Fiz Syracuse Orange

Fiz Syracuse Orange

Sometimes Fiz hits the mark and sometimes it doesn’t. If this soda were thrown at a dart board it would have stuck in someone around the outer edge, not gaining you any points. Hey, at least it didn’t put holes in the wall though.

This is simply boring. The orange flavor takes a back seat to a generic sugar soda flavor. If the percentage of orange flavoring was increased maybe this would have been decent. As it is I would more than likely politely decline if someone offered me a bottle. Yes, even if it were being served with hot dogs.

Website
http://https://www.facebook.com/COLLEGE.CLUB.BEVERAGES/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 19th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Nothing But Real Oat Chocolate & Protein

Nothing But Real Oat Chocolate & Protein

Here we have a protein drink that was developed not as a post workout beverage, but as a way to curb hunger. If it were part of some zany new diet it would be called a meal replacer. I like to just call it delicious. As the name suggests, everything in this bottle is completely natural with no GMOs or anything artificial. They also go as far as to make it dairy and soy free. In the late 90’s when I first went vegetarian and a lot of friends were vegan we would have killed for something like this. I feel like we all existed on French fries and garbage house salads most of the time. It was an era of unhealthy compassion for animals. This would have made life so much easier. While I may not have had it then, I will certainly appreciate it now.

This is mostly made up of oats and pea protein, which doesn’t sound all that appetizing. I mean does anyone actually enjoy peas, or do we all just kind of deal with them? The added cocoa and vanilla are both stronger flavors though, so we don’t have to pretend me like their “country goodness and green pea-ness” as a fictitious Orson Welles once said. It has a great chocolate flavor that makes you forget that you could possibly be hungry. Perhaps I’ll just go on a liquid diet. A wonderfully chocolate liquid diet.

Website
http://https://nothingbutreal.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Maple Syrup
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 18th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Pearl Soda Company Soda Syrup Dancing Dragon (Sarsaparilla Puerh)

Pearl Soda Company Soda Syrup Dancing Dragon (Sarsaparilla Puerh)

If you’re looking for a natural tasting beverage this is certainly for you. I don’t know what this has to do with a dragon, dancing or not, but what I do know is that it tastes like someone made a soda out of throat coat tea and it’s a little much. I like sips of this drink. I’ve been nursing the glass I made for the past 45 minutes. If I take tiny sips it’s enjoyable, but if I drink too much at once it becomes a bit too overpowering and medicinal. If you’re not familiar with throat coat (which is absolutely wonderful hot) imagine chewing on a licorice stick (the plant not the candy) while drinking some black tea. It’s pleasant and helps your throat. It’s not quite the same in soda form but it is a re-imagining of a classic soda.
In here the tea is a mixture of pu-erh (fermented tea)and yerba mate. The rest of the flavor comes from a combination of sarsaparilla root and honeybush. It kind of tastes the way a natural market smells. Take that as you will. To me it’s not bad thing, but it certainly is unique. Out of all of these tea sodas, this is the one that is certainly not for everyone.

Website
http://www.pearlsodaco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Mix/Concentrate, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 15th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

La Croix Sparkling Water Mango

La Croix Sparkling Water Mango

Sparkling mango water. My wife might have just found her mecca. She loves La Croix and rightfully so. I mean, it's just sparkling water but it's good stuff. Polar is more than readily available and we buy a fair amount of that. They have some cooler, experimental flavors but she's been hard into this lately.

This is an accurate mango flavor, too. They really nailed it. I'd like to know what sorcery they used to do that. Are sorcery and magic the same thing? Sorcery might involve more potions. I wouldn't say that a witch performs magic. Stirring cauldrons is sorcery. Wizards perform sorcery. Is magic just another word for "illusions?"



The end.

Website
http://www.lacroixwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 14th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Monster Energy Unleaded

Monster Energy Unleaded

This is…odd. I don’t mean that it tastes strange, it’s actually very pleasant. The unusual thing about this energy drink is that they went out of their way to make it caffeine free (get it? Unleaded). The little blurb on the can says that it’s so people who enjoy the taste of Monster, but who are also sensitive to caffeine can still enjoy it. My question is caffeine really the ingredient that people get all jittery over? I mean I do have a sensitivity (read: I’m not addicted so it serves its intended purpose and doesn’t just make me “normal.”) but I feel like it’s more the taurine that gets me all crazy. Natural energy drinks don’t affect me the same way as Monster and it’s brethren do. This is still loaded with B vitamins, niacin, taurine, ginseng and the like, so it still gave me a boost. It seems odd to me and not something there would be a big market for. If it serves its purpose to allow people to get where they need to go, good for it.
Overall it tastes like a slightly diet regular Monster; all sweet like chemical candy. Can we take a moment to acknowledge that energy drinks are the only beverage that diet versions don’t taste absolutely disgusting? This is sweetened with sugar as well as sucralose and it doesn’t taste like poison at all. The other flavors just mask the diet death taste in all the right ways.

Website
http://www.monsterenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Barr Originals Cream Soda With a Twist of Raspberry

Barr Originals Cream Soda With a Twist of Raspberry

The image on the can is a cow wearing an upside down American flag. It’s pretty fitting for the current political state of this country and that is all I will say about that.

Even after all these years it still kind of blows my mind that Barr’s is just the cheap soda in Scotland. It’s everywhere and the cans have 39p printed right on them. Their counties garbage soda is a high quality soda here and I am jealous. Actually, I’m more envious. I would also probably drink way more soda if I lived there and that’s not going to do me any good.

Another thing Scotland apparently likes to do is add raspberry flavoring into other sodas. They somehow made the best ginger beer by doing just that. Unfortunately it didn’t translate as well with cream soda. This starts off so great. It’s a nice fruity cream soda that is reminiscent of Crush’s Soda Mousse. Somewhere in there though it takes a turn and a taste rears up that is similar to coconut. I don’t know what is causing it, but it takes me out of a wonderful experience. It’s like they used coconut water instead of regular water for the base of this drink. It’s just strange. If that particular aspect of this drink were gone this would be completely fantastic.

Website
http://www.agbarr.co.uk/
Country
Scotland
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Komodo Carbonated Energy Beverage Made with Coconut Water

Komodo Carbonated Energy Beverage Made with Coconut Water

Alternative energy drinks keep popping up more and more. I say alternative because they don’t have the same ingredients or taste like Red Bull and its artificial ingredient filled running crew. Sure a lot of these products don’t pack the same punch, but do you really need those crazy jitters? I didn’t think so.

Komodo takes things a way I have never come across before. They carbonate coconut water and add some caffeine and B vitamins to supply the imbiber with energy. They only use natural ingredients and you can tell by the way it tastes. It’s strong on the coconut taste, but I suppose that is what you want when you purchase a coconut energy drink. The flavor does fall a bit on the toasted side rather than the plain old coconut water side of things, but that may be due to the use of stevia as well as cane sugar to keep the calories down. This is something new and interesting and it’s decent enough to go back for return purchases.

Website
http://komodopower.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Coconut, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 11th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Eco Teas Mate Flower With Hibiscus

Eco Teas Mate Flower With Hibiscus

I’m not one to complain when a yerba mate is put in front of me. I will happily drink each and every one that is placed into my hands. This is simple and it is also delicious. It is simply brewed organic free trade yerba mate and hibiscus with a pinch of salt added. There is no sweetener added, because there is no need for one. It is a beverage that is wonderful just the way it is. It’s slightly bitter and a bit woody, just like a proper mate should be. The hibiscus gives it just a hint of floral taste. I could drink this stuff by the gallon if it were an option. If someone wants to make that a real option for me, please do.

Website
http://yerbamate.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 9th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Pearl Soda Company Soda Syrup Lime Twist (Greenbush Citrus Ginger)

Pearl Soda Company Soda Syrup Lime Twist (Greenbush Citrus Ginger)

When a representative from the Pearl Soda Company emailed us about sending us samples to review their products I was traveling and it wasn’t until after I hit send on a message giving them my address that I realized, “Are we even going to be able to use these syrups in their proper fashion?” I had no idea if these were the type of soda concentrate that bars and restaurants used in their guns or what. I decided that instead of writing them back I would just figure it out when the samples arrived.

As soon as I opened the package I knew everything was going to be just fine. I mean look at those fancy little bottles. They look so classy. I ran out to the store and bought a bottle of plain seltzer water and got to mixing. Now normally the recommended amount of concentrate/flavoring is on the duller side of flavor town, but I mixed it as prescribed and it tasted great right off the bat.

I guess I should have stated that these are tea infused flavored syrups. I’ve never tried anything like it before and they are fantastic. This lime twist is made with greenbush tea with ginger, lime, lemongrass and lemon myrtle mixed in. The results are a concoction that tastes like a lemon-lime ginger ale that was specially made just for you. Underneath it all is a faint tea flavor that simply adds to the experience. Who needs to go to an overpriced bar, filled with turds who you would never interact with in any other scenario, when you can pretend to be your very own mixologist at home. I drank this with just seltzer water, but I can only imagine that people would love it with booze mixed in. I personally think that would be sacrilege and detract from a wonderful beverage.

Website
http://www.pearlsodaco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 6th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Alley Cat Tea Original

Alley Cat Tea Original

Did you know that Alley Cat Tea is a Southern original? No? Well, don’t feel too bad because I don’t think that most southerners know it either. It is a probably that surely needs to be sorted out though because they should all know and love this wonderful beverage.

Whenever anyone thinks about the South and tea they more than likely think of sweet tea. Now take that delicious treat and improve on it by mixing in a bunch of fruit juice. The label has pictures of pineapples, oranges, lemons and strawberries, although the latter is not listed in the ingredients. It tastes like it’s 50% pineapple, 25% tea, 10% orange, 10% lemon and 5% strawberry. It’s one of those wonderful concoctions where you can pinpoint each of the flavors or enjoy it as a whole. The whole thing is dark and so very cloudy that it looks like it could be cider. I wish I had picked up more than one bottle on my dumb drive from FL to MI.

Website
http://alleycattea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 4th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |