Hey Song Shaking Jelly Soda Drink Apple

Hey Song Shaking Jelly Soda Drink Apple

Oh my gosh...look I drink stuff every day. Some good. Some bad. Some strange. Some normal. This drink is so awesome and strange and involved I can't wait to tell you about it.

Individual snack packs of Jello (or equivalent) would be the base of this drink. The base, people. Jello. Base. The base is Jello. Take a bottle of sparkling apple juice and marinate the Jello. Take the mixture and put it in a can and you've got this drink.


I didn't know what to expect so I just gave it to my friend Matt because he saw the can and wanted to try it. He opened it up, smelled it, and then took a...slurp. It totally took him by surprise. He said that there were giant chunks in it and I looked inside and he couldn't have been more right. I brought it over to my friend Mike and tried to pour it into a cup for him and couldn't because the chunks were so big. I eventually resorted to taking a pair of pliers to the can and opening it enough to get it out of the can in its entirety. Now I have a cup of just amber colored sludge and I love it.

The taste is a bit like an energy drink, but it is probably just the strong apple taste making it seem like that. It's a good think that these are cheap, like $1, because everyone is getting a can for Christmas. This drink is fun and this is yet another reason why I love doing Thirsty Dudes.

Website
http://www.heysong.com.tw/web_en/index.htm
Country
Taiwan
Sweetener
Sugar And/Or High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Chunky, Other/Weird, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 17th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Purity Organic Mango Wonder

Purity Organic Mango Wonder

Lemon and lime, lemon and ginger, iced tea and lemon, lemon water...these are all flavors I am familiar with. Something I've never had before is a mango and lemon mix. Where have you been all my life? Okay, scratch that, I did have mango lemonade, but that was so tart that I almost forgot about the mango aspect. In this bottle is the perfect blend of the two fruits. Both flavors are very distinct without being overpowering. I think that it helps that the base of this drink is a lemon-mango puree. No artificial garbage in this baby, just pure organic greatness.
The bottle says that Purity Organic is the largest US supplier of fresh organic mangoes. For that I salute them. It is a wonderful fruit that I need more of in my life, my mouth, and my stomach.

Website
http://www.purityorganic.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Purity Organic Mango Wonder, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Bottle Green Sparkling Cranberry & Orange

Bottle Green Sparkling Cranberry & Orange

My lady-friend grabbed a bottle of Bottle Green when we were on a weekend trip to Toronto. It was pretty great. I was excited when we were able to get some more. This is a nice blend of juices that have the perfect amount of carbonation. What makes it even better is that sugar is way down on the ingredients list. It's just fruity and not sugary.
It is definitely more sparkling juice than soda pop. It's very quick to hit you with the flavor, and it leaves you just as quick. I could totally see hippy executives drinking this at business meetings. It's classy, tasty, and one of the best sparkling juices I've ever had.

Website
http://www.bottlegreen.co.uk
Country
England
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 24th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bottle Green Drinks, Cranberry & Orange Sparkling Presse, 25.3 Ounce Bottle

Skeleteens Love Potion No. 69 Purple

Skeleteens Love Potion No. 69 Purple

Back in the mid 90's when I was in high school, New Age Creations and Showplace Theatre (a local music venue) used to sell the Skeleteens line of soda. I was obsessed with it. It was overly caffeinated, and I remember some of them felt like you were drinking liquid smoke. After a few months they disappeared from the shelves. There were a bunch of rumors floating around as to why, most of them being about how there was actually some sort of illegal drug in the ingredients, or that one of the ingredients had been banned. This was about a decade before energy drinks really hit the market hard, so things heavily caffeinated seemed insane. Remember how people went nuts about Jolt back in the day?
I quickly forgot the company even existed. About two years ago I started searching for info, but no one knew what I was talking about. Even my friends who used to get them with me, barely remembered them existing. It didn't help that I couldn't remember the name of the company. Finally someone remembered they were called Skeleteens, and I scoured the internet. I found out that although the Skeleteens company is no more, Real Soda has taken over and on occasions small runs of the drinks were made, unfortunately I could only find them at distributors in California, and shipping was astronomical. I searched for them everywhere I went, with no luck. Then for Xmas this year, my girlfriend's parents ordered me a bunch of sodas from Galcos. I got one of each Skeleteens flavor, and boy am I ever stoked.
Okay forget the back-story, on to the review. As soon as I popped this open the smell hit me, and I totally felt like I was 15 again. It's crazily carbonated, but this one unfortunately didn't have as strong of a liquid smoke feeling as I remember (I now liken that feeling to crazy strong ginger beer). It starts off as a grape flavor, but then it switches directions and heads somewhere out west. I have no idea what to compare the flavor to, but I really love it. Maybe it's all the crazy herbs that are in the drink. Here is a list: Siberian Ginseng, Jasmine, Buchu, Dillweed, Ginko Biloba, Clove, Echinacea, Damiana, Kola Nut, Dong Quai, Brazilian Guarna, Gotu Kola, African Capsicum and Chamomile (I don't get why this one was in here). It's a weird mix of energy releasing and sexual stimulation herbs and those to promote a healthy immune system. Shear insanity. I've only gotten halfway through the bottle, and I already real insanely caffeinated. I have yet to have any sexual stimulation, so I'm calling their bluff.
Oh, and the label does nothing but scream 90's counter-culture. It's such an "alternative" company. Here are some of the things printed on the label: "arousing carbonated drink", "True love ain't cheap", "It's a turn on", "Helps to keep your heart on", "Nine inches full of wetness", "Not to be used alone unless you're into self-satisfaction" and my personal favorite (right above the ingredients) "What you'll be swallowing is these."
I don't know if it's just nostalgia or what, but I'm giving this a five-bottle review. I really love the way it tastes. I was hoping that I would think it was disgusting now that I'm older, so that I wouldn't have to worry about finding it again. Oh well. Now I'm going to have to find the pink variety of this. If anyone has any hook ups of how I can get this without it costing me a million dollars in shipping, please, please, please let me know.

Website
http://www.realsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Energy Drink, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 25th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Love Potion Soda #69 (Purple): 24 Count

Sprecher Cream Soda

Sprecher Cream Soda

Amazing. That's the first word that comes to mind when I try this soda. This is one of the creamiest cream soda's I've ever tasted. I've never had a soda with honey in it, and it adds a really nice flavor to the mix. There's a really unique aftertaste that I can't quite identify. It might be due to the fact that the soda is "fire-brewed". Whatever it is, it's delicious and I can't wait to try other sodas by Sprecher.

Website
http://www.sprecherbrewery.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Honey
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on December 28th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sprecher CREAM SODA - "From the Cream City of Wisconsin", 16-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Purity Organic Citrus Passion

Purity Organic Citrus Passion

Man. This was delightful. It was perfect for the time of day, mood, and just about everything in between and around. It was awesome, simply awesome. It started out with an orange juice and then quickly was followed up by a lemon passion fruit. Not passionfruit lemonade, but a lemon flavored passion fruit. It was soft, sweet, and just about everything I want in a drink.

I think an added bonus was that there was tons of stuff in it. When I got the drink, I didn't look at it, but when I picked it up to drink today, I noticed tons of pulp and stuff at the bottom and that excited me. I love a pulpy juice. When you give it a vigorous shake and then quickly drink some, you get a nice mix of juice and fruit pieces. I loved it. I want more. Zack probably wants more since we split it.

Website
http://www.purityorganic.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 30th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Purity Organic Juice, Citrus Passion, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Alo Appeal Aloe + Pomelo + Grapefruit + Lemon

Alo Appeal Aloe + Pomelo + Grapefruit + Lemon

I've consumed a lot of aloe drinks in my time. This is one of the best that I've had. It tastes fresher than most. It also has the biggest chunks of aloe that I've ever had in a drink. They are so big in fact that I would call them hunks, perhaps big hunkin' chunks. It also helps that it's the only one I've had that has actual juice in it (30% to be exact). You can really taste the grapefruit juice in it. It's also rare that a grapefruit drink actually tastes like the fruit, but Alo hit the mark. It also has Pomelo in it, which I wasn't familiar with. It turns out that it's an Asian fruit that tastes like a light grapefruit. Now I must search out a fresh Pomelo. Wish me luck in this frozen tundra.

Website
http://www.alodrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
ALO Appeal - 16.9 fl oz. (500mL) 12-count

Fentimans Curiosity Cola

Fentimans Curiosity Cola

For awhile we avoided trying Fentimans sodas because they say "Less than 0.5% alcohol by volume." The last time I was on tour in the UK the guitarist in my band drank a ton of this and raved about it. I was so bummed about the alcohol, and that I would just have to let it go. A few months later Martin, a friend of Thirsty Dudes, sent us this link, which shows that our fears were ill founded. Who would have guessed that there was more alcohol in everyday sodas? More importantly who cares? This was the green light we needed and we picked up some Fentimans for the site.
Imagine your typical suburban soccer mom, who guzzles down gallons of Pepsi a day. She hops in her minivan, drops the kids off at the fields for practice and makes her way to the local grocery store to pick up the weeks groceries. She's cruising the aisles, humming to herself. She picks up some ground chuck for dinner and quickly darts to the soda aisle for her sacred nectar; Pepsi Cola. She fills up the entire bottom of her cart with cases of the stuff. On her way out of the aisle she notices Fentimans. She says why not, she'll try a new cola. She cashes out, picks up the kids and makes her way home. She of course makes the little tikes bring in the bags as she puts it all away. Then she starts dinner. While that beef is sizzling, she grabs a Fentimans, opens it up, takes a sip and immediately spits it all over the counter. The reason is this isn't a modern day soda, but a "cola of yesteryear" as their website states. Their recipe is based on days when sodas were considered elixirs and not soft drinks. It has ginger and a mix of herbal extracts that give it a flavor that I absolutely love. I was definitely thrown off on my first bottle. I expected it to a normal cola with some extra stuff thrown in. I was unsure how I felt about it, so I waited to write my review. I'm glad I did, because I don't think I would have given it as high of a rating had I not. It's such a complex flavor. Instantly there is a hint of what most people would think of as a cola, and then an array of other flavors take over and take you on a roller coaster ride. It reminds me of the Taylor's Tonics line of sodas. There is more to the flavor than you would expect from looking at it. This is not for your typical soda drinker, but if you are someone who likes pop that is out of the ordinary look no further.

Website
http://www.drinkfentimans.com
Country
England
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Fentiman's Curiosity Cola Soda 9.3 oz Bottle
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Kutztown Sarsaparilla

Kutztown Sarsaparilla

Kutztown. This. Is. Awesome. I don't know why I mentally wrote you off. Did I do something in the past that made me think you weren't good? If so, I'm sorry because this sarsaparilla is top notch. Top notch. It's got such an earthy, rich flavor. I stupidly/politely gave everyone else a nice 6oz. each of this because it in it's entirety was a whopping 24oz. Leaving me with only 6oz to do this review. Had I known in advance how good this was ahead of time, it would have been Sipsville for those jerks I work with and Kutztown for me. I feel like I can taste everything in this from the classic root beer root flavors to whatever the heck makes sarsaparilla. It tastes homegrown and handmade, like there is some feeling to it.

Seriously, this is awesome. This is a "Oh, I'm in Pennsylvania? I've got to search and find and buy some Kutztown sarsaparilla." Every sip is as good as the last. It doesn't get old. I wish that I could keep this on ice and enjoy it until my teeth fall out. Mmmm, that's a bit too much. I like my teeth. I'll just say that I like this stuff, a lot.

Website
http://www.kutztownbottlingworks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sarsaparilla Soda 6 large bottles: Kutztown Soda

Bossa Nova Superfruit Mangosteen With Passionfruit

Bossa Nova Superfruit Mangosteen With Passionfruit

I've had my eye on the Bossa Nova drinks for a while. It's a little on the pricey side, so I showed some restraint. It's made from superfruits so the cost is to be expected. Today was the day of Bossa Nova. We're on the way to a friend's cabin for a wintry excursion, and I wanted a juice for the road. I chose well. This has such a strong passionfruit and guava taste. Those are two of my favorites, so I love it. It has a thickness to it like you come to expect from higher end juices. It also has a nice tanginess along with the sweetness.

This will hopefully give me the energy I need to fight off the serial killers, monsters and aliens that will inevitably attack us tonight. I think Mike and I will be able to take them. We're two strapping young scientists. Even without this drink they wouldn't stand a chance.

Website
http://www.bossausa.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 15th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |