Muskoka Dry Pale Ginger Ale

Muskoka Dry Pale Ginger Ale

Canada gets the worst rap ever. As a country it is the butt of probably 37% of the worlds jokes. I'm not kidding polls were taken pie charts were made up. This is serious business. I love Canada. I would love to move to Toronto, and I even looked into it at one point, but it wasn't in the cards. I've never had anything but a good time while I'm in the Great White North, and seeing as it's less than 10 minutes from my house, I'm there a good deal. I actually have plans to go to Toronto twice this week. With all of my love for our northern neighbor I never expected an outstanding ginger ale to be one of its exports. I always associate ginger ale with Wisconsin (another incredible place). It's probably because of Vernors. That's made in WI right? Either way this is pretty incredible. It stands high above nearly all other ginger based beverages I have tried. It's full flavored with just the slightest bit of burn. I mean this is a ginger ale and not a beer, so it shouldn't burn too much. It's not overly sweet and it's perfectly carbonated. I will surely look to grab some more of this on one of my Toronto trips.

I salute you Canada for your plentiful maple trees, your noble beavers, your abundance of veggie food and now for your wonderful ginger ale.

Website
http://www.muskokaspringwater.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

T'zen Harmony Ginger Chai

T'zen Harmony Ginger Chai

It's apparently Canada day here at Thirsty Dudes. No, no, not the holiday. That's not until the first of July. That would be a long time to "rock your body" as Robin Sparkles may say. I've just reviewed two beverages from the wonderful country of Canada and they were both over the top great.

I first encountered this on tour in Ottawa last year. I got it in a co-op where I also picked up the best samosas I have ever tasted. They were spinach and tofu. I still think about them to this day. This drink perfectly accompanied them. It did not perfectly accompany the burrito I had tonight, but that was because it was fairly spicy and this didn't help cool my mouth down. I don't care. My mouth can deal with the heat. I'm not five years old. What? Do you think I am? I can assure you if I were I would be the fattest five year old ever having drank so many drinks in the past six months. My parents would also be brought up on child abuse charges for the same reasons.

Back to the drink; chai and ginger are two of the best flavors ever. That being said, I would never have imagined mixing the two together. For that fact I am a moron. It's spice heaven in my mouth. It's a mostly chai taste with a great undertone of ginger. There are also orange, lemon and lime juices mixed in to give it a slight fruit kick.

It's very rare that I give a drink a five. It really has to knock my socks off to get that sought after rating. This has gone beyond any expectation I could ever have. I can't press you hard enough to give this a try if you're ever up in Canada and it's in your general vicinity.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TZen/38503384012#!/pages/TZen/38503384012?sk=info
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Beaver Buzz Dam Good Citrus

Beaver Buzz Dam Good Citrus

Smell: Not bad.

Taste: Almost like a natural orange juice but with a strange aftertaste, almost dry. Then sometimes is gets a little strange. It sticks to your palate for a long time. Unwelcomely long. Uninvitedly long.

Burp: Disgusting. Seriously, every burp tastes like you just burped and bile came up. What's strange is that when you burp, it resets your taste buds like when your Nintendo, original, not Super Nintendo, game doesn't work and you hit the reset button 40 times to try and get 720 to work so you can see that dude that is clearly inspired by Rodney Dangerfield. So if you drink it and it starts to get grozz, just burp, make matters worse, and then have everything back to before you took your first sip.

This is along the lines of the FRS drink in its citrocity, but doesn't end up tasting like orange flavored chalk at the bottom of the can.

Website
http://www.beaverbuzz.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Pure Black Blackberry

Pure Black Blackberry

A couple of years ago I was on tour in the UK. We went to Ireland for a few days and with the exception of the Dublin show those four days were a disaster. There were poor turnouts and the cops shut one of the shows down. Tensions were running high in the tour party. The thing that made things better was that it was blackberry season. I don't know if you're aware of this, but blackberries run rampant in Ireland. They are everywhere. Seeing as they are my favorite berries I was in heaven. I must have consumed over ten pounds of blackberries in those couple of days and every single one was perfectly ripe. Since then I'm constantly let down when I buy some from the store. They are still good, but only a couple out of each bunch is perfectly ripe. The rest are always a bit off and sour. I continue to buy them, but I always look for perfection in the fruit.

This drink is that perfection mixed with a bit of grape juice. It actually tastes like ripe blackberries, which is a shock. Some other fruit overpowers most things that are supposed to be blackberry flavored. This is just another reason to love Canada.

Website
http://www.leadingbrandsinc.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 15th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Beaver Buzz Dam Good Berry

Beaver Buzz Dam Good Berry

It's going to be a long night. I haven't slept much in the past couple of days....stupid Jersey kids and making me laugh all night. I've been watching bands play all day. When did Record Store Day become some kind of fest? Oh I'm just complaining because I'm exhausted. These bands all have been fun and good. I mean how often does one get to see Floor play in this day and age? Ugh, I have to DJ tonight. How am I ever going to make it? I guess it's time to bust open this can of Beaver Buzz.

I'm really glad this obviously Canadian company has a sense of humor. Between the beaver and the "Dam good" joke this company had my support before I even opened the can. I also appreciate that the top of the can in black. It's the small things that amuse me. This smells good. Less chemical than most energy drinks. It also actually tastes like berries. That's a complete and utter shock. In fact this may be the best tasting energy drink I've ever had. It's like I'm drinking some carbonated juice rather than something that could make my heart explode if I drink too much of it. So it tastes great, but will it do it's job properly and keep me up?

*Many hours later*
Well it's now 5:30am and it's six hours after I drank the Beaver Buzz and I'm still wide awake. Seeing as I felt like I was on the verge of falling asleep before I drank it, I'll say it worked. It worked a little too well in fact. I now have to drink a relaxation drink in order to fall asleep. I wonder how cokeheads deal with problems like this.

Website
http://www.beaverbuzz.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sucrose
Categories
Energy Drink
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vintage Soda Canadian Cola

Vintage Soda Canadian Cola

Welcome back to Canada Week here at Thirsty Dudes. For today's installment we will take a look at some Vintage Soda. There's something about soda in a can that is kind of a turn off. The expectations I had for this were lower than low. I expected a garbage generic soda that was made with cane sugar instead of HFCS. Our neighbors from the north have proved me wrong yet again.

On first sip it tasted like a pretty standard cola. It was better than I expected, but it didn't stand out much. When I went in for another taste there was something else there. I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but something special. Back to the trough I went and is that nutmeg I tasted? Upon inspection of the ingredients yes it was, along with it's friends cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. What's that straggling behind? Oh of course it's maple syrup. There's maple syrup in this pop! Canada you really do live in your stereotypes, and I love you for it. If it were legal for me to marry a country I would have you at the alter before you could pick out a proper dress.

I had expected to drink a couple sips of this, review it and dump the rest. It ended up being one of the best colas I've ever had. If it were in a glass bottle I'm positive it would have gotten a full five-bottle review. I just had to hold back because I know it could be just a tad better when served in the right medium.

Website
http://www.vintagesoda.ca/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Canada Dry White Tea Ginger Ale with Raspberry

Canada Dry White Tea Ginger Ale with Raspberry

Last night I went up to Canada to see Laura Stevenson and the Cans play. They were fairly incredible, which is to be expected. In-between bands I walked to a convenient store to see if there was anything unknown to the Thirsty Dudes in their coolers. Vitamin Water. Snapple. Coke. Pepsi. Jones. All of the usual suspects were there. As I was about to give up and head back to the show I noticed this little fellow on the bottom shelf. Canada Dry is a fairly standard "safe" ginger ale. No burn. Not even a real ginger flavor. It is still enjoyable for what it is though. Now they have gotten the crazy idea to mix in white tea and raspberry into the mix. Yes sir I will put my toonie down on the counter and take a bottle.

As soon as this passed my lips my mouth was invaded with an intense flavor, or flavors to be more specific. All three of them (tea, ginger ale and raspberry) hit you in their own way. At first it's just a highly carbonated white tea. Then a small hint of raspberry sneaks in to the mix. Finally as you swallow and take a breath the ginger ale flavor sits on your tongue for a bit. This drink has surpassed my expectations. Canada you've done it again. This is just another reason to lure me up north. First it was beavers and moose, then delicious veggie food and now drinks.

Website
http://www.canadadry.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar/Glucose-Fructose
Categories
Ginger, Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Orbitz Blueberry Melon Strawberry

Orbitz Blueberry Melon Strawberry

There are three out of print beverages that are the holy grail to me. They are Crystal Pepsi, Ecto Cooler and Orbitz. Seeing as I am a nerd I refer to them as the three pieces of the Tri-Force. I paid $14 on this bottle of Orbitz and I don't regret it a bit. Clearly Canadian stopped making this drink in 1996, so this is at least 15 years old. We expected vomit, but it actually wasn't too bad. I used to drink cases of this stuff when it was first discontinued. A store by me blew them out at a quarter a piece. You can't beat that.

Check out this video review we did of this mystical beverage. Due to some weird file conversion the video looks like we shot it in the year this drink was put on the market with a huge VHS video camera.

Website
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orbitz_%28soft_drink%29
Country
Canada
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Chunky, Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vintage Soda Rodeo Root Beer

Vintage Soda Rodeo Root Beer

Dear friends from the "Great White North,"
My intentions are not to offend you, but what do you really know about rodeos? I understand that a good portion of your police force rides horses, but I don't think the words "rodeo" and "Canada" have ever appeared in the same train of thought before. Hockey, now that's something that makes me think about Canada. You were in the right to use that on your cans of cola. The site of maple leaves and a buckin' bronco together just doesn't sit well with me. It's like when someone who obviously has never looked at any print design in his or her life decides to make a flyer for a show. Not only is each band's name in a different wacky font, but so are all the crucial info for the show. Oh and it's all typed over a way pixilated picture of train tracks, or something just as tacky. Maybe that's going a bit overboard. Your general layout isn't bad, I just can't get over that rodeo thing.....Oh wait never mind. I just took a sip and it made me forget about any flaws to the packaging. This is one hell of a root beer. This is in fact a root beer that cowboys would drink...if it were in a glass bottle. A cowboy would loose all of his cred if he were seen drinking out of a can. Did they have cans in the wild west? I think not! Seriously though, this is top notch. It has chicory root, vanilla, coriander and clove in it. I can get into any root beer where all of the spices and ingredients are all boiled down into wonderful syrup. It gives it such a rugged flavor, as if it should be drank out on the prairie while riding your dusty horse down the trail.

I am serious about the glass bottles though. If Vintage Soda packaged their pop in glass bottles I would give them five bottles all around. They make a serious soda.

Website
http://www.vintagesoda.ca/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Natural Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Kiki Maple Sweet Water Lemon Ginger

Kiki Maple Sweet Water Lemon Ginger

Did you know that all you need to do to get maple syrup is you stick a spigot into any tree in Canada? Any tree at all will do. It won't work at all in any other country, but in Canada if you had a palm tree in your house and stuck a spigot into it, maple syrup would flow out in great torrents. It's a fact. Read a book.

The Kiki company decided to open up their tree faucets and add some lemon and ginger to the sweetness that came pouring out. Something went horribly wrong though. The mixture smells of the air in a high school hallway several minutes after a pile of the nerdy kids vomit has been cleaned up with that weird powder they used. That’s definitely the gross lingering scent of vomit. Even if this tasted wonderful (it doesn't) it would be hard to get over the smell. It tastes like diet ginger. I don't know how that's possible since ginger isn't sweet. Also it all tastes very watered down. It's a shame I had high expectations for this.

Website
http://www.trollbridgecreek.ca/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Maple Syrup
Categories
Ginger, Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |