Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Pomegranate and Black Pepper

Prometheus Springs Spiced Elixir Pomegranate and Black Pepper

This was my first try at a spiced elixir, as Prometheus Springs like to call it. I can describe it like this:

Remember hot Warheads? The candy that you had as a kid that was hot and you thought you were awesome because you could eat a whole one without spitting it out? This is that, but in a drink. It's not terribly refreshing, even chilled, but they are nice enough to give you pairings like "Serve neat for maximum spice" and "Serve warm and get well soon", so I give them credit for being witty and not so stuffy. It's a completely organic drink, so you can feel good about drinking it, and it's so spicy you have to feel like it's doing something good to your body besides ravaging your taste buds.

If they come out with another flavor, I'll buy it, but I will not be surprised if I just copy and paste this review for that flavor, too.



EDIT

As Jay previously mentioned in his re-review for the Lemon Ginger, we were new to the game and didn't know what to expect. Now that this review is in retrospect, it is one of the more outstanding drinks. Is taste all that matters in a drink review? No. Not anymore. The Hey Song Shaking Jelly Soda Drink was tasty, but it was also a load of fun to have people try. Also, we reviewed a lot of ginger beers since this and it turns out we like and prefer the ones with burn. This was not a bad drink. It was just hot. It's a sipping drink, not a chugging juice like we may have previously expected. For that, I am re-editing this review and adding two points to its previous score of 2. Congratulations, Prometheus Springs, you've earned it.

Website
http://www.prometheussprings.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice, Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Prometheus Springs Org Pomegranate Black Pepper Elixir ( 24x16 OZ)

Arizona Mucho Mango

Arizona  Mucho Mango

It's been about two years since I pretty much cut high Fructose corn syrup out of my diet. It's probably been a couple months longer than that since I had a Mucho Mango Arizona. I can't believe how much sweeter it is than I remember. Also it's so much thicker than most of the beverages I drink. It's almost like it's a concentrate that I forgot to add water to. I do like the way it tastes, but it's not something I could drink on a regular basis.

Website
http://drinkarizona.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Arizona Mucho Mango, 20-Ounces (Pack Of 24)

Mira Mango Nectar

Mira Mango Nectar

If you like mangoes, this is the drink for you. It's straight up mango puree with some water added. I feel like I'm biting into a perfectly ripe mango with every sip I take. I'm surprised to find that I don't have the juice of the fruit dripping down my chin. It's that convincing. All of that and it's made in Egypt. Weird.

Website
http://www.miramango.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

12 Noon To Midnight Original

12 Noon To Midnight Original

This bottled beverage taunted me for months from the shelf of my local grocery store. The bottle made it look so fancy and tasty. I thought of it as the grail of beverages. The $8 price tag on it always deterred me. I would look up at it weekly and say "Some day. Some day." Finally I got to the point where I couldn't stand it any longer and bought it to have with dinner that night. This drink had been built up in my head to such a level that I cannot describe my disappointment as it splashed on my tongue. It tasted like the blandest fruit juice I had ever tasted. It tasted the way every health food was described in 80's movies. It also had a strong fennel aftertaste, even though it's not listed in the ingredients. I had a handful of other people taste it, wondering if it had magically powers that made it taste so disgusting to those who weren't worthy of it's glory. After one sip everyone thought it was completely terrible, and half a bottle of it was sadly poured down the drain.

Website
http://www.twelvebeverage.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
12 Beverage Sparkling Fruit Juice and Tea Blend 25.4 oz.

Quinoa Gold Caffeine-Free Energy Mango Passion

Quinoa Gold Caffeine-Free Energy Mango Passion

When I saw this intriguing beverage I was pre-warned that this was "completely gross" by a friend who had already been roped into trying it. I was feeling adventurous (and I thought it couldn't be nearly as bad as he said it was), so I decided to give it a chance. Oh how I wish I hadn't. It was extremely bland. The quinoa "supergrain" gives the nearly flavorless beverage the consistency of a grits milkshake. I'm usually a fan of pulp and other floaty things in drinks, but this was just too much. I couldn't even finish a third of the bottle. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as an everyday drink, but if you're drinking it for the health benefits, I say good luck to you.

Website
http://www.quinoagold.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Chunky, Energy Drink, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wegmans Fruit Tea Peach Oolong

Wegmans Fruit Tea Peach Oolong

Wegman's is our local grocery store. We're lucky to have a company whose store brand is just as good, if not better than brand name products. This year they launched their Fruit Tea line, and I for one couldn't be happier. It's a very lightly sweetened tea, with the perfect amount of peach flavoring. It's not breaking any new ground, but it's a nice inexpensive alternative to other teas on the market. If you're ever in the area, and you're looking for a nice tea, I recommend you stop and pick some of this up.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Mango Orange With Chamomile

Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir Mango Orange With Chamomile

This is one incredible beverage. It has one of the best flavors out of anything I've ever tried. The orange and mango flavors are very strong, and it's so incredibly smooth. The chamomile didn't taste like anything, but it's a nice addition to try and fight off colds and sickness. Out of all of the elixir type drinks, this is the one I would advise people try the most.

Website
http://www.adinaworld.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Sugar
Categories
Juice, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Adina Holistics Herbal Elixir, Mango Orange with Chamomile, 14-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Taylor's Tonics Chai Cola

Taylor's Tonics Chai Cola

The labels on the Taylor's Tonics beverages are very classy looking. They also deliver exactly what they promise. This tastes exactly like someone mixed some chai tea into a cola. It also has a nice earthly flavor. It's not something I would bring on a regular basis, but for a treat every once and a while, it's pretty incredible. If you are a fan of both chai and cola, this is definitely something you should check out.

Website
http://www.taylorstonics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Taylor's Tonics Cola Azteca

Taylor's Tonics Cola Azteca

I'm not a fan of most coffee drinks, but I do occasionally enjoy a mocha. I unfortunately did not enjoy the Cafe Azteca. I guess it remotely tastes like mocha, but it is extremely strong and burns a lot. It wasn't what I expected after having the other Taylor's Tonics drinks. At first I thought it might have been my dislike of coffee drinks that was weighing my opinion, but after having some avid coffee drinkers taste it, everyone agreed it was way too strong for its own good. Out of the seven or so people who tasted it, only one really enjoyed it.

Website
http://www.taylorstonics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Coffee, Soda Pop
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Taylor's Tonics Mate Mojto

Taylor's Tonics Mate Mojto

I had my first mojito a few months ago, and I loved it. When I saw this in the store I was very excited to try it. It's definitely very strong, and the mint way overpowers the mate flavor. On first sip, I thought it was great. By the time I got halfway through the bottle I realized that it reminded me of the toothpaste that they use at the dentist office. That kind of ruined it for me, and I wasn't able to finish the bottle. I probably shouldn't have mentioned it, because now it may ruin it for you also.

Website
http://www.taylorstonics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |