Schin Guarana

Schin Guarana

I’d like to start off by saying I have zero idea where this drink came from. Editor Dan and I went on an adventure today to explore these gnarly caves. He wanted to take some photos while I just wanted to explore. At some point in our day Dan lost his keys. We retraced our steps and eventually found them at a grocery store (the most unexpected place). Towards the end of our search we were going crazy trying to figure out where they could be and I checked the car again after Dan did. I felt a can under my seat (note, my car is normally very clean with no trash). I thought it was an empty that must have rolled under there from when my ladyfriend and I drove to Virginia a few months ago and trash got thrown everywhere for a few days. When I pulled it out I realized it was full, and more startling that I have never set my eyes on this can before. I don’t know how it got in my car, and I sat there puzzled for a moment before I cracked it open and started drinking it. I came to the conclusion that the drink gods were smiling on me for helping a friend to find his keys.

Apparently the drink gods appreciated that I helped out, but not enough to give me a great drink. What I got was on the lower end of mediocre. I’ve had guarana drinks before, so I knew what I was getting into. If you want to know, think of fruitier Kola Champagne. This particular brand had a general sweet soda taste that was followed by a fruity bubble gum aftertaste. It’s not particularly my cup of tea, but I can see where it might appeal to some people. I wonder if I keep doing good deeds if the portal to the drink realm will open in my car again. It’s gotta be good for something.

Website
http://www.schinrefrigerantes.com.br/
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 15th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Guarana Antactica

Guarana Antactica

On a recent trip to Antarctica, Frank was visiting his friend who was a scientist. His friend had lived up there for a couple years and knew the lay of the land. Not much goes on up there outside of polar ice cap research and daily penguin feedings. His friend was explaining to him about how a couple years back, the president of Brazil, Sir Angelico Velasquez, made a deal with the people of Antarctica that if he comes down to their lab, he can crash on their couch so he doesn't have to spring for a night at the wildly expensive Holiday Inn. In exchange, he brings in a case of their famed Guarana drink and he named it after them. Sure, he made the same deal with his own people but Velasquez is not the type of man to stay at a place like the Holiday Inn, not because he's cheap and not because he has anything wrong with them, just because if anyone wants him dead, as people often do, it's much easier to find him at the lone Holiday Inn or Red Roof Inn than if he's staying at one random, lucky person's house.

Frank took a can of the drink after that long history lesson and took a big sip. At first he didn't see what was so special about it. It just tastes like carbonated, sweetened water. Shortly after there was a wave of subtle, tropical fruit flavor. It was right up Frank's alley. Not too sweet and not too strong.

A few days later, Frank headed towards the airport to go home. Once inside, he saw a bunch of large men with guns surrounding a tiny, frail man. Frank knew that was Sir Velasquez and yelled, "Hey Angelico. Have a nice stay." Angelico, without missing a step yelled back, "Hey thanks, buddy. Have a nice flight." Good guy, that Angelico.

Website
http://www.guaranaantarctica.com
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 5th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guarana Antarctica Brazilian Soft Drink Twelve 12 Ounce Cans

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Tropical Fruit

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Tropical Fruit

I woke up feeling like complete garbage today. It was strange though, as I didn’t feel sick at all. My head felt fine. I wasn’t stuffy, or have any sort of cold. My body just felt like it had gotten the ever-loving crap beat out of it last night. That way I felt is what I imagine having a hangover is like, well minus the headache. I didn’t do anything crazy last night. I just hung out with some people at a friend’s house and drank a single can of ginger beer. I didn’t eat any junk food or anything. I have no idea what brought on the fake hell my body didn’t really go through, but I was paying for it. I remembered that some of my friends drink coconut water to help them rehydrate and work through their real hangovers so I decided to give it a try.

This is only the second flavor of Vita Coco we have reviewed, and “That is shocking!” The other one was the first coconut water we reviewed, and I didn’t realize that it had to be drunken ice cold. I gave it an absolutely terrible review. I really need to go back and re-review that. I didn’t know how to drink it properly and my distaste was my fault, not the drinks. While I’m still not an enormous fan of coconut water, I don’t mind them at all now. This one I find particularly enjoyable. It’s just coconut water, passion fruit and pineapple puree. 2/3 of the ingredients in this bottle are some of my favorite flavors in the world, so it’s got that going for it. It is still primarily coconut water though. The fruit are there only as light splashes of flavor. They do not overpower or ruin the integrity of the beverage.

I downed this carton. I laid down for about 45 minutes and when I got up I felt pretty close to normal. I guess I really was dehydrated. I wonder what in the world caused that. I now know that coconut water is the cure for those sorts of ailments though.

Website
http://www.vitacoco.com/
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 20th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Vita Coco Coconut Water with Tropical Fruit, 17-Ounce (Pack of 6)

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Orange

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Orange

When I was in grade school I would wake up in the morning, eat a bowl of cereal, get ready for school and then pack my lunch. It was generally a ham sandwich with mustard, a juice box and a pack fruit snacks. When that was done I would make myself a beverage while I waited for the bus, which picked me up in front of my house. I was convinced that the weirder the stuff I drank the better off I would be. I would mix every beverage in the fridge and just down it. This included adding milk to everything, which as every scientist knows leads to curdling. That is what this drink reminds me of; adding a little milk to orange juice. The flavors separate from each other and the orange juice ends up not tasting like itself anymore. This isn’t as gross as that, but since the ingredients are only coconut water and orange juice, I am left wondering what happened to the orange flavor. I’m guessing when they juiced it up the peel got into the mix. It tastes bitter, and neither coconut water, nor orange juice should taste that way. I think I fared better with my prepubescent cocktail mixtures.

Website
http://www.vitacoco.com/
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Vita Coco Coconut Water with Orange, 16.9 Ounce (Pack of 12)

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Pineapple

Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water With Pineapple

When you are stuck on an uninhabited tropical island the coconut is life. Due to it’s salt, the ocean is death; drinking it would just lead to dehydration. You could keep yourself in healthy fluids by eating obscene amounts of tropical fruit, but that is just asking for more dysentery than a failed trip on the Oregon Trail. The only solution is to drink the pulpy, slightly chalky lifeblood for the coconut. You’re going to have one hell of a time getting it open, but once you figure out a method, you’re golden. Then and only then will you have the luxury of exploring the luxuries the island has to offer you. It could become your personal paradise.

When you get bored of the taste of straight coconut water, you can start mixing it with other fruits. Of course many of you would go straight for pineapples to create the classic pina colada flavor. For those of you who would like to pretend you’re on this mystery island Vita Coco has packaged up it’s own blend of a pina colada just for you. It’s nothing but coconut water/pulp, pineapple pulp and vitamin C. Unfortunately they strain all of the solids out, so this is just a liquid with no fun involved.

This is not exactly the prime flavor for me, but it’s something that I know a lot of people would love. There’s something about Vita Coco that always leaves me wanting. Since it’s just coconuts and juice I don’t know what it is, but there is something that’s just not as good as other brands, but it’s more than good enough for you to enjoy.

Website
http://www.vitacoco.com/
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 12th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Vita Coco Coconut Water with Pineapple, 16.9-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Yuvia Pure Coconut Water

Yuvia Pure Coconut Water

Where do you get your coconuts from? Indonesia? What a poser. “Oh, I get my coconuts from the country that is the leading producer of them!” Brazil man, that’s where you should be getting them from. They produce only about 7% as many coconuts as Indonesia so they are of a higher quality, right. This is like craft coconut water, smaller batches means a better product? Oh, that logic doesn’t work out in this world. Well I still love those Brazilian coconuts. That’s why I drink Yuvia coconut water. It’s just the liquid from inside coconuts and vitamin C. I don’t know if I’m imagining it, but it tastes a bit sweeter than its competitors products and it’s all natural. It’s simple, it’s healthy, it’s hydrating and it’s refreshing. What else could you want from a pure coconut water, unless you want to crack the shell open yourself and put in the real work.

Website
http://www.drinkyuvia.com/
Country
Brazil
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 29th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Yuvia Pure 100% Natural Coconut Water (Case of 12)

Allen's Tropical Grove Mango

Allen's Tropical Grove Mango

The first thing I noticed about this was the kind of odd packaging, it being in a small carton, with a screw top lid, kind of like a medium sized orange juice container. Upon opening, I was pleased that this wasn't like mango nectar (which tends to be heavy, and overly sugary), it passed the smell test, and it was a nice orange color. All seemed well, and at first it was, the initial taste was awesome, until I swallowed it. Then came a strange mild body odor taste (which you can get with a unripe mango). As I continued to drink it, the taste got more and more powerful. I really wanted to like this, but I just couldn't get over the after taste. It has hints of grape and peach, which doesn't help the taste at all. Its only plus is that it's cheap (about a dollar), but I still have half of it left and its been a week and a half. I would pass on this if I were you.

Country
Canada
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Allen's 25% Real Mango Juice Case Pack 12

Black River Apple Juice

Black River Apple Juice

You know what I love? Drinks that have sediment at the bottom of the bottle that you have to shake up. When it's there, you just know that it's natural with real fruit. This is no different. Nothing is added to the drink. It is just pressed apples. So grab that bottle shake it up, twist off the cap and down that juice.

Website
http://www.blackriverjuice.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Flavur Red Orange Guava Hibiscus

Flavur Red Orange Guava Hibiscus

I got this on a recent trip to Toronto. I got it to drink while I was walking around, but then I got caught up in a bubble tea fiasco, and this bottle remained in my bag until I got home.
I really like anything I have ever tried with hibiscus in it. It has a light flowery taste, yet it's still always sweet. This also has a great blend of orange and guava flavoring. Both are obviously present without either one being too strong.
I'm not really one to drink small bottles of juice like this. I usually buy the large bottles/cartons and keep them in my fridge. When I'm on the run, I almost always grab an iced tea. This is something I could see as a "take to work" kind of drink.

Country
Canada
Sweetener
Beet Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

D'Angelo DUH! Pomegranate Cream Soda

D'Angelo DUH! Pomegranate Cream Soda

Woah. Strange. It's more of a sparkling or carbonated water than a pop if I was to caste this drink out. It might be the whopping 5% real fruit juice, but it's a good touch. This stuff is pretty good. It’s really sweet, but slamming my taste buds with flavor. It's a lot of pomegranate flavor and not a lot of cream soda flavor. The cream soda flavor rounds out the sweet, bitterness of the pomegranate and leaves a certain smoothness that I can't really describe. This whole drink is taking me for a loop and leaving me quite speechless.

Jay got this for me whilst seeing one Paul F. Tompkins in Toronto. He bought a lot of stuff and brought even more home. A lot of this month's strange oddities have been from said trip. D'Angelo seems to have a pretty large line of drinks so we might have our hands full as if they are this good, we might have to work out some sort of international trade agreement.

Website
http://www.dangelobrands.ca
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Glucose-Fructose
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 27th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |