Qizil Quyu Fizzy Drink Tarragon

Qizil Quyu Fizzy Drink Tarragon

When things are in different languages, I no longer fear the contents of the container. Why? Because I drank that Korean "Essence of Chicken" drink that tasted like pee and I don't think that anything will be as bad as that. This little green gem is quite nice. Why? Well it's tarragon flavored. "Ewww. That's a spice or an herb and I don't want to drink something that's off a spice rack." Well that's a lame response. Open your mind up then travel to around Turkey where this drink was made, shell out like $2 or 1.57120 Azerbaijani New Manat and enjoy a nice, anise-like drink.

I, for one, enjoy anise. I can never have enough. Black licorice, those little red anise candies in the dark red wrapper, or black jellybeans and I'm set, dude. This drink can be added to the list. I liked it. If you've ever had Ouzon then you know what this is all about. This might be stronger, if you’re an adult when it comes to your flavors, it's great.

I wonder where I can get it around here. I'm sure there is some dusty old Eastern European bodega somewhere around here that would have this. You know the one. It's the place with all sorts of unpronounceable cuts of meat and cured fish that you have never seen and everything has a light dusting of dust on it. You've never seen anyone in there but they have somehow been open for like fifty years. It's got to be a front, right? I mean, you can't stay in business legitimately. They're probably fighting hens in the stockroom for a cut of the profits.

I'm going to start putting tarragon in everything I make from now on. What a delicious start to my culinary career.

Website
http://ayan-az.com/
Country
Azerbaijan
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 4th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Qizil Quyu Fizzy Drink Uzum

Qizil Quyu Fizzy Drink Uzum

I don’t know a thing about this beverage. The only words I can read on the label are “Fizzy Drink.” From the picture on the front I would assume that “Uzum” means grape, but when I tasted it I wasn’t so sure. You see it tastes more like blueberries to me than grapes. I kind of get a little grape, but there’s something in there that reminds me of blueberries. Dear folks of Turkey you make strange drinks that are strange, but decent. They are also almost candy like, but yet still like real fruit. I don’t get it. I’m not sure I’m supposed to get it, and I’m okay with that. I’ll just sit back and enjoy the ride. It’s a tiny bottle, but it encapsulates a big flavor.

Website
http://ayan-az.com/
Country
Azerbaijan
Sweetener
Couldn't Read Ingredients
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 18th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Looza Peach Nectar

Looza Peach Nectar

When I was in Europe a couple of years ago, this is what I drank in most of the bars we were at. I instantly fell in love, and was pumped when I found it back in the States. It's a nice thick puree made from the world’s most perfectly ripened peaches. If you even remotely like peaches I highly recommend that you try this out.

Website
http://www.looza.be/
Country
Belgium
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 24th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Looza Peach Nectar ( 6x33.8 OZ)

Looza Mango Juice Drink

Looza Mango Juice Drink

I thought this tasted slightly different than I remembered. Apparently Looza makes mango nectar (what I had before) and mango juice drink (which is this). This isn't as thick as the one I had before. I loved how thick the nectar was. This is still pretty great. I imagine sipping a glass of it with breakfast while on vacation in some tropical location. Maybe I'd even be wearing a Hawaiian shirt and some Bermuda shorts. I like to mix up my attire names after tropical getaways. It's just something I do. Mangos are seriously one of the best fruits ever, and Looza took care not to mess up their natural wonder. I salute them for that.

Website
http://www.looza.be/
Country
Belgium
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 4th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Looza Mango Nectar ( 6x33.8 OZ)

Barritts Ginger Beer

Barritts Ginger Beer

I really liked the label on this bottle. Unfortunately, the contents of the bottle weren't as great. There is only the slightest of burns to this drink. It has a strange taste to it besides the ginger. It tastes like a ginger ale (not ginger beer) that was poured into a bottle that formerly held a cleaner. Need I mention that said bottle wasn't properly rinsed? I for one am not a fan.

Website
http://www.barrittsgingerbeer.bm
Country
Bermuda
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 1st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Barritt's PINEAPPLE BERMUDA GINGER BEER - "The Pineapple Triangle", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Cashew Fruit

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Cashew Fruit

I've got it.

What's that?

I've made a cashew juice.

You can't juice cashews, idiot.

Woah. First thing, I'm a scientist so I am most certainly not an idiot. Secondly you are the idiot because cashews grow from a fruit. Here try it.

Ugh, it smells like puke.

Just try it.

It's hard to get past the smell but it's...alright. It's smooth and obviously nutty. It almost tastes like a light mango juice if it was filtered through a can of Planters peanuts.

Yeah? Awesome, right?

No, not really. It's a good try, and I've learned something, but I really don't see myself drinking this, regardless of it's supposed health benefits. So long as I don't smell it, it's alright, but the thought of drinking nuts doesn't really appeal to me.

Stop being such a scardy cat and/or wuss.

Yeah? Stop inventing strange and gross drinks.

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 4th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Cashew Fruit Nectar case of 6/10oz Bottles

Brazil Gourmet Mango

Brazil Gourmet Mango

100% Juice? Check.
No Sugar Added? Check.
Rad looking toucan on the carton? Check.

We're off to a good start here. This is nothing but mango pulp and apple juice. Apple juice is the great stretcher of fruit juices. Seriously almost every juice has it mixed in to keep costs down and make the central fruit last longer. It's perfectly fine because apple juice is great, and it never overpowers the other fruits. This still tastes like nothing but mango. Remember how there's no sugar added? It's still crazy sweet. I'm talking 27g of sugar sweet.

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Premium No Sugar Added Mango Juice 15 11.16 Fluid Ounce Packs

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Mango

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Mango

This is Brazil Gourmet's version of mango juice that they add sugar to. It's really sweet, but it tastes so much like biting into a perfectly ripe mango. I can just imagine the juice spilling over my chin as the stringiness of it ends up between my teeth. The label says there are 1.5 mangos in every bottle. That, my friends, is a lot of fruit.

I really hope that the image of a toucan on the label is really a drawing of their pet bird that sits on the president of Brazil Gourmet's shoulder. There's a board meeting going on and everyone is sitting around a big table. The president gives a speech about quarterly sales and the quality of the latest mango crop. All the while the bird caws to accent certain points. All of the employees are intimidated by the toucan. If it caws while they are being addressed they know they soon will be in need of a new line of work. The bird's word is final! If this is not true, it really should be made a reality.

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Mango Nectar case of 6/10oz Bottles

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Passion Fruit

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Passion Fruit

When most people think of the word passion their minds are automatically filled with the ideas of love and sexual lust. It's a positive thing that can lead to joy and fun. What people forget is that passion can also go the other way. You can also hate someone with a deep passion. It's any extreme emotion. So my question is were passion fruits names for love or hate?

I'd like to think that it was such a delicious fruit that it caused two ancient tribes to go to war. Both wanted control of the passion fruit orchards (they grow on trees right?) and were willing to go to extremes to gain said control. So I guess it would work both ways. Their absolute love of the fruit resulted in extreme hatred for the other tribe. I totally understand that. This juice smells and tastes wonderfully. It's only 14% passion fruit juice and if someone tried to take it from me I would probably slap them involuntarily. Imagine what I would do for the actual fruit. Did that just blow your mind? If so you should probably put down the bong because it really wasn't that deep of a thought.

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Passion Fruit Nectar case of 6/10oz Bottles

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Guava

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Guava

All three of us have reviewed a guava drink today; so let it be known that July 6th, 2011 will now be known as Guava Day. I, for one, welcome our new guava overlords. I'd like to remind them that as a trusted blog personality, I could be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

They have bestowed onto me a bottle of guava nectar to sample. I don’t think I’ve ever had a guava nectar drink and I must say it’s quite good. It’s not as thick as other nectars I have had, but that’s a good thing. I often find nectar to be way too thick and hard to drink. This is the consistency of a juice/nectar mix and it’s perfect.

**Disclaimer: this review was in no way influenced, edited, or forced by the almighty guava overlords.**

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on July 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Guava Nectar case of 6/10oz Bottles
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |