Bolthouse Farms Perfectly Protein Vanilla Chai Tea

Bolthouse Farms Perfectly Protein Vanilla Chai Tea

Bolthouse Farms is one hell of a company. I think I have tried all of their flavors, and there hasn't been a single one that I did not enjoy. The chai in this is present, but not overpowering like it is in some other beverages. It tastes vaguely like a chai latte. Due to the soymilk and spices in this, it also reminds me of a lite version of Silk Nog. The vanilla is pretty great as well. Another nice aspect of it is that it's not gritty like most protein drinks.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Zesto FrutZoda Pomelo Soda

Zesto FrutZoda Pomelo Soda

After I had the Pomelo Alo drink I was on a mission to find an actual pomelo. After a few tries I found some at the local co-op. They are a bit on the pricey side, but they are surprisingly good. They are known as Asian grapefruits, and they taste like a less acidic version of it's Floridian cousin. I can't say I would go out and buy another one (it's quite a bit of work to eat), but it was enough to get me excited for this drink.

This was more like a sparkling juice than a soda. It's made with actual grapefruit juice, and it's not insanely sweet. It tastes like you cut a grapefruit in half and soaked it in sugar water. After a few days you extract the grapefruit and squeeze all of the juice out of it. It has a specific taste of the sugar being added before the fruit was juiced. It leaves it smooth, without any hint of harsh acidity that comes with citrus fruit. I really wish I had more than one can of this.

Website
http://www.zesto.com.ph
Country
Philippines
Sweetener
Refined Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Thomas Kemper Purely Natural Bumble Berry

Thomas Kemper Purely Natural Bumble Berry

Berry pops are very rarely astounding. In fact most of them are just plain gross. They hardly ever taste like the fruit they are portraying in the made for TV movie that is your soda pop. If this didn't have such a great name, it more than likely would have been one of the last of the Thomas Kemper lines that I would have reviewed. Lucky for me I like silly names.

I am here by starting a petition to get Mr. Kemper some sort of award, perhaps a Nobel Peace Prize. A creator of sodas deserves that, right? I think this pop could totally end all wars in this world. I mean the man in a visionary. The idea for this must have come to him in a dream, because that is what this tastes like, my dreams. No, not the one I mentioned yesterday about Mike and I driving 16 hours straight to look for new drinks to try. The other ones filled with thousands of burritos and kittens as far as the eye can see. How else but divine intervention could the idea to mix the juices of white grape, black currant and red raspberries with honey and vanilla enter a mortal man's mind? Yeah that's right it has honey in it. Get it "Bumble Berry?" I bet you feel like a dummy now, don't you? I know I did. If anyone out there comes across this in their travels for the love of tacos buy yourself at least three. That way you can share without feeling cheated yourself.

Website
http://www.tksoda.com
Country
United States
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 20th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wegmans Just Tea Green Jasmine

Wegmans Just Tea Green Jasmine

It's Tuesday. Let me rephrase that. It's Thirsty Tuesday (as all Tuesdays are. That means we go get burritos and then hit up stores in search of new drinks to review. Today we went to Wegmans. It's a slight point of controversy around Buffalo, but I claim they have the best burritos in the city. It's probably just because the tofu they use is delicious. You don't agree? We can easily settle this argument like gentlemen, with a round of Rock Paper Scissors.

Wegmans' burritos are meant to be enjoyed with unsweetened tea. I also go with the green jasmine. It's so nicely bitter, and jasmine is a great flavor to add to any tea. It cleans the palate so you can properly enjoy your burrito. Now I need to polish these chips and salsa that accompanied my meal.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Unsweetened
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Sweet Tea

True Brew Sweet Tea

I'm the only one in the office. It's a lonely day here. It was supposed to be a snow day of massive proportions but, once again, the outcome was overstated to say the least. It was honestly no worse than a typical snowy day. Perhaps it was a little more slippery. So what do I do? Jump right on that bus, earlier than usual, and ride in to work. No one is here. Everyone anticipated a disaster. So here I am, listening to an array of different new jams including, but not limited to, Everything But The Girl, Prick, and now an old Battles EP.

Even though the storm of apocalyptic scale was nothing more than an icy dusting, it's still cold. What better way to warm up than with a cold bottle of sweet tea? Yeah, I know, cold on cold. It doesn't matter. You drink sweet tea when it's hot so I'm in my own little paradise and it tastes great. I don't know how it could taste otherwise with these ingredients: water, cane sugar, and black tea. That's it. No preservatives. No artificial sweeteners. No anchovies. Nothing. Due to this, and the fact that True Brew is from Texas, means that this is one phenomenal sweet tea. Potentially some of the best sweet tea I've ever had. This is what sweet tea should taste like. It's not too sweet, but it is very sweet. I'm not complaining and I've got no complaints with this gem of an iced tea.

I'm not being kind with this 5-bottle review because this is the model. I don't know if it can go up from here. They took something great and left it alone and for that, I reward them.

This Battles record makes me want to learn how to play drums.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

True Brew Hibiscus Tea

Holy crap! I was excited for this, but I didn't expect it to be this good. It tastes like a slightly floral sweet tea, with a little something extra. That's right there is cinnamon and orange peel in this. You cannot imagine what that can do to an already quality iced tea. You like apple cider, right? Of course you do, because you're not a Nazi, and only Nazi's hate apple cider. You know what makes cider even better, and infuriates the führer even more? Spices. Spiced apple cider is one of the greatest things that can ever grace ones taste buds. True Brew has taken that same science and logic and applied it to this tea. If you see it in a store don't buy one. Buy a case.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Calypso Lemonade Triple Melon

Calypso Lemonade Triple Melon

How have we not reviewed any Calypso drinks yet? I know I've drank a ton of them before. Today, I went to lunch with a handful of Mikes. We took the subway uptown, got out, walked through a storm, and then ordered lunch. I got a turkey breast sandwich with horseradish potato salad as a side. Oh, you don't care what I got? I spill my life into drink reviews and want you in my shoes as I describe how the experience goes. Just pay attention. My lunch was great but this drink was better. It's so good. Watermelon, honeydew, and cantaloupe compose the "triple melon" drink and it's friggin' awesome.

Every sip tastes like summer. Like you just ate a giant mouthful of fruit salad and then washed it down with a refreshing glass of lemonade. Not to mention it might be the coolest color drink ever made. It looks toxic. Bright. Fluorescent pink.

I really like this and will buy it again. I promise.

Website
http://www.kingjuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Calypso Triple Melon Lemonade 12 - 20oz.
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Cock 'n Bull Ginger Beer

Cock 'n Bull Ginger Beer

I may have found my new favorite ginger beer. While this may not be the spiciest out there, it has a great flavor. The ginger flavor coupled with the carbonation tickles my throat in a great way. This is definitely a sipping ginger beer, but I like that. I'm also a big fan of the bottle art. I don't know what else to really say about this, other than it's really good.

Website
http://cocknbull.us/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Cock 'N Bull Ginger Beer (03-0347) Category: Fruit Juices
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

OPA! Originals Ouzon Soda

OPA! Originals Ouzon Soda

I had no idea what to expect with this soda prior to opening it. I purposely didn't read anything about the soda or Ouzo before tasting it. Apparently Ouzo is a traditional Greek alcoholic drink, but this is a soda modeled after the taste. It gave off a really interesting smell when I first opened it. It was a pleasant and familiar smell, but I couldn't place it. Then after the first sip it hit me: anise! Could this actually be the anise/licorice flavored soda I've been looking for/dreaming about? I think so!

When I imagined an anise soda, I dreamed it to be like the taste you get in your mouth after your fourth piece of licorice. While this isn't like that, I really like how the taste is. It's really subtle at first, but then as you swallow it, the taste gets more intense and potent. I want to savor every sip because I only have this one bottle and don't know when/where I'll be able to get it again.

Website
http://www.greeksoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sprecher Orange Dream

Sprecher Orange Dream

I had previously had Sprecher's cream soda and it was pretty incredible. When I came across this bottle, I had to drink it as soon as I left the store. I was definitely not disappointed at all. The orange smell upon opening it was awesome and set me up for the best orange cream soda I've ever had. It's the perfect balance between orange and a rich cream taste. And then, the fire-brewed taste kicks in. It adds just a great taste to it, I'm honestly at a lost for words. It's not the same burn that comes from ginger, but it sits in your stomach in a similar way.

Also, I love the drawing of the cow drinking an orange with a straw. Ridiculous yet awesome!

Website
http://www.sprecherbrewery.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sprecher ORANGE DREAM - "Makes you dream of Wisconsin", 16-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |