Switch Kiwi Berry

Switch Kiwi Berry

This is the first flavor of Switch that I have not been a huge fan of. It's also the only one that doesn't taste exactly like the fruits that are pictured on the can. Remember the Strawberry Shortcake dolls that all the little girls carried around in the 80's? Remember how their breath smelled when you squeezed them. That smell is exactly how this beverage tastes. I didn't think that was a real flavor.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Kiwi Berry, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Johnnie Ryan Root Beer

Johnnie Ryan Root Beer

I always get really excited to try products made by local companies. Johnnie Ryan is produced in Niagara Falls, about 20 minutes from my house. A bunch of restaurants in the area carry it now, which is great because it is sweetened with cane sugar. I'm definitely a huge fan of the company, and I'm surprised it's taken me so long to try the root beer. I have to say, it's not what I want from a root beer. It just tastes like a sugary soda, and doesn't have any of the earthiness that I have come to expect in nicer varieties. It actually reminds me a lot of A&W or Dads. I'll stick with my "fancier" root beers.

Website
http://johnnieryan.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Fizzy Lizzy Lone Star Grapefruit

Fizzy Lizzy Lone Star Grapefruit

A couple of years ago I was out in Portland, OR and I discovered Fizzy Lizzy. They make a delicious sparkling juice that has pulp in it. Have I ever mentioned that I love pulp and chunks in drinks? We discovered a little market here carries it, but unfortunately it's only one flavor. If you don't like pink grapefruit, I wouldn't suggest you try it. It's very strong and sour. I personally loved it. That bottle also announces "Shake my hips before placing bottle to your lips." How can you turn down a proposition like that?

Website
http://www.fizzylizzy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Izze Sparkling Blackberry

Izze Sparkling Blackberry

Why are beverages in tiny cans so appealing? I always expect them to be bursting with intense flavor. Izze does not disappoint. This has a strong blackberry flavor that is lightly carbonated. It does have the faintest hint of seltzer water, but not enough to ruin it for me. This is definitely a drink that I will be revisiting in the near future.

Website
http://www.izze.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
IZZE Fortified Sparkling Juice, Blackberry, 8.4-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Ito En Teas' Tea Citrus Black

Ito En Teas' Tea Citrus Black

After a long, or even moderate bike ride to work, I usually chug about one and a half bottles of water. Yes, it comes from a container and not individual bottles. What, do I look like a savage to you? Anyhow, today I decided to change it up with some iced tea. Now normally, once again, I would never drink anything with sugar this early in the morning. You know when you brush your teeth and the last thing you want to do is ruin it with something? Who cares today? I feel like I can trust Ito En not to destroy my efforts to have nice teeth by always and consistently producing lightly sweetened drinks and this is no different.

This drink is clearly a black tea due to the lack of bitterness that a green tea, regardless of company, produces. It also has a fresh lemon taste, as if someone made a very light sweet tea (because it's black) and then squeezed some lemon in it. It tastes authentic and not produced, from concentrate, or just plain fake.

Is it my favorite Teas' Tea? No. Will I get it again? Probably. Do I recommend it? Yes.

Website
http://www.itoen.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ito En Teas' Tea Citrus Black, 16.9 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Bolthouse Farms Hawaiian Holiday - Passion Orange Guava

Bolthouse Farms Hawaiian Holiday - Passion Orange Guava

Whenever I start to feel like I'm getting sick, I make a run to the store and pick up a Bolthouse. My go to flavors are Green Goodness and C-Boost. Today when I was feeling a little under the weather, I did the usual, but I saw that they had a new flavor. It's pretty great. This one is a juice and not a smoothie, but it seems to be doing its job. Passion fruit and guava are two of my favorite fruits, and they both overpower the orange juice. I for one am very pleased. It also amazes me how sweet juice can be without any added sugars. I just finished the bottle, and I'm starting to feel better already.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Swiss Premium Sweet Tea Southern Style

Swiss Premium Sweet Tea Southern Style

There is something very particular about the way the sugar tastes in southern sweet tea, and Swiss has hit the bulls-eye. It's overly sweet, but without the terrible sickly sweet aftertaste. A lot of companies have been trying to replicate this taste, and this is one of the better versions I have had. I for one am glad that Swiss has come out with a Premium line.

Website
http://www.swiss-tea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Pomegranate Acai With Yumberry

Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Pomegranate Acai With Yumberry

Adina has really stepped up the game in juice/elixirs. They know how to perfectly flavor their beverages with just the right amount of sugar. This is the flavor I always wanted out of pomegranate. It's also not thick and syrupy like a lot of these drinks can be. Let's just hope the herbs and antioxidants help nurse me back to health.

Website
http://www.adinaworld.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Juice, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir, Pomegranate Acai with Yumberry, 14-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Lemon Ginger

Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Lemon Ginger

Mike and I both got bottles of Prometheus Springs on a dare. With flavors like "Lychee Wasabi" and "Pomegranate and Black Pepper" they just had such a high expectation for failure. I wussed out and went for what I thought to be the safer choice, "Lemon Ginger." I will admit it was the most intense beverage I have ever tried, but it also wasn't all that bad. Not only did it have an intense ginger burn, but also the capsaicin added made it even more insane. I drank about a third of the bottle, and had to put it away for a while. No one else who tried it got passed one sip. When I decided it was too much on its own I mixed it with some juice, and the results were pretty great. It dulled the burn a bit, but it still made for a nice kick. If you really love ginger or spicy foods, this may be the drink for you.

***********************UPDATE******************************

Yesterday was one of my best friend's bachelor party. Mike and I put together a basket (box) of strange drinks for the raffle. I picked up a bottle of this to put is said basket. At the last minute I pulled this bottle from the basket, because I figured that anyone who won it would take one sip and probably throw it out. I also really wanted to give it another chance. After about six months of doing this site and drinking more out of the ordinary beverages I had a very different outlook on it this time. Maybe it was because I knew what I was getting into, but I really enjoyed it. It's not something you can pop open and drink with dinner, but it's something nice to take a pull off of every so often during a long hang out. The burn that turned me off in the past was something that I now looked forward to. I really loved this drink this time around. I think I have officially become a drink snob.

Website
http://www.prometheussprings.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Ginger, Lemonade, Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Prometheus Springs Lemon Ginger Capsaicin Spiced Elixir 16 Oz. Bottles 12 Pack

Glaceau Vitamin Water Power-C

Glaceau Vitamin Water Power-C

I like Vitamin Water. It's more a juice than water regardless of what the folks at Glaceau say. I'm a fan of whatever the orange color/flavor is because it's like Tang.

I've had a real dragonfruit and it was weak. Did I get a bad one? Possibly? Was I young and stupid? Yeah.

This was a nice, flavorful drink. Refreshing with a real tasting fruit bite.

I don't care what people say about the calorie intake of Vitamin Water. This is a good drink and I'm sure there are more in the line that I'd like. Let the voyage continue.

Website
http://www.glaceau.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Crystalline Fructose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Glaceau Vitamin Water, Power-C Dragonfruit, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |