Nth Degree Enhanced Sports Drink Raspberry

Nth Degree Enhanced Sports Drink Raspberry

You’re probably thinking the same thing as I am, “Why would someone create a new sports drink when there are so many on the market that no one seems to drink?” This is true. For decades Gatorade has had the market on lockdown. Sure Powerade tried to step up, but it always seemed like a lesser version of the original(?). In recent years Body Armor has been making a big push to steal the crown, but I’m not sure how far they have gotten. I mean you don’t see a cooler of Body Armor getting dumped on the coach when a professional team wins. I’m not trying to talk down on these companies, well maybe Powerade, but it seems like people like to stick with what they know, and in this niche market they certainly know Gatorade.

The thing that makes Nth Degree stand out is that they use Palatinose aka Isomaltulose as a sweetener. The benefit of that is that it is fully digested slower than most sweeteners so the energy from the “sugar” is spread out over a longer period of time. It also has a low glycemic index and supports fat oxidation. All of those sound like good things to me. They also sound like the things that would help them fight their way to the top of the sports drink empire. It’s full of B vitamins and electrolytes, so it should be a full service sports drink. I will say that it has a decent taste to it as well. It has the familiar taste you would expect from such a drink but there’s something else there as well. It has a slightly different texture than I expected. It’s a little thick, but not in a corn syrup way. The raspberry flavor tastes artificial, but it’s not offensive. To top it all off the taste of the stevia doesn’t run rampant.

Do I think this will kick Gatorade out of top ranking? No, I think the company has been far to ingrained in American sports. I do think that if they had come out at the same time that the coolers wouldn’t be orange or green anymore with a G on them.

Website
http://www.nth4u.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Isomaltulose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 17th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Teas' Tea Organic Hibiscus Green Tea

Teas' Tea Organic Hibiscus Green Tea

The Ito En / Teas’ Tea company doesn’t mess around. They keep things simple, natural and delicious. Their iced teas actually taste like tea instead of sugar, like most companies. They know the secret that tea is delicious on its own and it does not need to be disguised by sweeteners. Sure sometimes you want a little something extra in it, but for those times you certainly do not need to go overboard and dump the equivalent of a semi’s load into a single bottle. With this “Lightly Sweet” tea they added 20g of sugar, as opposed to the 30-40g range that a lot of teas fall into. To be honest I didn’t even need that much sugar. I think it detracts a bit from the green tea and hibiscus. When you use quality ingredients you don’t need to mask the way they taste, and there is nothing but quality in this bottle. Do I think the floral taste would have been better without any sugar? Yes, I do. Do I really mind that they added some? No. It is still delicious. I believe hibiscus is at its peak when it is paired with some spices, such as cinnamon, but I do think it has a lot to offer in solo form and this drink proves that.

Website
http://teastea.com
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 12th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Titan Tea Lemon Black Tea

Titan Tea Lemon Black Tea

I’m sorry but lemon black tea just does not excite me. First off, when it comes in an iced form it almost always tastes like it was made from a powdered mix and not brewed. It’s probably a dumb memory from my junior high years when I used to make way too much iced tea with Lipton powder and of course use an excess of the mix. That was some pretty strong tea that I would completely dislike now, but when I was 13 going to hangout with my friends and skateboard it worked just fine. You would think that something that tasted of good memories would be something I would enjoy, but now I just find it boring. It doesn’t help that lemon is the lowest level fruit flavoring a beverage can have (which would be the “secondly” part). There is nothing bad about this tea, but it does not hold my interest. It is the kind of drink that could be the only thing in my fridge besides water for a month and I still might not get to it. Oh, did I mention that I really enjoy drinking water though?

Website
http://titantea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 7th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Matero Sparkling Yerba Mate

Matero Sparkling Yerba Mate

Germany may have Club Mate, but Canada now has Matero. Both are yerba mate sodas and both are phenomenal. I really wish I had a Club Mate here so I could do a side by side taste test. In my memory this tastes extremely similar, but I want to say that Matero may be a bit better. Mainly because I think it tastes a little less sweet. I love every sip of this. I’m well aware that this isn’t for everyone. In fact, I think a majority of the population would turn their nose up at this, but those people are fools. Just because something isn’t like a “normal” soda doesn’t make it bad. I would definitely rather drink this over most sodas. It’s just carbonated yerba mate tea with a little cane sugar in it. It packs a nice punch caffeine-wise and it’s all done naturally. In my dreams this company will trickle down over the border and take over drink coolers everywhere. I may have to go across an ocean to get Club Mate, but I just need to cross a border 15 minutes away to enter Canada to get more of these.

Website
http://www.drinkmatero.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 4th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Pepsi 1893 Black Currant Cola

Pepsi 1893 Black Currant Cola

They cannot fail. The Pepsi-Cola company simply cannot fail with their 1893 line. The other flavors had me very excited, but I was skeptical about the black currant. We had a currant bush in my backyard growing up, and I enjoyed eating them, but I generally find their tartness rarely takes me where I want it to in beverage form. It is really great in this cola though. More than any other flavor in this line this reminds me of a cherry cola with a twist. I always think of currants as a form of grape, even though I know they are berries. I don’t know if it’s that thought process or an actuality, but this kind of tastes like a mixture of cherry/grape cola. I really enjoy it so much more than I ever would have anticipated. I wondered if they were going to release a cherry version of this, and now I think it’s unnecessary. This fills that void and does it in a unique and enjoyable way.

Website
http://www.pepsi.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 3rd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Meyer Lemon

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Meyer Lemon

These New England folks have done it again. They have made a tea that should have been completely average something that I truly enjoyed. When you think of a lemon tea your mind tends to wander to the mundane. Apparently the secret to success with that is to throw that black tea out the window and embrace rooibos aka red tea. It has a somewhat earthy taste with a hint of vanilla. What drink doesn’t vanilla improve? I’ll wait while you try to figure that out.

I am not a fan of lemon normally. I find it boring and unless it is in exceptional lemonade I tend to think most drinks would be better off with it omitted. The Meyer lemon in here is something different though. It definitely enhances the flavor by blending in with the tea in a way that normally doesn’t happen. I expected so little from this tea and I was given so much in return. To quote the Pet Shop Boys, “What have I done to deserve this?”

Website
http://wickedlekker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 1st, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Titan Tea Pomegranate Green Tea

Titan Tea Pomegranate Green Tea

Something is off with this. At first I thought it tasted like plastic. Then I thought that maybe it had been sitting around too long and had expired. It doesn’t and it hadn’t. Then I realized that it tastes like the pomegranate that they juiced for the flavoring of this tastes like it wasn’t even close to ripe. When it’s perfect the fruit is a bit sour, but this is just bitter. I will say that it has one of the most authentic pomegranate tastes I’ve ever come across in a beverage, unfortunately it’s like they took the bad aspects of fruit and left all the wonderful things behind. It’s not horrible; it’s actually very close to being amazing. That is also its downfall. It leaves me wanting to such an extent that I can’t appreciate what is there.

Website
http://titantea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 27th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Pepsi 1893 Citrus Cola

Pepsi 1893 Citrus Cola

For how little I care about the Pepsi-Cola company, I really love their 1893 line. I’m talking probably 8 out of the last 10 sodas I have bought for pleasure have been them. That’s probably spaced out over the past six months, but those are some pretty good numbers. While I find their regular, every day cola pretty boring and uninspiring this stuff is just great. It is dark. It is bold. If I had reviewed the original instead of Mike it would have gotten top marks. It is everything I could have ever wanted out of a cola.

Now they have gone and twisted things up a bit with this citrus flavor. When I heard this was going be released I thought it was going to be lemon or lime (perhaps a combo of the two), or possibly orange, which would have been fantastic. I never would have anticipated that the citrus fruit they used was going to be grapefruit. It was a bold move and I think it really pays off. While I do prefer the original, this is something unlike anything I have ever had before and it is really great. The thing is that it is like two sodas mixed into one. I don’t know how they have kept the flavors separate, but that’s how it goes down. When it’s in your mouth and initially after you swallow it tastes like a fantastic grapefruit soda. Very quickly that fades and the 1893 cola taste replaces it.

At first I was unsure what to think about this. It most definitely was unusual. It took about half the can before I realized that I really loved it. I’ve generally moves away from sugary beverages in my older age. They tend to make me feel a little bit like garbage and they always seem to have too much sugar. This tastes incredibly sugary sweet, but it works in here. I find myself savoring the sweetness like I normally wouldn’t in other sodas. When this line first came out I was sure that it would disappear from shelves within a few months. With the release of two new flavors it seems that it is here to stay and I’m excited to see where else they take it.

Website
http://www.pepsi.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 23rd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Black Currant

Wicked Lekker Rooibos Tea Black Currant

When I first saw this I made a joke about it being from Massachusetts, specifically Boston. Anything with the word “wicked” in the title has to be from there, right? Guess what? IT IS! I didn’t really think was going to be. I mean people joke about people from that region saying everything is wicked this or wicked that, but I had no idea that the denizens of MA actually embraced the stereotype. That is better than my joke could ever be. I also just discovered from the company’s website that lekker is the Afrikaans word for awesome. That’s right, this companies name translates to “Wicked Awesome.” Somewhere Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are very proud.

As much as I would like to, and will, laugh about this company’s name, they are right. This tea is pretty great. Due to it being a rooibos tea it is a different beast than the iced teas you are used to. It’s slightly nutty and a little fruity. It’s definitely a nice path to take from time to time as a respite from your normal iced teas. You can really taste the honey in here as well. Most importantly, at least to me, is that the black currant isn’t overpowering. You can taste it, but it adds to the flavor rather than taking over the whole show.

Wicked Lekker, your name is ridiculous and I love it. I also love your teas. I hope the fact that I found it at a discount store means that you are just redoing your labels and not that your company is in trouble. I want to see more of you.

Website
http://wickedlekker.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 22nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Waiakea Hawaiian volcanic Water

Waiakea Hawaiian volcanic Water

Water is water, right? I mean sure, some companies water might taste a little different because of the bottles they use or the inclusion of trace amounts of sodium for some reason, but other than that it’s all just water. WRONG! I used to be as misguided as you, but then I had special waters. The kind of waters that you would imagine only rich people could afford. Waters with a higher pH. These waters ARE different and they are deliciously smooth. This just happens to be one of those magical waters and it doesn’t cost you a week’s worth of pay like you might expect from something so extravagant.

Waiakea water is naturally filtered through volcanic rock and as a result it gets enriched with minerals (without tasting like mineral water) and it also makes it naturally alkaline. If you’re a dummy like me, you have no idea what that means, so let me lay it out for you; It helps to remove toxins form the body and regulates the body’s natural pH. It also does not decrease in pH over time and stays at 8.8. Does all of that really matter though? When you’re drinking it all most people care about is the taste and it is good. It’s water, but it tastes better than water. It’s as if it is what all water hopes to become. It’s crisp and clear, while being strangely smooth.

On top of all of that the company also donates 650 liters of clean water to Africa for every liter sold. Well played.

Website
http://waiakeasprings.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 16th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |