Lipton PureLeaf Sweetened

Lipton PureLeaf Sweetened

Everyone has had Lipton iced tea, but they've got so many different lines that you shouldn't nail them down to the abomination that is Brisk.

This tea is very strong in its black tea taste and is very sweet but doesn't taste terrible. Is that hard to imagine? I know. Nice thing is that this is all natural with not fructose garbage and you can get it anywhere.

Give Lipton another chance. Forget the stuff you've had before and start from scratch.

Website
http://lipton.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zola Superfood Smoothie Smooth Green Blend

Zola Superfood Smoothie Smooth Green Blend

First off this bottle seems way to cheap to be holding "Brazilian Superfruits." It's made out of that thick translucent plastic that just screams elementary school lunch to me. It's doesn't have the thickness that one associates with a smoothie. Maybe I'm wrong here, but isn't it the thickness that denotes a drink a smoothie? In my categorizing, this would just be considered a juice. I do have to say that the drink doesn't smell nearly as bad as I expected it to. It looks like the water that would be left over in a sink after doing dishes that had been sitting there for over a month. All of those complaints aside it is pretty tasty. I've never had Cupuacu or Graviola before, but the bottle tells me they are "powerfully nutritious." There is nothing I can really compare the taste to that I have tried before. I would definitely grab one of these again though.

Website
http://zolaacai.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Smoothie
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Zola Superfood Smoothie, 12-ounces (Pack of6)

Metromint Chocolate Mint

Metromint Chocolate Mint

As soon as I saw this I had to buy it. Where can you get chocolate flavored water, let alone with mint in it? Now you see my urgency. I opened it and it was a nice light cocoa scent.

At first sip it was a nice light mint followed by a chocolate aftertaste. I actually liked it more than the other Metromint flavors I've had so far.

UPDATE: I can't stop telling people about this drink so I'm upping it from a 3 to a 4. Congratulations Metromint.

Website
http://www.metromint.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Metromint Water, Chocolatemint, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

I typically love independent, mom and pop, generic iced teas because they're hand made and generally very good. This one was a bit of a let down.

The sugar was overpowering to the point where it tasted more like tea flavored sugar water than sweetened iced tea. You didn't get much tea flavor at all.

I will continue to try out small company iced teas like this in search for more winners.

Website
http://www.harrisburgdairies.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mate Fusion Blueberry Acai Tea

Mate Fusion Blueberry Acai Tea

I'm glad that there are a handful of companies popping up who are using mate in their iced teas. It has a very unique flavor, and it is a source of more caffeine then other teas. This is the first time I've tried Mate Fusion, and they have made themselves a great little beverage. The blueberry slightly overpowers the mate in the flavor department. It's very refreshing, and I can see myself enjoying it again on a hot summer day.

Website
http://www.matefusiondrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Green Tea With Cherry

Xing Tea Green Tea With Cherry

I've had Xing Tea before. It was a nice change from the Arizona tall boys to these because of the totally different cane sugar taste. This cherry flavor was unique since I've never had that flavor iced tea before. It certainly was unique but it was so cherry flavored that they could almost remove "tea" from the title and change the title to a juice and get away with it. It's got green and black tea in it but it's so faint that it's almost non-existent.

Look, it was one tasty drink, and I recommended it and would get it again, but now I know to get it when I have the taste for juice and not iced tea.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Green Tea With Pomegranate

Xing Tea Green Tea With Pomegranate

Better than the cherry? Possibly. Once again, not a strong tea flavor, but this time the pomegranate was the star. The aftertaste of the fruit was pretty spot on to the sweet, tartness of real pomegranate seeds.

The pomegranate green tea is a nice, drinkable alternative to the ten minutes and yellow fingers you have to deal with on a real pomegranate. I do love the bursting flavor of those lil' seeds, though.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mt. Angel Root Beer

Mt. Angel Root Beer

I saw this bottle at New Seasons yesterday and was drawn in by the plain label in a sea of colorful bottles. I had high hopes for this micro-brewed root beer, and I wasn't let down. I wish all root beer was this smooth. Even though I've only had one bottle so far, I think this is easily in my top 5 root beers.

Website
http://mtangelbrewingcompany.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Mike reviewed this drink three and a half years ago, and just wasn’t into it. As you can see below, it just didn’t deliver what he wanted from a sweet tea. Cut to now, the company contacted us and said that from what he wrote, they thought something was wrong with his can, as in a bad batch or something. They ended up sending us a couple cans to try again, and I have to say they were absolutely right.

I will now address Mike’s issues:
1) There is a difference between sweet tea and sweetened tea.

I can most definitely taste the sweet tea aspect of this. You can absolutely taste the cane sugar, and it’s one of the driving tastes in this beverage. That is what makes a sweet tea to me.

2) He couldn’t taste any actual tea, and it tasted fake.

There is both black and green tea in this, which I admit is odd in a sweet tea, and purists would scoff at it and claim it wasn’t real sweet tea. Those people are snobs. I can definitely taste both type of tea very distinctively. It gives a new twist to an old standard. I am personally a fan, and during a sweltering summer I would drink this all of the live long day.

Sorry you got a bunk can Mike, because this is great and more than lives up to my Xing expectations.

**********************************************************************************
Mike's Old Review:
The more I am drinking Xing Tea the more I am getting disappointed. This sweet tea is, technically, sweetened tea, but there is a significant difference between "sweet tea" and sweetened tea. Also I taste no actual tea in this drink and something about it seems fake. I don't think I need to say anymore.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mayer Bros. Pomegranate Lemonade

Mayer Bros. Pomegranate Lemonade

Hmm. Tart. Super tart. It's as if they accidentally labeled it pomegranate and it was really grapefruit. That's what the bite was like. Like sinking your teeth into a grapefruit. I honestly got no pomegranate flavor.

Kudos to the local Mayer Bros. for using real cane sugar, but the taste is simply off. See you in the fall for cider, though.

Website
http://www.mayerbrothers.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |