E & B Sugarcane Juice

E & B Sugarcane Juice

I expected this to be a really sweet water type drink. It is, but the amount of sweetness is insane. Diabetics beware. One drop of this would surely put you in a coma. It's just cane sugar syrup and water (and salt for some unknown reason). I like it and don't like it at the same time. I think it might just be too sweet for me. It really does make me want to go buy a stick of sugar cane like I saw in grocery stores down south. I have no idea how to eat it, but I'm sure I could figure it out.

Sweetener
Sugar Can Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Four Point Zero Perfect Seltzer Black Raspberry

Four Point Zero Perfect Seltzer Black Raspberry

Ahh black raspberry. The most "goth" of all the fruits. No. That's not true. Blood orange could probably win in a quiz show involving nothing but questions about Jesus and Mary Chain and Bauhaus. I guess runner up would be black raspberry followed by black cherry. Cherry is too close to "cheery" which is not the epitome of goth.

This tastes light and bubbly. We won't tell anyone about that, though. It's nice. From drinking giant bottles of Polar seltzer all the time to a nice, smaller glass of this, it's refreshing to be able to have a different flavor. It smells nice and fruity and is just a good, simple drink. Both of the Cocteau Twins would be happy to drink this and unhappy about everything else.

Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 19th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Bundaberg Ginger Beer

Bundaberg Ginger Beer

A friend of ours got this shipped over from Australia for us. I can't say how glad I am. This is one of the best ginger beers I've ever had. It doesn't have much of a burn, but it totally makes up for it in flavor. It's also carbonated with yeast, which is a nice change. It says to invert the bottle before opening to help mix in the pieces of ginger that are in it. You can see them when you hold it to the light, but they aren't big enough to notice while you drink it.
In addition it comes in a super rad bottle. The weird pull top cap is amazing. I like when beverages are fun like that.

Website
http://www.bundaberg.com/info/home/
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bundaberg Ginger Beer Non-alcoholic Beverage (Australia) 4-pack 375ml

Buderim Ginger Aussie Style Ginger Brew

Buderim Ginger  Aussie Style  Ginger Brew

I have had some stomach thing. I am not a doctor so I cannot tell you what it is, but after every time I eat, I feel like garbage. I can't eat as much and I need to sit and be quiet or else... I don't know, I feel more sick.

Since only the rich can afford health insurance compounded with the fact that I won't take medicine, I had to take matters into my own hands.

Scouring through my stock, I remembered that I had a hot ginger ale. As we all know, the hotter the ginger ale is, the more natural and good for you it is. I threw this cat in the fridge for a bit, took it out, cracked it open, and took a sip. Hello cured stomach ailments, here we come. Then we had a little bit of a problem. You see, when I read, "hot" I expect HOT. This was more of a sting.

Now, "hot" is a relative term. I am quite accustomed to hot flavors, so although this may be on the lower levels of the ginger beer ladder, it could be too much for, say, a wimp.

Flavor-wise, it's not bad. It has a genuine, earthy ginger flavor that doesn't linger on your tongue. All of the flavors of actual ginger are apparent and the sweetness isn't overpowering.

The Thirsty Dudes crew had to go to Canada to get this Australian treat, even though it says on the bottle that it's available in the US. It was good, but I don't think it's worth a special trip anywhere to try and find.

Website
http://www.buderimginger.com
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buderim AUSSIE STYLE HOT GINGER BREW - "Ginger from Australia's Sunshine Coast", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Buderim Ginger Yank Style Ginger Beer

Buderim Ginger  Yank Style Ginger Beer

Dear Jason Draper of the Thirsty Dudes,
This is a ginger beer for you. Do you want to know why? It is because it tastes like ginger. You love ginger. I have seen you put it on tacos on multiple occasions. Is it a sickness? Possibly. Is it an obsession? Probably more so. I know you are crazy about the stuff and for that, I'm sorry. I drank this expecting the spice that I feel I deserve.

Jay, we have been friends for a long time. We have lived together, "spent time" with the same girl, and written many songs about barbecues. I know you and I know your taste buds and I know you would have given this at least a four. You love the earthy qualities of ginger and you love the sting. We love the sting. We love our ginger beer hot. This is a medium burn. Less than a Blenheim but more than a ginger ale. Less than a Goya but more than a...water...

In closing, Jay. I am sorry that I drank this and didn't have the hindsight to give it to you. If I find one again, I will buy it for you.

Lovingly,
Mike.

PS: Tacos tonight?

Website
http://www.buderimginger.com
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 22nd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buderim YANK STYLE COOL GINGER BREW - "Genuine Queensland Ginger", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Cascade Traditionals Sarsaparilla

Cascade Traditionals Sarsaparilla

Terry worked as a heating and cooling repairman for 13 years of his life. He drove his van around Western New York fixing people’s stoves, fridges and air conditioners. Most days he didn’t hate his job, but there wasn’t much room for advancement. He did love driving around a lot though. Then one day he was fixing a guy’s air conditioner and he got to talking to him. You see Terry loved fixing things, and he liked to explain it as well. The man was so impressed with his passion that he offered him a job at his company. He would make more money and promotions were a possibility. Terry knew he would miss his driving around and didn’t like the idea of being stuck in one play all day, but the money was nice and he needed a change. He took to the job like a fish to water. He took a couple of trips to other states to fix some industrial units, and getting away was nice. Then one day he got asked if he would be willing to go to Australia for a week for the job. Not being a dummy he jumped at the chance. So within six months this fine man went from working a quasi dead end job to working for a growing company and being sent around the world doing work that he found interesting. It’s times like these that I am incredibly proud of my friends. It’s also times like these when I am thankful that I have friends who travel around the globe and bring me back gifts of drinks.

This is a bottle of Australian sarsaparilla that was purchased at a roadside fruit stand in said country. (As a side note, if you don’t take advantage of roadside fruit stands when you are traveling then you are a fool.) I expected this to be a very strong sarsaparilla for some reason, but it’s not and I’m okay with that. It has a very classic soda flavor to it. I could see this being served in a 50’s soda shop with a couple sharing a bottle with two straws. It starts off as just a generic old time soda flavor but when you swallow it has a strong sarsaparilla aftertaste. It’s not what I was looking for but it’s a soda that has its place and I can respect and enjoy that. I do with the licorice flavor was a bit stronger in this. Then it would be superb.

Oddly enough this is made by the Fosters Beer company. I don’t know why I find that weird, but I definitely do. Also the tagline on the bottle is “Refreshingly Tasmanian.” Now that I find charming.

Website
http://www.cascadedrinks.com.au
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 16th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bundaberg Burgundee Creaming Soda

Bundaberg Burgundee Creaming Soda

If Fosters is Australian for Beer, then Bundaberg is Australian for soda. Before this all I had tried was their ginger beer, but it was one of the best I have ever tasted. When we got a bottle shipped to us, it really knocked my socks off. Truth be told I really thought the company only made the one flavor until our friend Terry brought us back a bottle of guava soda and this bottle of burgundee creaming soda. I wasn’t exactly sure what this was going to be but my money was on red cream soda. I was partly right. It is a cream soda style beverage that is reddish in color, but it wasn’t quite like the Canadian red cream soda I was used to. A quick look at the ingredients list showed me that this was actually red grape cream soda (made with actual grape juice). I would have never have thought to mix grape juice and cream soda, but what do I know I’m from Western New York. Apparently in Australia it is a traditional drink. As soon as I read the ingredients I could pick out the grape in the flavor that I originally thought was some sort of berry. It really is a spectacular drink. I drank about half of the bottle while Mike and I were hanging out earlier, and thanks to the twist cap, I was able to save the rest for later. I must say it somehow tasted even better when I went back for seconds.

With a drink this good I can only imagine that kangaroos carry them around in their pouches and the only way to get one is to box it for a bottle. Watch out, or you may find yourself disemboweled. No one likes to be disemboweled, just like no one in Australia wants to be solely associated with kangaroos. Don’t worry folks, from here on out whenever I hear the word Australia I will instantly think of your fantastic sodas.

Website
http://www.bundaberg.com/info/home/
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 31st, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bundaberg Sparkling Drink Guava

Bundaberg Sparkling Drink Guava

This was really supposed to be one of the greatest things to ever grace my taste buds. The Bundaberg flavors I’ve had in the past have been nothing short of greatness. On top of that it has been scientifically proven that guavas are one of the greatest fruits to even ripen on this planet of ours. Even better this was the third part of a gift that my great friend Terry brought back from a work trip to Australia. As you can tell from my wording everything was aligned for greatness. If there was a god then this had to be the greatest soda to ever be produced. Apparently Homer Simpson’s flat tax plan was correct, there is no god.

While this is a soda made with actual guava juice, and it is carbonated just like their other flavors, the other flavors masked the fermented taste that the yeast used caused. Unfortunate for me fruit juice doesn’t do as good of a job masking that flavor. It turns out that Bundaberg Guava Soda tastes like a wine cooler. My friends who drank loved this. They were all raving about it. To me it was a disappointment that I still enjoyed. It still tasted like guava juice, just a little fermented, the way that Fentimans fruit flavors do. I will give the company credit for making the soda the old fashioned way though.

Website
http://www.bundaberg.com/info/home/
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Bundaberg Root Beer

Bundaberg Root Beer

When Jay goes on tour, he comes home with some different drinks. If you stay in one place, things get stale. Jay knows that all too well so he's on tour a fair amount and, if I didn't know better, he spends as much time with the band as he does on the hunt for new drinks.

Now he just was in the United States but came across this little Australian tart. You know a drink that comes both in glass and with an awesome pull-tab is going to be good, so is it? Well, it's good and it's better than most but is it as good as I wanted to be? I don't think so. It is a nice, dark licorice filled root beer. That's for sure. What's wrong with it then? It's a little too sweet. Is it the molasses? Maybe. It almost tastes like a good root beer with something like a grape hard candy in it. That's not the worst thing but whatever that "candy" thing is in there, it knocks its great potential down a peg or two. Am I in the position to be assigning proper peg state? I like to think that I am. I would like to think that in turn someone out there is placing me on some ladder whether it be a skill ladder, sexual ladder, or something in between. We can all agree that those are the two extents of social ladders, right?

Website
http://www.bundaberg.com/info/home/
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vichy Catalan Genuine

Vichy Catalan Genuine

There’s nothing like drinking something and having no words to describe it other than an action. If that action was something like an overly dramatic slumping in your chair that would mean that it was a good drink. If you took a sip and gagged or spit it back out, that would be a bad drink. So what was this? Well this one was the most insulting of all.

The packaging on this was great. It’s a can with a built in flip-top. Finally. I’m sure it’s a little more expensive but a smart decision. No longer do I have to dump half full cans of drinks or drink flat pop. That or have to spend hard earned money on after market bottle toppers. We're not all made of money, people.

So what instinctive emotion and action did this evoke? A shrug. An effortless, emotionless shrug. Why? It's just mineral water. Just. Just mineral water. Tasteless, flavorless, so on and so forth. Do you like mineral water? Cool. I found one for you.

Website
http://www.vichy-catalan.com
Country
Australia
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 29th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Vichy Catalan Mineral Water 1 Liter Bottle
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |