A+ Aloe

A+ Aloe

We here at Thirsty Dudes have a strong appreciation for aloe drinks. They're refreshing, delicious, and good for us. When I saw this cute little bottle I couldn't resist giving it a try. It's a very basic aloe drink. It has a moderate amount of chunks, and a nice white grape aftertaste. Not the best, but FAR from the worst. This seems like the perfect drink (size and taste) to keep in your bag "just in case".

Country
Korea
Sweetener
Liquid Fructose
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 20th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Tropical

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Tropical

I'll tell you what I need now is a taste of the tropics. I'm tired of the snow and the cold. Layers are for idiots. If I didn't have any friends or family, number one: I feel like I would be really depressed, but number two: I would go somewhere nice. I went to Key West a couple of years back and that was nice. It has a certain small-town, local, petina feel to it. I liked it. The entire time I was drinking this I wanted to be back there. I got a good taste of pineapple but I can't really place anything else. That's not to say it was bad, I just couldn't decipher any other fruits. It had that salty, Gatorade taste to it that I somehow like. Oh, nothing suits me after a long day of crushing weights like a nice, salty juice.

This was good. The flavor line is pretty promising, too. Pomegranate Cherry and the other one is just a generic "citrus" which is fine with me. They are something to look forward to. Am I at all on my A game? Nope. I don't know what that sensation is at all but I'm quenched. I don't know the streets, but I might say that I'm half way there.

Website
http://www.drinkagame.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 28th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
A-GAME (Tropical)

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Citrus

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Citrus

In the beginning there was Gatorade, and life seemed good for those who played sports. The big win didn’t count until the winning team dumped a cooler of electrolyte filled liquid on their head coach. Then Powerade began being stocked on shelves and in coolers and people the whole world ‘round said, “Why the hell do we need this inferior product when Gatorade exists?” The people were right to judge and Gatorade continued to reign supreme. Then the stars aligned and Vitamin Water burst onto the scene. It was like the beloved Gatorade, but with added vitamins and minerals to make it even more functional. On top of that the flavors actually had a variety of tastes, unlike the general Gatorade base with hints of other flavor. Thus began the age of the vitamin, but with all dynasties hubris took hold and Vitamin Water stopped coming out with new flavors and the world grew bored with them. They still drank it, but they did not love it the way they once did.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to introduce you to a new age, a new dynasty of rehydration/sports drinks. It goes by the name A Game and it is what you have been waiting for. It is a drink that falls somewhere between the greatness of Gatorade and Vitamin Water. It has all the properties of a classic bottle of Gatorade, but it is bursting with flavor. It also has a bunch of vitamins added to it to round it out. You want to rehydrate? Well this has some sea salt in it and it puts other electrolytes to shame. It also has clover honey. That’s right, they care so much that they used honey. Everyone loves honey. It even calms those angry bees.

With a flavor called “citrus” you would expect something generic like orange or lemon-lime, but this has a nice blend of different citrus fruit flavors that stands out on its own due to the sea salt and honey.

If this doesn’t start being carried in gas stations and mini-marts all around the country I believe it may be a sign of the impending apocalypse.

Website
http://www.drinkagame.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
A-GAME (Citrus)

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Cherry Pomegranate

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Cherry Pomegranate

My history of sports is as follows; I grew up with friends who loved sports. We lived on a cul-de-sac and played football, hockey, and did it all the time. I was never good but loved playing with my friends. The older I got, the more I accepted the fact that I don't care about sports. Not that I didn't enjoy playing, but there were other things that I liked doing, like music. I started playing music in between plays on a drum machine that I still have. So from that point on, I felt that sports drinks just weren't for me. I would never get as much out of them as the rest of my friends did. Yeah, anyone can drink Gatorade but it's not made for me.

Fast-forward to fifteen years later and I still don't play sports but I work on a drink review site where I drink all sorts of drinks that "aren't for me." This drink would be enough to make most couch potatoes want to pick up a racket and sweat it out on the court. The mix between the cherry and the pomegranate are totally fantastic and I wish I had more. It's a water type drink that has a dark fruit taste. I've often got an issue with cherry where it tastes a bit medicinal but this has none of that. This drink is sixteen ounces of pleasure.

I don't hate sports. I don't play sports. I don't pay attention to sports. I was disappointed when our city's hockey team's goalie dropped his limited edition ice cream flavor. That's as passionate as I get with sports. I am missing out on the bond people have where they sit together and talk about this guy and that team and all that other stuff. I would rather sit down and play video games with friends and talk about bands no one cares about. I think I can say the same for Jay and Derek.

Website
http://www.drinkagame.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 5th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Strawberry Lemonade

A-GAME Cross Functional Beverage Strawberry Lemonade

We've drunk A-Game before but now, and this is no pun intended, they have brought their A-Game because this is pretty great. It's got the drinkability of a Gatorade but has a tiny bit of bite from the lemonade and a pretty good strawberry taste. Strawberry lemonade is pretty much always a win for me but I won't put it by companies to screw it up. This drink doesn't have any sort of unwanted bite like you might get from some other lemonades that are made with garbage sugar. I'm no scientist but whatever crystalline fructose is, it makes a good sweetener. There is also honey in here and actual sea salt. It's a pretty good drink all around. A-Game, A-Game.

Website
http://www.drinkagame.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Lemonade, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 10th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

A-Treat Root Beer

A-Treat Root Beer

It was weird drinking this in my house because it felt out of place. This soda screams "Grandma's fridge" or "sketchy gas station/corner store in the middle of Pennsylvania". It looks generic and (surprise surprise) tastes generic. Editor Dan brought this back to us from his travels, and I'm very appreciative because now I know that this definitely is NOT "a treat" (sorry, I had to). I've had worse, but I could throw a bottle cap and find a better root beer than this.

Website
http://www.a-treat.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 19th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

A-Treat Birch Beer

A-Treat Birch Beer

After every successful mission the boys from the A-Team would reconvene at their secret hideout in eastern Pennsylvania. There they would debrief and then relax with their hobbies outside of being solders of fortune.

B.A. Baracus found his inner peace while making sodas. Thinking he was clever he named then A-Treat. He would always try to hand them out to the rest of the boys for a job well done, but none of them really gave him much attention as they thought he was an idiot due to his inarticulate speech. B.A. didn’t let that get him down though he just kept plugging away making his soda.

He became enthralled in the sodas of the region, specifically birch beer. He was determined to create the world’s greatest version of this drink. He tinkered for weeks with it. He was so pleased when he was done that he ran to the others to try and get them to try it. He was so happy when Hannibal grabbed the bottle and took a swig. He said that it was decent albeit a bit too syrupy for his liking. He said it kind of tasted like it should be birch beer flavored cough medicine, but that strangely didn’t make it bad. He also likened it to a birch beer version of root beer barrel candy. Then he handed back the bottle. B.A. was so ecstatic that he didn’t even realize that Hannibal had slipped some drugs into the bottle before he handed it back. B.A. finished the bottle and then the next thing he knew he was on a plane off to another mission. Damn Hannibal!

Website
http://www.a-treat.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 3rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Abbott Farms Cider Blackberry

Abbott Farms Cider Blackberry

A lot of people go on and on about strawberries and raspberries. Those people have it all wrong. Although those are both great fruits, the blackberry is your money berry. When they are just ripe they are a perfect food.
I pulled off the highway somewhere in South Carolina and saw a sign that said "Peach Cider." I knew I had to stop. When we entered it was a magical cider world of all varieties. This drink caught my eye, and I thought it was going to be the single greatest drink I've ever had. While it is good, it's not the best I've ever had. When you first sip it, it tastes like wonderful blackberries. Unfortunately when you swallow a harsh aftertaste sets in. I know it's a natural flavor, but I wish the sweetness would last a bit longer. If you've ever in SC and you see a place that sells this, by all means go crazy.

Website
http://www.abbottfarmsonline.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Cider
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Abbott Farms Kangaroo Jack Root Beer

Abbott Farms Kangaroo Jack Root Beer

This is my first review of the slew of sodas I got at the Abbott Farms rest stop in South Carolina. I walked in and saw a wall of random bottles of soda, and my day just got brighter.
This root beer is actually made by Abbott Farms. It's a decent run of the mill root beer. It reminds me a lot of Barq's actually. Instead of having "bite" it comes "with a kick." I would have expected that to mean it had caffeine in it, but no.
Sometimes you want a fancy root beer and sometimes you want a "candy" root beer. This is something that can fill your needs in those times.

Website
http://www.abbottfarmsonline.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Abbott Farms Gray Mule Spicy Ginger Ale

Abbott Farms Gray Mule Spicy Ginger Ale

Disappointment city. A donkey wearing glasses showing its teeth says, "It kicks!" This should have been the best ginger ale I've ever had. Instead mediocrity reigned supreme. When it was in your mouth it tasted like carbonated candy water. Then when you smiled it burned. I love a good ginger burn, the thing was this was a different type of burn altogether. Upon reading the ingredients I discovered there wasn't any ginger in it at all. I don't even want to know what created the burn. I choked through about a third of the bottle, and then I had to give up. To reiterate: Disappointment city.

Website
http://www.abbottfarmsonline.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |