Abbott Farms Old Fashioned Strawberry

Abbott Farms Old Fashioned Strawberry

I'm not going to lie. I almost didn't drink this. When I opened it I took a whiff of the not at all appealing fluid contained in the bottle. My friend Dan said "It smells like a girl who chewed strawberry gum, who had terrible breath." For the sake of you, our loyal readers, I followed through and introduced bottle to lips. It didn't taste as terrible as it's odor. It was also not very good. Like the other Abbot Farms' sodas I've had, it tasted like a cheap liquefied candy. Not even like those candies wrapped in foil made to look like strawberries that your great aunt Millie keeps in her winter coat, an even cheaper candy than that.
While I do appreciate the attempt you have made Abbot Farms, please stick to cider in your future ventures.

Website
http://www.abbottfarmsonline.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 28th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Abita Root Beer

Abita Root Beer

I just recently found out that a bunch of beer breweries also have their own line of root beer. I for one think that's pretty rad. A friend recommended this, and said that Abita also made really good beer. I will just have to take her word on that.
I really like the bottles that these come in. They are shorter and fatter than your typical bottles. Something about them just screams "Hey these are the kind of bottles cowboys would drink out of!"
I was a bit skeptical when I read the ingredients and it says "root beer flavor." I was expecting it to taste like those little root beer candies. Luckily I was wrong and it has a fairly good taste to it. This is a great root beer for someone who wants something more than an A&W or Dads, but doesn't like the complex flavors in a root beer like Virgils.

Website
http://abita.com/brews/root_beer.php
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Abita ROOT BEER OF LOUISIANA w/cane sugar "A Cajun Brew", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Acai Roots Pure Premium Acai Juice

Acai Roots Pure Premium Acai Juice

I'm pretty sure there was a secret conference somewhere in the past year or two where it was voted that acai would be the new hip fruit. For a couple of years before that pomegranate ruled the school. It was obviously time for it to pass on the torch, and it seems that acai was voted into office. It's all over the place lately. Antioxidants are all the rage and acai is at the top of the charts.

Acai Roots decided to step up the game. Unlike most, if not all other companies, Acai Roots does not mix other fruit juices in with their acai juice. It's water, acai puree, and cane sugar. I can get behind that. If you were spotlighting a certain fruit, why would you want to muddy up the flavor with other ingredients?

It's a strong juice. It has that specific acidic taste that let's you know "This is a juice that is exceptionally good for me." It's not something the average person could drink a big 16oz glass of, but a nice smaller glass a day is not out of the question. The bottle also recommends putting the juice into a smoothie or a shake. Both of those sound pretty incredible.

Website
http://www.acairoots.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Acai Roots Pure Axai Juice, 32-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 3)

Acai Roots Organic Acai Juice + Coconut Water

Acai Roots Organic Acai Juice + Coconut Water

I hope you really enjoy this week’s date night. You know how we’ve been talking about making each date night theme oriented? Well I decided to put that into action. At first I thought about having it French night, but that just seemed too obvious. I thought and thought on it, and well…. Welcome to Brazil honey!

To start things off we’ll be going downtown to the east side in order to try and authentically recreate the atmosphere of the favelas of Rio De Janeiro. We may have to get a later start than usual to make sure it’s already completely dark out for things to feel right. I mean what would a Brazilian date night be without getting harassed and potentially robbed at knifepoint?

I know what you’re thinking, where are we going to get authentic Brazilian food here in Buffalo, NY? Don’t you worry I found this guy who will let us come to his house and he will cook us up some nice feijoada. He said he has 12 roommates along with 23 cats and 14 dogs, but hey the more the merrier! Oh yes, feijoada is a stew of pork, sausage and smoked meat cooked with black beans and garlic, garnished with slices of orange. I know you don’t eat meat, but I figured you could make an exception in order to make date night authentic.

After dinner, assuming that we haven’t been mugged and stabbed with a makeshift knife, we will catch a nice game of soccer. It will be pretty late at that point, so I found a DVD of a game from about 10 years ago. The nice fellow who will be cooking for us said we could watch it in his room. Only four other people share the room, so it should be nice and cozy. He just said to make sure the DVD is the right region. I don’t know what that means, but we’ll figure it out.

Oh, oh I forgot to mention that I scored a bottle of the traditional Brazilian drink acai juice mixed with coconut water. It’s a match made in heaven. The negative aspects of each drink neutralize each other. It’s like it’s an acai juice that isn’t harsh and is a little chalky tasting. It doesn’t really taste like coconut water at all, well minus the slight chalkiness. I know how much you like acai juice, but can only drink a tiny glass of it. This way you can chug a nice 16 ounce glass with no issues at all.

So, what do you think? Is this going to be the best date night ever or what? What do you mean you’re breaking up with me. I put so much effort into this. How could you say that it sounds like a night from hell? This is authentic Brazil here! For Brazil night you want it to be all beaches and Carnival? Well it looks like we have different versions of a good time. Hey come back here when I’m talking to you, and bring back my juice!

Website
http://www.acairoots.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Coconut, Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 16th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Organic Coconut Water + Acai 32oz by Acai Roots

Ace Vegatable & Fruit Juice

Ace Vegatable & Fruit Juice

Come on baby. Let's just get down tonight. I know we come from different sides of the tracks, you being fruit punch and me being a vegetable juice. It's about time that we knock boots, right? We've been together for three weeks and I've been good not to ask you for it. You know, it. Let's just pour our juices together. This is an old car, we can go in the back, put down a tarp, and get our juices all over the place. Mix 'em up. You know you want to, girl. Yeah girl. Unscrew that cap. Yeah, just throw it in the front seat. Come on, girl. I drink my vegetable juice all the time. It's about time that I drank some fruit juice. Daddy needs his vitamin C. I've had my cap off for ten minutes now. I was born ready. Just splash some stuff over there. Yeah, that's the stuff.

Hey, would you mind doing something for me? Would your pour some of your delicious fruit juice in my head? I just want to try it out. I want to taste what our juices together taste like. Yeah, just pour it right on in there. Don't worry about getting some on me. I love it. Now let me take a sip here. Ugh, are you feeling alright? Ugh, this is gross. What am I going to do now? It's all mixed in and I'm going to have to drink fifty-five gallons of it. This was a terrible idea. Maybe they were right. Maybe this is why you're not supposed to mix your side of the tracks with my side. Vegetable juice and fruit juice just don't mix. Oh, sure, girl, it's fun to make, but to drink...it's like fruit but then carrot flavored fruit, then just strange cabbage or spinach. I'm sorry, Daphne, you've got to go. I've got to clean this up and I might throw up and you don't want to see that. I'm sorry, baby. It's not you. It's me.

Website
http://www.kuangchuan.com
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Activate Vitamin Fruit Punch

Activate Vitamin Fruit Punch

I had very little interest in this beverage when I first picked it up, but since I had never seen it before I felt an obligation to this website. It has zero sugar; only five calories and the light color did not make it look very flavorful. None of that is very enticing to me.

The saving grace/overall coolness of this drink is the fact that there is a compartment of vitamins hidden in the cap. When you're ready to drink it you twist the red part of the lip and they drop into the drink. I've never come across a drink like that before, and it's pretty rad. The reason for it is that vitamins deteriorate and lose their potency in water. This way you get the most bang for your buck if you will.

This flavor really tasted like Flintstones Chewable Vitamins. Do they still make those? If not they should. They are tasty and made me want to take vitamins as a kid. Barney was always the best one. Do kids even know who the Flintstones are? Would Fred selling cigarettes even work nowadays? Who would be peddling those wares these days?

The use of stevia was a wise choice. It keeps the diet flavor to a minimum, and actually makes the drink enjoyable.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Extract
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 29th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Vitamin Fruit Punch, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Immunity Orange

Activate Immunity Orange

More drinks should be interactive. Ramune is the perfect example of a fun, interactive drink. It's so fun to knock that marble down into the drink. This is equally fun. Twisting the top orange part and letting the powder fall into the drink, helplessly, like someone pulled the ground from under it. It's actually pretty incredible how dark this drink gets with how little powder actually goes into it. Also, I did say powder, but they did an awesome job of formulating it so that it doesn't have that gritty, "too much powder" taste like you are drinking half juice and half sandy juice. It tastes like if you mixed orange Flintstone vitamins and Tang, two things that remind me of childhood. If I had this as a child, I could cross two things off my list. A multitasker. This drink is good and good for you. It's cliché, I know, but it's true.

It reminds me of some James Bond poisoning technique, a bit. Obviously not orange because Mr. Bond would be hip to whatever Goldfinger is trying to do to him. If he, or probably Oddjob, would use something similar to those clear fiber powders, but mixed it with a truth serum/powder, all would be lost. You and I would be living in a gold-free environment. Fort Knox would be Goldfinger's because James Bond was thirsty.

Buy it for yourself, buy it for your kids, buy it for your lover. If anyone doesn't like it, tell them that you'll never buy them anything ever again, but do it in that voice, you know the one, the one that makes it sound so personal that the other person feels like garbage and buys you a Whopper because they feel bad.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Immunity Orange, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Antioxidant Berry

Activate Antioxidant Berry

This drink is just plain fun. It's clear and then when you twist the cap vitamins and flavors are dropped into the drink. You shake it all up and you have yourself a fresh tasty drink. It's ingenious really. It keeps the vitamins fresh and it's more entertainment for the drinker.

Both of these that I have tried taste like children's vitamins. That is a compliment in my world. Unfortunately this one tastes a bit more diet than the other ones we're reviewed. It's sweetened with stevia, so it's not too bad, but it still has a definite diet taste. That being said I would definitely drink this again.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf Extract
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 26th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Antioxidant Berry, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Workout Lime

Activate Workout Lime

All week I've been gardening. I filled two giant city garbage totes with scraps of ugly rose bush shrapnel, weeds, old perennials that never really came to fruition, and rocks that someone who lived in my house before me thought was a compliment and not just annoying. Have you ever tried to take one thousand small rocks out of dirt? It blows. Today I finished weeding my whole backyard; weed treated and then laid down a layer of weed blocker. My soil is shot and it needed to be tilled like you wouldn't believe. Not to mention that it hasn't rained in a week, which I'm not complaining because I'm living the wettest summer that this city has ever seen. I don't mean that dramatically, I mean that almanatically. I planted peppers, strawberries, brussel sprouts, and as you can see in the picture, a little jelly bean plant. I saw this guy and had to buy it. I don't have the greenest thumb, but with a succulent, you have a bit of give.

So with all of this going on, and me not having a servant that would bring me a cool glass of water, I decided to go through my stock and grab something that would be both quenching and have a purpose. I picked this Activate drink up not too long ago and it was the perfect drink for the day.

Yes, its intended purpose is for workout, but seriously go to a Curves and look around. Would you say that me hand tilling, digging, planting, lifting buckets of dirt, and just general yard work is more or less than putting the treadmill on "turtle" and watching "The View"? More, right? So I don't need to necessarily "workout" to drink this now, do it?

I liked it a lot. It was a good, genuine lime flavor. The Stevia did a great job of letting that shine through. It really was nothing more than a sweetened lime flavored water. It was a bit "from powder" or "from concentrate" but I'm not holding that against them because it was. I saw it. I made it. I liked it.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Workout Lime, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Workout Pink Grapefruit

Activate Workout Pink Grapefruit

The thing I hate about Vitamin Water is my intake of stale vitamins. There's nothing worse than taking a nice big gulp of a cool refreshing beverage and getting a mouthful of old vitamin. This is apparently what Activate wants you to think. I don't know if it's even possible for vitamins to go stale, and it has never affected the taste of my Vitamin Water, but I do like the novelty of the Activate line.

These drinks come in two parts; a bottle of water that is sweetened with stevia and a cap full of powdered vitamins. You twist one part of the cap and the vitamins drop into the water, which you then shake up. The idea is that the vitamins are healthier because they are fresh. Aren't the vitamins the same age whether they already come in the water or not? I suppose it doesn't really matter, it's still fun.

This tastes like what a modern grandmother would have for breakfast. Every morning my grandmother would cut a grapefruit in half and dust it with sugar, then chow down with the tiniest knife and spoon I have ever seen. I think she may have stolen them from some tiny race of people in the forest, but I can't be sure. So yeah, I can only assume a more health conscious modern grandmother would dust her grapefruit with stevia. If you ate said grapefruit right after eating your chewable kids vitamins, then took a sip of water then you would know exactly what this drink tastes like. The flavor is light and faint. The stevia is there, but not overpowering. Just like it should be. Well played activate. Now I just need to see if your vitamins really are fresher and healthier, or if you're just a big stupid liar head.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf Extract
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 18th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Workout Pink Grapefruit, 16 oz Bottles, 12 pk
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |