Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Jade Green Tea

Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Jade Green Tea

It's crazy how much my taste buds have changed and evolved since starting this website. It used to be that drinking anything tasting even remotely floral was like getting shot in the mouth with a perfume gun. My tastes have become more refined and now it's a flavor that I enjoy, well when it's not overly strong.

This tastes like a sweet lightly floral green tea. It also has a fairly prominent honey flavor to it. Truth be told it's a little sweeter than I would like it to be, but for most people it's probably just right. I'm on a big unsweetened green tea kick myself. It doesn't have that bitter "kick" of straight up green tea, but again I think that is what turns a lot of people off to that style of tea. The more I drink of the bottle the less floral it tastes and the more honey I get, Yes, I did shake it up before I opened it.

Website
http://www.adinaworld.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Adirondack Naturals Cola

Adirondack Naturals Cola

For years Adirondack has made normal every day sodas. They are a brand that you pass in the pop aisle of your local grocery store and don't give it a second glance. It blends in with the store brand and honestly just doesn't look very astounding. It's a decent soda and all, but nothing to get exited about.

The company has taken note of the current state of affairs with consumers walking away from HFCS in everything. They climbed to the top of one of the glorious mountains in their range and came to a decision to make a natural soda. They actually blew one of those huge horns in celebration and nearly caused an avalanche. I really wish that last part was true. That would mean that there was a mountain range a couple hours away from me that was that ridiculously high. Man I would hang out there all the time. Okay, that's another lie. I live 5 hours from the Adirondacks and I have never once gone hiking or camping there. It's criminal really.

Back to the soda. This tastes pretty much like any average cola, but it's not thick and syrupy. There's no special blend or anything. It's just your every day cola. You know what? Good for them. Most people love this sort of stuff, and it's giving them the taste they know and love in a healthier version. Doctors everywhere give you their thanks.

Website
http://www.adirondackbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 16th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Adirondack White Chocolate

Adirondack White Chocolate

Who really likes white chocolate and if you were the crazy person who does, would you choose that over regular chocolate? Would you rather have some sort of dumb, super sweet chocolate or some fantastic, handcrafted dark chocolate? What is white chocolate anyhow? Vanilla? Sorry to be the one to tell you, but vanilla already exists. You lost the race.

This, though, whatever it is...she's good. I polished off all one liter of it in one sitting and if it was larger, it would be inside of me. It's got a good taste and yes I did wish it were milk or dark chocolate the entire time. What flavor is it? Honestly, I don't know what white chocolate tastes like. I've had it but it's just kind of it's own dumb flavor. We don't need it. This we could do with. It's got whatever chocolate has but filled with seltzer. I like it. I don't like white chocolate. I'm torn.

Website
http://www.adirondackbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 7th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Admiral Iced Tea Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey

Admiral Iced Tea Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey

After the saddest strip club these eyes have ever seen, we decided to try our luck in Ybor City, a delightful little place that I wish we had gone instead of Channelside. Look, no offense to the people of Channelside, but that is a place for tourists and dummies. Thanks for putting everything into a neat little "Off Ramp" style plaza, but I like a bit of dirt and grime with my travels.

We walked half a dozen of the most David Caruso friendly, murder-welcoming blocks, literally over onto the "Good Side" of actual railroad tracks, to Ybor city. I'm on a quest for drinks and the dudes I was with wanted dranks. There is a difference. I saw a convenience store that looked like it would have some gems in it so my sights were locked in. After a few attempts to go into bars failed, I got my chance. We had people waiting outside so I had to make it quick. I grabbed this ice tea, which we haven’t reviewed, and skipped some other things that I could have grabbed but I knew our luggage was packed tight and I didn't want to risk not being able to bring it aboard the boat. Cut to this morning.

After a good, Continental breakfast with fantastic home fries, I wanted to give it a whirl. I was reluctant due to it being a tallboy of hackneyed green tea, but there is something else in this can. I can't put my finger on it. I want to say Mason. No! Floral. I don't know exactly what it is but it sets itself apart from the seemingly endless array of "green tea with ginseng and honeys out there. Taste, though... Eh. No green tea bite, no honey flavor. I mean, it's good, but that mystery taste is overwhelming and takes away from the intended flavors of the tea.

In twenty minutes I will board a shuttle to the docks and embark on my travels. I hope we don't have rough seas because between the mediocre-at-best food and a wavy ship, I might just throw up inside of a water slide.

Website
Http://www.admiralbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 30th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Admiral Iced Tea Mango

Admiral Iced Tea Mango

I bought one of these while I was in Vegas. I had planned on drinking it on our last day, on a trip to Red Rock Canyon, but the temperature was so high that by the time I opened it the drink was almost hot. Bummer. I took a couple of sips and then dumped the rest, as we were flying out in a few hours and I had no way to cool it down. Cut to a couple of days ago when Mike and I found a bunch of Admiral teas in Buffalo. I was excited to try it while actually cold. Hansen’s makes it, so my hopes were high. I did find it odd that they sweetened it with HFCS since their sodas all have cane sugar in them. Tall boys of iced tea are usually an exception for me for HFCS. There are a lot of them out there that have it that are still tasty. This wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great like it could have been. The sweetener made it a little syrupy and the mango flavor tasted like some other product that is very specific, but I just can’t put my finger on what it is. It’s driving me crazy. I liked it, but a tall boy was too much of it for me (and I’m a drink glutton). If it had come in a 16oz can I think I would have enjoyed it more, but I was over it by the time I was getting to the bottom of this big fella.

Website
Http://www.admiralbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 28th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hansen Beverage Company Admiral, Mango Black Tea, 24-Ounce (Pack of 24)

Admiral Iced Tea Southern Style Sweet Tea

Admiral Iced Tea Southern Style Sweet Tea

I don't mean to bring up old stuff, but the South lost again. The battle of sweet tea is a battle filled with casualties and here is yet another poor soul that just can't make the cut.

Is it too much to ask that the simplest concoction ever created be made right? Black tea and sugar. Done. If you need to put preservatives in there in increase shelf life, I'm cool with that. Once you start mixing all sorts of other garbage in there it starts to go downhill. Corn syrup will never be an ingredient in a good quality sweet tea. This drink tastes like if you ordered a tea at a restaurant, didn't know that it was unsweetened, and then poured miscellaneous sugar packets into it. One of the final ingredients in this is sucralose and you would think that you would not be able to tell but you can. You know that strange aftertaste? That's the sucralose, detective.

Arizona and Admiral. You know better than that. Why let me, a self-described stupid idiot, teach you how to make a drink? You are drink companies and should know the lay of the land. I'll give you this one for free.

Website
Http://www.admiralbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 4th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hansen Beverage Company Admiral, Sweet Tea, 24-Ounce (Pack of 24)

Admiral Iced Tea Raspberry

Admiral Iced Tea Raspberry

Captain, we have a problem. We’re about to set voyage and we just realized that we only have enough beverages on this ship to last us until tomorrow. I don’t know who messed up, but we’ll find out and they will be scrubbing the galley in no time.

Sailor, first things first; I am an admiral, not a lowly captain. I control entire fleets of ships, and I eat captains with my morning granola. That’s right, cannibalism is okay because I am an admiral. It will do you well not to forget that in the future. As for our little problem, don’t sweat it ensign. Being an admiral and all I have the inside line to many things that you lower sailors do not. One of them happens to be a line of teas created for my kind. That’s also right; us admirals like to think of ourselves as a different race. We are descended from mermen, but you didn’t hear that from me. I can get us as many cases of tea as we’ll need for this voyage by 0900 tomorrow.

Have you ever had Arizona and Peace Tea before ensign? Well, tea made for admirals falls somewhere between the two. It tastes more like Razzleberry Peace Tea, but it is sweetened with HFCS, so it has more of the consistency of Arizona. You might ask why they don’t use a higher grade of sweetener for the master sea race. The fact of the matter is that our kind really just likes the thickness of corn syrup. It makes us feel like a drink has more substance. Call us crazy, but that is how my kind has always felt and always will feel.

Now let’s get these people down to Cozumel. They paid decent money for this cruise and we’re going to show them the best time we possibly can!

Website
Http://www.admiralbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 9th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Admiral Iced Tea Lemon

Admiral Iced Tea Lemon

We're having a real problem with the drinking water here, Admiral. I don't know if we're refilling the drums with clean water and I'm afraid that we're filling it with water from the sea. Why do I ask? Well look at this cup. Number one issue I see is that it's slightly brown. Number two issue is that there are tiny rocks in it. I thought we addressed this issue last season when those dudes got sick from drinking water from a dirty stream. Sorry, I didn't mean "dudes," sir, I meant "men." So we're here drinking this fishy water and I see that you've always got a can of something. We are all in this together with everything and I don't think that drinking water should be an exception.

What is in that can that we can't have that you can have? Admiral iced tea? With lemon?! You're smuggling in a constant stream of cans of iced tea with the money we're making from shrimping? That money is supposed to go to pay the men at the end of the season and you're buying cans of this tea when we go to land. Pallets of what? You're buying pallets of this stuff? With all due respect, sir, we're eating mashed potatoes and drinking fish water for days and you've got canned iced tea. That hardly seems fair. And steaks?! Sir. I'm afraid that this may be my last season on the ship. Office Depot is hiring. My cousin is the assistant manager and he said he could get me in the ink refilling department.

I would actually like a can, if you are offering. You know what, sir? This isn't too bad. It's lightly lemon and black tea. It doesn't taste terribly natural like something mama would make but it's not too bad. I don't think that I will buy it when we get to land, but it's light years better than the salty seawater we're drinking.

Admiral, we have been together for almost a decade and I respect you, but as I said, Office Depot is offering me a position in the fairly stagnant position of ink filler and I will probably be taking it at the end of this shrimp season. Thank you for the last ten years of your time and it has been an honor to work next to you. What's the difference between "letter" and "A4" paper? I'm going to have to study up.

Website
Http://www.admiralbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 27th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Afri Cola

Afri Cola

If you were a “cool” teenager in the 90`s you hung out in coffee shops. It was a different time, before the great Starbucks takeover when these locals were the homes of true weirdos. You couldn’t just pop off in your local suburb; you had to go the often seedy artsy parts of town. I’m sure if I were to go back in time to 1996 and head to Topic coffee it wouldn’t seem nearly as insane as it did to a 16 year old. It was dirty, dimly lit and it seemed like John Cale was always playing. It was filled with the kind of people I wanted to surround myself in, and I felt like I was finally home. There was one problem though; I didn’t like coffee. I loved the culture of the place, but I just couldn’t get into the drink of choice. Sure at Perkins and Dennys I would get it, but I would also add so much sugar that it could turn a walrus diabetic. I could tell that that would be frowned upon at this establishment, and you know I had to keep the cool air about me. I mean cut-off dress pants with combat boots and a painted army coat only took me so far. My solution was that I would occasionally order an iced coffee (it never seemed as harsh), but most ofhte time I would drink Afri Cola. It always seemed exotic to me with the name and weirdly shaped bottle. Topic was the only place that I had ever come across it during my short time on this planet and since it wasn’t a standard Coke or Pepsi I felt that the patrons wouldn’t look down on me for drinking it. In reality most of them were probably nodding off on heroin or some other opiate. Oh if my mother knew where her little boy spent her nights.

So now you have the back-story of my love affair with Afri Cola. Shortly after Topic moved, and it didn’t have the same esthetic. Coffee culture started to rise and more cafes opened and eventually what I thought would be my savior closed down for good. With it went my supply of Afri Cola. Occasionally throughout the years I would stumble upon it in some small store in another city, but I never had a steady supply. You can understand my joy when I came cross a decent display of it in a grocery store in Frankfurt, Germany. I bought the biggest bottle I could find and it was like going home again. I went home to a hole in the wall that was home to all of the disenfranchised of Buffalo; the punks, the weirdos, the junkies, the transgendered and many more.

Afri Cola has a special taste in the cola world. It’s not like Coke, Pepsi or the unimpressive store brands. It’s clearly a cola but it doesn’t fit into those molds, just like the patrons of Topic didn’t fit into the molds of the normal world. If I had to compare it to another cola I would say that it was closest to RC Cola. Keep in mind it is no clone, it is it’s own soda and I miss it dearly.

Website
http://www.afri.de/
Country
Germany
Sweetener
Zucker
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

AGA Coctail

AGA Coctail

There are bananas on the front of this bottle. I don't like bananas. After calming down and not being a wuss and reading the ingredients, bananas make up only 1% of this juice. I felt a sigh of relieve as I took a sip. No banana! Lots of other stuff, though. It was true nectar, thick, smooth and gritty. It's strange to feel little grits and bits of fruit in there but that's how you know it's real. Once again, according to the percentage makeup of the fruit contents, there is 25% guava, 5% strawberry, and 1 sole percent of banana. The flavor was good and went in between the guava and strawberry, a nice 50/50 blend.

I liked it. A lot of times, single fruit nectar gets too fruity and boring after a while. Who needs ~12oz of just guava? Mix it up, and then cut it in half so you don't have a fruit overload. This little bottle is only 8.5oz and 65 calories so you can drink the whole thing and still feel good about yourself.

Website
http://www.aga.com.eg/en/index.asp
Country
Egypt
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 30th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 |