5-Hour Energy Extra Strength Grape

5-Hour Energy Extra Strength Grape

All energy shots are basically everything in a large can or energy drink condensed into a little bottle. It’s to be expected that the flavor is going to be very strong and not too pleasant. If you take three of those little bottles and boil them down and make one bottle out of the trio you get one of these. When it’s in your mouth it just tastes like an extremely concentrated strong grape flavor, but the instant you breathe in the most intense chemical energy drink taste I’ve ever experienced. It’s not very good, but that is not the point with energy shots. No one buys something like this for a nice tasty treat. The point of them is for strong, lasting energy and when it comes to that this shot certainly pulls through.

Website
http://www.5hourenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 18th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
5-Hour Energy Extra Strength (24 Bottles Grape)

5-Hour Energy Berry

5-Hour Energy Berry

A couple weeks ago I went to PAX East aka Penny Arcade Expo in Boston, MA. It's basically a giant gaming convention stemming from a long running webcomic about video games. It was my first time attending and I had a lot of fun.

In addition to all the new and upcoming games, there was a 5-Hour Energy booth set up in the front lobby all weekend. Normally I would avoid these little bottles of death like the plague, but the line for the coffee shop in the hotel was always way too long and I didn't want to get my ass handed to me when I was playing Halo 4 against some 6 year old. Over the weekend, I lost count at 4 or 5 of these consumed. I'm afraid to know the actual number, but I did manage to bring an additional 5 home with me somehow.

Does this taste like "berry"? Sure. Could it be mistaken for another flavor? Most likely. Did I barely notice the flavor due to consuming this in one sip due to over-exhaustion and wanting to just "wake up"? You betcha! Did it work? Indeed it did.

Website
http://www.5hourenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Shot
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 8th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
5-Hour Energy - Berry 1.93-Ounce Packages (Pack of 12)

5-Hour Energy Pink Lemonade

5-Hour Energy Pink Lemonade

I had been seeking this energy shot out for a while but it kept eluding me. Or I would find it when I didn't want an energy shot or didn't have money on me. This went on for months until I had to go to a family function on barely any sleep. My grandparents were being awarded by the city of Tonawanda for doing awesome stuff for the youth (they helped build a skate park among other things). Knowing that I was going to have to talk to family and friends of the family, I wanted to be semi-coherent so I stopped by a drug store to wake myself up. Not wanting to carry around an open can of Monster (seriously, more energy drinks need to come in resealable bottles), I went to the front counter where they keep the energy shots so 14 year old kids don't steal them all. Low and behold, the pink lemonade shot was there!

Now in the past, energy shots are usually borderline undrinkable. This was not the case at all this time. It tasted like pink lemonade should. Sweet, a little sour, and overall delicious. My only complaint was I only got a couple sips of the taste. They should water it down and make a larger drink out of this because it would be awesome and I would drink it much more than I should.

Website
http://www.5hourenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Lemonade, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on May 31st, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
5-Hour Energy Nutritional Drink Bottles, Pink Lemonade, 12 Count

51 Fifty Energy Drink

51 Fifty Energy Drink

Okay sir, and what kind of oil did you want us to put into your car today? 51-50? Sir do you know anything about oil? I dare say you don’t because that number has nothing to do with oil. I’m looking for a response along the lines of 10W-30 or 5W-20. The only two things I know about 51-50 is that I think they were a Canadian band in the 90’s and apparently it’s the California legal code for someone who is a danger to themselves and others. Oh yeah, it’s also a Van Halen record, or Van-Hagar to be more precise.

You say that it’s also the name of an energy drink that you partake in quite a bit? Well I’ve never heard of it, but I’ll keep my eyes out for it. Working in this garage all day I need something to help me keep awake, and I’ll tell you the coffee they have here is butt, if you’ll excuse my French. Oh you have a can I can have? Well thank you sir. I mean I did just insult you, but I appreciate this.

Hmmm…this is actually pretty good. It tastes different than Red Bull and it’s hundreds of imitators. It has a berry heavy fruit punch style flavor, without tasting childish or cheap. It’s a nice change up from the chemical citrus candy flavor that’s the norm. This actually doesn’t taste very chemical at all. You say it’s an energy drink with a boost? What does that mean? Oh the usual suspects such as ginseng, taurine and caffeine are in here, but they also add maca and astragalus root to it? Well sir, I have no idea what those things are but it tastes good and if it gives me energy this will go on my shopping list. They are used to boost the immune system, strengthen vitality, improve sexual desire and raise resistance against fatigue? Well, this drink really does it all doesn’t it?

This has been the weirded oil change I’ve ever given sir, but I appreciate the break and the drink. I really do need to know what kind of oil you would like me to use though.

Website
http://www.51fiftyenergydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 22nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
51 FIFTY Energy Drink - Original 12 Oz. - 24 cans/case

51 Fifty Extreme Energy Drink

51 Fifty Extreme Energy Drink

Energy drinks throw around terms like “Intense” and “Fierce” all the time. It’s all about marketing and those are the kind of words that are going to catch people’s eyes and make them think they will get the most bang for their buck, if you will. When you take a already potent energy drink and triple the active ingredients in a smaller can; you better believe them when they label it extreme.

I was not ready for this. It was 7PM, I had just eaten a large meal, and I knew I needed to be awake and alert until 4am or so. I know when I drink an energy drink on an empty stomach it gives me the jitters, but when I eat a meal I am normally fine. I didn’t even drink this entire can (about ¾ of it) and within a half hour I was feeling a bit insane. I was a bit shaky and I could feel an energy in my entire body that needed to be put to use. Basically, I felt a more intense version of how I feel when I drink a normal energy drink on an empty stomach. It kept me going all night, and at 4am I was home and still pretty jacked up. I decided to drink a Marley Mellow Mood to be able to get some sleep, and let me tell you that was a terrible idea. Sure, my mind relaxed and I was able to sleep, but apparently my body just kept going. When I woke up the following day I felt like total garbage. It was as if I has not slept at all, and had been doing vigorous activity all night. So yeah, I don’t advise mixing your downers with your uppers. I would make a terrible pill head.

As you can see the functionality of this drink worked wonderfully. Unfortunately that is not our main concern here at Thirsty Dudes. Flavor is first and foremost in our world, and that was lacking in this drink. It has a real bitterness to it, almost like vitamins were dissolved in a Red Bull, but they tried to mask it with a bit of fruity flavoring. It was kind of a chore to make it through as much of the can as I did. I guess you have to sacrifice flavor for this kind of functionality, which is a shame but at least it does what it’s supposed to. I would definitely suggest this if you need to just power through your day with some help no matter the cost to your taste buds.

Website
http://www.51fiftyenergydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 9th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
51 FIFTY Energy - Extreme 8.4 Oz. - 24 cans/case

51 Fifty Sugar Free Energy Drink

51 Fifty Sugar Free Energy Drink

Hey just because you're a madman doesn't mean you throw your calorie intake to the wind. Some of those who are touched in the head want to live healthy lives; that is if their crazy antics don't kill them first. These people want to die from plummeting to death, or something else fun, not from obesity or a heart attack. Where would the fun be in that?

This has the same berry heavy fruit punch esque flavor as the original, except the sugar has been swapped out for the dreaded sucralose. Something in here counteracts the sucralose though and it doesn't taste like diet poison. Although that is something that a 51-50 person may dabble in.

Website
http://www.51fiftyenergydrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 7th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

5150 Caffeine Energy Mix (Semi Sweet)

5150 Caffeine Energy Mix (Semi Sweet)

In high school a bunch of friends and I all wrote fake doctors notes for each other and ditched out midday to go to the University of Buffalo for their Spring Fest. Snapcase was playing, and seeing as we were all young "hardcore" kids and the "Steps" EP had just come out we just had to go. So we all left in 10-minute intervals as to not seem suspicious. I was the last to go and the lady in the office asked me where we were all going because obviously five friends did not have dentist appointments on the same day. I got all flustered and she just winked at me and told me to enjoy my cleaning.

We got to the college with an hour to spare so we hit up the college store. We were young and dumb with disposable income looking for some sort of adventure. A couple of us decided to buy boxes of No-Doz and get all messed up on caffeine (this was during a time where Jolt was pretty much the only widely available energy drink). We got super hyper and jittery, which made us have a ton of fun at the show. We took them around 1PM. That night around midnight I laid down for bed. My heart was still racing and beating super hard. After about 15 minutes I was convinced I was dying. I woke up my mom's boyfriend (as to not freak out my mom) and he called a friend who was a nurse to see what we should do. She told him I would be fine I just had to wait it out. It was one of the scariest moments of my life. I thought I was going to die and I thought I was going to get in a buttload of trouble because I downed a box of caffeine pills.

As soon as I saw this jug of liquid caffeine that night played over and over in my head. As awesome as it is to be able to be able to have a adjust your caffeine intake to your liking and get a pick me up without all of the other garbage that is in most energy drinks, I can't help but think of stupid kids messing around to see who could ingest the most caffeine. We did it when I was in grade school except it was how many Warheads candies can you have in your mouth at once, or how many sprays of Binaca breath spray can you shoot under your tongue. As soon as this makes it's way into the gas station/corner store market there are going to be a bunch of kids who develop heart problems. I get freaked out when I see young kids downing Monster drinks, but what can I say? I'd be doing the same thing if I were their age. Also you add this to drinks in a syringe. I don't care what age you are that is just cool and enticing.

Now onto the whole point of this: the flavor. I put a couple of drops of this on my tongue and it is definitely "semi sweet." It has the chemical taste of energy drinks when you drink it straight up, but you're supposed to mix it in a drink. To keep things pure I put some in a glass of water. When you drink it that way the chemical taste is completely nonexistent. It definitely adds sweetness to the water, but it's nothing crazy. It tastes like I dumped a packet of sugar into my glass. If you added this to a juice I don't think you'd be able to taste the difference. Now that is pretty amazing.

Another plus is that it's pretty small and easily brought along in a jacket pocket. This is either the best of worst thing ever. I'm still not sure.

Oh yeah, back to the No-Doz night. My mom's boyfriend never said a word to my mom about it. It was our little secret. He was a good dude. I miss having him around.

Website
http://www.5150juice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sorbitol Glycerin
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

7 Eleven 7 Select Essence of Chicken

7 Eleven 7 Select Essence of Chicken



For your viewing pleasure and enjoyment. I have drank and video'd my review for 7 Eleven's very own "Essence of Chicken." Watch the video and let me drink this for you.

Website
http://www.7-eleven.com/
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Couldn't Read Ingredients
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

7 Eleven 7 Select Orange Soda

7 Eleven 7 Select Orange Soda

Buffalo used to have a chain of convenient stores called Wilson Farms. They weren't all that incredible, but they were a staple of Western New York. A year ago, 7-11 swooped in and bought the franchise and has converted them all into their homogenized storefronts (as best they could given the various building sizes). A legacy is gone, but now Buffalo has a lot more 24-hour stores, which is great.

I will admit, I did not buy this bottle here in Buffalo. It was actually purchased in a 7-11 in Salt Lake City. But I recently (as in yesterday) moved back to Buffalo and have more to say about 7-11 here than a random one I went into in SLC. I remember I bought this because I hadn't had orange soda in a while and had a craving for it. While this wasn't the best orange soda ever, it definitely satisfied my craving. I would put this in the middle range, where most generic orange sodas lie. They're good, but not amazing.

Website
http://www.7-eleven.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on November 15th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

7 Eleven Classic Lemonade

7 Eleven Classic Lemonade

It's a good thing 7-11 isn't known for their lemonade, because this is a sad excuse for one of my favorite drinks. I don't know why I thought this would help my craving, high hopes perhaps? Nevertheless, I think I figured out 7-11's lemonade recipe:

10 parts water
1 part lemon juice
.005 sugar

The only thing I hate more than watered down lemonade, is flat soda. That doesn't make me dislike this lemonade less, but it makes me thankful that I’m not drinking flat soda.

Website
http://www.7-eleven.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on November 28th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |