Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Classic

Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Classic

Somewhere out there, someone’s dreams have come true. The stage is set like this; there is a human out there who is a total soda fiend. I’m talking like Mike’s mother in law who keeps a glass of diet Pepsi next to her bed at night (is that a real thing, or did my mind make it up?), except there is no diet in this addicts world. We are talking full sugar. For most of their life it was high fructose corn syrup this, and high fructose corn syrup that. Then cane sugar came back into vogue and their palate evolved into appreciating fancy sodas. There were no more two-liters in our subjects life it was all craft six (four)packs. Over time they realized that they didn’t feel quite right, something was obviously up with their health so they saw a health professional and were diagnosed with diabetes. The doctor informed them that their soda days were over unless they wanted to drink sucralose or aspartame (neither of which were recommended). Years went by and the Days of Soda seem like a mere fever dream. Then stevia came into fashion and there were sodas that were available that still tasted diet, but not like chemical death. The thing is that there was nothing on the market that matched our characters beloved ginger ale. Then Brooklyn Organics came about and suddenly they could have that classic ginger taste that they missed so dearly. Sure, it tasted heavily of stevia, but it was way better than what was on the market. It was a soda that tasted like real ginger, but with only the faintest hint of a burn. A true ginger ale.

Now, since I can enjoy beverages sweetened with sugar, this is clearly not for me. I know it’s healthier than regular soda, but I don’t drink them very often these days, so I’ll take the extra calories for a better flavor. To me this would be fantastic if it had real sugar. The ginger taste that fights its way through the stevia is wonderful. Unfortunately that stevia taste is really strong, and it’s simply not for me. This is for those out there who need to rely on zero-calorie sweeteners due to health, or those who for some reason can see past their flavor. If you fall into one of those categories get out there and buy this immediately. You won’t be sorry.

Website
http://www.drinkbrooklynorganics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Stevia Extract
Categories
Diet, Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 27th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Arizona Good Brew Unsweet Tea

Arizona  Good Brew Unsweet Tea

Shawn, what did you do to this iced tea? Did you pour me a glass of iced tea, drink half of my glass, look in the fridge, realize there was no more tea and then refill my glass with water? You didn't? This was purchased like this? This is how you bought this? Look me in my eyes and tell me that this was unaltered and went from bottle to glass. Really? Who made this? Arizona? The company that has historically made decent tea that we all grew up with? Really? Well, that disappoints me. I am disappointed. This actually sucks. Shawn, you let me down. Not as much as Arizona has but this blows and it's your fault. Do better.

Website
http://drinkarizona.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 27th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Archer Farms Cold Brew Cinnamon

Archer Farms Cold Brew Cinnamon

Fall is upon us. What does that mean? Cinnamon. Ahh, cinnamon. Natures...cinnamon. I bought this because it was A: Cheap and B: Had a great selling line on the side which I will put here:

This creamy and sweet cinnamon cold brew coffee is big on taste with a warm, velvety texture.

So's I buy it, bring it in to work and have two dudes try it and the consensus is as follows: It's bad. Not even OK. It's not good. It tastes like someone made a passable cold brew and then dumped too much ground cinnamon in it, said to themselves, "Welp, no turning back now." put in one more pinch, and bottled it up.

The coffee is fine. I don't drink too much and what I do drink is cold brew and typically has some sort of disgusting chemical chocolate taste to it so I'm not one to judge but this coffee was light at best. The cinnamon was a ground cinnamon and not a candy cinnamon. After tasting it, though, I don't know which I would have preferred. Thumbs down, Archer Farms/Target. There's more to fall than cinnamon. There's more to you than bad cold brew. I feel like I just masochistically did "the cinnamon challenge" to myself. I feel like a moron.

Website
http://sites.target.com/site/en/supertarget/page.jsp?title=brands&brand=archerFarms
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 27th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Arizona Good Brew Green Tea

Arizona  Good Brew Green Tea

What is happening outside?! It's the last week of September and it's in the upper 80's. I'm walking with some dudes from work, maybe or maybe not playing Pokemon Go and just sweating, bro. Sweating. Neck, all pits, belly button. Sweaty.

What better way to quench the sweaty mess you have become than some classic Arizona Green Tea? Oh, you made more money than you did as a 35 year old than you did when you were twenty? Spend the extra dollar and get the "Good Brew" iced tea. It's the same flavor with none of the corn syrup or preservatives that you remember. It has more of that green tea bitterness that you have been losing the past fifteen years by dropping the corn syrup so it tastes less like lies than before. Not insultingly bitter like your crappy aunt (by marriage) but bitter like you would expect a green tea to be.

You can't pick your family. They just come with you or with whomever you're with. You can pick your teas, though and this is a wise decision over the classic tallboy. As nostalgic as it might be, this is pretty unarguably better. Children might disagree but they're dumb. Someone had to say it.

Website
http://drinkarizona.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 26th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Alpha Wolf Focus & Revitalizing Beverage Watermelon/Strawberry/Coconut

Alpha Wolf Focus & Revitalizing Beverage Watermelon/Strawberry/Coconut

Back in the late 90s when Sobe came out I was in love with them. Even though almost all of the little money I made from my job went to buying records, I still found a way to get a bottle somewhat regularly. Okay, so I may have nicked a bottle or two (or 50) from my place of employment. When you're paying your employees $4.35 an hour you should probably expect them to fill in the wage gap somehow. The point of me mentioning this is that the beverage I am currently drinking reminds me of a classic Sobe from a glass bottle, before they went plastic and the recipe changed (at least I'm pretty sure it did, maybe it was just my tastes that changed). I suppose there is a reason for that because I believe those old drinks were also marketed for focus, revitalization and the like.

Specifically this brings to mind the Dragon flavor of Sobe. I believe that involved pitaya, but this combo of watermelon and strawberry tastes like my memory. It even does a great job of masking the taste of the erythritol/stevia. This tastes fruity and wonderful, and not diet and poisonous. The coconut is undetectable to me. This is an advancement of sports/recovery drinks. Goodbye garbage. Hello wonderment.

Website
http://https://www.drinkalphawolf.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 26th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

The Maple Guild Enhanced Maple Water Blueberry

The Maple Guild Enhanced Maple Water Blueberry

This tastes more like maple than any of their other products I've tasted. The thing is that as strong as the maple taste is, the blueberry flavor is there to match it. I liked another flavor in this line to Vitamin Water, but this does not bring that company's products to mind, even if they are similar in vitamin and electrolyte content. This is a new class of "sports drink” that is more suited for those from the north. It tastes less of vitamins and sugar and more of the two ingredients it is advertised as being flavored as.

Website
http://https://www.mapleguild.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Maple Syrup
Categories
Other/Weird, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 26th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Polar Seltzer Jr. Yeti Mischief

Polar Seltzer Jr. Yeti Mischief

Just as these were popping up on shelves around Buffalo, they were already on their way out. I was able to get these in my hometown for less than a week before they disappeared from the shelves of my local Wegmans. To be fair, that may have been for the best. While I've enjoyed all four of the Seltzer Jr flavors, I couldn't see myself continuously buying them. They are a nice fun treat, but not something that I need all the time (my vanilla and cranberry lime still reign supreme).

What does it taste like when a yeti gets itself in some troubled fun? Well, it kind of tastes like fruit punch flavored Sprite with the sugar left out, at least to me. If you read other reviews on the internet people seem to be all over the place with what they think this tastes like. It would be interesting to see what Polar had intended the flavor to be.

Website
http://www.polarbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 26th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Fentimans Wild English Elderflower

Fentimans Wild English Elderflower

This here was the pinnacle of the beverage experience in Iceland, and it is made by a company from the UK, whose other flavors are readily available back home. Not only was it the best thing I drank on this trip (well actually the tap water might have been, it was the cleanest and crispest I have ever tasted), it is definitely now my favorite flavor in the Fentiman’s line. It is light, floral, and wonderful. It is closer to a seltzer than a soda, and that will get no complaints from me. Actually my only complaints are that it wasn’t served to me in a bathtub sized container that I could sip on for hours and since that didn’t happen, that I can’t find it back home. This is a flavor that Americans are not used to, and that I do not know if many would enjoy. It’s not loaded with garbage sweeteners and as I said it does have a slightly floral taste. I could see a stereotypical version of my countryman saying that they “don’t want to drink a garden.” Well, they would be wrong, because this is one of the best things I have drunk in a long time.

Website
http://www.drinkfentimans.com
Country
United Kingdom
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 24th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Hi Ball Organic Energy Drink Blood Orange

Hi Ball Organic Energy Drink Blood Orange

What do you think the world would have been like if at the height of the Chicago Gangsters energy drinks were available? Do you think they would have been included in prohibition? Would barrels of Red Bull and the like have been smuggled across the Great Lakes from Canada? If not would everyone just have overdone it with them because they didn’t have access to alcohol and wanted to get “messed up” in some way, even if that way was just a little jittery? Perhaps some business minded person would have bottled it and given it the name Hi-Ball in order to have people pretend that they were still drinking alcohol. One thing that is for certain is that the amount of sleep had in the 1920s would have severely decreased. Perhaps it would have caused them to become sloppier in their organized crime and things would have fallen apart sooner. Who knows? Let’s time machine this thing and give a bunch of companies the recipes and see how it plays out?

If it did happen, I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that no one would be drinking a blood orange energy drink. I doubt more than .5% of the population of Chicago at the time had ever even heard of such a fruit. I wonder if “normal” oranges were even around the city in abundance at that point. They certainly would be /were missing out. This is delicious, but isn’t anything blood orange flavored? It tastes like a light soda and nothing like an energy drink, because it is all organic and doesn’t rely on the chemicals that produce that classic flavor. This is all caffeine (from guarana and ginseng), niacin and B vitamins. You know, ingredients that won’t affect the flavor all that much. It’s just wonderful sparkling blood orange juice. I could ask for nothing more and gangsters could only dream of such a gem.

Website
http://www.hiballer.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 22nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Guava

Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Guava

I was really excited about this. Guava flavored ginger ale sounds like a dream come true. I also knew going into it that it was sweetened with stevia, but I was hoping/expecting the guava to overpower it. My hoping was in vain.

For a split second, when it first hits your tongue this is absolutely incredible. It's everything that I wanted it to be unfortunately that only lasts a fraction of a moment before the stevia hits you. At that point it tastes like neither guava nor ginger. It just becomes a diet fruity flavor.

It's obvious that a lot of care goes into making this, and I understand the health conscious aspect of the zero calorie sweetener, but as soon as that stevia hits me it could be bottom of the barrel soda and I wouldn't be able to tell the difference. If I were someone who couldn't drink real sugar and had to rely on zero calorie alternatives, I'm sure this would be absolutely wonderful. As a consumer of actual sugar it doesn't do anything for me. If only a sugared version of this existed I would be in heaven.

Website
http://www.drinkbrooklynorganics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Stevia
Categories
Diet, Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
| 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |