Yacht Club Ginger Beer

Yacht Club Ginger Beer

Boat shoes? Check. Polo shirt? Check. Madras shorts? Check. Book on how to tie knots? Check. Ray Ban Sunglasses? Check. Those are the prerequisites for buying a bottle of Yacht Club ginger beer. We have put together the necessities and have gone to the store where they unlocked the case. Then and only then did we pay the required $1.50.

We got it home, took all our fancy clothes off, put that book of knots back on the shelf, put back on our obscure band shirts and a pair of dusty old jeans and took a sip. All of our hard work at J. Crew was not for naught because this is pretty great. It's got a nice sweet start and then burns you. It's not terribly hot but it's on the warmer side of the ginger beer scale. That side is also known as our "good side" since we like it hot. Some like it hot. We like it hot. It left a nice tingle in our throats, which left us wanting more.

Now we've got all these clothes and the know how of sailing, maybe we'll put it to good use someday. Us Thirsty Dudes out at sea, eating sea fare with pirates and golfers is going to be in our near future. That's what sailing is right? Jib? Right? Stern and bow? Right? Starboard and the other one. Right?

Website
http://www.yachtclubsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 14th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Yacht Club Root Beer

Yacht Club Root Beer

Yes, I am here as a guest of the Underhills. Mr Underhill said to just apply any charges I accrue to their account. With that being said I will be needing the largest yacht you have available, a whole mess of towels, some scuba gear, a barrel of peanut butter filler pretzels, a case of ball bearings, a couple of bottles of your finest root beer, a bloody mary a steak sandwich, and a steak sandwich. No you may not inquire what I need all of these items for. The Underhills had told me that this club was all about digression and the privacy of their guests. I certainly hope that they were not wrong.

Yes, I understand it may take a short bit of time to get all of those items together. I will be waiting down by the dock. Say, can I get one of those root beers and a steak sandwich while I wait?

Well twenty minutes sure was a long time for you to gather everything I needed. I will most certainly have a talk with the Underhills about the promptness of this club. I will say the root beer was quite delicious though, and those seagulls certainly seemed to enjoy the steak sandwich. I’m a vegetarian you know, so I don’t put death into my mouth. Those birds though, they went crazy for it, so their compliments to the chef. About that root beer though, I saw that it was called Yacht Club, is that this clubs own brand? Oh no, it’s a company that caters to all yachting aficionados? Oh it’s actually made by Yachting Aficionados magazine? Who’d have known? Well my compliments to that rag for finally doing something right for once. I had expected a regular, run of the mill root beer, but what your crew is serving is top notch. I see that the ingredients list it as just “root beer flavor,” but you can really taste the high concentration of wintergreen and licorice without them being distracting. There’s a nice hint of vanilla in there as well. I also see that it’s made with Artesian water. You got lucky with that one friend. I solely drink water from Artesia. If water from anywhere else on this planet had passed over my lips you would be in for a world of hurt.

How about this? You help me load all of this stuff onto the yacht, go grab me another case of this brew and I won’t mention any of these negative aspects of this little adventure to the Underhills. You wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of a tongue lashing from that group, I can tell you that.

Website
http://www.yachtclubsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 19th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Yachak Yerba Mate Berry Blue

Yachak Yerba Mate Berry Blue

Ladies, Gentlemen and everyone in-between, I am here to spread the gospel of yerba mate. It is the superior brewed beverage and that includes all teas and coffee. It is the best as you should worship it for the golden god that it is. I am obviously glad that more companies are popping up who put out this wonderful beverage. Not only is it delicious, but it is also my favorite form of caffeine intake.

The mate flavor in this here can of Yachic isn't as strong as my favorite, Guayaki. The water to tea ratio is off and it is causing it to lack the earthiness that you normally get from a yerba mate. Anything that is lost from that imbalance is made up for by the taste of the blueberry though. It's flavored with organic blueberry juice, which causes it to actually tastes like the berries instead of the usual fake flavoring. This may taste more like a “regular” tea, but it at least tastes like a great version of that. This is what I would expect Arizona’s take on yerba mate to be, but you know with better added flavors.

Website
http://yachak.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 29th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Yachak Yerba Mate Infused Mate

Yachak Yerba Mate Infused Mate

I’m always spouting yerba mate this, and yerba mate that. It’s the tea of my dreams. It tastes of the earth and I usually can’t get enough. This, my friends and readers, is no yerba mate. If I were a conspiracy theorist I would make claims that not a single leaf of yerba mate was used in making this. The wonderful earthy taste is not present at all, let alone any sort of tea taste whatsoever. At best what you have tastes like a malt beverage. At worst it tastes like crappy beer a teenager would squirrel away until the night of the big party in the woods with all their hair farmer friends. This is gross. I tried to power through it, hoping that maybe I would get acclimated and it would get better, but there was no chance of that. I couldn’t even make it halfway through the can. I would avoid this at all costs. I have no idea how this got big enough to make it into 711. It’s something I would expect to find in the dirtiest of bodegas, covered in a thick film of dust as no one has touched it in decades.

Website
http://yachak.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 3rd, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Xyience Xenergy Frostberry Blast

Xyience Xenergy Frostberry Blast

The name of this flavor instantly made me think of Gatorade. It’s like a word association in my head. You say “Frostberry Blast” and I think of “Frost Glacier Freeze.” The fact that there is blue in this packaging and the Gatorade is also blue helped as well. I’m glad I had that association because as far as I can remember they also taste similar. Well it tastes like Frost Glacier Freeze mixed with one of those random flavors of Mountain Dew (Voltage). It’s blue raspberry flavored, but it’s sweetened with sucralose, so it’s not overly sweet. It actually doesn’t taste overly diet either. I’m pretty into this. It’s a nice change up from your normal energy drink flavors.

Xyience was ahead of the game due to their name as it is. As a man who now owns a lab coat, I assure you that anything to do with science I will look upon with favor. I mean they must have scientists working for them to come up with the idea to ship their drinks in the canisters banks use for their pneumatic tubes.

They are also the official energy drink of UFC. I hope that when they unveiled this it was at a match. Two of the fighters entered the ring in lab coats and goggles. They were each handed a can of Frostberry Blast, which they instantly chugged and then proceeded to just beat the hell out of each other while they were all hopped up. I just really want to see two people in scientist attire go toe to toe. It can be ultimate fighters or it could be the nerdiest, gangliest dudes that NASA has to offer. I’m fine with it either way.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 26th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
16 Pack - Xyience Xenergy - Frostberry Blast - 16oz.

Xyience Xenergy Fruit Punch

Xyience Xenergy Fruit Punch

ATTN: CANADIANS!

Are you looking for an energy drink that fits into your countries unique tastes? If so I’ve got what you’re looking for right here. You see I have learned that people from Canada are obsessed with Tahitian Treat pop, and that they buy it buy the case when they can get their grubby maple syrup covered hands on it. I don’t believe I know a single American who has ever expressed interest in Tahitian Treat, but I know Canadians who go gaga over it. If you’re not familiar it is a fruit punch flavored soda that has a very specific taste. This energy drink also has that taste with the energy drink flavor mixed in.

I started off thinking this was okay. Then about halfway through the can it got almost sour, and by the time I was ¾ through I felt like my tongue was going numb. I think I might have liked it more because of those things. I am strange. I have accepted it. Now smuggle some of this over the border in your trunk full of soda.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 30th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
8 Pack - Xenergy Xtreme Fruit Punch - 16oz.

Xyience Xenergy Melon Mayhem

Xyience Xenergy Melon Mayhem

Some of you may know that about five months ago Derek moved to Portland. You may have heard that he did so in order to open up a button/zine store. You my friends have fallen victim to a farce. The real reason Neuls Vern moved to the northeast was to train for UFC. Seriously, I’m not spreading false rumors here. You should see the before and after photos, it’s intense. Our mind manner drink reviewer is now a monster who could very easily rip off your head (It only takes 7 pounds of pressure to rip off someone’s ear, so home boy must be using a lot of weight to do this).

I got these sent to my home the other day, but it really should have gone to Thirsty Dudes West (officially Neulando Calrissian’s side of business). He would be crushing these cans in one gulp before getting into the ring and kicking the ever loving crap out of other zinesters come professional fighters. He is a baby and hates diet stuff, so I don’t know if he would like it. Who am I kidding he probably wouldn’t even taste it, drinking a full 16oz can in one gulp and all. If he were to taste it he would note that it resembles a melted down melon Jolly Rancher (Do those exist outside of watermelon, which this is not?) if instead of being made with sugar it was made with sucralose. It’s a pretty intense flavor, that I don’ t think I would have enjoyed at all if it weren’t diet. Real sugar would have made it unbearably sweet. Neuliana Hatfield is watching his weight these days though in order to get into a lower weight class. He really could have used this badboy. Oh, by the way, his fighting name is The All Things Ordinary Backstabber. I know it’s long and doesn’t really roll off the tongue, but if you have seen him lately you wouldn’t argue with him.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 15th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Xyience Xenergy Drink - 12 - 16 Fl. Oz. Cans - Melon Mayhem

Xyience Xenergy Tangerine Twister

Xyience Xenergy Tangerine Twister

Are you a fan of creamsicle flavored drinks, but you’re looking for something a bit different? Are you also looking for a diet drink to help work off some of the extra pounds you’ve been putting on in your older age? Do you need a little extra burst of energy to help you make it through a tired dreary day? If you answered yes to the above questions this drink may be for you. This tastes like someone made a diet orange cream soda, but instead of using normal orange soda they used the tangerine variety. Then they dumped a bit of taurine in it to give it that chemical energy drink flavored that many of us have grown to tolerate if not like. If there was a non-diet version of this I would be more prone to drink it again, but for those of you are have come to enjoy diet beverages this would more than likely be pretty tasty.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
8 Pack - Xyience Xenergy Tangerine Twister - 16oz.

Xyience Xenergy + Lemonade Pineapple

Xyience Xenergy + Lemonade Pineapple

You know what I like? Diet energy drinks that don't taste gross. See, we here at Thirsty Dudes consume a lot of empty calories everyday. Because of this, I have come to enjoy diet drinks because it means I don't consume more calories. The problem with this of course is the majority of diet drinks taste like someone mixed dirt and battery acid and made stew out of it. This is especially true for a lot of diet energy drinks.

I have been really tired this week, due to lack of sleep. It's starting to (finally) warm up here in Buffalo so drinking hot coffee in the morning isn't something I like to do. Because of this, I have been drinking more energy drinks than I'd like to. They do the job, but I’m trying to drink as little of them as possible.

All that being said, this drink is delicious! The lemonade is sweet and slightly tart, and the pineapple taste compliments it very well. It makes sense that UFC made this its official energy drink because it's a touchdown. Wait, UFC isn't football? Oh, fighting, hmmmm... It's a punch to the mouth? That doesn't sound too positive.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Lemonade
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 19th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Xyience Xenergy Lemonade - 12 - 15.5oz Cans - Pineapple

Xyience Xenergy + Tea Raspberry Acai

Xyience Xenergy + Tea Raspberry Acai

Total disclaimer is that I did not want to drink this. I have been scared away from energy drinks because the last few I've drunk have made me real weird: just general nausea and spinning and stuff. I don't know what's up with me. Perhaps I'm dying from all the stuff I've been drinking since I've been doing this site. I also have no interest in extreme fighting. I don't have anything against it, let it be known, but it's not a selling point for me. Just something to keep in mind while I write and you read this review.

This drink is non-carbonated. I appreciate it because most energy drinks are carbonated and this is different. Likewise, this doesn't taste like concentrated candy like most energy drinks do. This basically just tastes like a diet raspberry juice and tea. If you didn't know better, that is what you would think this is. It has sucralose in it, which keeps it not awful for you, but it does translate during the aftertaste and should be mentioned. The flavor isn't that bad. It's fruity and the acai doesn't have that awful taste that I normally get where it's a little bitter, almost like a blackcurrant.

If you're short on energy and have some sort of cage match coming up, I actually recommend this. If you have an elbow that is just itching to go into some dude's back but just don't have the "get up and go" to bring yourself to do it, this is good for you. If you hate Red Bull and want a boost, to a lesser extent, this is for you.

Website
http://www.xyience.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 22nd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Xyience Xenergy Tea - 12 - 15.5oz Cans - Raspberry Acai Black Tea
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |