Naked Nutrition Pea

Naked Nutrition Pea

Pea and rice are my favorite protein sources when it comes to powders. To me they taste the best and I don’t feel gross drinking something that comes from an animal. For the record milk has grossed me out since I was a kid and I will never get over thinking about what it actually is, and how unbelievably unnatural it seems for one species to drink another species milk.

Anyway, this is made from peas, and just peas. Guess what, it tastes like peas. If you use water as a mixer it can be a little bitter. I tried it with water as well as almond milk, and I enjoyed the later much more. Listen, I know mushy peas are the worst vegetable on the Thanksgiving table, but they are much better in this form. It’s the texture that makes them gross. I swear. Just buy something like this instead of whey protein, you'll feel better about your choice.

Website
http://nkdnutrition.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 21st, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Polar Seltzer Pineapple Lemon Twist

Polar Seltzer Pineapple Lemon Twist

It’s that time of year again and the limited edition summer line by Polar is finally here. I have been checking the grocery store for weeks and it has paid off, as there are some new flavors this time around that definitely got me excited.

Pineapple is one of the greatest fruits we have discovered on this vast planet. Sure if you eat too much it can be painful. I once ate an entire pineapple, by self, in one sitting and it made my tongue bleed. Citrus can be a harsh mistress, but the taste makes it worth it. That side of this twist is fantastic. I’m not exactly sure who got away with pitching adding lemon to it though. Lemon is a budget flavoring and I feel that as humans we can move past it for the most part. I’m sure it was proposed as pineapple lemonade, which would have been incredible. That belongs in their Seltzerade line though, as here the flavor doesn’t have the punch it needs to be classified as a lemonade. A pineapple lime would have been nice. I would have loved to have gotten a pineapple-apple seltzer, as the name would make me laugh every time I poured a glass. My number one choice would have been pineapple vanilla though. I’ve made it on my own and it’s delicious.

As it stands this is fairly tasty and I went through the bottle quick. I just feel there are better potential pairings out there that were missed out on.

Website
http://www.polarbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 20th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Giving Tree Tea Original Organic Moringa Superfood Tea

Giving Tree Tea Original Organic Moringa Superfood Tea

Correct me if I’m wrong, but the Shel Silverstein book that shares a name with this beverage is about how humans are horrible needy beings that will ruin anything if it helps them to “progress.” In the book the boy takes and takes until there is nothing left, and even then he uses ole stumpy as a place to rest his weary body, when he hasn’t been back in years to visit. At the same time the book seems to teach that feminine things should be happy to serve. I know it’s a childhood favorite to a lot of people but looking at it as an adult that book is a crock.

While they may share names this beverage is of a different sort. They give in the form of vitamin c, calcium, potassium, iron, protein as well refreshment, but they also take your cash and make a profit, which they should. As an added bonus, Giving Tree Tea also donates a portion of each sale to provide healthy meals to people who are struggling with hunger. They should be the basis for a children’s book. They give and they take, and they aren’t a chump in doing so. Everyone is happy and they are making the world a better place. Sharing and giving are important, but so is your general wellbeing, and don’t let a picture book from the 60’s tell you any different.

Moringa is a light earthy tea that has some produce like notes in it. Sometimes I think they are fruitlike and other times it’s almost like leafy greens. I’m going to go with the latter and say it’s the sugar that makes me think of fruit. It’s almost as if it’s tea flavored water, except it is way healthier. I feel like I could down a gallon of this without blinking.

Website
http://givingtreetea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 15th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bubbly Sparkling Water Strawberry

Bubbly Sparkling Water Strawberry

When you live in a country where more and more people are finally starting to become health conscious eventually seltzer water is going to come into the mainstream. I’m not saying that it used to be a underground phenomenon. It’s not like it’s the mid 80’s and Dischord is at the forefront of the DC punk scene. It just wasn’t something that was everywhere with tons of people drinking it. I’ve been seeing a lot of ads for Bubbly around lately. Something about the design work made me think of generic store brand and I didn’t hold much hope for greatness. I finally grabbed this today when I was thirsty, on the run, and not looking for sugar. While it’s not mind-blowing and bursting with flavor in a way that makes you question if there is secretly sugar involved in some way, but it is very good. The strawberry is subtle, yet present. I’m aware of the contradiction there. It’s just that it’s not really there while you mull over the flavor in your mouth, but the second you swallow it’s strawberry town. Maybe strawberry-ville? Well, it’s certainly more than the hamlet of strawberry. Whatever, it’s tasty and tastes as much like strawberries as you possibly could without it being sweet. With a price point a bit higher than my standby Polar, I don’t know if I could buy a case to grab on the go, but I would certainly grab these again from gas stations while I’m out and about. Sometimes the increased quality just does not justify the increase in price, well at least for me, but I’m cheap.

Website
http://www.bubly.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 13th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Protein2o Protein Infused Water Harvest Grape

Protein2o Protein Infused Water Harvest Grape

I’ve been kind of into protein drinks lately. I mean as much as you can get into them, which is to say I’ve been drinking them somewhat regularly. I realized I have a big portion control problem when it comes to eating. If there is food in front of me I will just absentmindedly eat it. The fact that I sometimes eat a ridiculous amount without thinking about it, leads me to overeat during regular meals because my stomach is stretched (that’s science right?). I’ve found that protein drinks help me to not eat between meals so much. I’ll have one instead of a snack (which is probably a meal to most) and it helps curb my appetite. It’s also nice that it helps with muscle building and it makes me feel like I’m not wasting my time at the gym and I’m getting better results. That is far too much background information just so that I can say I was excited when these showed up in the mail. Good timing is always appreciated.

This bottle has 15g of whey protein. I generally prefer to get my protein from plant sources, but exceptions can be made. It’s grape flavored, but it contains no juice, so that means it tastes like a melted Free-Z-Pop, which I am more than okay with. Normally fake fruit flavors bother me, but for some reason I’m into fake grape. The whey protein gives it a slightly milky taste. It’s not so much like an orange cream, but it’s there around the edges. The grape is still in the foreground though. Mike said that the Tropical Coconut one he had was a bit chalky, but I’m not getting that with this flavor. It’s sweetened with sucralose, which I didn’t realize until after I had finished it, which is also a good sign, because I didn’t taste anything diet in there. Overall this is pretty nice for a grab and go protein drink.

Website
http://www.drinkprotein2o.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 12th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Poland Spring Seltzer'ade Blood Orange Lemonade

Poland Spring Seltzer'ade Blood Orange Lemonade

I will finally acknowledge that I am an adult. I am responsible. I take care of my bills on time. I no longer have the time for drama and nonsense in my life. Most importantly I don’t need to ingest mass amounts of sugar. For a couple of years now I have been riding the seltzer train. At first it was a little hard going, but I soon completely latched on. Sure, there are times where I do have a sugar craving, or a certain type of beverage won’t leave my brain. Sometimes I give in and give myself a treat. Others I fill the gap with something somewhat similar but healthier. Now I am a fool for blood orange anything. It’s the superior citrus fruit in my world, and I can’t get enough of it. When I saw that Polar expanded their Seltzer’ade line and it included a Blood Orange Lemonade, I couldn’t get a case into my cart fast enough. Sometimes things just can’t match the expectations that form in your head though. While this is quite tasty, it is by no means a replacement for a good blood orange Italian soda. It is a flavor that needs a little sugar to be enhanced. As I said this is very good, but it may be the lightest flavored of this line that I have tried. If this was as strong as the mango one I would have a new beverage of the summer. As it stands I don’t know how often I would get it as it leaves me wanting.

Website
http://www.polandspring.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Lemonade, Sparkling, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Naked Nutrition Goat

Naked Nutrition Goat

As someone who drinks dairy extremely rarely, I have to say this really grossed me out. I can’t tell you when the last time I took a sip of cow’s milk was. If I had to guess I would say at least 15 years. Sure I’ve eaten my fair share of ice cream since then, but there is something very different about drinking dairy. Oh did I also mention that I only like mozzarella cheese and all other types also gross me out? I say that because this tastes like it was half frothy milk and half some weird liquefied cheese that I would never eat in its solid form. This is grass fed whey protein that is derived from goat’s milk. I’ve never had goats milk before and I’m guessing I would not enjoy it. I could have told you that before I tried this. Having that made into a powdered protein is even less appealing. I’m sure there are people out there who would be really into it, but I am most definitely not one of them. I will stick with pea and rice proteins.

Website
http://nkdnutrition.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 10th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Pure Leaf Tea House Collection Sicilian Lemon & Honesysuckle

Pure Leaf Tea House Collection Sicilian Lemon & Honesysuckle

Sometimes you come across things in life that are simply not for you, but that you can appreciate that they are well made and completely understand why other people would love them. This tea is one such thing. I’ve never been a huge lemon fan. I always kind of thought that it was because the flavor normally tasted very fake or that it wasn’t strong enough in a pure form (the exception being proper lemonade which I can destroy during appropriate times). The Tea house Collection doesn’t mess around. They don’t add “flavoring” to their teas. They actually brew the things in with the tea itself, like tea should be made. Lemon peel and honeysuckle are mixed in with the black tea leaves when the hot water is added to steep it. That makes all the difference and everything tastes natural. The result is a lemon tea that has a strong flavor, without being bitter. It tastes like a iced version of someone’s grandmother’s tea if she used higher quality ingredients. I enjoyed this, but I didn’t love it. If you are a fan of lemon tea, you will love this though. If you don’t I don’t know what to tell you. The world makes no sense.

Website
http://theloveofleaves.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 6th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Yachak Yerba Mate Infused Mate

Yachak Yerba Mate Infused Mate

I’m always spouting yerba mate this, and yerba mate that. It’s the tea of my dreams. It tastes of the earth and I usually can’t get enough. This, my friends and readers, is no yerba mate. If I were a conspiracy theorist I would make claims that not a single leaf of yerba mate was used in making this. The wonderful earthy taste is not present at all, let alone any sort of tea taste whatsoever. At best what you have tastes like a malt beverage. At worst it tastes like crappy beer a teenager would squirrel away until the night of the big party in the woods with all their hair farmer friends. This is gross. I tried to power through it, hoping that maybe I would get acclimated and it would get better, but there was no chance of that. I couldn’t even make it halfway through the can. I would avoid this at all costs. I have no idea how this got big enough to make it into 711. It’s something I would expect to find in the dirtiest of bodegas, covered in a thick film of dust as no one has touched it in decades.

Website
http://yachak.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 3rd, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Stumptown Cold Brew Chocolate w/ Cream & Sugar

Stumptown Cold Brew Chocolate w/ Cream & Sugar

Can I just say, "Wow. 5 bottles." and call it a day? Let me check with management for a minute here...

{ Walks up 45 flights of stairs due to a broken elevator. Waits in a waiting room for four hours. Gets told that the boss has left and to come back tomorrow. Walks down 46 flights of stairs. Goes home. Fights with wife and kids. Goes to sleep on the couch. Wakes up with a bad back and cold because the dog pulled the blanket off in the middle of the night. Notices a ticket on the car. Gets in a traffic jam on the way to work. Gets to work fifteen minutes late and misses breakfast pizza because "fat Joan" decided to eat eleven pieces because "she just can't help herself." Walks up 45 flights of stairs. Waits three hours. Door opens. }

The boss said that I can say "Wow. 5 bottles." if I also add that it's really rich and creamy and has a wonderful chocolate milk quality to it.

Website
http://www.stumptowncoffee.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Natural Cane Sugar
Categories
Coffee
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 3rd, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |