meaning of the name Cultivo, I will pretend that it is referring to the cult of coffee drinkers. You know the people out there who absolutely need their coffee to function, and for some I’m not even sure it’s due to the caffeine. People love coffee, and I think this product is here to indoctrinate new people into the cult by giving them smooth, delicious coffee to ease them in. This is exactly what the beverage is. It’s high quality coffee that is nice and creamy from the half & half (I can even forgive the use of real milk here, which normally disgusts me). It’s mildly sweet from the 9g of sugar in it, but they took care not to overdo it so that it is still mostly coffee and not a sugar drink.
It’s no shock here that this is a brand of Uncommon Coffee Roasters aka the best coffee I have ever drunk. They are a high quality company with ethics I can get behind. If only all companies had similar beliefs and practices while making such high quality products the world would be a much better (caffeinated) place.

Website
http://cultivo.coffee
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 17th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zhivchic Pear

Zhivchic Pear

For a drink that expired six years ago from the Ukraine, this sexy pear drink wasn't too bad.

Website
http://zhivchik.ua/
Country
Ukraine
Sweetener
Couldn't Read Ingredients
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 17th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Ski Cherry

Ski Cherry

It's been a while since I've had some Ski. This tastes almost like a cherry limeade but without the "fancy" title. It has a decent cherry taste and then there is the mystery "citrus" flavor that twists it a little bit. I let a dude at work try it and he liked it so by all means that means that it can't be that bad.

There is not much to say. Honestly it's just a cherry pop. I wish I could make up a whimsical story about a dog saving a bird from a shark but I don't have it in me.

Website
http://www.myskisoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 16th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Polar Seltzer'ade Tart Cherry Limeade

Polar Seltzer'ade Tart Cherry Limeade

What we have here could only be described as a tasty seltzer water. What we also have here might be the weakest of the Seltzer’ade line. If this had been released as a normal Polar flavor I would have thought it was quite pleasant. It has a cherry flavor that doesn’t remind me of medicine or black cherries, and that is always a plus. It also has a light subtle lime flavor to it, which makes a great base for any seltzer. The only problem is that by throwing that Seltzer’ade branding on it, my expectations are instantly raised. The rest of the flavors are incredibly strong and bold, this lacks in both of those. That by no means makes this a bad product, but it’s just not worthy of the title (and additional price). If Polar were to put this exact same product in their normal bottles I would be more prone to purchase it again.

Website
http://www.polarbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 15th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Honest Tea Cinnamon Sunrise Herbal Tea

Honest Tea Cinnamon Sunrise Herbal Tea

This looked like a dream. I wasn’t even thirsty when I saw it in Whole Foods, but I had a Pavlovian response and there was no choice but for me to purchase it and try it immediately. Cinnamon iced tea with ginger in it sounded like exactly what I didn’t know I was looking for. When I picked it up I could see the cinnamon swirling around in the tea and the mouthwatering increased. There was one thing that I didn’t take into account though, and that is that cinnamon, and ginger to an extent, don’t have the same effect without a little bit of sweetener added to them. This tastes like someone made some rooibos tea and while it was brewing through in some ground up cinnamon and ginger root. In fact that is exactly what happened and what it is. As anyone who has ever been dumb enough to take the cinnamon challenge can tell you, cinnamon has a drying effect. The way it’s in the tea does make it feel oddly dry, and the ginger only shows p around the edges. I drink about a gallon of unsweetened tea a day, because I have no self-control, and I love the stuff. I’m at a point in my life now where sweetened tea tasted wrong a lot of the time. In this instance I think the tea could have benefited from just a touch of sugar, may be 10g in the entire bottle. It would have combated that dryness and pushed the cinnamon flavor forward a bit more. Again, this is just me searching for an ideal. As it is this tea is wonderful and I could happily drink a ton of it. Is a liquid ton a real thing?

Website
http://www.honesttea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |